Relationships News
September 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:38am EDT

More Relationships News
September 25, 2016

Sep. 22, 2016 — The R2-D2 robot from Star Wars doesn’t communicate in human language but is, nevertheless, capable of showing its intentions. For human-robot interaction, the robot does not have to be a true ... read more

How Beardedness Affects Women's Attraction to Men

Sep. 12, 2016 — New research suggests that women tend to find beardedness attractive when judging long-term relationships, perhaps as a signal of formidability among males and the potential to provide direct ... read more

How Effective Is a Smartphone App in Teaching Sexual Health to Teen Girls?

Sep. 8, 2016 — New research has been published that suggests that a smartphone application vs. traditional methods can potentially connect teenage girls to more information about sexual ... read more

Battle of the Sexes? Not When Negotiating With Friends

Sep. 7, 2016 — Women are as savvy and exacting as their male counterparts when negotiating with or on behalf of friends, finds a new study on women in the ... read more

Corporate Social Responsibility Can Backfire If Employees Don’t Think It’s Genuine

Sep. 7, 2016 — A new study looks at what happens when a company’s employees view its efforts related to corporate social responsibility as substantive (perceived to be other-serving and genuinely aimed at ... read more

Friends Help Friends on Facebook Feel Better

Sep. 6, 2016 — Personal interactions on Facebook can have a major impact on a person's feelings of well-being and satisfaction with life just as much as getting married or having a baby, a new study shows. ... read more

What Digital Divide? Seniors Embrace Social Technology

Aug. 25, 2016 — Contrary to popular belief, older adults enjoy emailing, instant messaging, Facebook and other forms of social technology. Not only that, but such online networking appears to reduce seniors' ... read more

In the Aftermath of Disaster, Social Media Helps Build a Sense of Community

Aug. 25, 2016 — Social media can disseminate critical information as well as unite disaster victims during their recovery efforts, suggests a new ... read more

Infants Develop Early Understanding of Social Nature of Food

Aug. 22, 2016 — A new study finds infants develop expectations about what people prefer to eat, providing early evidence of the social nature through which humans understand ... read more

Sex and Gender More Important Than Income in Determining Views on Division of Chores

Aug. 21, 2016 — For heterosexual couples, most Americans still believe in the traditional division of household labor between husbands and wives, while for same-sex couples, they think the 'more masculine' ... read more

Relationships With Family Members, but Not Friends, Decrease Likelihood of Death

Aug. 21, 2016 — For older adults, having more or closer family members in one's social network decreases his or her likelihood of death, but having a larger or closer group of friends does not, finds a new ... read more

Youth Cyberbullying Most Common Among Current or Former Friends and Dating Partners

Aug. 20, 2016 — Youth cyberbullying is dramatically more likely to occur between current or former friends and dating partners than between students who were never friends or in a romantic relationship, suggests a ... read more

'I Miss You So Much': How Twitter Is Broadening the Conversation on Death and Mourning

Aug. 20, 2016 — Social media is redefining how people grieve, bringing conversations about death back into the public realm, sociologists found. And Twitter in particular, they say, is broadening the discourse ... read more

Can Cell Phones Make You Feel Less Connected to Your Friends and Family?

Aug. 17, 2016 — Researchers surveyed 493 students, ranging in age from 18-29, to see whether cell phone use, including texting and talking, was associated with feeling socially connected to their parents and peers. ... read more

When You Don't Feel Valued in a Relationship, Sleep Suffers

Aug. 17, 2016 — We spend up to one-third of our life asleep, but not everyone sleeps well. For couples, it turns out how well you think your partner understands and cares for you is linked to how well you ... read more

Virtual World Improves Communication Following Stroke, Says Study

Aug. 12, 2016 — A virtual reality world called EVA Park can improve the communication of those who have impaired speech and language following a stroke, according to ... read more

We Understand That Social Media Does Not Equal Social Interaction

Aug. 11, 2016 — If you worry that people today are using social media as a crutch for a real social life, a study will set you at ease. A new study found that people are actually quite adept at discerning the ... read more

Children Can Benefit When Adoptive, Biological Parents Share Adoption Stories

Aug. 10, 2016 — 'Open' adoptions, or adoptions in which adoptive families have ongoing interactions with the birth family are becoming more popular. Now, communication researchers are studying the benefits ... read more

New Study Evaluates Link Between Young Women's Beliefs on Alcohol Use and Sexual Risk-Taking

Aug. 10, 2016 — A new study looks at how young women's beliefs about alcohol and sex affect condom usage during sexual encounters involving alcohol. The work shows that just over two-thirds (66.9 percent) of ... read more

Developmental Psychology: Preschoolers Sharing With Others Expect to Get Something Back

Aug. 9, 2016 — Preschoolers expect someone who has benefited from their generosity to reciprocate when an opportunity arises to do so, suggests new ... read more

Thursday, September 22, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Saturday, August 20, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Saturday, August 6, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Sunday, June 26, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016