Relationships News
May 4, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:08pm EDT

More Relationships News
May 4, 2016

Can Thinking About Your Pet Help You Cope With Social Rejection?

May 4, 2016 — Do animals have a unique ability to comfort people, or are they just distractions from social ... read more

Parents and Social Media: Do as I Say, Not as I Do

Apr. 27, 2016 — Two-thirds of parents fear social media is bad for their child, yet they use it extensively ... read more

Metadating: Putting the Data Into Dating

Apr. 21, 2016 — Heart rate, step counts and sleeping patterns may not be the most romantic of topics, but what would happen if you started talking about them on a ... read more

Sorry Kids, Seniors Want to Connect and Communicate on Facebook, Too

Apr. 12, 2016 — Older adults, who are Facebook's fastest growing demographic, are joining the social network to stay connected and make new connections, just like college kids who joined the site decades ago, ... read more

Concussion Can Alter Parent-Child Relationships

Apr. 12, 2016 — The adverse effects of mild traumatic brain injury (mTBI) on the quality parent-child relationships are revealed in a new article. The young brain is particularly vulnerable to injury and one of the ... read more

It's Not Me, It Really Is You

Apr. 11, 2016 — Attractive and smart but unlucky in love? New research suggests you might not have luck to blame but rather your own negative ... read more

New Study Shows How Age, Sex Affect Social Activity

Apr. 11, 2016 — The number of connections you will have reaches a maximum at the age of 25 for both genders, new research suggests. At the age of 25 age both men and women are able to invest time in maintaining ... read more

Gender Perceptions of Sexual Harassment Can Influence Workplace Policy Effectiveness

Apr. 7, 2016 — Although 98 percent of all organizations have sexual harassment policies, sexual harassment remains an issue in the workplace. Researchers are evaluating how employees' interpretations of sexual ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Genetic attributions strongly shape perceptions of whether a person's sexual orientation could change and likely made same-sex marriage and other policies more widely acceptable in the past ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — While sharing toys and fighting with each other, kindergarten children helped researchers understand the patterns and qualities of interactions in social groups. The results were much more complex ... read more

Cuckolded Fathers Rare in Human Populations

Apr. 5, 2016 — Despite the urban myth reinforced by many a daytime talk show, researchers say the emerging evidence consistently indicates that very few fathers have unknowingly raised children who were not ... read more

Apr. 4, 2016 — In the world of robot communication, it seems actions speak louder than words. Scientists have discovered that by getting robot avatars to 'talk with their hands,' we understand them as ... read more

Do Social Factors Affect Children’s Educational Achievements More Than Cognitive Ability?

Apr. 4, 2016 — It could be perceived that social status can be correlated with better life chances and educational achievements for children. But is it all about the social background and income of the parents, or ... read more

Preference for Dating Smarter Partners Negatively Affects Women's Attitudes Toward STEM

Apr. 1, 2016 — Women with a preference for more intelligent partners are less likely to show interest in male-dominated fields such as math and science, according to a newly published ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — Researchers have identified a single, universal facial expression that is interpreted across many cultures as the embodiment of negative emotion. The look proved identical for native speakers of ... read more

What's the Relational Toll of Living in a Sexist, Heterosexist Context?

Mar. 24, 2016 — Relationships, and especially romantic relationships, are central aspects of our social lives and primary sources of support. For sexual minority (e.g., lesbian, bisexual, and queer) women, ... read more

Why Sexual Harassment Is Worse Than Other Types of Abuse Online

Mar. 22, 2016 — While many women gamers can shrug off much of the name-calling and abuse they receive while playing online video games, sexual harassment sticks with them even when they're ... read more

Mar. 22, 2016 — The more time young adults use social media, the more likely they are to be depressed, according to new research. The findings could guide clinical and public health interventions to tackle ... read more

The Weight of Rejection: For Heavier Individuals, the Anticipation of Rejection Drives Down Self-Esteem, Ratchets Up Stress

Mar. 21, 2016 — For heavier individuals, the anticipation of rejection drives down self-esteem and ratchets up stress, say psychologists. The researchers recruited 160 men and women of various body weights, aged 18 ... read more

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual Canadians Report Higher Rates of Mental Health Issues

Mar. 18, 2016 — Gay, lesbian and bisexual Canadians experience more mood and anxiety disorders than other Canadians, and they are more likely to turn to heavy drinking, a new study ... read more

Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015