NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Relationships News
October 22, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:38am EDT

More Relationships News
October 22, 2016

15 Percent of Sixth-Grade Students Commit Cyber Abuse

Oct. 13, 2016 — Fifteen percent of sixth-grade students reported they had perpetrated at least one form of abuse toward a dating partner through technology, according to a new ... read more

Sex Before Sport Doesn't Negatively Impact Performance

Oct. 4, 2016 — Over the course of the Rio Olympics, 450,000 condoms were distributed around the athlete's village. This may be surprising considering the common view that abstinence from sexual activity can ... read more

A New Exercise Partner Is the Key to Exercising More

Oct. 4, 2016 — Researchers have been investigating whether having an exercise companion increases the amount of exercise we do. Researchers found that finding a new exercise companion increased the amount of ... read more

Young People Need Help in Understanding a Parent's Suicide

Sep. 27, 2016 — Talking about suicide is associated with such strong stigma that young people whose parents have taken their own life must turn to strangers, for example people they meet on the internet, to ... read more

Having a Happy Spouse Could Be Good for Your Health

Sep. 26, 2016 — New research finds that having a happy spouse may be related to better health, at least among middle-aged and older ... read more

Sep. 22, 2016 — The R2-D2 robot from Star Wars doesn’t communicate in human language but is, nevertheless, capable of showing its intentions. For human-robot interaction, the robot does not have to be a true ... read more

Working Mothers Most in Need of Social Support Are Less Likely to Receive It

Sep. 21, 2016 — A new study links nonstandard work schedules to weaker private safety nets, particularly for African-Americans, the less educated and those who don't work 9-to-5. However, there also is evidence ... read more

Virtual Reality Training Improves Social Skills of Individuals on the Autism Spectrum

Sep. 20, 2016 — Children with autism spectrum disorder, who participated in a virtual reality training program, improved social cognition skills and reported better real-world relationships. Neurocognitive testing ... read more

Drinking Beer Helps Us See Happy Faces Faster

Sep. 18, 2016 — What does drinking beer really do? A new study has shown that drinking beer affects the way we see specific emotions and allows us to see happy faces faster. It also has surprising effects on sexual ... read more

Response to Anxiety Linked to Movement Control Areas in Brain

Sep. 18, 2016 — Researchers have discovered that the response to anxiety in teenagers may include not only the parts of the brain which deal with emotions (the limbic system), as has been long understood, but also ... read more

How Beardedness Affects Women's Attraction to Men

Sep. 12, 2016 — New research suggests that women tend to find beardedness attractive when judging long-term relationships, perhaps as a signal of formidability among males and the potential to provide direct ... read more

How Effective Is a Smartphone App in Teaching Sexual Health to Teen Girls?

Sep. 8, 2016 — New research has been published that suggests that a smartphone application vs. traditional methods can potentially connect teenage girls to more information about sexual ... read more

Posting Personal Experiences on Social Media May Help You Remember Them in the Future

Sep. 7, 2016 — Posting personal experiences on social media makes those events much easier to recall, a new study -- the first to look at social media's effect on memory -- has ... read more

Strong Social Support Is Related to Shorter Stay in Inpatient Rehab After Hospitalization

Sep. 7, 2016 — A recent study showed that patients with strong social support from family and friends spend less time in an inpatient rehabilitation facility. 'Without the social support of family and friends, ... read more

Battle of the Sexes? Not When Negotiating With Friends

Sep. 7, 2016 — Women are as savvy and exacting as their male counterparts when negotiating with or on behalf of friends, finds a new study on women in the ... read more

Corporate Social Responsibility Can Backfire If Employees Don’t Think It’s Genuine

Sep. 7, 2016 — A new study looks at what happens when a company’s employees view its efforts related to corporate social responsibility as substantive (perceived to be other-serving and genuinely aimed at ... read more

Drinking to Belong: Students and Low Self-Esteem

Sep. 6, 2016 — It’s that time of year again, when students old and new are heading to university. Certain behaviors might be expected in the coming months, drinking in particular. Drinking is widespread among ... read more

Friends Help Friends on Facebook Feel Better

Sep. 6, 2016 — Personal interactions on Facebook can have a major impact on a person's feelings of well-being and satisfaction with life just as much as getting married or having a baby, a new study shows. ... read more

Babies Chew on Subtle Social, Cultural Cues at Mealtime

Sep. 2, 2016 — At the dinner table, babies do a lot more than play with their sippy cups, new research ... read more

Friends Are No Better Than Strangers in Accurately Identifying Emotion in Emails

Aug. 30, 2016 — Friends are no better at interpreting correct emotional intent in emails than complete strangers, new research indicates. The researchers found that writers are more confident their friends can ... read more

Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Sunday, September 18, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Saturday, August 20, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Saturday, August 6, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Sunday, June 26, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016