Relationships News
April 29, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:31am EDT

More Relationships News
April 29, 2017

Physicians Vastly Underestimate Patients' Willingness to Share Sexual Orientation, Study Finds

Apr. 24, 2017 — A study that surveyed a national sample of emergency department health care providers and adult patients suggests that patients are substantially more willing to disclose their sexual orientation ... read more

Apr. 24, 2017 — The first large-scale study of recovery and resilience after a death in a friend group -- based on analysis of interactions in 15,000 anonymized networks on Facebook -- finds that when a friend dies, ... read more

Using Instagram Can Increase Adolescents' Closeness to Friends

Apr. 5, 2017 — Adolescents' use of Instagram actually strengthened the closeness of their friendships, new research has found. However, investigators warn that frequent use can also lead to an increase in ... read more

Girls Are Better at Masking Autism Than Boys

Apr. 3, 2017 — Girls with autism have relatively good social skills, which means that their autism is often not recognized. And autism manifests itself in girls differently from in boys, suggests a new ... read more

Gender-Affirming Restrooms Recommended for Schools

Mar. 30, 2017 — Educational policies and practices should explicitly ensure the well-being and healthy development of all students by supporting the right of students to use a bathroom in an institutional context ... read more

Why Do We Choose to Get Vaccinations?

Mar. 29, 2017 — Since vaccines protect not only those who take them, but also the people who otherwise could have been infected, there are many plausible motives for choosing to get vaccinated. Apart from the most ... read more

Conflict Between the Sexes Maintains Diversity in Brain Hormones

Mar. 27, 2017 — Men are from Mars and women are from Venus?  Whiles this stereotype is extreme and controversial, gender differences in behavior nonetheless are common in nature. Much variation in animal, including ... read more

People's Romantic Choices Share Characteristics, but for Different Reasons

Mar. 22, 2017 — The people one dates share many similarities -- both physically and personality-wise -- a new study has ... read more

'Smell You Later!' Abililty to Smell Well Linked to Social Life in Older Women

Mar. 22, 2017 — A new study of older US adults reports that a woman's social life is associated with how well her sense of smell functions. The study found that older women who do less well on a smell ... read more

Boys Secure in Their Racial Identity Seek More Diverse Friendships

Mar. 21, 2017 — Kids often seek answers from parents, friends and media to better understand their racial identity, suggests new research. The study's researchers sought to explain how ethnic-racial identity ... read more

Insight Into Day-to-Day Lives of Parents Raising Children With Autism

Mar. 21, 2017 — A new study looks at the daily experiences of the parents of children with autism spectrum disorder to provide a more detailed picture of the strengths and vulnerabilities of couples raising a child ... read more

Happy Spouse, Happy House

Mar. 17, 2017 — Achieving marital quality could seem daunting, even impossible to any couple, let alone a couple in which one of the partners is dealing with a serious illness. But a new study may hold the answer, ... read more

A Preference for Casual Sex Increases Risk of Harassment

Mar. 16, 2017 — Adolescents who are open to casual sex are more often involved in sexual harassment -- both as victims and as ... read more

Grandma Knows Best: New Research Explains How Family Members Can Impact an Autism Diagnosis

Mar. 15, 2017 — Frequent interactions with grandparents, especially grandmothers, lowered the age of autism diagnosis by as much as five months in children, new research ... read more

Study Casts Doubt on Whether Internet Filters in the Home Protect Teenagers Online

Mar. 14, 2017 — A new study finds no link between household internet filters and the likelihood of the teenagers in those households being better protected from unpleasant online ... read more

Mathematical Modeling Predicts Student Success, Dropout Rates

Mar. 14, 2017 — A researcher has used mathematical modeling to demonstrate that negative peer pressures can spread in a high-risk setting, influencing students' decisions to drop out of ... read more

How to Fit in When You Stand Out: Don't Try So Hard

Mar. 14, 2017 — When in Rome you do as the Romans do, right? Not necessarily. When it comes to fitting in with foreign cultures, 'just be yourself' might be the more appropriate mantra, says new ... read more

Study Tests the 'Three-Hit' Theory of Autism

Mar. 7, 2017 — Could a genetic predisposition to autism together with early stress have a more detrimental effect on boys than on girls? In experiments with mice, researchers found evidence that three factors -- ... read more

Religious Participation May Serve to Strengthen Social Bonds

Mar. 6, 2017 — By analyzing how peoples' religious practice correlates with their social support networks in two villages in South India, a researcher proposes an evolutionary benefit to religious ... read more

Mar. 6, 2017 — The more time a young adult uses social media, the more likely they are to feel socially isolated, according to a national analysis. In addition to the time spent online, the scientists found that ... read more

Monday, April 24, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Sunday, January 29, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Saturday, January 21, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Saturday, December 3, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016