NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Relationships News
February 25, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:40pm EST

More Relationships News
February 25, 2017

Online Daters Ignore Wish List When Choosing a Match

Feb. 21, 2017 — Despite having a 'wish list' stating their preference for potential ideal matches, most online daters contact people bearing no resemblance to the characteristics they say they want in a ... read more

Want to 'Friend' an Old Flame on Facebook or Flirt Online? Social Media Researcher Says Think About Your Current Romantic Relationship First

Feb. 9, 2017 — One of the best gifts a person could give their significant other for Valentine's Day is a discussion on boundaries regarding social media, according to a ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — The marriage rate in the U.S. continues to decline and the view that marriage entails a “lack of freedom” is becoming more entrenched, particularly among younger men, according to ... read more

New Hope for Children With Autism Spectrum Disorder

Jan. 24, 2017 — The latest study released by the Institute for Autism Research (IAR) shows more promise that a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder no longer guarantees a difficult life for ... read more

Positive Social Support from a Spouse Could Have Negative Consequences, New Research Shows

Jan. 24, 2017 — Offering your spouse what you believe to be positive support could have negative physiological effects on them, according to new ... read more

Direct Link Between Sexual Objectification of Girls, Aggression Towards Them

Jan. 24, 2017 — There is a direct relation between the sexual objectification of girls and aggression towards them, research by psychologists has ... read more

For Health and Happiness, Share Good News

Jan. 21, 2017 — Service members, including both active and recently separated, have been called upon to fight overseas and to assist during natural disasters at home. They can face unique challenges when they return ... read more

One in Five Adults Secretly Access Their Friends' Facebook Accounts

Jan. 19, 2017 — Most people are concerned about the prospect of their social media accounts being hacked, but a new study finds that it's actually people we know who frequently access our accounts without our ... read more

Jan. 17, 2017 — More than 90 percent of online populations now incorporate emojis and emoticons into their texts and emails, and researchers are wondering what the use of (~_^), (>_<), or =D can reveal about ... read more

Jan. 17, 2017 — It's long been associated with anger and coarseness but profanity can have another, more positive connotation. Psychologists have learned that people who frequently curse are being more honest. ... read more

Why the Most Innovative Companies Have Holes in Them

Jan. 16, 2017 — Corporations with dense and homogenous internal networks are unlikely to make good use of external knowledge, suggests new research. When networks are more open and workers fill the gaps of their ... read more

Jan. 16, 2017 — One in five young people regularly wake up in the night to send or check messages on social media, according to new research. This night-time activity is making teenagers three times more likely to ... read more

Large Scale Study Highlights Challenges Faced by Children With ASD in Early School Years

Jan. 13, 2017 — New research outlined in a report stems from one of the largest studies on young children with ASD as they transition into ... read more

In Teens, Strong Friendships May Mitigate Depression Associated With Excessive Video Gaming

Jan. 12, 2017 — Teenagers who play video games for more than four hours a day suffer from symptoms of depression, but frequent use of social media and instant messaging may mitigate symptoms of game addiction in ... read more

Online Dating Booming but How Much Does Education Matter?

Jan. 12, 2017 — Online daters are most likely to contact people with the same level of education as them, but are less fussy about an intellectual match as they get older, according to new ... read more

Instagram Documents Rising Hookah Use

Jan. 12, 2017 — Social media is giving researchers insight into the rising use of hookah, according to a study. Hookah, smoked through a water pipe and also known as shisha, has harmful health effects similar to ... read more

What Kind of Selfie Taker Are You?

Jan. 10, 2017 — Taking and posting pictures of yourself doesn't necessarily mean you're a narcissist, new research suggests. People also take selfies to engage in conversations and chronicle their ... read more

Women as Decorative Accessories: Keep Silent or Take a Stance?

Jan. 4, 2017 — How do Italian women react once they are made aware that using bikini-clad models draped over sports cars or scantily dressed actresses on television actually degrades and objectifies the female sex ... read more

Out in the Cold: Why Are the Oldest People the Most Excluded?

Jan. 4, 2017 — People over the age of 85 are significantly more likely to suffer social exclusion than those in the 65 to 84-year-old bracket, according to new research. In a study of 10,000 people aged over 65, ... read more

Genes Affecting Our Communication Skills Relate to Genes for Schizophrenia and Autism

Jan. 3, 2017 — By screening thousands of individuals, an international team led by researchers has provided new insights into the relationship between genes that confer risk for autism or schizophrenia and genes ... read more

Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Saturday, January 21, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Saturday, December 3, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Sunday, September 18, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Saturday, August 20, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Saturday, August 6, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016