NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Consumer Behavior News
February 25, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:39am EST

More Consumer Behavior News
February 25, 2017

A Problem Shared Can Be a Problem Doubled

Feb. 22, 2017 — Customers perceive one and the same service problem very differently, depending on whether they are affected as individuals or in a group, investigators have found. Service failures that affect a ... read more

Mental Shortcuts: Many Physicians Choose Insomnia Meds Based on Habit

Feb. 15, 2017 — Clinical decision-making and treatment choice is a complex cognitive process influenced by multiple variables, report ... read more

University Incubators May Lead to Lower-Quality Innovation, New Study Shows

Feb. 10, 2017 — The establishment of university-affiliated incubators is often followed by a reduction in the quality of university innovations, according to a new ... read more

Believe in the American Dream? You're Less Likely to Impulse Buy, Study Finds

Feb. 8, 2017 — When materialistic consumers believe in the American dream -- that it's possible to improve their economic status through hard work -- they are less likely to spend impulsively, according to new ... read more

Over 80% of Online Ad Effect Is on Offline Sales

Feb. 2, 2017 — Online display ads can increase both online and offline retail sales, providing valuable insight for future marketing decisions, say ... read more

Product Review Websites Try to Help but Actually May Harm Consumers

Feb. 1, 2017 — Third-party “infomediary” websites that aim to inform the public about products are sometimes, inadvertently, doing a disservice to the people they’re trying to help, according to new ... read more

Online Retail Prices Often Match Those in Stores

Jan. 31, 2017 — In 10 major countries, companies sell their wares at the same prices in stores and online, at the same moments, nearly three-quarters of the time, new research ... read more

Understanding Motivations for Behavior Can Be Helpful for Children With Autism

Jan. 25, 2017 — For many families, normal activities, such as going to a large family gathering or an amusement park, can be difficult to navigate with a child with autism, as the child may be act out due to being ... read more

Don't Smile Too Big to Be Effective in Online Marketing Ads, Study Funds

Jan. 24, 2017 — A new study has found that the level of smile intensity in marketing photos influences how consumers perceive the marketer's competence and warmth, which can lead to different results depending ... read more

Smoking Related Imagery Absent from Only One James Bond Movie to Date

Jan. 16, 2017 — Smoking related imagery is conspicuous by its absence from only one Bond movie since 007 first graced cinema screens in 1962, finds a new ... read more

Thinking of Changing Your Behavior in 2017? Try Moving First

Jan. 13, 2017 — The time for successful habit change isn't based on the calendar, but on big changes to our everyday lives like moving to a new home, new research ... read more

Online Dating Booming but How Much Does Education Matter?

Jan. 12, 2017 — Online daters are most likely to contact people with the same level of education as them, but are less fussy about an intellectual match as they get older, according to new ... read more

Stock Market Fails to Predict Product Performance

Jan. 11, 2017 — Contrary to what many in the business world believe, investors cannot reliably predict how a new product will perform, finds a new ... read more

Cocaine Users Make Riskier Decisions After Losing a Gamble

Jan. 10, 2017 — People addicted to cocaine make riskier decisions than healthy people after losing a potential reward, according to a study. In the study, researchers show that this heightened sensitivity to loss ... read more

New Model Predicts When People Are Willing to Try New Things

Jan. 9, 2017 — A new model to predict when people are most likely to try different products has been developed by scientists. The research could help to direct public health interventions aimed at encouraging ... read more

What Do Google Search Queries Reveal About Brand Attitudes?

Jan. 4, 2017 — It has been widely thought that brand search volume -- the counts of queries that a search engine receives from users that include specific brand names, like 'iPhone' -- can predict sales ... read more

Gambling Addiction Triggers the Same Brain Areas as Drug and Alcohol Cravings

Jan. 3, 2017 — Gambling addiction activates the same brain pathways as drug and alcohol cravings, suggests new ... read more

A Social Reboot for Illegal Downloaders

Jan. 3, 2017 — Unauthorized downloading of digital goods, including copyright music, videos, computer games, and images has become an increasing problem for content providers and those who hold the copyright on ... read more

Fast Delivery for Christmas? A Study Explains Why We Like It So Much

Dec. 20, 2016 — Perceived goal conflict in everyday life causes anxiety and stress, which leads to feel pressed for time, making us impatient and willing to pay to save time, a new study ... read more

Supertasters a Super Opportunity for Advertisers

Dec. 19, 2016 — A new study used three small studies to answer several questions about supertasters and find out more about their brand identification ability, brand loyalty and if their abilities dissipate with ... read more

Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016