Consumer Behavior News
April 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:39pm EDT

More Consumer Behavior News
April 30, 2016

Consumers' Trust in Online User Ratings Misplaced, Says Study

Apr. 28, 2016 — The belief that online user ratings are good indicators of product quality is largely an illusion, according to a new study. The analyses show a very low correspondence between average user ratings ... read more

Beauty Companies Should Focus on Older Women's Desire to Look Good, Not Young

Apr. 27, 2016 — Companies promoting beauty products should reconsider current methods when targeting older women as few claim to use cosmetic products to look younger. The majority say they use them to look good and ... read more

Polarization May Cause Climate Communication to Backfire

Apr. 27, 2016 — Political polarization may cause communication about climate change to backfire, a new study finds. Even efforts that frame climate change around seemingly win-win issues such as economic growth or ... read more

Consumers Reveal Barriers to Brain-Training App-Iness

Apr. 27, 2016 — The preconceptions and concerns of young US consumers about brain-training smartphone apps are examined in a new scientific study. The work investigated why consumers decide to download these apps, ... read more

Families With Kids Increasingly Live Near Families Just Like Them

Apr. 27, 2016 — Neighborhoods are becoming less diverse and more segregated by income -- but only among families with children, a new study has ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — Open the box of that new smartphone. Oops, it feels differently from expectations based on what you'd seen. Embrace it or be disappointed? Your reaction is likely tied to your perception of the ... read more

Eco-Friendly Store Brands Are a 'Win-Win-Win Situation'

Apr. 20, 2016 — Profits for store brands can increase if companies couple ethical marketing with higher prices, new research indicates. However, the researchers also found that consumers' evaluations of store ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Player behavior in narrative role-playing games (RPGs) reflects specific character roles -- even if the game tells players nothing about the character's role. This finding is relevant to both ... read more

Corporate Sustainability Should Be Core Strategy, Requires Paths Unique to Each Business

Apr. 19, 2016 — In an effort to qualify the process of investing in corporate sustainability, researchers examined two major international apparel brands, Nike and Adidas, to determine the paths taken to reach ... read more

Use the Right Analogy, Survive the Zombie Apocalypse

Apr. 19, 2016 — A new study by a marketing professor looks at the best ways to use analogies in ... read more

Fewer Romantic Prospects May Lead to Riskier Investments

Apr. 18, 2016 — Encountering information suggesting that it may be tough to find a romantic partner shifts people's decision making toward riskier options, according to new findings from a series of ... read more

Economic Benefits of Dropping Mental Health Stigma

Apr. 14, 2016 — Does reducing stigma and discrimination associated with mental illness provide economic dividends for a region? A new study finds that a California stigma-reduction campaign may encourage more people ... read more

Buying High in the Stock Market Caused by Overconfidence

Apr. 11, 2016 — Little is known about what causes people to make the investment mistake of buying stocks at a high price. A personal financial planning professor has found that overconfidence in the stock market can ... read more

Maryland's 2011 Alcohol Sales Tax Reduced Alcohol Sales, Study Suggests

Apr. 11, 2016 — Maryland's 2011 increase in the alcohol sales tax appears to have led to fewer purchases of beer, wine and liquor in the state, suggesting reduced alcohol use, new research ... read more

Spending That Fits Personality Can Boost Well-Being

Apr. 7, 2016 — Money could buy happiness if your purchases fit your personality, according to a new study that examines nearly 77,000 actual UK bank spending transactions. The study revealed that people who spent ... read more

Top Soccer Players May Be Under-Performing Because of Gambling, Research Suggests

Apr. 7, 2016 — Some top soccer players are under-performing because of worries about gambling losses, according to new ... read more

Daily Deal Websites Can Capitalize by Displaying Sales Numbers

Apr. 7, 2016 — Researchers developed a theoretical model that considers the strategic interaction between a daily deal website, a merchant and consumers. They found that by providing sales information, daily deal ... read more

Some Users Hit 'Delete' After Pledging Charitable Donations Online, Study Shows

Apr. 6, 2016 — Do charitable campaigns conducted on social media platforms actually “click” with the public? A new study suggests that such campaigns can draw the attention of social media users but not always ... read more

Overall Sense of Satisfaction Shrinks When Inequality Widens

Apr. 6, 2016 — A new research paper contends a person's satisfaction drops as the percentage of overall income held by the very rich in a country rises. However, the authors say, this drop is minimal as long ... read more

Parkinson's Disease Meds Increase Risk of Compulsive Gambling, Shopping, Binge Eating

Apr. 5, 2016 — Drugs commonly prescribed to treat Parkinson's disease are linked to impulse control disorders such as pathological gambling, compulsive buying, hypersexuality and binge eating in some patients, ... read more

Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Sunday, February 7, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016