NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Consumer Behavior News
October 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:39am EDT

More Consumer Behavior News
October 27, 2016

Oct. 13, 2016 — Which products end up in your shopping basket? If the packaging information also features food traffic light colors (green for healthy, yellow for caution, and red for high fat and sugar content) ... read more

Do Older People Take Fewer Risks?

Oct. 4, 2016 — Whether and how risk-taking propensity varies over a person’s life span depends in part on how risk taking is measured, research concludes. When subjects are asked how they assess their risk ... read more

English Shoppers Ditch the Carrier Bag

Oct. 3, 2016 — Around 90% of people in England now take their own bags with them when food shopping as a result of the plastic carrier bag charge, new research has revealed. This has increased from 70% before the ... read more

Why We Prize Authenticity, but Buy Something Else

Sep. 29, 2016 — Being lauded is not the same as being liked. And marketers should take this into account, suggests a new ... read more

If Legalizing Pot, Consider Health, Not Profits, Analysis Says

Sep. 28, 2016 — A new analysis of marijuana legislation offers a framework for states that are considering legalizing the drug and want to protect public health, rather than corporate ... read more

Companies Use Instincts to Elicit Behavior from Consumers, Employees

Sep. 20, 2016 — The obvious strategy for a clothing retailer is to have as much product on the sales floor as possible to yield high sales. The clothing needs to be available to be bought, ... read more

Using Nonlinearity in Understanding Market Forces

Sep. 20, 2016 — There are certain markets within the U.S. and global economies in which two major corporations dominate. For example, Coca-Cola Co. and PepsiCo Inc. are the two major firms that compete with each ... read more

Sep. 20, 2016 — ... read more

Sep. 16, 2016 — Researchers have studied the behavior of watermelon consumers and found that participants were more willing to pay a premium for watermelons labeled as grown on preserved farmland — as opposed to ... read more

Costs of US Prescription Opioid Epidemic Estimated at $78. 5 Billion

Sep. 14, 2016 — Prescription opioid overdose, abuse, and dependence carries high costs for American society, with an estimated total economic burden of $78.5 billion, according to a new ... read more

Families Caring for an Aging America

Sep. 13, 2016 — The demand for family caregivers for adults who are 65 or older is increasing significantly, and family caregivers need more recognition, information, and support to fulfill their responsibilities ... read more

Impact of Advertising Psychiatric Drugs

Sep. 13, 2016 — Direct-to-consumer advertising of psychiatric medications appears to increase prescribing, which may be having a mixed effect on the quality of treatment, according to a new review of the very few ... read more

The Sharing Economy's Effect on Business

Sep. 13, 2016 — The rising tide of product sharing can indeed lift all economic ships, including those of the product manufacturers, or firms, new research ... read more

'Sleeper Effect' Accounts for Durability of Weak Messages from Credible Sources

Sep. 13, 2016 — The least convincing arguments can reverberate in the public consciousness over time -- provided they're delivered by a credible source, explains new ... read more

Paying Do-Gooders Makes Them Less Persuasive

Sep. 8, 2016 — People who receive a financial incentive to raise money for a charity they care about are actually less effective in soliciting donations, even when potential donors have no idea that incentives were ... read more

Study Explores Youths' Motivations for Painting Graffiti

Sep. 8, 2016 — Youth who paint graffiti on businesses and public property, also called street taggers, say they don’t view their actions as criminal because they are not injuring anyone and the graffiti can be ... read more

Who Loses When Car Prices Are Negotiated?

Sep. 7, 2016 — A new car is a big expense for anyone -- but it will cost some people more than others, even at the same dealership. New research shows older consumers -- especially older women -- pay more for new ... read more

One, Two, Many: Deciders Often Shift Costs Onto Large Groups Without Hesitation

Sep. 7, 2016 — We often make generous financial decisions when the costs are dispersed over a large group, results from experimental economics ... read more

More Evidence That TV Ads May Influence Kids' Drinking

Sep. 7, 2016 — The more advertising kids see for particular brands of alcohol, the more they consume of those brands, according to a new study. The work adds to evidence linking alcohol advertising to underage ... read more

Beat the Stock Market by Satisfying Customers

Sep. 6, 2016 — Satisfy your customers and win in the stock market, says a new study by a team of researchers who found positive stock returns on customer satisfaction far out-distance competitive market measures ... read more

Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016