Consumer Behavior News
August 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:08pm EDT

More Consumer Behavior News
August 27, 2016

Going Green Is for Girls, but Branding Can Make Men Eco-Friendly

Aug. 25, 2016 — Studies show that men are not as environmentally friendly as women. But could men be persuaded to go green? New research indicates the answer is yes — and it’s all about ... read more

Buying High Vs. Bargain Hunting

Aug. 17, 2016 — Purchasing and pricing has always been a dance between buyers and sellers. Before deciding to make a purchase, buyers spend varying amounts of time and effort searching for price information. These ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Anyone who has lost out on an investment in recent weeks -- from pension funds and stocks to the housing rental market and currency exchange -- may have lost more than they realize, according to new ... read more

Employers Who Promote Ethics Should Reward Workers Who Exhibit Them, Study Finds

Aug. 17, 2016 — Building a business reputation from the inside out — with employees giving a company high marks as an ethical place to work — is increasingly being hailed as a way to get a leg up on the ... read more

When Listing a Home for Sale the Left-Most Digit on the Asking Price Matters Most

Aug. 9, 2016 — The best technique for pricing a home when listing it for sale is setting the asking price just below a round number, according to recent ... read more

Focus on Future to Save More Money

Aug. 4, 2016 — When it comes to personal finances, impulsiveness and materialism can lead to bad decisions and a failure to save enough, but new research suggests that when people focus more on the future, they ... read more

New Research Explores Why People 'Pass the Buck'

Aug. 3, 2016 — People are more likely to delegate decisions--or "pass the buck"--when faced with choices that affect others than when those decisions affect only themselves, according to new ... read more

Trading Changes How Brain Processes Selling Decisions

Aug. 2, 2016 — Experience in trading changes how the human brain evaluates the sale of goods, muting an economic bias known as the endowment effect in which people demand a higher price to sell a good than ... read more

Compromise Nearly Guaranteed When a Woman Is Involved in Decision-Making Pairs

July 28, 2016 — Compromise always occurs among two decision makers when a woman is involved (female pairs or mixed gender pairs) because compromise is consistent with feminine norms. It hardly ever occurs when the ... read more

July 26, 2016 — New research sheds light on what's going on inside our heads as we decide whether to take a risk or play it safe. Scientists located a region of the brain involved in decisions made under ... read more

Why Do Consumers Participate in 'Green' Programs?

July 22, 2016 — From recycling to reusing hotel towels, consumers who participate in a company's 'green' program are more satisfied with its service, finds a new ... read more

Cosmetic Therapy: The Link Between Makeup and a Down Economy

July 19, 2016 — During tough economic times, women engage in the “lipstick effect,” stocking up on cosmetics and beauty products. The phenomenon has occurred during every major recession in U.S. history and ... read more

Food Purchasing and Social Status Perceptions

July 18, 2016 — A new study worked to reveal consumer motivations behind willingness to pay for expensive foods versus valuation of food attributes. Could it be fashion, a bid for prestige or a statement of wealth ... read more

Struggling Families Crave Stability in Uncertain Times, Study Shows

July 15, 2016 — Over a third of families (more than 2 million households) in the United Kingdom are earning below the minimum income needed for an acceptable living standard. A new study has taken a new look at life ... read more

Public Health Benefits of E-Cigarette Use Tend to Outweigh the Harms

July 14, 2016 — A modeling study by top tobacco control experts finds that e-cigarettes are likely to provide public health benefits based on "conservative estimates" of the likely uptake of vaping and ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Evidence has been found that religious identification and belief in a god dampen the otherwise strong negative effect that political conservatism typically has on whether people make purchasing ... read more

Oxytocin's Role in Binge Eating

July 12, 2016 — A study has demonstrated that variants of the Oxytocin Receptor (OXTR) gene contribute to why some of us overeat or engage in episodes of binge eating. Researchers investigated how the OXTR gene ... read more

The True Cost of Crime, in Carbon Footprints

July 11, 2016 — Despite policy makers currently examining the economic and social impacts of crime, the environmental impacts have not, to date, been included, a new report ... read more

Economics Study Finds Volume Discounts Don't Increase Profitability for Video Game

July 8, 2016 — Discounts tied to buying large quantities of virtual goods have little impact on profitability and do not increase the number of customers making purchases, A study by economists finds. The findings ... read more

A Recipe for Friendship: Similar Food

July 8, 2016 — Eating similar food promotes trust between strangers, new research indicates. The researchers also discovered that these findings applied to marketing products. Participants trusted information from ... read more

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016