Schizophrenia News
August 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:34pm EDT

More Schizophrenia News
August 31, 2016

Dopamine: Far More Than Just the 'Happy Hormone'

Aug. 31, 2016 — Dopamine is a so-called messenger substance or neurotransmitter that conveys signals between neurons. It not only controls mental and emotional responses but also motor reactions. Dopamine is ... read more

Antipsychotic Medications Linked to Increased Risk of Pneumonia in Persons With Alzheimer's Disease

Aug. 30, 2016 — Antipsychotic medications are associated with an increased risk of pneumonia in persons with Alzheimer's disease, according to new research. The risk of pneumonia was the highest at the ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — Scientists are testing a drug that could boost levels of critical protective protein in brain. In the study, the team conducted tests in a mouse model of Alzheimer's disease by raising the ... read more

Stressful Trigger Events Associated With Risk of Violent Crime

July 13, 2016 — Trigger events, including exposure to violence, were associated with increased risk of violent crime in the week following exposure among patients with schizophrenia and bipolar disorder and among ... read more

Dopamine Receptor Blockade Seen as Cause for Antipsychotic Drug Side-Effects

July 6, 2016 — Scientists have discovered the key cellular mechanism that underlies the antipsychotic-induced parkinsonism -- which includes involuntary movements, tremors and other severe physical conditions. ... read more

July 6, 2016 — The microRNA miR-19 helps budding adult brain cells stay on track, new research indicates. The findings pave the way toward a better understanding of how the adult brain controls the growth of new ... read more

New Tool Can Predict Individual's Risk of Psychotic Disorders

July 5, 2016 — A new risk calculator can predict an individual’s risk of developing psychotic disorders such as schizophrenia, according to a new study. The research involved collaborators from nine sites and may ... read more

Analysis of Genetic Repeats Suggests Role for DNA Instability in Schizophrenia

June 24, 2016 — An international research team has revealed extensive genetic variation in patients with schizophrenia. Significantly more copy number variations (CNVs) of genomic DNA were detected in patients than ... read more

Elevated CRP May Be Response, Not Cause of Disease

June 21, 2016 — Genetically raised levels of C-reactive protein (CRP, an inflammatory protein) are associated with protection against schizophrenia, according to a Mendelian randomization study. The study found a ... read more

Low Maternal Thyroid Hormone During Pregnancy Increases Risk for Schizophrenia in Offspring

June 21, 2016 — A new study reveals a new link between low levels of the thyroid hormone thyroxine during pregnancy and risk of schizophrenia in the ... read more

Nerve-Insulating Cells More Diverse Than Previously Thought

June 9, 2016 — Oligodendrocytes, a type of brain cell that plays a crucial role in diseases such as multiple sclerosis, are more diverse than have previously been thought, according to a new study. The findings ... read more

Study Uncovers Clue to Deciphering Schizophrenia

June 7, 2016 — The brains of healthy relatives of people with schizophrenia may hold a clue to better understand - and ultimately treat - the devastating illness, finds new ... read more

June 4, 2016 — Dopamine signaling within the cerebral cortex can predict changes in the extent of communication between key brain networks during working memory, report ... read more

Stress Hormone Link With Psychosis

June 3, 2016 — A link between levels of the stress hormone cortisol and psychosis has been discovered by researchers, which could help identify people at greatest risk of developing the severe mental ... read more

Unusual Combo Reduces Health Risk from Atypical Antipsychotic

June 2, 2016 — Taking vitamin D ameliorates the risk of developing new-onset diabetes from atypical antipsychotics like quetiapine, a new data mining study ... read more

Antipsychotic Prescribing Trends in Youths With Autism and Intellectual Disability

May 31, 2016 — About one in 10 youths treated with an antipsychotic are diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder or intellectual disability. Conversely, one in six youths diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder has ... read more

May 27, 2016 — A team of scientists from across the globe have shown that the brains of patients with schizophrenia have the capacity to reorganize and fight the illness. This is the first time that imaging data ... read more

Multiple Personality Disorder May Be Rooted in Traumatic Experiences

May 25, 2016 — A new study supports the notion that multiple personality disorder is rooted in traumatic experiences such as neglect or abuse in childhood, rather than being related to suggestibility or proneness ... read more

Lipid Testing Underutilized in Adults Taking Antipsychotic Medications

May 24, 2016 — Too few adults taking antipsychotic medications are being screened for abnormalities in lipids, which include cholesterol and triglycerides, new research finds. The biggest gap in screening is among ... read more

Smoking During Pregnancy Associated With Increased Risk of Schizophrenia in Offspring

May 24, 2016 — Researchers report an association between smoking during pregnancy and increased risk for schizophrenia in children. The paper evaluated nearly 1,000 cases of schizophrenia and matched controls among ... read more

Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015