Schizophrenia News
April 28, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:59am EDT

More Schizophrenia News
April 28, 2017

Alcohol Use in Veterans With Schizophrenia Less Common Than Thought; No Level Safe

Mar. 28, 2017 — US veterans who are being treated for schizophrenia are much less likely to drink any alcohol than the general population. But when they do misuse alcohol, it leads to worsening of their ... read more

Another Step in Understanding Antipsychotic Medication

Feb. 28, 2017 — Antipsychotic drugs are used for the treatment of mental illnesses such as bipolar disorder and schizophrenia. Unfortunately, sedation or sleepiness is a common side effect of these drugs, which ... read more

Feb. 27, 2017 — New research has identified sections of DNA associated with altered regulation of gene expression underlying schizophrenia. The implicated loci contribute to schizophrenia risk by affecting ... read more

Clues to Relationship Between Schizophrenia and Rheumatoid Arthritis

Feb. 24, 2017 — A bioinformatics study identifies genetic variants with differing effects on risk of rheumatoid arthritis and ... read more

Drugs That Alter Inhibitory Targets Offer Therapeutic Strategies for Autism, Schizophrenia

Feb. 21, 2017 — Researchers recently discovered that an inhibitory brain receptor triggers synaptic pruning in adolescence. Drugs that selectively target these receptors, when administered during adolescence, can ... read more

B Vitamins Reduce Schizophrenia Symptoms, Study Finds

Feb. 16, 2017 — A review of worldwide studies has found that add-on treatment with high-dose B vitamins -- including B6, B8 and B12 -- can significantly reduce symptoms of schizophrenia more than standard treatments ... read more

Making Strides in Schizophrenia Diagnosis Research

Feb. 9, 2017 — Researchers have developed a blood test that could help doctors more quickly diagnose schizophrenia and other ... read more

Handedness Arises from Genes in the Spinal Cords of Embryos

Feb. 7, 2017 — The left side of the spinal cord matures slightly faster than the right side in human embryos of four to eight weeks age. This is the earliest left-right difference of development in the human ... read more

Depressed Patients With Earlier and More Severe Symptoms Have High Genetic Risk for Major Psychiatric Disorders

Feb. 7, 2017 — Clinical features of major depressive disorder (MDD) may help identify specific subgroups of depressed patients based on associations with genetic risk for major psychiatric disorders, reports a ... read more

Researchers Find Chemical Switch That May Decrease Symptoms of Schizophrenia

Feb. 7, 2017 — In mice, adjusting levels of a compound called kynurenic acid can have significant effects on schizophrenia-like behavior, research has found. In recent years, scientists have identified kynurenic ... read more

'Mirror Game' Test Could Secure Early Detection of Schizophrenia, Study Shows

Feb. 1, 2017 — A pioneering new study has developed a new, 'mirror game' test using computer avatars to accurately detect specific variations in how patients move and interact socially -- well-documented ... read more

Nicotine Normalizes Brain Activity Deficits That Are Key to Schizophrenia

Jan. 23, 2017 — A steady stream of nicotine normalizes genetically-induced impairments in brain activity associated with schizophrenia, according to new research. The finding sheds light on what causes the disease ... read more

Gene That Enables Memories, Sense of Direction Produces Schizophrenia-Like Symptoms When Mutated

Jan. 18, 2017 — Mutations in a gene that should enable memories and a sense of direction instead can result in imprecise communication between neurons that contributes to symptoms of schizophrenia, scientists ... read more

Genetic Discovery Provides New Insight Into Cognitive Disorders

Jan. 17, 2017 — An international team of scientists has unlocked some of the genes responsible for cognitive ability.The findings bring scientists a step closer to developing new -- and potentially better -- ... read more

Schizophrenia Could Directly Increase Risk of Diabetes

Jan. 12, 2017 — People with early schizophrenia are at an increased risk of developing diabetes, even when the effects of antipsychotic drugs, diet and exercise are taken out of the equation, according to a new ... read more

Biological Changes Could Underlie Higher Psychosis Risk in Immigrants

Jan. 10, 2017 — A new study could explain how migrating to another country increases a person's risk of developing schizophrenia, by altering brain chemistry. Immigrants had higher levels of the brain chemical ... read more

Nerve-Signaling Protein Regulates Gene Associated With Schizophrenia

Jan. 5, 2017 — Researchers have identified a protein that regulates a gene associated with schizophrenia. The study’s findings have significant implications for schizophrenia ... read more

Genes Affecting Our Communication Skills Relate to Genes for Schizophrenia and Autism

Jan. 3, 2017 — By screening thousands of individuals, an international team led by researchers has provided new insights into the relationship between genes that confer risk for autism or schizophrenia and genes ... read more

New Intracellular Dopamine Receptor Function May Offer Hope to Schizophrenia Patients

Dec. 9, 2016 — Dopamine is a chemical in the brain that plays an important role in controlling movement, emotion and cognition. Dopamine dysfunction is believed to be one of the causes of disorders like ... read more

MRI Scans Detect 'Brain Rust' in Schizophrenia

Dec. 7, 2016 — A damaging chemical imbalance in the brain may contribute to schizophrenia, according to ... read more

Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Friday, December 9, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016