Schizophrenia News
May 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:05pm EDT

More Schizophrenia News
May 27, 2016

Lipid Testing Underutilized in Adults Taking Antipsychotic Medications

May 24, 2016 — Too few adults taking antipsychotic medications are being screened for abnormalities in lipids, which include cholesterol and triglycerides, new research finds. The biggest gap in screening is among ... read more

May 2, 2016 — Researchers have obtained images of the NMDA receptor in active, non-active, and inhibited states. Understanding how NMDA receptors activate is critical in designing novel therapeutic compounds for ... read more

Powerful Genetic Regulator Identified as Risk Factor for Schizophrenia

Apr. 21, 2016 — By turning skin cells into brain neurons, researchers have identified that certain tiny molecules aiding in gene expression, known as microRNAs (miRNAs), are under-expressed in the brains of the 14 ... read more

Smoking and Schizophrenia: Understanding, Breaking the Cycle of Addiction

Apr. 18, 2016 — Smoking addiction in schizophrenia can be explained by significantly increased activation of the ventro-medial prefrontal cortex (vmPFC), a region involved in the brain reward system. These new data ... read more

Enzyme in Myelination Process Could Lead to Better Understanding of Neurological Disorders

Apr. 14, 2016 — The removal of the enzyme Dnmt1 during oligodendrocyte progenitor cell (OPC) differentiation in the central nervous system resulted in inefficient myelin formation and neurological deterioration, ... read more

For Young People With Schizophrenia, Physical and Mental Exercises Offer Hope

Apr. 6, 2016 — Researchers have found a promising way to tackle the cognitive deficits associated with schizophrenia. When combined with antipsychotic medication, a rigorous regime of mental and physical exercise ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — Clozapine (CLZ) is a “gold standard” drug for managing treatment-resistant schizophrenia, who do not respond adequately to first-line antipsychotics. However, despite its efficacy, the use of CLZ ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — While most scientists believe that TCF4 proteins degraded and disappeared after they assigned jobs to cells in the nervous system, a research team discovered that the proteins were hanging around ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — Intracellular protein trafficking is important for higher brain functions such as learning and memory, new research has found. The research group showed that a molecule, ARHGAP33 regulates synaptic ... read more

Overlap Between Genetic Factors Associated With Risk of Schizophrenia, Maternal Age at First Birth

Mar. 23, 2016 — The risk of schizophrenia in children associated with younger and older maternal age appears to be partly explained by the genetic association between schizophrenia and age at first birth, according ... read more

Antipsychotic Drugs Linked to Increased Mortality Among Parkinson's Disease Patients

Mar. 21, 2016 — At least half of Parkinson's disease patients experience psychosis at some point during the course of their illness, and physicians commonly prescribe antipsychotic drugs, such as quetiapine, to ... read more

Mar. 18, 2016 — Scientists found that patients with schizophrenia demonstrated a specific leftward volumetric asymmetry for the globus pallidus, one of the basal ganglia of the brain. The basal ganglia are involved ... read more

Combined Screening Could Detect Early Schizophrenia

Mar. 21, 2016 — A combination of screening tools has been tested by scientists to assess their validity for the early diagnosis of schizophrenia. Schizophrenia is a long-term mental disorder with a genetic component ... read more

Refugees Have a Substantially Higher Risk of Psychotic Disorders

Mar. 15, 2016 — Refugees face a substantially higher risk of psychotic disorders, including schizophrenia, compared to non-refugee migrants from the same regions of origin, finds a new ... read more

Exercise Helps Young People With Psychosis Symptoms, Study Shows

Mar. 14, 2016 — The long-term prospects for young people who are diagnosed with psychosis are typically poor, with high rates of relapse, unemployment and premature death. The antipsychotics they are prescribed also ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — A small peptide generated from a collagen protein may protect the brain from schizophrenia by promoting the formation of neuronal synapses, according to a new paper. Scientists suggest that these new ... read more

New Studies of the 'Natural History' of Schizophrenia Raise Hope for New Treatments

Mar. 10, 2016 — Emerging evidence on the development, 'prodromal' characteristics, and long-term course of schizophrenia provide reasons for optimism for developing new treatments and preventive approaches ... read more

Disproving Hypothesis Clears Path for Research for New Treatment Options for Schizophrenia

Mar. 10, 2016 — Researchers reported negative results from the first repeated-dose study of a dopamine-1 receptor (D1R) agonist for treating cognitive and negative symptoms of schizophrenia.Based on earlier ... read more

Cannabis Use in Psychotic Patients Linked to 50 Percent Higher Hospital Admission Risk

Mar. 4, 2016 — Cannabis use among people experiencing a first episode of psychotic illness is linked to a 50 per cent heightened risk of hospital admission -- including compulsory detention (sectioning) -- as well ... read more

Immunotherapy Improves Cognition in Patients With Schizophrenia

Feb. 25, 2016 — A recent study of a handful of patients supports mounting evidence that targeted suppression of inflammation packaged with standard therapy can improve the cognitive ability of patients with ... read more

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Sunday, August 2, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015