Insomnia News
May 29, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:29pm EDT

More Insomnia News
May 29, 2017

Sleep Loss Affects Your Waistline

May 22, 2017 — Sleep loss increases the risk of obesity through a combination of effects on energy metabolism. This research will highlight how disrupted sleep patterns, a common feature of modern living, can ... read more

Tai Chi Relieves Insomnia in Breast Cancer Survivors

May 10, 2017 — Slow-moving meditation practice works just as well as talk therapy, and better than medication in treating sleep loss in breast cancer survivors, investigators ... read more

To Improve Chronic Pain, Get More Sleep (Coffee Helps Too)

May 8, 2017 — New research shows that chronic sleep loss increases pain sensitivity. It suggests that chronic pain sufferers can get relief by getting more sleep, or, short of that, taking medications to promote ... read more

Surprise Communication Found Between Brain Regions Involved in Infant Motor Control

May 4, 2017 — A new connection between two regions of the brain has been discovered that may help explain how motor skills develop. Working with infant rats, the scientists found that the hippocampus and the red ... read more

Circadian Clock Changes Can Alter Body's Response to Diet

May 4, 2017 — Changing the circadian clock in mouse liver can alter how the body responds to diet and also change the microbes living in the digestive ... read more

Alternative Treatment Approach for Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome May Shorten Hospital Stay

May 4, 2017 — New research suggests a revamped, 'common sense' approach to treating newborns suffering opioid withdrawal -- gauging whether the baby can eat, sleep and be consoled within 10 minutes ... read more

Apr. 25, 2017 — Through a combination of experiments with college students and laboratory worms, researchers have identified the first specific genes to show molecular alterations associated with short sleep ... read more

Alternating Skimpy Sleep With Sleep Marathons Hurts Attention, Creativity in Young Adults

Apr. 24, 2017 — Skimping on sleep, followed by 'catch-up' days with long snoozes, is tied to worse cognition -- both in attention and creativity -- in young adults, in particular those tackling major ... read more

Little Kids' Regular Bedtimes and Ability to Regulate Emotions May Lessen Obesity Risk

Apr. 24, 2017 — Family structure including regular bedtimes, mealtimes and limited screen time appear to be linked to better emotional health in preschoolers, and that might lower the chances of obesity later, a new ... read more

Smartphones and Machine Learning Used to Measure Sleep Patterns

Apr. 20, 2017 — Despite spending at least one quarter to one third a day sleeping, good sleep can elude many people, and the diagnosis and treatment of sleep disorders remains primitive. Researchers have designed ... read more

Level of Unconsciousness in Brain Damaged Patients Related to Body Temperature

Apr. 20, 2017 — Circadian rhythms may play a crucial role in the recovery of consciousness of patients with severe brain ... read more

Poor Sleep in Anxiety, Depression May Make It Harder to See Positive

Apr. 18, 2017 — The dorsal anterior cingulate cortex may have to work harder to modify negative emotional responses in people with poor sleep who have depression or anxiety, new research ... read more

Musical Beds: Co-Sleeping Is More Common Than Some Parents Admit

Apr. 12, 2017 — Parents know that co-sleeping is considered a no-no, but many still allow their children to crawl into bed with them at night. Doctors generally discourage co-sleeping, but a professor says it is a ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — The light environment in intensive care affects how patients feel -- even a year after completed hospitalization -- new research suggests. With light adapted to the time of day, health even improves ... read more

Late Sleep-Wake Time Preference Linked to Depression in Individuals With Diabetes

Apr. 3, 2017 — People with type 2 diabetes who are “night owls” and prefer the evening for activity report having more symptoms of depression than those who are early to bed and early to rise, regardless of the ... read more

Prolonged Sleep Disturbance Can Lead to Lower Bone Formation

Apr. 2, 2017 — Insufficient sleep, a common problem that has been linked to chronic disease risk, might also be an unrecognized risk factor for bone ... read more

Insomnia Associated With Increased Risk of Heart Attack and Stroke

Mar. 31, 2017 — Insomnia is associated with increased risk of heart attack and stroke, according to new ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Can't sleep? Your sleep problems may be improved if you try an Indian herb, Ashwagandha. Researchers found that an active component of Ashwagandha leaves significantly induces ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — When you're tired, your ability to interpret subtle expressions of happiness and sadness can begin to deteriorate, researchers have found. However, the ability to read more primitive ... read more

Mar. 17, 2017 — A study comparing children 7 to 11 years old with moderate or severe obstructive sleep apnea to children the same age who slept normally found significant reductions of gray matter -- brain cells ... read more

Monday, May 22, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Monday, May 8, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Sunday, February 26, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Saturday, January 21, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, December 30, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016