Caregiving News
August 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:38am EDT

More Caregiving News
August 25, 2016

Western Diet Increases Alzheimer's Risk

Aug. 25, 2016 — Globally, about 42 million people now have dementia, with Alzheimer’s disease as the most common type of dementia. Rates of Alzheimer’s disease are rising worldwide. The most important risk ... read more

Aquatic Treadmill Walking May Increase Exercise Capacity After Stroke

Aug. 23, 2016 — For patients in rehabilitation after a stroke, walking on an underwater treadmill produces better measures of exercise performance compared to conventional treadmill walking, reports a recent ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — A new, non-invasive way to track the progression of Parkinson’s disease could help evaluate experimental treatments to slow or stop the disease’s progression, say ... read more

New Treatment Option for Alzheimer's Disease Possible, Say Researchers

Aug. 11, 2016 — A research project has shown that an experimental model of Alzheimer's disease can be successfully treated with a commonly used anti-inflammatory ... read more

Targeting Brain Cells to Alleviate Neuropathic Pain

Aug. 8, 2016 — Chronic neuropathic pain -- caused by nerve damage as a result of an injury, surgery or a debilitating disease like diabetes or cancer -- could be greatly reduced in animals when the injury is ... read more

Insomnia? Oversleeping? Both May Increase Your Risk of Stroke

Aug. 3, 2016 — There is growing evidence that sleep disorders like insomnia and sleep apnea are related to stroke risk and recovery from stroke, according to a recent literature ... read more

Inosine Treatment Helps Recovery of Motor Functions After Brain Injury

Aug. 3, 2016 — Brain tissue can die as the result of stroke, traumatic brain injury, or neurodegenerative disease. When the affected area includes the motor cortex, impairment of the fine motor control of the hand ... read more

Caring for Elderly Stroke Survivors Costs an Estimated $40 Billion Per Year

Aug. 2, 2016 — It's assumed that family and friends will help out in the event of a medical crisis, but that's not always feasible. And when stroke survivors need more than 20 hours of care per week, as a ... read more

July 30, 2016 — Mini midbrains provide next generation platforms to investigate human brain biology, diseases and therapeutics, report ... read more

Study Shows Distress Intolerance Associated With Opioid Misuse

July 28, 2016 — Inability to manage negative emotional and somatic stress is associated with opioid misuse in adults with chronic pain, according to new ... read more

Stroke Patients Heading Directly to Endovascular Centers Could Get Treatment Faster

July 27, 2016 — Time is critical when it comes to ischemic stroke treatment: Patients need to receive certain treatments within six hours to maximize their chances of the best possible outcome. A new study assessed ... read more

Workforce Processes Prior to Mechanical Thrombectomy Vary Widely, New Study Finds

July 26, 2016 — Mechanical thrombectomy, a leading type of neurointerventional stroke treatment where a device can remove a blood clot in minutes, is essential for people experiencing a stroke, who stand to lose 2 ... read more

Flu Vaccine Reduces Risk of Hospital Stay for Stroke, Heart Failure for Diabetes Patients

July 25, 2016 — People with type 2 diabetes who receive the influenza vaccine may be less likely to be admitted to hospital for myocardial infarction, stroke and heart failure, according to new ... read more

Sibling Competition Helped Guide Dispersal in Pre-Industrial Populations

July 25, 2016 — Researchers who examined family genealogies from Finland found that the presence of same-sex elder siblings increased the probability that people would disperse to new lands, whereas having ... read more

Racial Differences in Inpatient Procedures After Stroke

July 25, 2016 — Inpatient procedures are an integral part of routine stroke care. Some procedures have a curative intent to heal the patient, while others are life-sustaining procedures. A new study has found that ... read more

Are Primary Stroke Centers Associated With Lower Fatality?

July 25, 2016 — Does a long travel time to a primary stroke center (PSC) offset the potential benefits of this specialized care? A new study analyzed data for a national group of Medicare beneficiaries and ... read more

Scientists Apply New Imaging Tool to Common Brain Disorders

July 20, 2016 — A new approach has been developed to scanning the brain for changes in synapses that are associated with common brain disorders. The technique may provide insights into the diagnosis and treatment of ... read more

Effectiveness of Treatment for Individuals With Brain Injury or Stroke

July 20, 2016 — New articles explore the effectiveness of several neurorehabilitation treatments for individuals with brain injury or stroke. A number of published articles have covered the issue of efficacy of ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Social robots can be used in the educational or health system, where they would support trainers and therapists in their work. The robots can be programmed to practice vocabulary with children or to ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Scientists have shown that the most common genetic cause of Parkinson's disease -- a mutant LRRK2 kinase enzyme -- contributes to the formation of inclusions in neurons, resembling one of the ... read more

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Saturday, May 14, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016