Caregiving News
July 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:07pm EDT

More Caregiving News
July 27, 2016

Stroke Patients Heading Directly to Endovascular Centers Could Get Treatment Faster

July 27, 2016 — Time is critical when it comes to ischemic stroke treatment: Patients need to receive certain treatments within six hours to maximize their chances of the best possible outcome. A new study assessed ... read more

Sibling Competition Helped Guide Dispersal in Pre-Industrial Populations

July 25, 2016 — Researchers who examined family genealogies from Finland found that the presence of same-sex elder siblings increased the probability that people would disperse to new lands, whereas having ... read more

Effectiveness of Treatment for Individuals With Brain Injury or Stroke

July 20, 2016 — New articles explore the effectiveness of several neurorehabilitation treatments for individuals with brain injury or stroke. A number of published articles have covered the issue of efficacy of ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Researchers have identified a new biological pathway involved in Alzheimer's disease. In experiments using fruit flies, blocking the pathway reduced the death of brain cells, suggesting that ... read more

July 11, 2016 — Understanding the networks of connections between brain regions and how they are changed by a stroke is crucial to understanding how stroke patients heal, according to new research. The types of ... read more

Surgery Found to Increase Risk of Chronic Opioid Use, Study Finds

July 11, 2016 — A study of health insurance claims showed that patients undergoing 11 of the most common types of surgery were at an increased risk of becoming chronic users of opioid painkillers, say ... read more

Link Found Between Traumatic Brain Injury and Parkinson's, but Not Alzheimer's

July 11, 2016 — Traumatic brain injury (TBI) with a loss of consciousness (LOC) may be associated with later development of Parkinson's disease but not Alzheimer's disease or incident dementia, new ... read more

July 11, 2016 — Imaging all of the brain's connections after stroke in addition to imaging only the areas of cortical tissue damage could better predict which patients will have language deficits and how severe ... read more

Association Discovered Between Atrial Fibrillation, Reduced Frontal Lobe Brain Volumes

July 11, 2016 — People who experience the heart arrhythmia atrial fibrillation, may also suffer from a smaller brain, specifically reduced frontal lobe volume, according to a recent Framingham Heart ... read more

Does Chronic Pain Run in Families?

July 6, 2016 — Can an increased risk of chronic pain be transmitted from parents to children? Several factors may contribute, including genetics, effects on early development, social learning, and more according to ... read more

Cerebrovascular Disease Linked to Alzheimer's

July 1, 2016 — While strokes are known to increase risk for dementia, much less is known about diseases of large and small blood vessels in the brain, separate from stroke, and how they relate to dementia. Diseased ... read more

Electronic Tablets Speed Stroke Care During Patient Transport, Study Finds

July 1, 2016 — The approach was just as accurate as a bedside assessment by a neurologist, which could allow for better transport decisions by the EMS team and potentially faster treatment of the patient once at ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Scientists report promising 90-day outcomes for stroke patients with large-vessel clots who underwent thrombectomy or clot removal using the direct-aspiration, first pass technique (ADAPT). ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Researchers say they have gleaned two important new clues in the fight against Parkinson’s disease: that blocking an enzyme called c-Abl prevents the disease in specially bred mice, and that a ... read more

New Devices Causing 'Paradigm Shift' in Stroke Care

June 24, 2016 — New devices called stent retrievers, which effectively reverse strokes, are revolutionizing the treatment of certain stroke patients, report ... read more

Researchers Open New Path of Discovery in Parkinson's Disease

June 27, 2016 — Two genes associated with Parkinson's disease are key regulators of the immune system, providing direct evidence linking Parkinson's to autoimmune disease, a new study ... read more

Genetic Clue to How Patients Respond to Treatment for Parkinson's Disease

June 23, 2016 — Researchers have identified a gene variant which explains why some patients with Parkinson’s Disease respond well to drug treatment and other do ... read more

Digital Strategies Show Promise for Emergency Heart and Stroke Care

June 22, 2016 — A new scientific statement reviews current research on the effectiveness and safety of using mobile devices, social media, visual media and crowdsourcing to improve emergency heart and stroke ... read more

Understanding How Chemical Changes in the Brain Affect Alzheimer's Disease

June 22, 2016 — A new study is helping to explain why the long-term use of common anticholinergic drugs used to treat conditions like allergies and overactive bladder lead to an increased risk of developing dementia ... read more

Blacks With AFib at Greater Risk for Adverse Outcomes

June 22, 2016 — Blacks with atrial fibrillation have nearly double the risk of stroke, heart failure, coronary heart disease and mortality from all causes than their white counterparts, new research ... read more

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Saturday, May 14, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016