NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Caregiving News
October 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:07am EDT

More Caregiving News
October 24, 2016

Failures in Mental Health System Flagged in New Report in England

Oct. 10, 2016 — Significant numbers of people with learning disabilities, particularly very young adults, remain inappropriately incarcerated in English hospitals, new research ... read more

Oct. 3, 2016 — A certain form of immunotherapy targeted to Alzheimer's patients may be ineffective when that patient also has Vascular Cognitive Impairment and Dementia, report scientists. While these drugs ... read more

More Than Half of Persons With Alzheimer's Disease Aged 90 Years or More Use Psychotropic Drugs

Oct. 3, 2016 — Psychotropic drug use is rather common among persons aged 90 years of more diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease compared with those who were diagnosed at younger age, concludes a study in Finland. ... read more

Abnormal Brain Protein May Contribute to Alzheimer's Disease Development

Sep. 30, 2016 — A recently-recognized pathologic protein in the brain may play a larger role in the development of clinical Alzheimer’s disease dementia than previously recognized, according to a new study of ... read more

Combination of Complementary Medicine, Standard Care Helps Reduce Pre-Op Anxiety

Sep. 29, 2016 — A combination of complementary medicine and standard care shows potential to reduce preoperative anxiety levels and improve the outcome of the operation, state authors of a new ... read more

In the Eye of the Beholder: First-of-Its-Kind Tool Measures Caregiver's Perception of Capabilities of Person With Dementia

Sep. 28, 2016 — Comprehensive occupational therapy care requires a family-centered approach including treatment for the person with dementia and education for the caregiver. Clinical assessments exist to evaluate ... read more

Time Window to Help People Who Have Had a Stroke Longer Than Previously Shown

Sep. 28, 2016 — Time is of the essence when getting people stricken with acute ischemic strokes to treatment. Current professional guidelines recommend that stent retrievers be used to remove blood clots from stroke ... read more

Interruptions to Rehab Are Common After Stroke or Brain Injury, but Many Are Preventable

Sep. 27, 2016 — Patients in inpatient rehabilitation after a stroke, brain injury, or spinal cord injury have significant rates of interruptions of their rehab program—often including being transferred back to the ... read more

Experimental Imaging Agent Reveals Concussion-Linked Brain Disease in Living Brain

Sep. 27, 2016 — A protein tracer shows a distinctive pattern of brain protein deposition specific to chronic traumatic encephalopathy, a disease typically confirmed after death. A link between brain injury and ... read more

Earlier Treatment With Surgery to Remove Blood Clot Linked With Less Disability Following Stroke

Sep. 27, 2016 — In an analysis that included nearly 1,300 patients with large-vessel ischemic stroke, earlier treatment with endovascular thrombectomy (intra-arterial use of a micro-catheter or other device to ... read more

Help Needed to Identify Post-Stroke Visual Impairments

Sep. 27, 2016 — A review of the methods available to screen for post-stroke visual impairments has found there is an urgent demand for the development of a ... read more

Enzyme Hyaluronidase Shows Promise as Treatment for Muscle Stiffness Caused by Brain Injury

Sep. 26, 2016 — A naturally occurring enzyme called hyaluronidase may be an effective alternative treatment for spasticity, or muscle stiffness, a disabling condition in people who have had a stroke or other brain ... read more

Trial Helps Doctors Tell Lewy Body Dementia from Alzheimer's, Parkinson's

Sep. 21, 2016 — Knowing that many clinicians find it difficult to correctly diagnose patients with Lewy body dementia, researchers set out to develop a clinical profile for these ... read more

Sleep Is Key to Curing Chronic Pain

Sep. 21, 2016 — A ink between chronic pain and lack of sleep has been identified by a team of researchers. They also discovered that people with pain who believe they won't be able to sleep are more likely to ... read more

Sep. 21, 2016 — A breakthrough in understanding how brain damage spreads – and how it could potentially be limited – has been made through a collaboration between neuroscientists and ... read more

Rare Genetic Condition May Provide Insights on Parkinson’s and Other Late-Onset Diseases

Sep. 19, 2016 — A new article suggests that an enzyme deficiency seen in the lysosomal storage disorder Krabbe’s disease may point to new mechanisms underlying certain late-onset neurodegenerative diseases such as ... read more

Clot-Busting Medication Safe for Patients Who Wake Up With Stroke

Sep. 19, 2016 — Using a clot-busting medication to treat people who wake up with symptoms of stroke was safe and should be studied further to see how effective it might be for a population that otherwise has few ... read more

Women, Minorities May Be Undertreated for Stroke

Sep. 14, 2016 — Women and minorities may be less likely to receive treatment for stroke, according to a study. For the study, the researchers looked back at more than eight years of hospital records from across the ... read more

Corydalis Yanhusuo Extract for Use as an Adjunct Medicine for Low to Moderate Chronic Pain

Sep. 14, 2016 — Root extracts from the flowering herbal plant Corydalis yanhusuo, or YHS, has widely used for centuries as a pain treatment. Yet few studies have investigated how it works on different forms of pain, ... read more

Families Caring for an Aging America

Sep. 13, 2016 — The demand for family caregivers for adults who are 65 or older is increasing significantly, and family caregivers need more recognition, information, and support to fulfill their responsibilities ... read more

Monday, October 10, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016