Addiction News
February 14, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:08pm EST

More Addiction News
February 14, 2016

Alcohol Consumption in Valencia Rockets During Fallas

Feb. 8, 2016 — It is possible to measure the alcohol consumption of a given population based on the presence of a stable metabolite excreted in urine in wastewaters: ethyl sulphate. Now research is focused on the ... read more

Better Quality of Care May Reduce Risk of Death for Patients on Opioid Painkillers

Feb. 4, 2016 — Better quality of care may reduce the risk of death for patients who are prescribed opioid painkillers for chronic pain, say Yale researchers. Their study offers evidence that supports ... read more

Gambling Is Associated With 'Risk-Taking Behavior' in Young Teens, Study Finds

Feb. 4, 2016 — Gambling among young teens may be associated with increased use of alcohol, cigarettes, or marijuana, according to a study that surveyed sixth- to eighth-graders in Italian ... read more

What's the Impact of New Marijuana Laws? The Data So Far

Feb. 3, 2016 — How has new legislation affected marijuana use in the United States? The best available data suggest that marijuana use is increasing in adults but not teens, with a decrease in marijuana-related ... read more

Study May Offer Answers for Treating Depression in Alcoholics

Feb. 2, 2016 — A new study is offering a glimmer of hope to alcoholics who find it hard to remain sober because their abstinence is hounded by stubborn, difficult-to-treat ... read more

The Dose Makes the Poison: Opioid Overdose Study Supports Call for Caution in Rx Levels

Feb. 1, 2016 — When it comes to prescription painkillers, the difference between controlling pain and dying from an overdose may come down to how strong a prescription the doctor wrote, according to a new study in ... read more

Users of Cherry-Flavored E-Cigarettes May Be Exposed to Higher Levels of Respiratory Irritant

Jan. 29, 2016 — An analysis of 145 different electronic-cigarette flavoring products reveals that many e-cigarette users may be exposed to a potentially harmful chemical, benzaldehyde. The highest concentrations ... read more

New Drug Could Be Safer, Non-Addictive Alternative to Morphine

Jan. 28, 2016 — A painkiller has been developed that is as strong as morphine but isn't likely to be addictive and with fewer side effects, according to a new study. Opium-based drugs are the leading treatments ... read more

Marijuana Survey Finds Medical Users More Likely to Consume Edibles and Vaporize

Jan. 28, 2016 — A new study provides some of the first evidence about patterns of marijuana use in states that have legalized medical marijuana. It finds that medical marijuana users are more likely to vaporize or ... read more

Antidepressants During Pregnancy Do Not Pose Risk to Unborn Child, Say Researchers

Jan. 27, 2016 — Women who take antidepressants during pregnancy do not appear to be at greater risk of giving birth to children with congenital heart defects compared to women who are not exposed to the drugs, ... read more

Comparison of Smoking Cessation Therapies Finds Similar Quit Rates

Jan. 26, 2016 — Among adults motivated to quit smoking, 12 weeks of treatment with a nicotine patch, the drug varenicline, or combination nicotine replacement therapy produced no significant differences in confirmed ... read more

Use of Psychosocial Treatments in Conjunction With Medication for Opioid Addiction

Jan. 26, 2016 — Psychosocial interventions, used together with effective medications, are a key part of recommended treatment for opioid addiction. But while research generally supports the effectiveness of ... read more

Incidence of Psychiatric Disorders Has Increased in a Shrinking Population of Smokers

Jan. 26, 2016 — While cigarette smoking rates have declined among younger people in the United States, those who do smoke are more likely to have a psychiatric or substance use disorder compared with those who began ... read more

New Policies, Educational Programs Help, but Don't Solve, Problems With Opioid Abuse

Jan. 26, 2016 — Medical provider training, new clinic policies and efforts to 'taper' opioid use for pain treatment could significantly reduce the level of opioid medication that patients used -- a limited ... read more

Researchers Uncover How Dopamine Transports Within the Brain

Jan. 25, 2016 — The mechanics of how dopamine transports into and out of brain cells has been uncovered by researchers, a finding that could someday lead to more effective treatment of drug addictions and ... read more

Mailed Nicotine Patches With No Behavioral Support Associated With Cessation

Jan. 25, 2016 — Mailing free nicotine patches to smokers without providing behavioral support was associated with higher rates of tobacco cessation than not offering the patches, according to an ... read more

College Students' Internet Overuse Leads Families to Connect and Conflict, New Study Finds

Jan. 21, 2016 — College students who are addicted to the Internet report positive and negative effects on their family relationships, according to new research. The study is the first to show how college students in ... read more

New Study Holds Hope for Improving Outcomes for Children Exposed to Methamphetamine

Jan. 21, 2016 — In a first of its kind study, researchers followed meth-exposed children to age 7.5 and found more supportive home environments could make a difference in their behavior and emotional ... read more

Legal, Policy Changes Can Lead to Shifts in Use of Medical Marijuana

Jan. 20, 2016 — Policy changes since 2001 had varying effects on the number of people consuming medical ... read more

Substance Use, Indoor Tanning Among Colorado High School Students

Jan. 20, 2016 — Analyses of the results of a survey of Colorado high school students suggest there may be a potential association between substance use and indoor tanning, according to an ... read more

Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015