Addiction News
August 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:09am EDT

More Addiction News
August 31, 2016

Alcohol-Related Hospitalization Associated With Doubled Stroke Risk in Atrial Fibrillation

Aug. 27, 2016 — Alcohol-related hospitalization is associated with a doubled risk of ischemic stroke risk in patients with non-valvular atrial fibrillation, according to a new study. The observational study was ... read more

Majority of US Doctors Discussing Electronic Cigarettes With Their Patients

Aug. 24, 2016 — A new survey of US doctors reveals they are frequently discussing electronic cigarettes (e-cigs) with patients in a clinical setting. A substantial proportion of physicians also recommend e-cigs to ... read more

Do the Tools to Quantify Addiction Help to Define It?

Aug. 24, 2016 — Understanding what counts as an addiction, and what can be done to address it is the work of researchers across many disciplines. But what tools are used to ‘measure’ addiction, and are these ... read more

New Drug Target Could Prevent Tolerance, Addiction to Opioids, Study Finds

Aug. 22, 2016 — Researchers have identified a brain mechanism that could be a drug target to help prevent tolerance and addiction to opioid pain medication, such as ... read more

Vaping May Lead to Fewer Respiratory Infections for Ex-Smokers

Aug. 19, 2016 — The majority of smokers who successfully switch to vaping say they have fewer respiratory infections, according to a study. The researchers say that this is because smoking increases susceptibility ... read more

Smoking Marijuana Provides More Pain Relief for Men Than Women

Aug. 18, 2016 — Men had greater pain relief than women after smoking marijuana, a new study has found. Despite differences in pain relief, men and women did not report differences in how intoxicated they felt or how ... read more

Study Supports New Strategy to Fight Cocaine Addiction

Aug. 18, 2016 — Strong evidence supporting a new strategy against drug addiction has been revealed by research. The researchers showed that a compound that inhibits the activity of certain brain-cell receptors can ... read more

US and Mexican Controls on Precursor Chemicals May Reduce Cocaine and Meth Use in the US

Aug. 17, 2016 — In December 2006, the USA regulated sodium permanganate, a chemical essential to the manufacture of cocaine. In March 2007, Mexico closed a chemical company accused of illicitly importing more than ... read more

Black, Hispanic Children, Youth Rarely Get Help for Mental Health Problems

Aug. 12, 2016 — Black youth are about half as likely as their white counterparts to get mental health care despite having similar rates of mental health problems, and Hispanic youth also get only half as much mental ... read more

Does Marriage Affect Drinking? A New Study Provides Insights

Aug. 11, 2016 — Are you more or less likely to drink often and heavily when in a relationship? That may depend on the ... read more

Reducing the Harms of Alcohol Through Weaker Beer

Aug. 10, 2016 — Could a small drop in the alcohol content of beer or other drinks reduce the harmful effects of alcohol in society at large? A new review, which explores the evidence, suggests this approach may be ... read more

New, Improved Guidelines for Diagnosing Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder

Aug. 10, 2016 — A group of experts on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders has produced proposed clinical guidelines for diagnosing FASD, which can result when a mother drinks during pregnancy. The proposed guidelines ... read more

New Study Evaluates Link Between Young Women's Beliefs on Alcohol Use and Sexual Risk-Taking

Aug. 10, 2016 — A new study looks at how young women's beliefs about alcohol and sex affect condom usage during sexual encounters involving alcohol. The work shows that just over two-thirds (66.9 percent) of ... read more

Molecule in Brain May Drive Cocaine Addiction, Scientists Show

Aug. 10, 2016 — Increased levels of a molecule in the brain, called hypocretin, may contribute to cocaine addiction, a new study suggests. The research shows that blocking hypocretin may reduce compulsive ... read more

Highly Curative Hep C Treatment Safe, Effective for Drug Users

Aug. 9, 2016 — Hep C patients being treated for opioid addiction achieved high rates of sustained virologic response after 12 weeks of therapy with elbasvir-grazoprevir compared to those taking placebo for 12 weeks ... read more

Study Finds Racial Disparity in Emergency Department Opioid Prescriptions

Aug. 8, 2016 — A racial disparity has been found in opioid prescriptions for emergency department visits for non-definitive pain-related conditions, say authors of a new ... read more

College Students Who Misuse Stimulants More Likely to Have ADHD, Substance-Use Disorder

Aug. 8, 2016 — A new study finds that college students who misuse stimulant drugs are more likely to have attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder, conduct disorder or substance-use disorder than are students not ... read more

Drink-Seeking Rats Provide Sobering Look Into Genetics of Alcoholism

Aug. 4, 2016 — Alcohol-craving rats have provided researchers with a detailed look into the complicated genetic underpinnings of ... read more

Prescription Drug Abuse in Europe Is a Bigger Problem Than Previously Thought

Aug. 3, 2016 — International collaborations across the EU are needed to monitor prescription drug abuse, identify its scope and develop targeted interventions, according to the first comparative study of ... read more

Preventing Dependency When Patients First Receive Opioids: Say No to Refills

Aug. 3, 2016 — Clinicians should think twice when prescribing opioid medication to patients for the first time to relieve pain, migraines or severe coughs. To prevent possible addiction, doctors and pharmacists ... read more

Saturday, August 27, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Sunday, June 26, 2016
Saturday, June 25, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016