Addiction News
May 6, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:39pm EDT

More Addiction News
May 6, 2016

Legalization of Marijuana in Washington Had No Effect on Teens' Access to Drug

Apr. 30, 2016 — Despite concerns that legalizing marijuana use for adults would make it easier for adolescents to get ahold of it, a new study in Washington State shows that teens find it no easier now than before ... read more

Analyzing the Psyche of Risky Drivers

Apr. 28, 2016 — Road crashes are the world's leading cause of preventable death and injury in people under 35, accounting for around 5 million casualties every year. Repeat offenders make a disproportionate ... read more

Modifying an Obesity Drug Could Reduce Side Effects Like Anxiety and Depression

Apr. 28, 2016 — A new version of an obesity drug that caused serious psychiatric side effects could help people lose pounds without experiencing the anxiety, depression and suicidal thoughts previously associated ... read more

Electronic Cigarettes Are Beneficial to UK Public Health, New Report Shows

Apr. 27, 2016 — Electronic cigarettes have the potential to contribute to reducing death and disability caused by Britain's biggest killer, say experts. The evidence summarized in the report shows that ... read more

One-Fifth of Young Drinkers Report Consuming 'Jello Shots,'study Finds

Apr. 27, 2016 — About one in five underage youths reported consuming alcoholic jello shots in the past 30 days, and those youths were more likely to binge drink, consume more alcohol, and to have been involved in ... read more

Synthetic Cannabinoids Versus Natural Marijuana: A Comparison of Expectations

Apr. 27, 2016 — A new study evaluated the expected outcomes of both synthetic and natural ... read more

Researchers Find Brain Circuit That Controls Binge Drinking

Apr. 26, 2016 — Researchers have identified a circuit between two brain regions that controls alcohol binge drinking, offering a more complete picture on what drives a behavior that costs the United States more than ... read more

Alcohol-Induced Blackouts: The Last Five Years of Research

Apr. 25, 2016 — Alcohol-induced blackouts, defined as memory loss of all or a portion of events that occurred during a drinking episode, are reported by approximately 50 percent of drinkers, and are associated with ... read more

Alcohol Availability Affects Local Crime Patterns

Apr. 25, 2016 — Restrictions on alcohol availability may be an important crime-control policy, given that alcohol availability appears to influence crime by increasing consumption and alcohol-induced impulsivity. In ... read more

Graduated Driver Licensing Laws Need to Be Expanded Throughout the U.S.

Apr. 25, 2016 — Motor vehicle crashes (MVCs) are the leading cause of death among U.S. teens. In 2012, 184,000 young drivers were injured in MVCs, and 23 percent of young drivers (15 - 20 years old) involved in ... read more

Videogame Addiction Linked to ADHD

Apr. 25, 2016 — Young and single men are at risk of being addicted to video games. The addiction indicates an escape from ADHD and psychiatric disorder, suggests a new ... read more

Top Tobacco Control Experts to FDA: Studies of E-Cigs Suggest More Benefit Than Harm

Apr. 25, 2016 — Seven top international tobacco control experts are prompting regulators at the US Food and Drug Administration to have a broad 'open-minded' perspective when it comes to regulating ... read more

Smoking Cessation Medications Do Not Appear to Increase Risk of Neuropsychiatric Side Effects, Study Finds

Apr. 22, 2016 — The smoking cessation medications varenicline and bupropion do not appear to increase the incidence of serious neuropsychiatric side effects compared to placebo, according to a new ... read more

Critical to Screen Patients With Rheumatoid Arthritis for Hearing Impairment

Apr. 22, 2016 — The objective of a new review is to evaluate published clinical reports related to hearing impairment in patients with RA. Furthermore, researchers discuss possible pathologies and associated factors ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Cocaine use has increased substantially among African Americans in some of the most underserved areas of the United States. Interventions designed to increase connection to and support from non-drug ... read more

New Report Calls for Effort to Reduce Negative Attitudes Toward People With Disorders

Apr. 20, 2016 — Scientists should lead efforts among federal partners and stakeholders to design, implement, and evaluate a multipronged, evidence-based national strategy to reduce stigma toward people with mental ... read more

Taking the Fight Against Risky Pain Pill Use to the ER: Study Shows Promise

Apr. 20, 2016 — As America battles an epidemic of deaths from misused pain pills, a new study suggests an inexpensive way to cut risky use of these drugs by people who have a high chance of overdosing. And it could ... read more

New Research Reveals Surprising Insight Into British Drinking Culture

Apr. 19, 2016 — New research into the UK's alcohol consumption has revealed a surprising picture of Britain's drinking culture. Almost half of all drinking occasions are moderate, relaxed and take place in ... read more

Religious Rhetoric Not Helpful in Anti-Alcohol Messages

Apr. 19, 2016 — Does including a religious message in a public service announcement warning of the dangers of alcohol use make a difference to the viewer, especially if that person lives in a Middle Eastern country ... read more

Smoking and Schizophrenia: Understanding, Breaking the Cycle of Addiction

Apr. 18, 2016 — Smoking addiction in schizophrenia can be explained by significantly increased activation of the ventro-medial prefrontal cortex (vmPFC), a region involved in the brain reward system. These new data ... read more

Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016