NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Alcoholism News
September 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:40am EDT

More Alcoholism News
September 30, 2016

Drinking to Belong: Students and Low Self-Esteem

Sep. 6, 2016 — It’s that time of year again, when students old and new are heading to university. Certain behaviors might be expected in the coming months, drinking in particular. Drinking is widespread among ... read more

Heredity a Major Factor in ADHD, Binge Eating and Alcohol Dependence

Sep. 5, 2016 — It is mostly hereditary factors that lie behind adults with ADHD often developing alcohol dependence and binge eating, concludes new research. Since heredity plays such a large role, it is important ... read more

High Alcohol Intake Associated With Slightly Decreased Female Fertility

Aug. 31, 2016 — Women who drink 14 or more servings of alcohol a week are slightly more likely to have reduced fertility, suggests a new study. In developed countries, up to 24% of couples experience infertility, ... read more

Youth Crimes Spike Immediately After Drinking Age

Aug. 31, 2016 — A new study in Canada has shown that minimum legal drinking age legislation can have a major effect on crimes committed by young adults. Young people just older than the legal age had significant ... read more

Neural Factors That Predict Adolescent Alcohol Use

Aug. 30, 2016 — Researchers have identified 34 neural factors that predict adolescent alcohol consumption. The list, based upon complex algorithms analyzing data from neuropsychological testing and neuroimaging ... read more

Researcher Finds Mechanism Affecting Alcohol Consumption

Aug. 30, 2016 — A researcher has found a mechanism that strongly influences whether or not an animal is likely to drink a lot of alcohol, turning lush mice into teetotalers, a new report ... read more

People With Alcohol Dependency Lack Important Enzyme

Aug. 30, 2016 — A research group has identified an enzyme whose production is turned off in nerve cells of the frontal lobe when alcohol dependence develops. The deficiency in this enzyme leads to continued use of ... read more

Alcohol-Related Hospitalization Associated With Doubled Stroke Risk in Atrial Fibrillation

Aug. 27, 2016 — Alcohol-related hospitalization is associated with a doubled risk of ischemic stroke risk in patients with non-valvular atrial fibrillation, according to a new study. The observational study was ... read more

Impulsivity Levels Help Identify at-Risk Offspring of Alcoholics

Aug. 26, 2016 — Researchers know that youth with a family history of alcoholism have a greater risk of developing an alcohol use disorder; this heightened vulnerability may be due to impulsive behavior. For this ... read more

Does Marriage Affect Drinking? A New Study Provides Insights

Aug. 11, 2016 — Are you more or less likely to drink often and heavily when in a relationship? That may depend on the ... read more

Reducing the Harms of Alcohol Through Weaker Beer

Aug. 10, 2016 — Could a small drop in the alcohol content of beer or other drinks reduce the harmful effects of alcohol in society at large? A new review, which explores the evidence, suggests this approach may be ... read more

New, Improved Guidelines for Diagnosing Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder

Aug. 10, 2016 — A group of experts on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders has produced proposed clinical guidelines for diagnosing FASD, which can result when a mother drinks during pregnancy. The proposed guidelines ... read more

New Study Evaluates Link Between Young Women's Beliefs on Alcohol Use and Sexual Risk-Taking

Aug. 10, 2016 — A new study looks at how young women's beliefs about alcohol and sex affect condom usage during sexual encounters involving alcohol. The work shows that just over two-thirds (66.9 percent) of ... read more

Molecule in Brain May Drive Cocaine Addiction, Scientists Show

Aug. 10, 2016 — Increased levels of a molecule in the brain, called hypocretin, may contribute to cocaine addiction, a new study suggests. The research shows that blocking hypocretin may reduce compulsive ... read more

Financial Worries Linked to Mental Health Issues Among University Students

Aug. 9, 2016 — Experiencing financial difficulties and worrying about debt at university increases the risk of mental health conditions such as depression and alcohol dependency, according to new research. The work ... read more

Drink-Seeking Rats Provide Sobering Look Into Genetics of Alcoholism

Aug. 4, 2016 — Alcohol-craving rats have provided researchers with a detailed look into the complicated genetic underpinnings of ... read more

Alcohol Advertising Linked to Adolescent Drinking

Aug. 2, 2016 — A new study finds that exposure to several different types of alcohol marketing is positively associated with the amount and frequency of drinking among adolescents across ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — Engineers at the University of California San Diego have developed a flexible wearable sensor that can accurately measure a person's blood alcohol level from sweat and transmit the data ... read more

Neuroscience-Based Framework for Addiction Diagnosis

Aug. 2, 2016 — When it comes to an addictive disorder, you either have it or you don't. But this dichotomous nature of the diagnosis fails to recognize the complexity and diversity of addiction's origins ... read more

Adolescent Exposure to Drugs, Alcohol Fuels Use in Adulthood

July 29, 2016 — Teenagers who have easy access to drugs and alcohol in the home are more likely to drink and do drugs in their early and late 20s. That's according to the one of the first studies to look at how ... read more

Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Sunday, June 26, 2016
Saturday, June 25, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016