NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Alcoholism News
February 21, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 10:09am EST

More Alcoholism News
February 21, 2017

Variability in Local Costs of Substance Abuse Across California

Feb. 17, 2017 — The average news consumer might be surprised to learn that the economic costs of alcohol abuse far exceed those related to illegal drug use. In California, alcohol abuse cost $129 billion in 2010, ... read more

'Hair of the Dog' Won’t Cure That Hangover

Feb. 14, 2017 — The notion that having a drink can cure a hangover has been around since the 16th century. That doesn't mean it's ... read more

Strong Alcohol Policies Protect Against Drunk Driving Deaths Among Young People

Feb. 13, 2017 — Stronger alcohol policies protect young people from dying in crashes caused by drunk driving according to researchers. The study supports the importance of comprehensive alcohol control policies to ... read more

Rewards Treat Alcohol Abuse in Those With Mental Illness

Feb. 7, 2017 — Offering prizes- - from simple shampoo to DVD players -- can be an effective, low-cost treatment for alcohol abuse, the nation's third leading preventable cause of death, suggests a new ... read more

Immune System Suppression May Be Related to Problem Drinking

Feb. 2, 2017 — Cytokines are small proteins in the immune system that act as chemical messengers between cells. Prior research suggests that pro- and anti-inflammatory cytokines are dysfunctional during alcohol ... read more

Brain Potassium Channels May Unlock Future Precision Medicine Approaches for Alcoholism

Jan. 30, 2017 — Researchers have identified novel potassium (K+) channel genes within addiction brain circuitry that are altered by alcohol dependence and correlate with drinking levels in a mouse model of alcohol ... read more

Combined Use of Alcohol, Cocaine May Play a Unique Role in Suicide Risk

Jan. 27, 2017 — Alcohol use can be found in suicide deaths and unintentional deaths due to injuries such as those from motor vehicle collisions (MVCs). The authors of a new study argue that it is important to ... read more

N-Acetylcysteine Shows Early Promise in Reducing Alcohol Use in Marijuana-Dependent Teens

Dec. 14, 2016 — N-acetylcysteine (NAC) reduced alcohol use in a small cohort of marijuana-dependent adolescents who exhibited reductions in marijuana use, report researchers. In this secondary analysis of data from ... read more

Drinking 'Settings' Tied to College Sexual Assault

Dec. 12, 2016 — Although alcohol is believed to play a role in college sexual assaults, there is no evidence that male students' binge drinking per se boosts their odds of becoming a perpetrator, according to a ... read more

Baby Boomers on a Bender: Emerging Trends in Alcohol Binge and Use Disorders Among Older Adults

Dec. 12, 2016 — Trends of self-reported past-month binge alcohol use and alcohol use disorder were examined among adults age 50 and older. The researchers found significant increases in past-year alcohol use, ... read more

Drug Use Strong Predictor for Postpartum Mental Health Problems

Dec. 8, 2016 — New research finds that a woman's lifetime history of drug use can help predict whether the woman will suffer from problems with stress and anxiety after childbirth. The finding could help ... read more

Heavy Alcohol Use Changes Adolescents' Brains

Dec. 8, 2016 — Heavy alcohol use during adolescence alters the development of brain, according to a recent study. Cortical thinning was observable in young people who had been heavy drinkers throughout their ... read more

Study Suggests Prescribing of Baclofen for Alcohol Dependence 'Should Be Reconsidered'

Nov. 30, 2016 — The drug baclofen has received high visibility as a possible breakthrough treatment for alcohol dependence. Now a new randomized controlled trial found no evidence for the usefulness of high-dose ... read more

Study Zeros in on Gene That Limits Desire to Drink Alcohol

Nov. 28, 2016 — In the largest study of its kind, scientists say that they have identified a gene variant that suppresses the desire to drink ... read more

Liver-Brain Pathway May Regulate Alcohol Consumption

Nov. 28, 2016 — A liver hormone called ‘FGF21’ may regulate alcohol drinking by acting directly on a receptor in the brain, according to a new study. For the first time this study highlights a liver-brain axis ... read more

Study in Rats Finds Low Blood Alcohol Levels Have No Effect on Total Calories Consumed

Nov. 23, 2016 — Laboratory rats will drink alcohol if it’s available, and may even get a little tipsy, researchers report in a new study. But they won’t voluntarily drink until they’re drunk. And while ethanol ... read more

Drug and Alcohol Addiction Treatment Results Improved When Teens Stopped Smoking, Researcher Finds

Nov. 21, 2016 — Addiction treatment results improved when teens in a residential program stopped smoking, new research ... read more

Preventing Adolescent Substance Use May Need to Start in Early Childhood

Nov. 15, 2016 — The approach to preventing alcohol and drug use by some adolescents should begin in early childhood, new research ... read more

Drinking Red Wine Before Smoking Can Prevent Short Term Vascular Damage

Nov. 15, 2016 — Drinking red wine is widely regarded as protective against cardiovascular disease. A new report has found that a glass or two of red wine before lighting up a cigarette can counteract some of the ... read more

Nov. 14, 2016 — Siblings bear responsibility for the spread of problem behaviors. Identifying the exact nature of that influence has proven difficult, because behavior problems in siblings can also be traced to ... read more

Friday, February 17, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Sunday, September 18, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Sunday, June 26, 2016
Saturday, June 25, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016