NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
PTSD News
February 21, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 12:36am EST

More PTSD News
February 21, 2017

Feb. 2, 2017 — The first peer-reviewed and published national study of civic service among U.S. vets who served in Iraq and/or Afghanistan found volunteering improved their health and social ... read more

Treatment Strategy Provides Mental Health Benefits to War Trauma Survivors

Jan. 13, 2017 — A study shows that a certain intervention called testimony therapy plus ceremony reduced symptoms of posttraumatic stress disorder, anxiety, and depression among Khmer Rouge torture survivors from ... read more

Study Unveils How Stress May Increase Risk of Heart Disease and Stroke

Jan. 11, 2017 — Heightened activity in the amygdala - a region of the brain involved in stress - is associated with a greater risk of heart disease and stroke, according to a new ... read more

High Rates of PTSD and Other Mental Health Problems After Great East Japan Earthquake

Jan. 9, 2017 — The devastating 2011 earthquake, tsunami, and resulting nuclear disaster in Japan had a high mental health impact -- with some effects persisting several years later, according to a comprehensive ... read more

Increased Reaction to Stress Linked to Gastrointestinal Issues in Children With Autism

Jan. 4, 2017 — One in 45 American children lives with autism spectrum disorder, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Many of these children also have significant gastrointestinal issues, but ... read more

Most Veterans Experience Good Quality of Life After Military Service

Jan. 4, 2017 — With a few notable exceptions, the majority of post-9/11 US veterans appear to do well in regards to work and family quality of life after departing from military service despite their exposure to ... read more

Witnessing Fear in Others Can Physically Change Brain

Jan. 4, 2017 — Scientists have discovered that observing fear in others may change how information flows in the brain. The finding in a rodent model may have bearing on people who suffer post-traumatic stress ... read more

Dec. 28, 2016 — A new study has shown how a single instance of severe stress can lead to delayed trauma. A stressful incident can lead to increased electrical activity in a brain region known as the amygdala. This ... read more

Sleep Helps Process Traumatic Experiences

Dec. 13, 2016 — If we sleep in the first 24 hours after a traumatic experience, this may help process and integrate the distressing memories more effectively, as researchers demonstrate in a new study. Sleep could ... read more

Can You Unconsciously Forget an Experience?

Dec. 9, 2016 — Wanting to squash not-so-great memories is human nature, but is it possible to intentionally forget a traumatic ... read more

Shooting, Gang Violence Exposure Leads to PTSD

Dec. 8, 2016 — The violence that women in disadvantaged neighborhoods experience and witness can result in post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptoms and full diagnoses, according to a new study that examined a ... read more

Tai Chi Proves Feasible and Beneficial for Vets With PTSD

Nov. 30, 2016 — Veterans with symptoms of posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) who participated in in Tai Chi not only would recommend it to a friend, but also found the ancient Chinese tradition helped with their ... read more

Active-Duty Military Find PTSD Relief Through Individual Cognitive Therapy

Nov. 23, 2016 — Although both group and individual therapy can ease post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptoms in active-duty military service members, individual therapy relieved PTSD symptoms better and ... read more

Nov. 22, 2016 — A team of biomedical engineering researchers has identified a cause of fluid swelling of the brain, or cellular edema, that occurs during a ... read more

Nov. 21, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a way to remove specific fears from the brain, using a combination of artificial intelligence and brain scanning technology. Their technique could lead to a new way of ... read more

Nov. 17, 2016 — Certain forms, or alleles, of a gene known to play a key role in the immune system appear to offer protection from Gulf War illness (GWI), Veterans Affairs researchers have found. Further, they ... read more

Role of Spleen in Prolonged Anxiety After Stress

Nov. 13, 2016 — Scientists are uncovering clues to what might be unfolding in the relationship between the brain and immune system in those who suffer from long-term repercussions of stress. New research details ... read more

Nov. 11, 2016 — Traumatic stress affects the brains of adolescent boys and girls differently, according to a new brain-scanning study. Among youth with post-traumatic stress disorder, the study found structural ... read more

Nov. 4, 2016 — Rodents that had been exposed to stress had a weakened alcohol-induced dopamine response and voluntarily drank more alcohol compared to controls, a new study has found. The blunted dopamine signaling ... read more

Blood Pressure May Open Door to Personalized Medicine for PTSD

Nov. 3, 2016 — Treatment with the drug prazosin effectively reduces symptoms of posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) for many people, but about one third of patients don't respond to the treatment at all. ... read more

Thursday, February 2, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016