PTSD News
July 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:35am EDT

More PTSD News
July 27, 2016

Effect of Palliative Care-Led Meetings for Families of Patients With Chronic Critical Illness

July 5, 2016 — Among families of patients with chronic critical illness, the use of palliative care-led informational and emotional support meetings compared with usual care did not reduce anxiety or depression ... read more

Trauma Induces More Alcohol Craving Than Stress Among Veterans With PTSD and Co-Occurring Alcohol Dependence

July 1, 2016 — Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and alcohol dependence (AD) are two of the most common and debilitating disorders diagnosed among American military veterans. AD and PTSD often occur together, ... read more

Benefit of Art Therapy in Reducing Psychological Problems in Syrian Refugee Children

June 30, 2016 — Group art therapy shows promise in reducing a wide range of psychological symptoms commonly experienced by refugee children, according to a pilot study of Syrian refugee children living in ... read more

Paris Attacks: A Novel Research Program on Traumatic Memories

June 17, 2016 — How will the traumatic events of the terrorist attacks of 13 November 2015 evolve in people’s memories, whether collective or individual? How does individual memory feed on collective memory and ... read more

Military Members With PTSD/depression Can Be Treated Successfully in Primary Care Settings

June 13, 2016 — The rate of PTSD and depression is high among active military members, but stigma often prevents them from seeking care from a mental health specialist. A new study finds that treating such patients ... read more

Trauma in Childhood Linked to Drug Use in Adolescence

June 8, 2016 — Latest research from a national sample of almost 10,000 US adolescents found psychological trauma, especially abuse and domestic violence before age 11, can increase the likelihood of experimentation ... read more

Study Reveals If Spirituality, Religion Help Parents Cope After Losing a Child

June 8, 2016 — Nothing is more devastating for a parent than the death of a child. Yet, few studies have examined parents’ mental health and personal growth, especially in black and Hispanic parents, following ... read more

June 1, 2016 — Scientists have improved memory in mice using optogenetics.The study was based on light stimulation of a group of neurons, named Tac2, in the cerebral amygdala. These neurons play a key role in the ... read more

Multiple Personality Disorder May Be Rooted in Traumatic Experiences

May 25, 2016 — A new study supports the notion that multiple personality disorder is rooted in traumatic experiences such as neglect or abuse in childhood, rather than being related to suggestibility or proneness ... read more

Anemia Negatively Affects Recovery from Traumatic Brain Injuries

May 25, 2016 — Approximately half of patients hospitalized with traumatic brain injuries are anemic, according to recent studies, but anemia's effects on the recovery of these patients is not clear. Now, ... read more

Study Examines Suicide Attempt Risk Factors, Methods and Timing, Related to Deployment Among Active Duty Soldiers

May 25, 2016 — Suicide attempts, like suicides, have increased in the U.S. Army over the last decade. To better understand and prevent suicidal behavior, researchers examined timing and risk factors for suicide ... read more

Improved Diagnostic Criteria Needed for Individuals Suffering from Complicated Grief

May 24, 2016 — To better identify and diagnose those suffering from debilitating grief after the death of a loved one, proposed diagnostic criteria need significant modifications, according to research, the first ... read more

Refugee Children's Academic Outcomes Similar to Non-Refugee Peers Despite Learning Challenges

May 19, 2016 — Refugee children had similar academic success as other children if adequately supported, despite having more behavioral and emotional problems overall, a comprehensive review has ... read more

What the New York Times Gets Wrong About PTSD

May 19, 2016 — In analyzing the articles the New York Times has written about post-traumatic stress disorder over the last 35 years, researchers found some troubling trends in the influential paper's ... read more

Confidence in Iron Dome, Coupled With Resilience, Can Reduce PTSD Symptoms

May 19, 2016 — Belief in the success of the Iron Dome air defense system, coupled with a strong sense of resilience (an inner trait that results in positive adaptation to trauma), can reduce post-traumatic stress ... read more

Immunization With Bacteria Promotes Stress Resilience, Coping Behaviors in Mice

May 16, 2016 — Injections of the soil bacterium Mycobacterium vaccae (M. vaccae NCTC 11659) promote stress resilience and improve coping behaviors in mice, according to a new ... read more

May 13, 2016 — In a study of more than 300 soldiers who had deployed to Iraq or Afghanistan, a majority reported symptoms consistent with 'chronic multisymptom illness' -- a diagnosis that up till now has ... read more

Size of Brain Region Is Associated With Response to PTSD Treatment

May 13, 2016 — A study has found that PTSD patients with a larger hippocampus -- a region of the brain key to distinguishing between safety and threat -- are more likely to respond to exposure-based therapy for ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Reconciliation programs promote societal healing, but that these gains come at the cost of reduced psychological health, worsening depression, anxiety, and ... read more

PTSD Linked to Low Levels of Fat Hormone

May 11, 2016 — Researchers report a biological mechanism that might explain why individuals coping with post-traumatic stress disorder are less able to extinguish the fear of past ... read more

Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015