NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
October 23, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:05am EDT

More PTSD News
October 23, 2016

New Guidelines Issued for Patients With Severe Traumatic Brain Injury

Sep. 28, 2016 — Guidelines previously updated once a decade now will be modified as discoveries are made, experts report. The most recently updated guidelines provide recommendations for 18 monitoring and treatment ... read more

Fish Oil May Help Improve Mood in Veterans

Sep. 22, 2016 — Low concentration of fish oil in the blood and lack of physical activity may contribute to the high levels of depressed mood among soldiers returning from combat, according to ... read more

Trauma and Shopping: Post Disaster Consumers Value Off Brand, Low Cost Goods

Sep. 6, 2016 — Traumatic events have lasting influence on what products people desire and purchase. When rebuilding and restocking an area that has been affected by conflict or natural disaster, what traumatized ... read more

Trauma's Epigenetic Fingerprint Observed in Children of Holocaust Survivors

Sep. 1, 2016 — The children of traumatized people have long been known to be at increased risk for posttraumatic stress disorder, and mood and anxiety disorders. However, according to researchers, there are very ... read more

Connection Between Chronic Pain, Anxiety Disorders Found by Researchers

Aug. 31, 2016 — New study results provide insight into a long-observed, but little-understood connection between chronic pain and anxiety and offer a potential target for treatment. Researchers found that increased ... read more

PTSD Increases Risk for Metabolic Syndrome, Reduced Cortical Thickness

Aug. 31, 2016 — Metabolic syndrome, a cluster of cardiometabolic conditions, may be a biological mechanism linking posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) to structural brain abnormalities, according to a new study. ... read more

Could PTSD Trigger Early Cognitive Impairment in Some World Trade Center Responders?

Aug. 29, 2016 — There may be a significant amount of cognitive impairment (CI) among 911 World Trade Center responders -- a rate of nearly 13 percent that could be caused by symptoms of post-traumatic stress ... read more

Concussions and Brain Injury: Can Omega-3 Intake Aid in Brain Health Recovery?

Aug. 24, 2016 — The treatment of concussions and traumatic brain injury (TBI) is a clinical challenge. Clinical studies thus far have failed to identify an effective treatment strategy when a combination of targets ... read more

Study Finds One in Three Former ICU Patients Shows Symptoms of Depression

Aug. 15, 2016 — Almost one in three people discharged from hospital intensive care units has clinically important and persistent symptoms of depression, a so-called meta-analysis of reports on more than 4,000 ... read more

Combat Exposure May Jeopardize the Behavioral Health of Women in the Military

Aug. 2, 2016 — In a recent study, combat exposure among Army enlisted women was associated with an increased likelihood of developing behavioral health problems post-deployment, including post-traumatic stress ... read more

Body-Mind Meditation Can Boost Attention and Health, Lower Stress

July 18, 2016 — Meditation has long been promoted as a way to feel more at peace. But research shows it can significantly improve attention, working memory, creativity, immune function, emotional regulation, ... read more

Prevalence of Diagnosed Sleep Disorders Has Risen Among US Veterans

July 15, 2016 — A new study found a six-fold increase in the age-adjusted prevalence of any sleep disorder diagnosis over an 11-year period among US veterans. The largest increases were identified in patients with ... read more

Specialized Nerve Cells in Brain Region Responsible for Emotional Memory Play Important Role in Fear Learning

July 14, 2016 — The function of sparse population of inhibitory neurons in memory encoding has been explained in a new article. The study focused on identifying the synaptic connections between inhibitory PV-INs, ... read more

Students' PTSD Symptoms Fluctuate Greatly During First Year of College

July 13, 2016 — A new study is helping researchers better understand how post-traumatic stress disorder fluctuates in students during their first year of ... read more

Stressful Trigger Events Associated With Risk of Violent Crime

July 13, 2016 — Trigger events, including exposure to violence, were associated with increased risk of violent crime in the week following exposure among patients with schizophrenia and bipolar disorder and among ... read more

Resilience Affects Whether Childhood Trauma Results in Harmful Gene Response

July 11, 2016 — In a first-ever study to identify how trauma affects gene expression among child soldiers, a research team has found resilience to be a key factor in determining individual response at the molecular ... read more

Single Dose Protects Cognitive Function After Mild Traumatic Brain Injury

July 11, 2016 — A new molecule could protect the brain from cognitive impairments after a mild traumatic brain injury, according to scientists. Mild traumatic brain injury, or mTBI, is especially common in children, ... read more

Effect of Palliative Care-Led Meetings for Families of Patients With Chronic Critical Illness

July 5, 2016 — Among families of patients with chronic critical illness, the use of palliative care-led informational and emotional support meetings compared with usual care did not reduce anxiety or depression ... read more

Trauma Induces More Alcohol Craving Than Stress Among Veterans With PTSD and Co-Occurring Alcohol Dependence

July 1, 2016 — Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and alcohol dependence (AD) are two of the most common and debilitating disorders diagnosed among American military veterans. AD and PTSD often occur together, ... read more

Benefit of Art Therapy in Reducing Psychological Problems in Syrian Refugee Children

June 30, 2016 — Group art therapy shows promise in reducing a wide range of psychological symptoms commonly experienced by refugee children, according to a pilot study of Syrian refugee children living in ... read more

Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016