NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Dementia News
February 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:35pm EST

More Dementia News
February 24, 2017

Link Between Sleep, Cognitive Impairment in the Elderly

Jan. 31, 2017 — Daytime sleepiness is very common in the elderly with prevalence rates of up to 50 percent. Caused by sleep-disordered breathing (SDB), a disruption of normal breathing during sleep, these cause ... read more

Drug Candidate Stabilizes Essential Transport Mechanism in Nerve Cells

Jan. 31, 2017 — New research has discovered how a drug candidate works to possibly alleviate Alzheimer's disease and autism spectrum ... read more

Mental Activities May Protect Against Mild Cognitive Impairment

Jan. 30, 2017 — Researchers have found that engaging in mentally stimulating activities, even late in life, may protect against new-onset mild cognitive impairment, which is the intermediate stage between normal ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — Abnormality with special cells that wrap around blood vessels in the brain leads to neuron deterioration, possibly affecting the development of Alzheimer's disease, a study reveals. ... read more

New Drug SAK3 May Offer Hope to Alzheimer's Disease Patients

Jan. 26, 2017 — Acetylcholine is a neurotransmitter in the brain that plays an important role in controlling attention and cognition. Acetylcholine system dysfunction is believed to be one of the causes of ... read more

Common Cause of Both Neurological Diseases Such as Dementia and Motor Neuron Diseases

Jan. 23, 2017 — Currently, most scientists do not see a link between ALS and Alzheimer's disease, frontotemporal dementia (FTD), or other dementias. New research confirms the relevance of a certain neurotoxic ... read more

Meditation and Music May Help Reverse Early Memory Loss in Adults at Risk for Alzheimer’s Disease

Jan. 21, 2017 — In a recent study of adults with early memory loss, scientists found that practice of a simple meditation or music listening program may have multiple benefits for older adults with preclinical ... read more

Jan. 19, 2017 — Researchers have linked excess tau protein in the brain to the spatial disorientation that leads to wandering in many Alzheimer's disease patients. The findings, in mice, could lead to early ... read more

Delirium Could Accelerate Dementia-Related Mental Decline

Jan. 18, 2017 — When hospitalized, people can become acutely confused and disorientated. This condition, known as delirium, affects a quarter of older patients and new research shows it may have long-lasting ... read more

Researchers Find a Potential Target for Anti-Alzheimer Treatments

Jan. 11, 2017 — Scientists have identified a gene that may provide a new starting point for developing treatments for Alzheimer’s disease (AD). The USP9 gene has an indirect influence on the so-called tau protein, ... read more

New Molecular Discovery May Help Identify Drug Therapies to Prevent Dementia

Jan. 10, 2017 — Scientists have discovered a molecular pathway in the brain that may help provide answers to long-term memory problems in the elderly and aid researchers in identifying drug-based therapies to ... read more

Older Adults With Obesity Less Responsive to Memory Training Than Those With Lower BMIs

Jan. 10, 2017 — In first study to compare results of cognitive training by BMI category, scientists found that memory training provided only one-third the benefit to older adults with obesity than benefit it ... read more

'Dementia Gene' May Guard Against Decline Associated With Parasitic Disease

Jan. 10, 2017 — New research suggests that carriers of the Apolipoprotein E4 allele, which is the single strongest genetic predictor of Alzheimer's disease and is associated with cognitive decline and ... read more

Couch Potatoes Face Same Chance of Dementia as Those With Genetic Risk Factors: Research

Jan. 10, 2017 — Sedentary older adults with no genetic risk factors for dementia may be just as likely to develop the disease as those who are genetically predisposed, according to a major study which followed more ... read more

High Cholesterol Intake and Eggs Do Not Increase Risk of Memory Disorders

Jan. 9, 2017 — A relatively high intake of dietary cholesterol, or eating one egg every day, are not associated with an elevated risk of dementia or Alzheimer's disease. Furthermore, no association was found ... read more

Jan. 5, 2017 — Patients who had a diagnosis of Parkinson's disease with dementia or dementia with Lewy bodies and had higher levels of Alzheimer's disease pathology in their donated post-mortem brains ... read more

Mouse Model Points to Potential New Treatment for Alzheimer's Disease

Jan. 5, 2017 — Treatment with an inhibitor of 12/15-lipoxygenase, an enzyme elevated in patients with Alzheimer’s disease (AD), reverses cognitive decline and neuropathology in an AD mouse model, reports a new ... read more

Occupational Therapy May Have the Potential to Slow Down Functional Decline and Reduce Behavioral Troubles

Dec. 22, 2016 — Dementia patients benefiting from occupational therapy sessions report relevant clinical benefits over the intervention period, according to a research study. The research suggested the influence of ... read more

Rejuvenating the Brain's Disposal System

Dec. 21, 2016 — A characteristic feature of Alzheimer's disease is the presence of so called amyloid plaques in the patient's brain -- aggregates of misfolded proteins that clump together and damage nerve ... read more

Dec. 20, 2016 — Scientists have detailed the structure of a molecule that has been implicated in Alzheimer's disease. Knowing the shape of the molecule -- and how that shape may be disrupted by certain genetic ... read more

Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Saturday, January 21, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Saturday, October 22, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016