Dementia News
August 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:34am EDT

More Dementia News
August 29, 2016

Aug. 25, 2016 — Scientists are testing a drug that could boost levels of critical protective protein in brain. In the study, the team conducted tests in a mouse model of Alzheimer's disease by raising the ... read more

New Research Adds Evidence on Potential Treatments Targeting Amyloid Beta in Alzheimer's

July 28, 2016 — New research could provide additional clues for future treatment targets to delay Alzheimer's disease and related dementias, according to the group's latest ... read more

Smell Test May Predict Early Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease

July 26, 2016 — An odor identification test may prove useful in predicting cognitive decline and detecting early-stage Alzheimer’s disease, according to new ... read more

Researchers Unveil New Data, Diagnostic Tool at the World's Largest Alzheimer's Forum

July 26, 2016 — A new diagnostic tool that can identify Alzheimer's disease long before the onset of symptoms has been presented by researchers. They add that the tool also highlights the increasing prevalence ... read more

Among the Oldest Adults, Poor Balance May Signal Higher Risk for Dementia

July 25, 2016 — In a first-of-its-kind study, researchers examined whether four different measures of poor physical performance might be linked to increased dementia risk for people aged 90 and ... read more

Alzheimer's Disease in HIV-Positive Patient

July 25, 2016 — The first case of Alzheimer's disease diagnosed in an HIV-positive individual has been documented. The finding in a 71-year-old man triggers a realization about HIV survivors now reaching the ... read more

Using Tau Imaging as Diagnostic Marker for Alzheimer Disease

July 25, 2016 — The accumulation of ?-Amyloid and tau proteins in the brain is hallmark pathology for Alzheimer disease. Recently developed positron emission tomography (PET) tracers, including [18F]-AV-1451, bind ... read more

Does a Dementia Diagnosis Have a Silver Lining? Study Suggests It Can

July 25, 2016 — In a study of 48 adults with a diagnosis of Early Dementia or Mild Cognitive Impairment, almost half reported positive changes in life outlook and quality of life, countering the assumption that this ... read more

Designer Protein Gives New Hope to Scientists Studying Alzheimer's Disease

July 22, 2016 — Researchers have designed a new protein which strongly resembles Abeta. In people with Alzheimer's, Amyloid-beta (Abeta) proteins stick together to make amyloid fibrils which form clumps between ... read more

July 20, 2016 — A new study has uncovered details of how a type of immune cell helps the brain get rid of the tiny amyloid-beta aggregates that can clump together to form the plaques characteristic of ... read more

July 19, 2016 — The abnormal pattern of functional connectivity in patients with mild cognitive impairment can be considered an indicator of the alterations in the functioning of neurons due to the onset of ... read more

Toxic Alzheimer's Protein Spreads Through Brain Via Extracellular Space

July 18, 2016 — A toxic Alzheimer's protein can spread through the brain via the extracellular space that surrounds the brain's neurons, finds a new ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Researchers have identified -- and shown that it may be possible to control -- the mechanism that leads to the rapid build-up of the disease-causing 'plaques' that are characteristic of ... read more

Mental, Physical Exercises Produce Distinct Brain Benefits

July 18, 2016 — Cognitive brain training improves executive function whereas aerobic activity improves memory, according to new ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Researchers have used a recently-developed imaging technique that makes tissue transparent to visualize brain tissue from deceased patients with Alzheimer's disease, exposing nonrandom, ... read more

Driving Ability of People With Cognitive Impairment Difficult to Assess: Research Review

July 13, 2016 — No single assessment tool is able to consistently determine driving ability in people with Alzheimer's disease and mild cognitive impairment, a research review has ... read more

July 11, 2016 — A synthetic molecule with a rhenium core glows when attached to an amyloid fibril in the process of aggregating into a plaque, and brighter still when hit with ultraviolet light, report scientists. ... read more

Link Found Between Traumatic Brain Injury and Parkinson's, but Not Alzheimer's

July 11, 2016 — Traumatic brain injury (TBI) with a loss of consciousness (LOC) may be associated with later development of Parkinson's disease but not Alzheimer's disease or incident dementia, new ... read more

Association Discovered Between Atrial Fibrillation, Reduced Frontal Lobe Brain Volumes

July 11, 2016 — People who experience the heart arrhythmia atrial fibrillation, may also suffer from a smaller brain, specifically reduced frontal lobe volume, according to a recent Framingham Heart ... read more

Promising New Methods for Early Detection of Alzheimer's Disease

July 8, 2016 — New methods to examine the brain and spinal fluid heighten the chance of early diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease. These findings may have important implications for early detection of the ... read more

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016