Dementia News
May 29, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:59am EDT

More Dementia News
May 29, 2017

PTSD, Certain Prescriptions for PTSD May Raise Risk for Dementia

May 8, 2017 — Until now, researchers didn't know whether the kinds of medications used for people with PTSD could increase risks for dementia. (These medications include including antidepressants, ... read more

Gene Mutation May Speed Up Memory Loss in Alzheimer's Disease

May 3, 2017 — A gene mutation may accelerate the loss of memory and thinking skills in people who are at risk for Alzheimer’s disease, according to a study. The gene mutation is called the BDNF Val66Met allele, ... read more

May 3, 2017 — A new study adds more information about how physical activity impacts brain physiology and offers hope that it may be possible to reestablish some protective neuronal connections. Researchers ... read more

Better Quality Relationships Associated With Reduced Dementia Risk

May 2, 2017 — Positive social support from adult children is associated with reduced risk of developing dementia, according to new research. Conversely, negative social support is linked with increased risk, ... read more

Stroke Prevention May Also Reduce Dementia

May 1, 2017 — Ontario's stroke prevention strategy appears to have had an unexpected, beneficial side effect: a reduction also in the incidence of dementia among older seniors. A new paper is the first to ... read more

Genes Associated With Resilience Against Brain Pathology Identified

Apr. 25, 2017 — Researchers have discovered two genes, known as UNC5C and ENC1, that are associated with aging individuals having better memory and brain function than would be expected, given the amount of ... read more

Low Levels of 'Memory Protein' Linked to Cognitive Decline in Alzheimer's Disease

Apr. 25, 2017 — This discovery may lead to important research and may one day help experts develop new and better therapies for Alzheimer's and other forms of cognitive ... read more

New Findings from Research Into Multiple Concussions in Hockey Players

Apr. 21, 2017 — The relationship between head injuries suffered during contact sport and Alzheimer’s disease is now being called into question thanks to new research that has revealed that hockey players with ... read more

Milk Study Improves Understanding of Age-Related Diseases

Apr. 20, 2017 — A new study on UHT milk is helping scientists to better understand Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and type 2 diabetes, opening the door to improved treatments for these age-related ... read more

No Benefit to Aspirin for Preserving Cognitive Function, Review Finds

Apr. 20, 2017 — An analysis of published studies found no evidence that low-dose aspirin buffers against cognitive decline or dementia or improves cognitive test ... read more

Homing in on Plaque-Causing Protein in ALS and Dementia

Apr. 19, 2017 — Scientists have made advances in understanding how damaging plaques build up in neurodegenerative illnesses like ALS and ... read more

Role of Vascular Disease in Development of Alzheimer's Disease

Apr. 11, 2017 — Among adults who entered a study more than 25 years ago, an increasing number of midlife vascular risk factors, such as obesity, high blood pressure, diabetes, high cholesterol and smoking, were ... read more

Apr. 11, 2017 — Unique graphic characters called Greebles may prove to be valuable tools in detecting signs of Alzheimer's disease decades before symptoms become ... read more

Common Sedatives Linked to Increased Risk of Pneumonia in People With Alzheimer's Disease

Apr. 10, 2017 — Commonly used sedatives called benzodiazepines are associated with an increased risk of pneumonia when used in people with Alzheimer's disease, according to a ... read more

Link Between Common Prostate Cancer Treatment, Dementia Detailed in New Study

Mar. 30, 2017 — A new analysis of patients who have undergone treatment for prostate cancer shows a connection between androgen deprivation therapy (ADT) -- a testosterone-lowering therapy and a common treatment for ... read more

Therapies That Target Dementia in Early Stages Critical to Success

Mar. 28, 2017 — Targeting dementia in the earlier stages of the condition could be critical for the success of future therapies, say researchers who have found that the very earliest symptoms of dementia might be ... read more

Dementia: The Right to Rehabilitation

Mar. 28, 2017 — Rehabilitation is important for people with dementia as it is for people with physical disabilities, according to a leading dementia ... read more

Protein That Regulates Brain Cell Connections Could Be New Target for Treating Alzheimer's Disease

Mar. 27, 2017 — In experiments with a protein called Ephexin5 that appears to be elevated in the brain cells of Alzheimer's disease patients and mouse models of the disease, researchers say removing it prevents ... read more

Sniffing out a New Strategy Against Alzheimer's Disease

Mar. 24, 2017 — Neurologists are conducting an 18-month clinical trial testing a type of insulin delivered in a nasal spray – which is used to treat diabetes in some patients – in the Study of Nasal Insulin to ... read more

New Gene Discovered Associated With Tau, a Common Form of Brain Pathology

Mar. 24, 2017 — Investigators have reported the discovery of a new gene that is associated with susceptibility to a common form of brain pathology called Tau that accumulates in several different conditions, ... read more

Monday, May 8, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Saturday, January 21, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016