Sleep Disorders News
May 1, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:36am EDT

More Sleep Disorders News
May 1, 2016

Apr. 26, 2016 — Sleep deprivation is tied to an impairment of protein production in the hippocampus, a brain region thought to be central to memory, report researchers. By experimentally increasing the expression of ... read more

Teen Moms and Infant Sleep: Mother Doesn't Always Know Best

Apr. 21, 2016 — Sudden unexpected infant death, which includes sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), is the leading cause of death in infants 1 month to 1 year of age in the United States. Although the reason is ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — Using a sophisticated MRI technique, researchers have found abnormalities in the brain's white matter tracts in patients with insomnia, according to a new ... read more

Pituitary Insufficiency Is Prevalent After Blast Concussion in Military Veterans

Apr. 4, 2016 — A study in military veterans finds that explosive blast-related concussions frequently result in hormone changes leading to problems such as sleep disturbances, fatigue, depression and poor quality ... read more

For Young Adults, Sleep Problems Predict Later Pain Problems

Mar. 31, 2016 — For at least some groups of 'emerging adults,' sleep problems are a predictor of chronic pain and worsening pain severity over time, suggests a ... read more

New Recommendations Link Better Sleep to Improved Concussion Outcomes

Mar. 31, 2016 — A panel of sleep and brain injury specialists recommends specific steps to test and develop sleep-related treatments to improve the outcome of mild traumatic brain ... read more

Mar. 24, 2016 — Like humans, fruit flies sleep at night, caffeine affects their sleep, and if they get a lousy night's sleep it can affect their memory performance. But what can they tell us about the ... read more

Losing Weight With a High-Protein Diet Can Help Adults Sleep Better

Mar. 24, 2016 — Overweight and obese adults who are losing weight with a high-protein diet are more likely to sleep better, according to new research. The study also has studied how dietary protein quantity, sources ... read more

Enhancing Sleep After Brain Injury Reduces Brain Damage, Cognitive Decline in Rats

Mar. 23, 2016 — Enhancing sleep after a head injury may help prevent some damage to brain cells, according to a study. Researchers found that enhancing the slow-wave cycle of sleep after head trauma minimized damage ... read more

Dutch Students' Grades Lower Due to Lack of Sleep

Mar. 22, 2016 — Students who have a chronic lack of sleep have lower grades and find it harder to concentrate. Around a third of students do not feel well rested enough to be able to study properly, a Dutch study ... read more

Sleep Suppresses Brain Rebalancing

Mar. 21, 2016 — Why humans and other animals sleep is one of the remaining deep mysteries of physiology. A study shows that homeostatic mechanisms are indeed gated by sleep and wake, but in the opposite direction ... read more

Crash Risk Soars Among Truck Drivers Who Fail to Adhere to Sleep Apnea Treatment

Mar. 21, 2016 — The largest study of obstructive sleep apnea and crash risk among CMV drivers involved 1,613 truck drivers with sleep apnea and an equal number of controls. The rate of preventable crashes was 5 ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — Researchers have identified seven genes responsible for causing mice to stay awake or fall asleep based on a theoretical model of sleep and on experiments using 21 different genetically modified ... read more

Mar. 16, 2016 — A new study is the first to report that the relationship between nightmares and suicidal behaviors is partially mediated by a multi-step pathway via defeat, entrapment and hopelessness. Results show ... read more

New Research Highlights Need to Give Greater Consideration to Sleep in Stroke Care

Mar. 15, 2016 — Researchers identify sleep as a problem in patients with stroke, and highlight the need to give greater consideration to sleep in stroke care, and in particular stroke ... read more

New Report Recommends Research to Improve Understanding of Relationship Between Fatigue and Crash Risk

Mar. 10, 2016 — Insufficient sleep can decrease a commercial motor vehicle driver's level of alertness, which may increase the risk of a crash, yet little is known about effective ways to minimize that risk, ... read more

Get Sleep Sorted by Age Five to Help Children Settle at School

Mar. 9, 2016 — A child who soothes themselves back to sleep from an early age adjusts to school more easily than those who don't, new research has ... read more

Trouble Sleeping? The Size of Your Tongue, Tonsils Could Be Why

Mar. 8, 2016 — Oversized tonsils and tongues place people at high risk for obstructive sleep apnea, a disorder in which breathing repeatedly stops and starts during sleep due to blocked upper airways, suggests a ... read more

Brain Activity of Nematodes Seeking Food Offers New View on Sleep

Mar. 8, 2016 — If you have trouble sleeping, the neurons in your brain may be firing like those in roundworms randomly seeking food in the absence of clues, says a ... read more

Genes Influence Sleep/wake Timing of Seizures in People With Epilepsy

Mar. 7, 2016 — New research shows that genetics plays a role in sleep/wake timing of seizures. Researchers studied 1,395 individuals with epilepsy in families containing multiple people with epilepsy to determine ... read more

Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Saturday, February 13, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015