NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Sleep Disorders News
September 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:06pm EDT

More Sleep Disorders News
September 29, 2016

Studying: Is It Bad for Your Health to Pull an All-Nighter?

Sep. 19, 2016 — A late night at the library, copious amounts of energy drinks or coffee and class notes from the last month; surely you’ll be able to ace the exam if you just spend the next 24 hours focused on the ... read more

Sleeping Brain's Complex Activity Mimicked by Simple Model

Sep. 1, 2016 — Researchers have built and tested a new mathematical model that successfully reproduces complex brain activity during deep sleep, according to a new ... read more

New Role of Adenosine in the Regulation of REM Sleep Discovered

Sep. 1, 2016 — The regulation and function of sleep is one of the biggest black boxes of today's brain science. A new paper finds that rapid eye movement (REM) sleep is suppressed by adenosine acting on a ... read more

Cognitive Behavior Therapy Could Be Key for Children With Autism Getting Enough Sleep

Aug. 30, 2016 — Experts believe that a family-based cognitive behavioral therapy may be the key for children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) who have problems ... read more

Disruptions to Sleep Patterns Lead to an Increased Risk of Suicides

Aug. 24, 2016 — The link between sleep problems and suicidal thoughts and behaviors is made starkly clear in new ... read more

How Sleep Deprivation Harms Memory

Aug. 23, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a piece in the puzzle of how sleep deprivation negatively affects ... read more

When You Don't Feel Valued in a Relationship, Sleep Suffers

Aug. 17, 2016 — We spend up to one-third of our life asleep, but not everyone sleeps well. For couples, it turns out how well you think your partner understands and cares for you is linked to how well you ... read more

Study Suggests Ways to Block Hypertension in Those With Sleep Apnea

Aug. 16, 2016 — Suppressing hydrogen sulfide production in the carotid body may block the hypertension associated with sleep ... read more

No Blue Light, Please, I'm Tired: Light Color Determines Sleepiness Versus Arousal in Mice

Aug. 15, 2016 — Light affects sleep. A study in mice shows that the actual color of light matters; blue light keeps mice awake longer while green light puts them to sleep ... read more

Plenty of Light During Daytime Reduces the Effect of Blue Light Screens on Night Sleep

Aug. 10, 2016 — The use of smartphones and tablet computers during evening hours has previously been associated with sleep disturbances in humans. A new study now shows that daytime light exposure may be a promising ... read more

Aug. 9, 2016 — Measurements demonstrated that the brain activity of people who dream during NREM sleep, compared to people who do not dream in NREM sleep, is closer to brain activity of awake ... read more

Light, Caffeine Improve Driver Alertness, Study Shows

Aug. 9, 2016 — Bright light combined with caffeine can improve driving performance and alertness of chronically sleep deprived young drivers, according to a road safety ... read more

Economic Burden of Undiagnosed Sleep Apnea in US Is Nearly $150 Billion Per Year

Aug. 8, 2016 — A new analysis has been published that reveals the staggering cost of undiagnosed obstructive sleep apnea. The new work summarizes the results of an online survey completed by patients currently ... read more

Got Sleep? The Amount You Get Could Affect Your Marital Mindset

Aug. 6, 2016 — A new study found that when husbands and wives get more sleep than on an average night, they are more satisfied with their marriages, at least the following ... read more

Insomnia? Oversleeping? Both May Increase Your Risk of Stroke

Aug. 3, 2016 — There is growing evidence that sleep disorders like insomnia and sleep apnea are related to stroke risk and recovery from stroke, according to a recent literature ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers have discovered what causes the sleep homeostat -- a switch in our brains -- to flip and wake us up. The discovery brings us closer to understanding the mystery of ... read more

July 28, 2016 — For the first time, scientists report using transcranial alternating current stimulation, or tACS, to target a specific kind of brain activity during sleep and strengthen memory in healthy ... read more

'Gestational Sleep Apnea': Wake Up to a New Diagnosis

July 26, 2016 — Approximately one quarter of pregnant women may suffer from Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA), the recurrent cessation or limitation of normal breathing during sleep, new research suggests. In addition ... read more

July 22, 2016 — Scientists have successfully measured the eye pressure of sleeping patients with obstructive sleep apnea syndrome for the first time, finding an unexpected correlation with ... read more

July 22, 2016 — Children who experience inadequate or disrupted sleep are more likely to develop depression and anxiety disorders later in life according to recent research. The study seeks to determine the precise ... read more

Monday, September 19, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Saturday, August 6, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016