Alzheimer's News
August 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:34am EDT

More Alzheimer's News
August 27, 2016

Aug. 25, 2016 — Scientists are testing a drug that could boost levels of critical protective protein in brain. In the study, the team conducted tests in a mouse model of Alzheimer's disease by raising the ... read more

Aug. 18, 2016 — Structural biologists provide a new explanation for how ALS-associated genetic flaws interfere with the proper function and behavior of the protein ... read more

Potential Therapeutic Target for Huntington's Disease

Aug. 16, 2016 — There is new hope in the fight against Huntington's disease. Scientists have discovered that changing a specific part of the huntingtin protein prevented the loss of critical brain cells and ... read more

Diet and Exercise Can Reduce Protein Build-Ups Linked to Alzheimer's, Study Shows

Aug. 16, 2016 — A healthy diet, regular physical activity and a normal body mass index can reduce the incidence of protein build-ups that are associated with the onset of Alzheimer's disease, research ... read more

New Treatment Option for Alzheimer's Disease Possible, Say Researchers

Aug. 11, 2016 — A research project has shown that an experimental model of Alzheimer's disease can be successfully treated with a commonly used anti-inflammatory ... read more

New PET Scan Tracer Allows First Imaging of the Epigenetics of the Human Brain

Aug. 10, 2016 — A novel PET radiotracer is able for the first time to reveal epigenetic activity -- the process that determines whether or not genes are expressed -- within the human ... read more

Want a Better Memory? Try Eating a Mediterranean Diet

Aug. 9, 2016 — The Mediterranean diet can improve your mind, as well your heart, shows a new ... read more

Cascade of Events Leading to Prion Disease Described

Aug. 9, 2016 — New experiments in mice now enable researchers to evaluate prion disease progression and potential therapeutic interventions in vivo, according to a new ... read more

Aug. 5, 2016 — Elongated fibers (fibrils) of the beta-amyloid protein form the typical senile plaques present in the brains of patients with Alzheimer's disease. A research team has simultaneously succeeded in ... read more

Brain's Finely Tuned System of Energy Supply Revealed

Aug. 4, 2016 — New research reveals how the brain is able to meet its massive energy demands with a 'just in time' system that delivers oxygen that fuels nerve cells. The findings could shed light on ... read more

Study Suggests 'Use It or Lose It' to Defend Against Memory Loss

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers have identified a protein essential for building memories that appears to predict the progression of memory loss and brain atrophy in Alzheimer's patients. Their findings suggest ... read more

New Dementia App Helps Memory Loss Patients Find Memories

Aug. 3, 2016 — People suffering from Alzheimer’s and other forms of age-related dementia sometimes have trouble recognizing friends and family or knowing what to talk about when they visit. A new app offers to ... read more

Scientists Keep a Molecule from Moving Inside Nerve Cells to Prevent Cell Death

Aug. 3, 2016 — A groundbreaking scientific study has found one way an RNA binding protein may contribute to ALS disease ... read more

New Biochip-Based Blood Test Detects Elevated Risk for Alzheimer’s Disease

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers today unveiled results from a new blood test to help identify which patients are at an elevated risk of Alzheimer’s disease. The findings showed that the biochip test, which allows ... read more

Next Steps Towards Preventing Cancer and Alzheimer's

Aug. 3, 2016 — A new generation of drugs that prevent cancer and Alzheimer's could be developed, thanks to a new database of the proteins needed for ... read more

Exercise Results in Larger Brain Size and Lowered Dementia Risk

Aug. 2, 2016 — Regular physical activity for older adults could lead to higher brain volumes and a reduced risk for developing dementia. It particularly affected the size of the hippocampus, which controls ... read more

Antioxidant Therapies May Help in the Fight Against Neurodegenerative Diseases

Aug. 1, 2016 — A new review examines the potential of antioxidant approaches for the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, amyotrophic lateral ... read more

July 29, 2016 — A virtual brain has been created that can reconstitute the brain of a person affected by epilepsy for the first time. From this work we understand better how the disease works and can also better ... read more

New Research Adds Evidence on Potential Treatments Targeting Amyloid Beta in Alzheimer's

July 28, 2016 — New research could provide additional clues for future treatment targets to delay Alzheimer's disease and related dementias, according to the group's latest ... read more

Indicators of Parkinson's Disease Risk Found in Unexpected Places

July 27, 2016 — Clues that point toward new risk mechanisms for developing Parkinson's disease are hiding in some unusual spots, according to a new ... read more

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016