Alzheimer's News
July 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:04am EDT

More Alzheimer's News
July 28, 2016

Indicators of Parkinson's Disease Risk Found in Unexpected Places

July 27, 2016 — Clues that point toward new risk mechanisms for developing Parkinson's disease are hiding in some unusual spots, according to a new ... read more

Researchers Unveil New Data, Diagnostic Tool at the World's Largest Alzheimer's Forum

July 26, 2016 — A new diagnostic tool that can identify Alzheimer's disease long before the onset of symptoms has been presented by researchers. They add that the tool also highlights the increasing prevalence ... read more

Network Physicist Sheds Light on Alzheimer's, Schizophrenia

July 25, 2016 — A new study comparing mouse and macaque brains has found evidence of an evolutionary universal brain structure in mammals that could provide insights into brain disorders such as Alzheimer's and ... read more

Using Tau Imaging as Diagnostic Marker for Alzheimer Disease

July 25, 2016 — The accumulation of ?-Amyloid and tau proteins in the brain is hallmark pathology for Alzheimer disease. Recently developed positron emission tomography (PET) tracers, including [18F]-AV-1451, bind ... read more

Brains of College Athletes With Prior Concussion Show Physical Changes Months, Years Later

July 21, 2016 — University athletes with a history of concussion had changes in the size, blood flow and connections in their brains months and even years after the injury -- changes not seen in athletes without ... read more

Hormone Therapy for Brain Performance: No Effect, Whether Started Early or Late

July 20, 2016 — Hormone therapy has a negligible effect on verbal memory and other mental skills regardless of how soon after menopause a woman begins therapy, new research ... read more

Scientists Apply New Imaging Tool to Common Brain Disorders

July 20, 2016 — A new approach has been developed to scanning the brain for changes in synapses that are associated with common brain disorders. The technique may provide insights into the diagnosis and treatment of ... read more

July 20, 2016 — A new study has uncovered details of how a type of immune cell helps the brain get rid of the tiny amyloid-beta aggregates that can clump together to form the plaques characteristic of ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Scientists have shown that the most common genetic cause of Parkinson's disease -- a mutant LRRK2 kinase enzyme -- contributes to the formation of inclusions in neurons, resembling one of the ... read more

July 19, 2016 — People who selectively recalled positive information over neutral and negative information performed worse on memory tests conducted by neurobiologists, who said the results suggest that this ... read more

Toxic Alzheimer's Protein Spreads Through Brain Via Extracellular Space

July 18, 2016 — A toxic Alzheimer's protein can spread through the brain via the extracellular space that surrounds the brain's neurons, finds a new ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Researchers have identified -- and shown that it may be possible to control -- the mechanism that leads to the rapid build-up of the disease-causing 'plaques' that are characteristic of ... read more

Pre-Stroke Risk Factors Influence Long-Term Future Stroke, Dementia Risk

July 14, 2016 — If you had heart disease risk factors, such as high blood pressure, before your first stoke, your risk of suffering subsequent strokes and dementia long after your initial stroke may be higher. ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Researchers have used a recently-developed imaging technique that makes tissue transparent to visualize brain tissue from deceased patients with Alzheimer's disease, exposing nonrandom, ... read more

July 13, 2016 — A gene associated with Alzheimer's disease and recovery after brain injury may show its effects on the brain and thinking skills as early as childhood, according to a new ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Researchers have identified a new biological pathway involved in Alzheimer's disease. In experiments using fruit flies, blocking the pathway reduced the death of brain cells, suggesting that ... read more

Driving Ability of People With Cognitive Impairment Difficult to Assess: Research Review

July 13, 2016 — No single assessment tool is able to consistently determine driving ability in people with Alzheimer's disease and mild cognitive impairment, a research review has ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Cinnamon is a delicious addition to toast, coffee and breakfast rolls. Eating the tasty household spice also might improve learning ability, according to new ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Scientists have used a powerful tool to better understand the progression of late-onset Alzheimer's disease (LOAD), identifying its first physiological signs. Rsearchers analyzed more than 7,700 ... read more

July 12, 2016 — The inability to remember details, such as the location of objects, begins in early midlife (the 40s) and may be the result of a change in what information the brain focuses on during memory ... read more

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016