Wild Animals News
May 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:53am EDT

More Wild Animals News
May 24, 2016

May 18, 2016 — When temperatures are scorching, southern yellow-billed hornbills in the Kalahari Desert of southern Africa dilate blood vessels in their beaks to thermoregulate and cool off, according to a new ... read more

May 18, 2016 — A stomachache can put a real damper on your love life -- especially if you're a giant panda. One minute it's breeding season and you're happily dining on fresh bamboo leaves, the next ... read more

Habitat Quality Drives Birds' Reproductive Success

May 18, 2016 — Five songbird species in California's oak woodlands each seek out a different habitat to maximize their reproductive success, according to new ... read more

May 17, 2016 — For the first time, the genomes of the giraffe and its closest living relative, the reclusive okapi of the African rainforest, have been sequenced -- revealing the first clues about the genetic ... read more

May 17, 2016 — Ecologists have set up camera traps in Africa. The images will help wildlife authorities in Botswana to target their conservation work more ... read more

May 17, 2016 — While populations of moose have been declining in much of their North American range, research shows how these icons of the northern boreal forest are finding success by moving south into farmers’ ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Pieces of DNA that predict lifespan are shorter in birds that are inbred, according to new research. The findings mean that inbreeding could be linked to a shorter lifespan. The team also found ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Biologists have made an important discovery that helps explain how plants regulate the proliferation of their stem cells. The discovery has near-term implications for increasing the yield of maize ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Mexican authorities are being called on to immediately and indefinitely close all fisheries within the habitat of Mexico's critically endangered vaquita porpoise. Only around 60 vaquitas ... read more

Citizen Scientists Can Help Protect Endangered Species

May 16, 2016 — Until this study, the conservation and management of fox squirrels in Florida was constrained by a lack of reliable information on the factors influencing its distribution. But with this research, ... read more

May 13, 2016 — Unique sections of coral DNA can indicate a higher tolerance to environmental stress, researchers have revealed for the first ... read more

May 13, 2016 — Seabirds nest by the hundreds of thousands in colonies along the Norwegian coast. By combining an ocean current model with fish larvae transport modeling and bird population numbers, researchers have ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Scientists say that the high levels of poaching forest elephants will result in a loss of the oldest, wisest matriarchs, who are living libraries of their vast rainforest domain. Without these ... read more

May 12, 2016 — House mice often raise their offspring in a communal nest. A new study reveals that females tend to be more willing to raise their offspring cooperatively if they have similar litter sizes so that ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Over their 52-million-year history, a few bats have evolved a taste for their fellow vertebrates. Now biologists are shedding light on how these so-called 'carnivorous bats' adapted to the ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Paleontologists reports a new genus and species of fossil sheep from the Pliocene of Zanda Basin in Tibet. This finding extends the fossil record for the sheep into the Pliocene of the Tibetan ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Northern cardinals and tufted titmice are two abundant bird species in the woods of eastern North America. Many bird and mammal species rely on information from tufted titmice calls to detect and ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Mountain gorillas from Volcanoes National Park in Rwanda eat up to 30 kilos of plants a day and their diet is highly varied in a habitat that is becoming increasingly fragmented as a result of ... read more

May 11, 2016 — If the bittersweet nightshade (Solanum dulcamara) is consumed by herbivores, the plant secretes a nectar directly from the wounds that attracts ants and thus protects the plant from further feeding ... read more

May 11, 2016 — A team has been awarded a prize for their proposal to crack down on wildlife crime using a portable DNA sequencing device, the MinION, to read the ‘barcode genes’ of animals affected by illegal ... read more

Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016