New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Wild Animals News

May 17, 2024

Top Headlines

 

Sea otters are one of the few animals that use tools to access their food, and a new study has found that individual sea otters that use tools -- most of whom are female -- are able to eat larger prey and reduce tooth damage when their preferred ...
A new article has found that climate change is the most prominent threat to pollinators -- such as bumblebees, wasps, and butterflies -- who are essential for biodiversity conservation, crop yields and food security. The research suggests that many ...
When tiger beetles hear a bat nearby, they respond by creating a high-pitched, ultrasonic noise, and for the past 30 years, no one has known why. In a new study, scientists lay the mystery to rest by showing that tiger beetles use ultrasonic warning ...
A parasitic worm that can infest the brains of moose appears to be playing a role in the decline of the iconic animal in some regions of North America. Moose populations have been dwindling for years across the country due to many contributing ...

Latest Headlines

updated 9:27pm EDT

Earlier Headlines

 

Artificial intelligence analysis of data gathered by acoustic recording devices is a promising new tool for monitoring the marbled murrelet and other secretive, hard-to-study ...

As the world faces the loss of a staggering number of species of animals and plants to endangerment and extinction, one scientist has an urgent message: Chemists and pharmacists should be key players ...

A study of body size in leaf-nosed bats of the Solomon Islands has revealed surprising genetic diversity among nearly indistinguishable species on different ...

The 17 species of red colobus monkey living across Africa, including in the Tai Project field station region, have been singled out by scientists as a priority conservation target. Protection of ...

Scientists have applied a data-driven approach to understanding firefly population dynamics on a continental scale. Key findings from this new study indicate that fireflies, part of the beetle order, ...

It has long been thought that meat played an important role in the diet of hunter-gatherers before the Neolithic transition. However, due to the scarcity of well-preserved human remains from ...

Report details first-ever finding of highly pathogenic avian influenza virus in North American ...

Cichlid fishes exhibit differing degrees of curiosity. The cause for this lies in their genes, as reported by researchers. This trait influences the cichlids' ability to adapt to new ...

Scientists have successfully replaced half of the fishmeal protein in the diets of farmed Asian seabass with a 'single cell protein' cultivated from microbes in soybean processing ...

In the boreal forest of Western Canada, researchers have considered that both changing climate and increased habitat alteration have enabled deer to push farther ...

Researchers have published a comprehensive study on the invasion of lionfish in the Mediterranean Sea, highlighting a rapid spread and the potential ecological impacts. The research shows the ...

Oncorhynchus rastrosus, a giant species of salmon that lived in the North American Pacific Northwest a few million years ago, sported a pair of front teeth that projected out from the sides of its ...

Every cuckoo is an adopted child -- raised by foster parents, into whose nest the cuckoo mother smuggled her egg. The cuckoo mother is aided in this subterfuge by her resemblance to a bird of prey. ...

A new study sheds light on how parasites, often overlooked, can dramatically affect the balance between predator and prey populations. Researchers developed a groundbreaking mathematical framework ...

When we think of evolution, we think of a process that happens over hundreds or thousands of years. In research recently published, a species of frog that has evolved over the course of merely 25 ...

A study of shallow-water fish communities on rocky reefs in south-eastern Australia has found climate change is helping tropical fish species invade temperate Australian ...

A study has found direct evidence of a species -- the American woodcock, a migratory shorebird from eastern and central North America -- that overlaps periods of migration and reproduction, a rare ...

What can be done when one threatened animal kills another? Scientists studying critically endangered lemurs in Madagascar confronted this difficult reality when they witnessed attacks on lemurs by ...

Anticipating changes to ecosystems is often at best an educated guess, but what if there was a way to better tune into possible changes occurring? Researchers have discovered that the silent growth ...

A heart attack will leave a permanent scar on a human heart, yet other animals, including zebrafish, can clear cardiac scar tissue and regrow damaged muscle as adults. Biologists sheds new light on ...

Thursday, May 2, 2024

Tuesday, April 30, 2024

Monday, April 29, 2024

Friday, April 26, 2024

Thursday, April 25, 2024

Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Friday, April 19, 2024

Saturday, April 20, 2024

Thursday, April 18, 2024

Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Monday, April 15, 2024

Friday, April 12, 2024

Thursday, April 11, 2024

Wednesday, April 10, 2024

Tuesday, April 9, 2024

Friday, April 5, 2024

Thursday, April 4, 2024

Wednesday, April 3, 2024

Tuesday, April 2, 2024

Monday, April 1, 2024

Sunday, March 31, 2024

Thursday, March 28, 2024

Wednesday, March 27, 2024

Tuesday, March 26, 2024

Monday, March 25, 2024

Friday, March 22, 2024

Thursday, March 21, 2024

Wednesday, March 20, 2024

Monday, March 18, 2024

Friday, March 15, 2024

Thursday, March 14, 2024

Wednesday, March 13, 2024

Tuesday, March 12, 2024

Monday, March 11, 2024

Friday, March 8, 2024

Thursday, March 7, 2024

Wednesday, March 6, 2024

Tuesday, March 5, 2024

Monday, March 4, 2024

Saturday, March 2, 2024

Thursday, February 29, 2024

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Tuesday, February 27, 2024