Wild Animals News
May 23, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 5:10am EDT

More Wild Animals News
May 23, 2017

May 18, 2017 — Spatial capture-recapture model analysis is often used to estimate tiger abundance. A new study, however, finds that dates and times of animal detections are often not factored into the analysis. ... read more

Bumblebee Populations Higher in Detroit Than in Some Less-Urbanized Areas; Vacant Lots Could Be a Factor

May 17, 2017 — A new study of native bumblebee populations in southeastern Michigan cities found, surprisingly, that Detroit has more of the large-bodied bees than some surrounding, less urbanized ... read more

May 16, 2017 — Scientists have modeled factors driving mainland yellow-eyed penguin population decline and are calling for action to reduce regional threats. According to the researchers' prediction models, ... read more

May 15, 2017 — A new study suggests that an aggressive reef competitor -- the Threespot Damselfish -- may have impeded the recovery of Caribbean long-spined sea urchin populations after a mysterious disease ... read more

May 15, 2017 — Female fruit flies start headbutting each other after mating, becoming significantly more aggressive and intolerant, research has ... read more

May 12, 2017 — Scientists in Uganda studying the behaviors of the country's famous tree-climbing lions have found that the home ranges of lion prides in the study areas have increased over time as they search ... read more

May 11, 2017 — The aquatic environment is full of tantalizing chemicals that can guide a fish to mates or meals. Now, scientists in Japan have identified the olfactory receptor and brain circuitry that picks up the ... read more

Three New Sub-Species of Snow Leopard Discovered

May 11, 2017 — A recent research paper reveals that there are three sub-species of snow leopard. Until now, researchers had assumed this species, Panthera uncia, was ... read more

Study of Worms Reveals 'Selfish Genes' That Encode a Toxin, and Its Antidote

May 11, 2017 — A worm commonly used in lab research possesses a pair of genes that encode both a poison and its antidote, scientists have discovered. The genes represent one of the clearest examples to date of a ... read more

May 11, 2017 — Invasive parasites are a biological oxymoron. And yet, they are in our backyards. A new study analyzes the case of a brood parasitic bird, the pin-tailed whydah (<i>Vidua macroura</i>) ... read more

May 11, 2017 — Farming crickets for human consumption is less of a burden on the environment than other livestock production systems according to a new study. Results suggest that insect farming systems can be ... read more

May 10, 2017 — Until now, scientists have only had a murky understanding of how these relationships arise. Now they have an answer. It's good news and bad news, germophobes: The bad news? Mutualistic bacteria ... read more

Estimating the Size of Animal Populations from Camera Trap Surveys

May 10, 2017 — Camera traps are a useful means to observe the behaviour of animal populations in the wild at remote locations. Researchers recently extended distance sampling analytical methods to accommodate data ... read more

May 10, 2017 — African lions are under the same threats extinct sabre-toothed tigers ... read more

May 10, 2017 — The world's only population of Javan rhinoceros, already under severe threat from poaching, could go extinct in the future due to natural disasters, including volcanic eruptions and ... read more

May 9, 2017 — Walking along the beaches of New England, it's easy to spot large amounts of fine red seaweed clogging the coastline, the result of sweeping changes beneath the water. Researchers looked at ... read more

May 9, 2017 — The federal program that pays farmers to plant agricultural land with environmentally beneficial vegetation is probably the reason that sage grouse still live in portions of Washington's ... read more

Research Reveals Globe-Trotting History of Sika Deer

May 9, 2017 — A paper that details the history of sika deer populations in the Delmarva over the past 100 years reveals a trek that began in Japan, took them through England and landed them in the US. The research ... read more

How Varroa Mites Take Advantage of Managed Beekeeping Practices

May 9, 2017 — As the managed honey bee industry continues to grapple with significant annual colony losses, the Varroa destructor mite is emerging as the leading culprit. And, it turns out, the very nature of ... read more

May 9, 2017 — The relentless roar of natural gas compressors influences the numbers of insects and spiders nearby, triggering decreases in many types of arthropods sensitive to sounds and vibrations, a new study ... read more

Thursday, May 18, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Monday, May 15, 2017
Friday, May 12, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Sunday, May 7, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017