NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Genetically Modified News
February 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:53am EST

More Genetically Modified News
February 27, 2017

Chemical Engineers Boost Bacteria's Productivity

Feb. 13, 2017 — Chemical engineers have designed a novel genetic switch that allows them to dramatically boost bacteria cells' production of useful chemicals by shutting competing metabolic pathways in the ... read more

Switching Off the Brain

Jan. 23, 2017 — Switching off specific brain regions in a laboratory animal is an important type of experiment used to better understand how the brain works. A study has now identified effective inhibitors of brain ... read more

Jan. 20, 2017 — A new technique will help biologists tinker with genes, whether the goal is to turn cells into tiny factories churning out medicines, modify crops to grow with limited water or study the effects of a ... read more

Jan. 19, 2017 — These findings may provide further evidence to help researchers solve the $6 billion-a-year disease that continues to evolve and torment potato and tomato growers around the ... read more

New Tools Will Drive Greater Understanding of Wheat Genes

Jan. 16, 2017 — Scientists have developed a much-needed genetic resource that will greatly accelerate the study of gene functions in wheat. The resource, a collection of wheat seeds with more than 10 million ... read more

Genetically Engineered Mosquitoes Resist Dengue Fever Virus

Jan. 12, 2017 — After decades of research and countless control attempts, dengue fever -- a mosquito-borne viral disease -- continues to infect an estimated 390 million people around the world each year. Now, ... read more

Researchers Create Mosquito Resistant to Dengue Virus

Jan. 12, 2017 — Researchers have genetically modified mosquitoes to resist infection from dengue virus, a virus that sickens an estimated 96 million people globally each year and kills more than 20,000, mostly ... read more

Strep Spreads by Harnessing Immune Defenses of Those Infected

Jan. 11, 2017 — The bacteria that cause most cases of pneumonia worldwide secrete a toxin that helps them jump from one body to the next -- with help from the hosts' immune ... read more

'Gene-Silencing' Technique Is a Game-Changer for Crop Protection

Jan. 11, 2017 — Ground-breaking research based on nanotechnology promises to help conquer the greatest threat to global food crops – pests and diseases in plants, report scientists who have developed a non-toxic, ... read more

Jan. 10, 2017 — Winters in eastern Russia are intensely cold, with air temperatures regularly reaching -30 degrees Fahrenheit in some locations. It is a seemingly inhospitable climate, but native plants have found ... read more

For Viral Predators of Bacteria, Sensitivity Can Be Contagious

Jan. 10, 2017 — Scientists have shown for the first time how bacteria with resistance to a viral predator can become susceptible to it after spending time in the company of other susceptible or 'sensitive' ... read more

For Chemicals, Mega Is out and Bio Is in

Jan. 9, 2017 — Engineers propose that the future of chemical production lies in decentralized biomanufacturing facilities that will push innovation and achieve efficiency not possible at today's ... read more

Modifying a Live Virus in a Vaccine to Be Just Strong Enough

Dec. 1, 2016 — By genetically tweaking the constituent live virus, scientists have created a vaccine against influenza in which the virus is capable of activating the immune system but cannot replicate in healthy ... read more

Dec. 1, 2016 — Gut microbes may play a critical role in the development of Parkinson's-like movement disorders in genetically predisposed mice, researchers report. Antibiotic treatment reduced motor deficits ... read more

Nov. 28, 2016 — Environment and genetics determine relative abundance of specific microbes in the gut, new research shows. The findings represent an attempt to untangle the forces that shape the gut microbiome, ... read more

Nov. 22, 2016 — Engineers have developed the first transgenic grass species that can take up and destroy RDX -- a toxic compound that has been widely used in explosives since World War II and contaminates military ... read more

Nov. 17, 2016 — Researchers who have sequenced the genome of a 5,310-year-old corn cob have discovered that the maize grown in central Mexico all those years ago was genetically more similar to modern maize than to ... read more

Nov. 17, 2016 — A new type of photoreceptor has now been discovered -- only the third to be found in animals -- that is about 50 times more efficient at capturing light than the rhodopsin in the human ... read more

Nov. 14, 2016 — A new helper in the fight against cancer and other diseases of the gut may be genetically altered bacteria that release medicines to tumors or the gut, report ... read more

People Who Know About Genetically Modified Food Agree With Science: They're Safe

Nov. 9, 2016 — People who know about genetically modified food agree with science, that they're safe. On the other hand, those who know plenty about global warming are cautious about the science that says ... read more

Monday, February 13, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Sunday, October 16, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016