Genetically Modified News
April 29, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:08pm EDT

More Genetically Modified News
April 29, 2017

New Rice Fights Off Drought

Apr. 4, 2017 — New strains of rice that are resistant to drought in real-world situations have now been developed by researchers. The study reports that transgenic rice modified with a gene from the Arabidopsis ... read more

Napping Flies Have Higher Resistance to Deadly Human Pathogen

Mar. 30, 2017 — Fruit flies that take frequent naps have the strongest resistance to both a fungal infection and to Drosophila 'superbug' bacteria, new research has discovered. The unexpected finding of ... read more

Research Questions Effectiveness of Translocation Conservation Method

Mar. 22, 2017 — A DNA study of endangered greater prairie chickens in Illinois indicates that supplementing the dwindling population with birds from out of state did not improve genetic ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — New research has solved a long-standing mystery by deducing how and why strange yet colorful structures called 'anthocyanic vacuolar inclusions' occur in some ... read more

Effects of Gut Flora Revisited

Mar. 16, 2017 — Changes in gut microbiota after unhealthy diet may protect from metabolic ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — Plants possess molecular mechanisms that prevent them from blooming in winter. Once the cold of winter has passed, they are deactivated. However, if it is still too cold in spring, plants adapt their ... read more

Federal U.S. Agencies Need to Prepare for Greater Quantity, Range of Biotechnology Products

Mar. 9, 2017 — A profusion of biotechnology products is expected over the next five to 10 years, and the number and diversity of new products has the potential to overwhelm the U.S. regulatory system, says a new ... read more

Dampened Immunity During Pregnancy Promotes Evolution of More Virulent Flu

Mar. 8, 2017 — During pregnancy, a mother's immune system is suppressed to protect the fetus, which is perceived as a foreign body because it is genetically different. A study in mice found that suppressed ... read more

A New Tool for Genetically Engineering the Oldest Branch of Life

Mar. 8, 2017 — A new study has documented the use of CRISPR-Cas9 mediated genome editing in the third domain of life, Archaea, for the first time. Their groundbreaking work has the potential to vastly accelerate ... read more

Mar. 3, 2017 — Chance is an overlooked factor in the wide variation of microbe gut populations between individuals, new research suggests. These microbiome variations, which are also affected by diet and ... read more

Nature Can Beat Back Scientific Tinkering With Genes of Entire Species

Mar. 1, 2017 — Scientists have revealed daunting challenges to changing the DNA of entire populations of species via the most promising techniques available today to produce 'gene ... read more

Scientists Discover How Essential Methane Catalyst Is Made

Feb. 22, 2017 — New ways to convert carbon dioxide (CO2) into methane gas for energy use are a step closer after scientists discovered how bacteria make a component that facilitates the process. Recycling CO2 into ... read more

Hybrid Plant Breeding: Secrets Behind Haploid Inducers, a Powerful Tool in Maize Breeding

Feb. 22, 2017 — A common strategy to create high-yielding plants is hybrid breeding. However, getting the inbred lines in the first place can be a hassle. In maize, the use of so-called 'haploid inducers' ... read more

Microbe, Virus Co-Evolution: Model of CRISPR, Phage Co-Evolution Explains Confusing Experimental Results

Feb. 21, 2017 — A new study suggests that researchers planning to use the CRISPR genome-editing system to produce designer gut bacteria may need to account for the dynamic evolution of the microbial immune ... read more

Feb. 20, 2017 — DNA, the stuff of life, may very well also pack quite the jolt for engineers trying to advance the development of tiny, low-cost electronic devices. Much like flipping your light switch at home -- ... read more

Honey Bee Genetics Sheds Light on Bee Origins

Feb. 17, 2017 — Where do honey bees come from? A new study clears some of the fog around honey bee origins. The work could be useful in breeding bees resistant to disease or ... read more

Plant-Made Virus Shells Could Deliver Drugs Directly to Cancer Cells

Feb. 15, 2017 — Viruses are extremely efficient at targeting and delivering cargo to cells. Researchers report they have harnessed this well-honed ability -- minus the part that makes us sick -- to develop ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Scientists have genetically engineered a mouse that resists addiction to ... read more

Chemical Engineers Boost Bacteria's Productivity

Feb. 13, 2017 — Chemical engineers have designed a novel genetic switch that allows them to dramatically boost bacteria cells' production of useful chemicals by shutting competing metabolic pathways in the ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Scientists have discovered why the green peach aphid (Myzus persicae) is one of the most destructive pests to many of our most important crops. Their research will inform industry and research ... read more

Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Sunday, October 16, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016