Genetically Modified News
May 3, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:22pm EDT

More Genetically Modified News
May 3, 2016

Pros and Cons of Mandatory GMO Labeling

Apr. 1, 2016 — Researchers have concluded that mandatory labeling of genetically modified foods is justified, based on an extensive review of international scientific and legal frameworks related to genetically ... read more

Mar. 24, 2016 — Two new gene modification methods have been developed: lsODN (long single-stranded oligodeoxynucleotide) and 2H2OP (two-hit two-oligo with plasmid). These methods use CRISPR (Clustered Regularly ... read more

Mar. 7, 2016 — Scientists have established a biorefinery system to create non-natural polymers from natural sources, allowing various plastics to be made in an environmentally-friendly and sustainable ... read more

A Synthetic Biology Approach for a New Antidote to Coral Snake Venom

Mar. 3, 2016 — Coral snake venom carries significant neurotoxicity and human injuries can be severe or even lethal. Despite this, antivenom treatments are scarce due to challenges collecting adequate amounts of ... read more

Eliminating GMOs Would Take Toll on Environment, Economies

Mar. 1, 2016 — Higher food prices, a significant boost in greenhouse gas emissions due to land use change and major loss of forest and pasture land would be some results if genetically modified organisms in the ... read more

Improving Biorefineries With Bubbles

Mar. 1, 2016 — A new method for the pretreatment of organic material, or 'biomass', has been developed by researchers, which could lead to more efficient production of biofuels and ... read more

Mar. 1, 2016 — Our innate immune system uses two mechanisms. The first kills foreign bodies within the phagocyte itself. The second kills them outside the cell. Microbiologists have discovered that a social amoeba ... read more

Feb. 29, 2016 — Researchers have engineered microbes that can't run away from home. Any refugees that do quickly die without protective proteins produced by their peers. Dubbed 'swarmbots' for their ... read more

Feb. 25, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that bacteria have a system that can recognize and disrupt dangerous viruses using a newly identified mechanism involving RNA. It is similar to the CRISPR/Cas system that ... read more

Feb. 25, 2016 — Bioengineers have tweaked Escherichia coli genes so that they pump out thebaine, a morphine precursor that can be modified to make painkillers. The genetically modified E. coli produces 300 times ... read more

Feb. 24, 2016 — Just like other crops, trees can also be genetically modified in order to introduce new, useful characteristics. Although such trees offer many socio-economic and environmental benefits, complex and ... read more

Feb. 19, 2016 — A new microfluidic device may help scientists quickly home in on the electric field 'sweet spot' -- the range of electric potentials that will harmlessly and temporarily open up membrane ... read more

Genetically Modified Technology a Safe Tool to Help Meet Food Supply Demands, Plant Scientists Say

Feb. 18, 2016 — More than 1,000 scientists from nonprofit, corporate, academic, and private institutions say that public doubts about genetically modified food crops are hindering the next Green ... read more

Feb. 18, 2016 — Researchers have spent decades trying to replace the insulin-producing pancreatic cells, called beta cells, that are lost in diabetes. Now researchers have discovered that tissue from the lower ... read more

Feb. 17, 2016 — Synthetic biologists are learning to turn microbes and unicellular organisms into highly productive factories by re-engineering their metabolism to produce valued commodities such as fine chemicals, ... read more

Feb. 17, 2016 — A new study on steelhead trout in Oregon offers genetic evidence that wild and hatchery fish are different at the DNA level, and that they can become different with surprising speed. The research ... read more

Feb. 15, 2016 — Light can be used to control the transport of proteins from the cell nucleus with the aid of a light-sensitive, genetically modified plant protein. Biologists working in the field of optogenetics ... read more

Feb. 12, 2016 — Australian researchers have used cutting-edge genome technologies to reveal the genetic makeup of a widespread skin parasite causing serious health problems in Aboriginal communities.The research ... read more

Feb. 10, 2016 — A research project has tested the hypothesis that Asian common toad populations across Southeast Asia are genetically similar owing to their commensal nature and high dispersive ability. To the ... read more

Parasitic Ants Alter How Captive Ants Recognize Nest Mates

Feb. 3, 2016 — Enslaved Formica worker ants are more genetically and chemically diverse and less aggressive towards non-nest mates than free-living Formica ant colonies, according to a new ... read more

Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015