Genetically Modified News
July 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:19pm EDT

More Genetically Modified News
July 26, 2016

July 15, 2016 — Scientists are learning how cells make the decision to become T ... read more

Scientists Discover Protective Strategy Against Pesticide-Linked Parkinson's Disease

June 15, 2016 — A new study sheds light on the toxicity of the pesticides related to Parkinson's while also suggesting a strategy that may help protect against the ... read more

New Insights Into Mechanism of Metabolic Disorders: Proteome of an Entire Family

June 9, 2016 — Based on comprehensive protein data on mice, researchers have gained new insights into the mechanism of metabolic disorders. A key factor in their success was the data compiled by the scientists on ... read more

June 9, 2016 — Scientists now reports a method which enables the rapid isolation and concentration of infectious bacteria from complex clinical samples to help speed up bacterial identification, and it should be ... read more

Gene-Drive Modified Organisms Are Not Ready to Be Released Into Environment, Experts Say

June 8, 2016 — The emerging science of gene drives has the potential to address environmental and public health challenges, but gene-drive modified organisms are not ready to be released into the environment and ... read more

Residents Concerned About Use of Genetically Modified Mosquitoes to Curb Insect Population

June 6, 2016 — A small survey of residents of a Florida Keys neighborhood where officials hope to release genetically modified mosquitoes to potentially reduce the threat of mosquito-borne illnesses such as Zika ... read more

June 3, 2016 — Fish that are bred to be bolder or more shy show corresponding changes to their body shape and locomotion, suggesting that personality changes affect other seemingly unrelated traits. The findings ... read more

June 2, 2016 — Heralded on the cover of Time magazine in 2000 as a genetically modified (GMO) crop with the potential to save millions of lives in the Third World, Golden Rice is still years away from field ... read more

How Prions Kill Neurons: New Culture System Shows Early Toxicity to Dendritic Spines

May 26, 2016 — Prion diseases are fatal and incurable neurodegenerative conditions of humans and animals. Yet, how prions kill nerve cells (or neurons) remains unclear. A new study describes a system in which to ... read more

Consumer Knowledge Gap on Genetically Modified Food

May 25, 2016 — While consumers are aware of genetically modified crops and food, their knowledge level is limited and often at odds with the facts, according to a newly published ... read more

May 20, 2016 — A special type of microalgae will soon produce valuable chemicals such as cancer treatment drugs and much more just by harnessing energy from the sun, suggest ... read more

Study Identifies Unexpected Mutation in Commonly Used Research Mice

May 19, 2016 — A strain of inbred mice commonly used for the creation of so-called knockout animals has been found to carry a previously undetected mutation that could affect the results of immune system research ... read more

May 19, 2016 — Adding genes to bacteria offers sustainable routes to make compounds currently obtained from ... read more

May 17, 2016 — An extensive study has found that new technologies in genetic engineering and conventional breeding are blurring the once clear distinctions between these two crop-improvement ... read more

May 17, 2016 — An almost entirely accidental discovery by researchers could transform food and biofuel production and increase carbon capture on farmland. By tweaking a plant’s genetic profile, the researchers ... read more

Making Plants Fit for Climate Change

May 17, 2016 — Breeding barley that provides good yields even in a hot and dry climate is the focus of a new research study. The project is part of the new Bavarian alliance "BayKlimaFit" aimed at finding ... read more

Using Precision-Genetics in Pigs to Beat Cancer

May 13, 2016 — Because of their similarities to people, using new technology in pigs turn up as a valuable alternative to rodent models of ... read more

Fatal Attachment: How Pathogenic Bacteria Hang on to Mucosa and Avoid Exfoliation

May 12, 2016 — Mucous surfaces in the nose, throat, lungs, intestine, and genital tract are points of first contact for many pathogens. As a defensive strategy, most animals (and humans) can rapidly exfoliate these ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Two mouse models of Zika virus infection in pregnancy have been developed. In them, the virus migrated from the pregnant mouse's bloodstream into the placenta, where it multiplied, then spread ... read more

May 9, 2016 — Whether you are a human or a bacterium, your environment determines how you can develop. In particular, there are two fundamental problems. First: what resources can you draw on to survive and grow? ... read more

Friday, July 15, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015