NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Genetically Modified News
September 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:51am EDT

More Genetically Modified News
September 30, 2016

New Switch Decides Between Genome Repair, Death of Cells

Sep. 27, 2016 — The genetic information of every cell is encoded in the sequence of the DNA double helix. Double strand breaks in the DNA, which can be induced by radiation, are a dangerous threat to the cells, and ... read more

Aug. 4, 2016 — A new technique gives biofuel-producing microbes the upper hand against unwanted invaders. The development could reduce the cost and environmental impact of producing liquid biofuels and biochemicals ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — The field of genetics has seen astonishing breakthroughs and the development of world-changing technologies in the past half ... read more

Vaccination: Zika Infection Is Caused by One Virus Serotype

July 29, 2016 — Vaccination against a single strain of Zika virus should be sufficient to protect against genetically diverse strains of the virus, according to a new ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Researchers have engineered a clinically relevant bacterium to produce cancer drugs and then self-destruct and release the drugs at the site of tumors. The approach enables continual production and ... read more

July 18, 2016 — With nearly 3.2 billion people currently at risk of contracting malaria, scientists have experimentally developed a live, genetically attenuated vaccine for Plasmodium, the parasite responsible for ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Researchers use programmed bacteria as gas sensors that help them 'see' into soil to learn about the behavior of the microbial communities ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Researchers have succeeded for the first time in sequencing the genome of Chalcolithic barley grains. This is the oldest plant genome to be reconstructed to date. The 6,000-year-old seeds were ... read more

July 15, 2016 — Scientists are learning how cells make the decision to become T ... read more

It's All in the Genes: New Research Reveals Why Some Chickens Are Resistant to Bird Flu

July 14, 2016 — The genes of some chickens make them almost completely resistant to a serious strain of bird flu, new research has revealed. Until now, scientists around the world have paid little attention to the ... read more

Rat Study Shows Gut Microbes Play a Role in Colon Cancer Susceptibility

July 13, 2016 — The microscopic organisms that live in our gut do more than help us digest food. A new study in rats bolsters a growing body of evidence that the complex mix of microorganisms found in the gut, known ... read more

Genetically Improving Sorghum for Production of Biofuel

July 13, 2016 — The bioenergy crop sorghum holds great promise as a raw material for making environmentally friendly fuels and chemicals that offer alternatives to petroleum-based products. Sorghum can potentially ... read more

Disentangling the Plant Microbiome

July 12, 2016 — With the human population expected to climb from 7.4 billion to more than 11 billion people by 2100, some scientists hope that manipulating the microbial communities in, on and around plants, the ... read more

Diabetes Reversal After Bypass Surgery Linked to Changes in Gut Microorganisms

July 11, 2016 — Studies have shown that bariatric surgery can lead to remission of type 2 diabetes mellitus (T2DM) in rodents and humans, but this beneficial effect cannot be explained solely by weight loss. In a ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Researchers have created a robotic mimic of a stingray that's powered and guided by light-sensitive rat heart cells. The work exhibits a new method for building bio-inspired robots by means of ... read more

June 27, 2016 — A team of scientists has uncovered the global, evolving, and historic make-up of Plasmodium vivax, one of the five species of malaria that infect humans. The research, which links the spread of the ... read more

June 23, 2016 — Researchers found a fix for a 3-billion-year-old glitch in one of the major carriers of information needed for life, RNA, which until now produced errors when making copies of genetic information. ... read more

June 23, 2016 — Male mice appear to be precisely wired to know when they are intruders in another male's territory, according to a new study. The smell gives it away. But this study found that a genetically ... read more

June 16, 2016 — Cerebellar ataxia is a condition of the cerebellum that causes an inability to coordinate muscle movements. A new study describes a new genetic mutation as an additional cause of ataxia in humans and ... read more

Scientists Discover Protective Strategy Against Pesticide-Linked Parkinson's Disease

June 15, 2016 — A new study sheds light on the toxicity of the pesticides related to Parkinson's while also suggesting a strategy that may help protect against the ... read more

Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015