Behavioral Science News
February 12, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:53pm EST

More Behavioral Science News
February 12, 2016

Jan. 28, 2016 — Queen bees and ants emit a chemical that alters the DNA of their daughters and keeps them as sterile and industrious workers, scientists have found. The team found evidence that workers exposed to ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — Wild Aegean wall lizards found on Greek islands choose to sit on rocks that better match their individual coloring, new research shows. This improves camouflage and so reduces the risk of being ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — A new study reveals that prairie voles console loved ones who are feeling stressed -- and it appears that the infamous 'love hormone,' oxytocin, is the underlying ... read more

Do Animals Exercise to Keep Fit?

Jan. 20, 2016 — From joining a gym to taking up running, getting fit is a perennially popular new year's resolution. We lead sedentary lifestyles and have easy access to energy-rich food, so we need to do ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — Cold-blooded animals like lizards, insects and fish have a preferred body temperature range at which they hunt, eat, move quickly and reproduce. Fear that a warming climate will constrict this ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — A recent study shows that the social gazing behavior of domestic dogs resembles that of humans: dogs view facial expressions systematically, preferring eyes. In addition, the facial expression alters ... read more

New Study Gives Squirrels Plenty of Food for Thought

Jan. 19, 2016 — Persistence and the ability to choose the right behavior to solve a problem are important aspects of problem solving in the common squirrel when they were learning to unravel challenges in the quest ... read more

Jan. 18, 2016 — Ants collectively build nests whose size can reach several thousand times that of individual ants and whose architecture is sometimes highly complex. However, their ability to coordinate several ... read more

Simulator-Based Training in Veterinary Medicine

Jan. 15, 2016 — Skills training of veterinary students is increasingly based on teaching simulators. This does not only allow a reduction of animal-based interventions but provides students with an opportunity for ... read more

Is Suicide a Tragic Variant of an Evolutionarily Adaptive Set of Behaviors?

Jan. 14, 2016 — What do snapping shrimp, naked mole rats, ants, honeybees, and humans all have in common? They all share a similar colony-like organizational system that biologists have termed eusociality. Eusocial ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Changes in brain circuitry occur as young zebra finches go from listening to their fathers' songs to knowing the songs themselves, according to a new ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Monkeys, like humans, will take the time and effort to punish others who get more than their fair share, according to a new study. In fact, they can act downright spiteful. Capuchin monkeys will yank ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Brazilian torrent frogs may use sophisticated audio and visual signals to communicate, including inflating vocal sacs, squealing, and arm waving, according to a new study. The authors suggest their ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Dogs can recognize emotions in humans by combining information from different senses -- an ability that has never previously been observed outside of humans, a new study published today ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Research on Bengalese finches showed that each of their vocal muscles can change its function to help produce different parameters of sounds, in a manner similar to that of a trained opera ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Using modern genetic approaches, a team of researchers has provided strong support for the long-standing, but hotly debated, evolutionary theory of kin selection, which suggests that altruistic ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — The dramatic video footage of a great white shark attacking the REMUS SharkCam autonomous underwater vehicle brought some of the highest ratings to Shark Week 2014 and went viral. While the footage ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — The puff adder, Bitis Arietans, one of Africa's most abundant and venomous snake species has long been known to be a master of camouflage, but research has shown that it is the first land animal ... read more

Flexible Gene Expression May Regulate Social Status in Male Fish

Jan. 8, 2016 — Scientists show how the selective expression of genes through epigenetics can regulate the social status of African cichlid fish. The work sheds light on how our genetic code might affect social ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — Dinosaurs engaged in mating behavior similar to modern birds, leaving the fossil evidence behind in 100 million year old rocks, according to new research. Ancient fossilized scrapes recently ... read more

Thursday, January 28, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Saturday, November 14, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015