Behavioral Science News
August 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:24pm EDT

More Behavioral Science News
August 29, 2016

New Strategy to Fight Mosquitoes in a More Efficient and Sustainable Way

Aug. 25, 2016 — Mosquitoes continue to build resistance to existing pesticides. Research has now shown that the chemical substances emitted by one of the mosquito's natural enemies -- the backswimmer -- makes ... read more

July 28, 2016 — Male cuttlefish do not bluff. When their body language shows they are agitated, they are. This was one of the findings from a study on the giant Australian ... read more

Videos Reveal Birds, Bats and Bugs Near Ivanpah Solar Project Power Towers

July 27, 2016 — Video surveillance is the most effective method for detecting animals flying around solar power towers, according to a new ... read more

July 26, 2016 — Ocean acidification could have a dramatic impact on the reproductive behaviour of fish, a new international study ... read more

July 26, 2016 — A regulatory protein named ERI-1 helps ensure that all cells in a tissue remain identical to one another, a research team has discovered for the first time. The work involved an unusual collaboration ... read more

When Tasting a Favorite Beer, Are You in Your ‘right’ Mind?

July 25, 2016 — According to researchers you might be. Drug-seeking behavior can be prompted or cued by certain kinds of drug-associated ... read more

July 25, 2016 — Bears, wolves and other large carnivores are frightening beasts but the fear they inspire in their prey pales in comparison to that caused by the human 'super predator.' A new study ... read more

Collective Hum: Buzzing Midges Inspire New Swarm Theory

July 21, 2016 — A team of researchers based in Israel and the US has found a mathematical resemblance between swarm dynamics and gravitational interactions. The study could provide a big leap forward in ... read more

HD Monkeys Display Full Spectrum of Symptoms Seen in Humans

July 21, 2016 — Transgenic Huntington's disease monkeys display a full spectrum of symptoms resembling the human disease, strengthening the case that they could be used to evaluate emerging treatments before ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Research is shedding new light on the causes of divorce in monogamous year-round territorial birds. A new study of the endangered Purple-crowned Fairy-wren has discovered the females are calling the ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Our closest primate relatives may have evolved “us versus them” social traits as a means to cope with competition from rival groups of monkeys long before this behavior first occurred in humans, ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Zebrafish are becoming more and more popular as a research model for human disease. Along with mice and humans, they are one of the most commonly studied animals in biomedical ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Bullying happens in the primate world too, but for young bonobo females, big mama comes to the rescue. Kyoto University primatologists report that bonobo females frequently aid younger females when ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Testosterone plays a major role in controlling behavior associated with masculinity in many mammals. In early development, testosterone is involved in the formation and organization of ... read more

July 18, 2016 — New research challenges a long-held hypotheses about how flight first developed in ... read more

July 15, 2016 — New observations on urban versus rural birds shed light on the effects of human population expansion on wildlife, say authors of a new report. ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Scientists have shown that newly hatched ducklings can readily acquire the concepts of 'same' and 'different' -- an ability previously known only in highly intelligent animals ... read more

Scientists, Zoos Team Up on Landmark Elephant Welfare Project

July 14, 2016 — Social and environmental interactions may be far more important for elephants than simply the size of their enclosures, reports a team of researchers conducting this largest ever, multi-institutional ... read more

July 14, 2016 — American black bears may be able to recognize things they know in real life, such as pieces of food or humans, when looking at a photograph of the same thing. This is one of the findings of a study ... read more

July 13, 2016 — A new study helps explain the collective dynamics that emerge when bacteria are confined to tight spaces. According to the scientists, when bacteria are confined in millimeter-sized, fluid-filled ... read more

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016