Behavioral Science News
April 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:10am EDT

More Behavioral Science News
April 27, 2017

Apr. 13, 2017 — Whales from both poles migrate long distances to breed in tropical waters. Researchers tagged 47 humpbacks with satellite transmitters to understand how the humpbacks' Southeastern Pacific ... read more

Apr. 13, 2017 — Online computer games played by more than 30,000 people have helped scientists understand animal camouflage and color ... read more

Fish Social Lives May Be Key to Saving Coral Reefs

Apr. 10, 2017 — Fish provide a critical service for coral reefs by eating algae that can kill coral and dominate reefs if left unchecked. A new study, which analyzed the social feeding behavior of reef fish, ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — Humans -- like most non-human primates -- are social beings and profit in many respects from the benefits of a community. However, their closeness to conspecifics is an opportunity for pathogens and ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — The process of domestication is not uniform across species, explains a palaeoanthropologist in a new ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — Reconstructed food webs from the Ancestral Puebloan southwestern United States show the complexity and interconnectedness of humans, other animals, crops and the environment, in an area of uncertain ... read more

Apr. 7, 2017 — Mandrills use their sense of smell to avoid contamination by intestinal protozoans through contact with infected members of their group, researchers have discovered. Their work shows that parasites ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Researcher explores behavior in dogs involved in shelter sleepover program to determine suitability for pet ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Bees have much better vision than was previously known, offering new insights into the lives of honey bees, and new opportunities for translating this knowledge into fields such as robot vision, ... read more

How to Hack a Cell

Apr. 5, 2017 — A new study outlines a new simplified platform to target and program mammalian cells as genetic circuits, even complex ones, more quickly and ... read more

How Songbirds Teach Themselves Songs

Apr. 4, 2017 — Scientists typically think of songbirds' vocal development in terms of how one circuit in the brain learns a song. But researchers have now investigated how zebra finches learn songs from a ... read more

Do Smart Songbirds Always Get the Girl?

Apr. 3, 2017 — Compelling evidence shows females prefer mates with better cognitive abilities in a number of animals and even humans. For male songbirds, their ability to sing complex songs has been suggested to ... read more

Mar. 31, 2017 — While studying scavenger behavior in Utah's Great Basin Desert, biologists observed an American badger do something that no other scientists had documented before: bury an entire calf carcass by ... read more

Panda Personality Traits May Play a Significant Part in Breeding Success

Mar. 31, 2017 — Personality traits may play a large part in the mating behaviors of the giant panda -- and breeding successes or failures may depend on whether a bear's disposition is complementary to that of ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — The unique mechanisms involved in mosquito flight have been shared for the first time in a new collaboration, which could inform future aerodynamic innovations, including tiny scale flying ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — Male domestic fowl are less aggressive towards related males than to unrelated males when competing for copulations, according to a new study. This finding suggests that domestic fowl can recognize ... read more

How Bacteria Hunt Other Bacteria

Mar. 28, 2017 — A bacterial species that hunts other bacteria has attracted interest as a potential antibiotic, but exactly how this predator tracks down its prey has not been clear. A new study reveals that the ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — Researchers have found a new way to precisely measure the vortices -- circular patterns of rotating air -- created by birds' wings during flight. The results shed greater light on how these ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — Brain size in primates is predicted by diet, an analysis by a team of anthropologists indicates. These results call into question “the social brain hypothesis,” which has posited that humans and ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — Habituating to predators or fleeing and hiding are tactics that vary between species. Scientists have observed that adult male common wall lizards sharing their living spaces with humans become ... read more

Thursday, April 13, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016