Behavioral Science News
May 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:56am EDT

More Behavioral Science News
May 25, 2016

Cooling Cows Efficiently With Water Spray

May 16, 2016 — Dairies use intermittent sprinkler systems to cool cows in warm weather, but little experimental work has been done to determine how much water is needed to achieve beneficial effects. A group of ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Fox squirrels flick their tails when they can't get a cherished nut in much the same way that humans kick a vending machine that fails to deliver the anticipated soda or candy bar, according to ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Northern cardinals and tufted titmice are two abundant bird species in the woods of eastern North America. Many bird and mammal species rely on information from tufted titmice calls to detect and ... read more

May 9, 2016 — Acoustic warning signals emitted by tiger moths to deter bats -- a behavior previously proven only in the laboratory -- actually occur in nature and are used as a defense mechanism, according to new ... read more

May 6, 2016 — Most insects have dedicated sensory systems to detect water vapor in the air, but little has been known about how they work. Now researchers are the first to discover a sensory system that directly ... read more

May 6, 2016 — Males who evolve in male-dominated populations become far better at securing females than those who grow up in monogamous populations, according to new research into the behavior of fruit ... read more

May 2, 2016 — A new study has focused on the role testosterone plays in the evolutionary process of foot-flag signals used by Bornean rock frogs during mating ... read more

New Tech Uses Hardware, Software to Train Dogs More Efficiently

May 2, 2016 — Researchers have developed and used a customized suite of technologies that allows a computer to train a dog autonomously, with the computer effectively responding to the dog based on the dog's ... read more

Theoretical Tiger Chases Statistical Sheep to Probe Immune System Behavior

Apr. 29, 2016 — Studying the way that solitary hunters such as tigers, bears or sea turtles chase down their prey turns out to be very useful in understanding the interaction between individual white blood cells and ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Despite considerable evidence for the California sea lion's intelligence, very little is known about how their brain is organized. Now, a team of neuroscientists has taken an important step ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — As male peacocks shake their long feathers in courtship, the iridescent eyespots remain nearly stationary and captivate females, according a new ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — The Sapayoa, a rainforest bird from Central and South America, is an evolutionary enigma -- genetic analysis shows that its closest relatives are bird species living across the ocean in Asia and ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — For the first time, scientists have demonstrated that an organism devoid of a nervous system is capable of learning. Biologists have succeeded in showing that a single-celled organism, the protist, ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — A new study suggests that ravens can be as clever as chimpanzees, despite having much smaller brains, indicating that rather than the size of the brain, the neuronal density and the structure of the ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — In many animal species, physical battles and other aggressive acts determine a certain "pecking order." In the world of ants, fights that involve biting and restraining often determine ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — New research based on high-resolution x-ray movies reveals that despite having extremely underdeveloped muscles and wings, young birds acquire a mature flight stroke early in their development, ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Jumping spiders are known for their excellent vision. This attribute may enable them to visually size up a potential opponent and decide whether to step away from a possible fight even before it ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — The ability to adapt to changes in the environment is key to survival, but this type of behavioral flexibility is often impaired in older individuals. A study in mice shows that the age-related ... read more

Mystery Solved: Traits Identified for Why Certain Chemicals Reach Toxic Levels in Food Webs

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers have figured out what makes certain chemicals accumulate to toxic levels in aquatic food webs. And, scientists have developed a screening technique to determine which chemicals pose the ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Baboons learn about food locations socially through monitoring the behavior of those around them. While proximity to others is the key to acquiring information, research shows that accessing food ... read more

Monday, May 16, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Sunday, February 21, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016