Seeds News
April 28, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 4:08am EDT

More Seeds News
April 28, 2017

Scientists Examine Impact of High-Severity Fires on Conifer Forests

Apr. 27, 2017 — The ability of some Western conifer forests to recover after severe fire may become increasingly limited as the climate continues to warm, scientists found in a new ... read more

Application of Statistical Method Shows Promise Mitigating Climate Change Effects on Pine

Apr. 20, 2017 — Confronting evidence that the global climate is changing rapidly relative to historical trends, researchers have developed a new statistical model that, when applied to the loblolly pine tree ... read more

Mustard Seeds Without Mustard Flavor

Mar. 28, 2017 — Researchers have successfully developed a new oilseed crop that is much more resistant to heat, drought and diseases than oilseed ... read more

Farming Becoming Riskier Under Climate Change

Mar. 27, 2017 — Climate change is predicted to impact agriculture, but a new study puts these changes in terms that are directly applicable to farmers. For Illinois, the corn planting window will be split in two to ... read more

Biodiversity Loss Shifts Flowering Phenology at Same Magnitude as Global Warming

Mar. 24, 2017 — Researchers have revealed that declining plant diversity -- from habitat loss, human use, and other environmental pressures -- causes plants to flower earlier, and that the effects of diversity loss ... read more

Pollination Mystery Unlocked by Bee Researchers

Mar. 22, 2017 — Bees latch on to similarly-sized nectarless flowers to unpick pollen – like keys fitting into locks, scientists have ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — A four-year study of one rare and one common lupine growing in coastal dunes showed that a native mouse steals most of the rare lupines seeds while they are still attached to the plant. The mouse is ... read more

Gardening Worms, Climate Change Undermine Natural Coastal Protection

Mar. 20, 2017 — Dikes could be lower if they are protected against the waves by grassy marshes. But the protective salt marsh grass is struggling, not only due to increasingly stronger waves, but also to the ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — New research has solved a long-standing mystery by deducing how and why strange yet colorful structures called 'anthocyanic vacuolar inclusions' occur in some ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — A discovery of well-preserved fossil plants by paleontologists from the United States, China, Japan, Russia and Mongolia has allowed researchers to identify a distant relative of the living plant ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — The indirect impacts invasive species can have in an ecosystem, new research confirms. This study focused on the brown treesnake, whose introduction to the forests of Guam has led to difficulties for ... read more

Want More Crop Variety? Researchers Propose Using CRISPR to Accelerate Plant Domestication

Mar. 2, 2017 — Out of the more than 300,000 plant species in existence, only three species -- rice, wheat, and maize -- account for most of the plant matter that humans consume, partly because in the history of ... read more

Mar. 1, 2017 — Organic farmers can use a combination of cover crops and no-till methods to improve soil health, suppress weeds, and retain moisture, suggests a new ... read more

Mar. 1, 2017 — Chocolate lovers could soon have a harder time satisfying their sweet tooth. Worldwide demand for this mouth-watering treat is outstripping the production of cocoa beans, its primary ingredient. But ... read more

Feb. 23, 2017 — A new study is the first to comprehensively examine existing literature to identify broader patterns and suggest ways in which the phenomenon is important for plant populations and seed evolution. ... read more

Cultivating Cool-for-Cash-Crop

Feb. 22, 2017 — Canola and camelina are cool-season crops that produce oilseeds. Soon they may find a home in California fields as a rotational crop with smart water use and high ... read more

Feb. 22, 2017 — Plant populations in wetland areas face increasing isolation as wetlands are globally under threat from habitat loss and fragmentation. Researchers show that the daily movement behavior of wintering ... read more

Feb. 21, 2017 — What looks like a caterpillar chewing on a leaf or a beetle consuming fruit is likely a three-way battle that benefits most, if not all of the players involved, according to an ... read more

Maize Study Finds Genes That Help Crops Adapt to Change

Feb. 20, 2017 — A new study analyzed close to 4,500 maize varieties to identify more than 1,000 genes driving large-scale adaptation to the ... read more

Snap Beans Hard to Grow in Cover Crop Residue

Feb. 16, 2017 — More no-till farmers are using cover crops to conserve soil and suppress weeds, but many vegetable producers are reluctant to get on board. That's because many small-seeded vegetable crops ... read more

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Saturday, December 24, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016