Seeds News
July 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:49am EDT

More Seeds News
July 26, 2016

July 25, 2016 — The precise mechanisms involved in tomato softening have remained a mystery until now. Research has identified a gene that encodes an enzyme which plays a crucial role in controlling softening of the ... read more

Compounds in Parsley and Dill Help Fight Cancer, Research Shows

June 28, 2016 — A team of Russian scientists has proposed an efficient approach to novel agents with anticancer activity. A synthesis of these agents is based on compounds extracted from parsley and dill ... read more

Broccoli Sprout Extract May Protect Against Oral Cancer Recurrence

June 23, 2016 — Potent doses of broccoli sprout extract activate a 'detoxification' gene and may help prevent cancer recurrence in survivors of head and neck cancer, according to a 'green ... read more

June 20, 2016 — Last month, a scientist harvested about 145 pounds of Purple Straw seed, which was grown from less than half a pound. Purple Straw is the only heirloom wheat to have been cultivated continually in ... read more

Plant Kingdom Provides Two New Candidates for the War on Antibiotic Resistance

June 20, 2016 — New research has discovered peptides from two crop species that have antimicrobial effects on bacteria implicated in food spoilage and food poisoning. They are similar in structure to a human peptide ... read more

Plants More Vulnerable to Nanoparticles When Parents Grown in Contaminated Soil

June 15, 2016 — Plants are more vulnerable to toxic nanoparticles if their parents were grown in contaminated soil, according to the first multi-generational study on the safety of cerium oxide nanoparticles in ... read more

Healthy Plant-Based Diet Linked With Substantially Lower Type 2 Diabetes Risk

June 14, 2016 — Consuming a plant-based diet -- especially one rich in high-quality plant foods such as whole grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, and legumes -- is linked with substantially lower risk of developing ... read more

May 23, 2016 — Chemists are developing a new coating method to protect seeds from being eaten by insects. In doing so, they have drawn inspiration from the humble peach and a few of its ... read more

May 19, 2016 — A key gene has been found that assisted the transition of plants from water to the land around 500 million years ago. The ANR gene is required to tolerate 'extreme dehydration' in the moss ... read more

May 17, 2016 — An almost entirely accidental discovery by researchers could transform food and biofuel production and increase carbon capture on farmland. By tweaking a plant’s genetic profile, the researchers ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Biologists have made an important discovery that helps explain how plants regulate the proliferation of their stem cells. The discovery has near-term implications for increasing the yield of maize ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Scientists say that the high levels of poaching forest elephants will result in a loss of the oldest, wisest matriarchs, who are living libraries of their vast rainforest domain. Without these ... read more

Avocado Tree-Destroying Pathogen Now in 61 of 67 Florida Counties

May 4, 2016 — The only Florida counties not to have reported laurel wilt are Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Gulf, Franklin and Wakulla – all in the Panhandle, reports one expert, who provides homeowners tips on ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Selective browsing by white-tailed deer likely is promoting the spread of some invasive plant species in northeastern US forests, as deer avoid eating vegetation they find ... read more

Crop Advances Grow With Protection, Study Suggests

Apr. 27, 2016 — A team of researchers examined the impact of intellectual property protection in a new study. They found intellectual property protection benefits both plant breeders and ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Millions of native orchids are flourishing on the site of a former iron mine in New York's Adirondacks, suggesting that former industrial sites – typically regarded as blighted landscapes — ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Findings on Norway spruce show how plants and animals can adapt better to climate change than previously envisaged. The spruce remembers what the temperature conditions were like when it was a seed, ... read more

Can Mountain-Climbing Bears Rescue Cherry Trees from Global Warming?

Apr. 25, 2016 — As the planet warms, one way for plants and animals to find their way to cooler territory is to move up higher into the mountains. Now, researchers have found that cherry trees are indeed making ... read more

Role of Animals in Mitigating Climate Change Varies Across Tropical Forests

Apr. 25, 2016 — Large animals play a key role in mitigating climate change in tropical forests across the world by spreading the seeds of large trees that have a high capacity to store carbon, new research ... read more

Cell Fusion Discovery Could Improve Agricultural Production

Apr. 27, 2016 — An international research team has observed cell fusion in flowering plants for the first time in more than a century. The discovery demystifies how plants prevent the attraction of excessive pollen ... read more

Monday, July 25, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Sunday, November 22, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015