Seeds News
August 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:51pm EDT

More Seeds News
August 24, 2016

Modelling Water Uptake in Wood Opens Up New Design Framework

Aug. 24, 2016 — Analytical approach could accelerate the development of new preservation treatments delivering environmental benefits and help in the design of bio-inspired smart ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — A professor's flax research could one day help Canadian farmers grow a car fender. In a recent study, he identified the genes responsible for the bane of many Canadian flax farmers' ... read more

July 25, 2016 — The precise mechanisms involved in tomato softening have remained a mystery until now. Research has identified a gene that encodes an enzyme which plays a crucial role in controlling softening of the ... read more

July 19, 2016 — International research has found how plants, such as rice and wheat, sense and respond to extreme drought stress, in a breakthrough that could lead to the development of next-generation drought-proof ... read more

Disentangling the Plant Microbiome

July 12, 2016 — With the human population expected to climb from 7.4 billion to more than 11 billion people by 2100, some scientists hope that manipulating the microbial communities in, on and around plants, the ... read more

Smoking out Blackgrass Seeds

July 6, 2016 — Blackgrass is a problem weed in UK agriculture, but a new technique may help farmers to combat its resistance to herbicides. Application of a smoke particle solution called 'smokewater' has ... read more

July 5, 2016 — Coconuts are renowned for their hard shells, which are vital to ensure their seeds successfully germinate. But the specialized structure of coconut walls could help to design buildings that can ... read more

July 5, 2016 — New beetle species and genus from China was reared from legumes. Observed to eat the seeds, it belongs to a tribe, whose members are known to roll hardwood leaves to make nests. The females deposit ... read more

June 30, 2016 — For the valerian plant, higher elevations in the Colorado Rocky Mountains are becoming much more co-ed. And the primary reason appears to be climate ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated the importance of jasmonate-dependent nicotine production for the survival of tobacco plants which are attacked by mammalian ... read more

Compounds in Parsley and Dill Help Fight Cancer, Research Shows

June 28, 2016 — A team of Russian scientists has proposed an efficient approach to novel agents with anticancer activity. A synthesis of these agents is based on compounds extracted from parsley and dill ... read more

June 28, 2016 — There have been several mass extinctions in the history of the earth with adverse consequences for the environment. Researchers have now uncovered another disaster that took place around 250 million ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Scientists have analyzed the genomes of plants that grow in harsh, serpentine soils to find out how they survive . It appears that they have used two strategies: adapting to their environment through ... read more

Broccoli Sprout Extract May Protect Against Oral Cancer Recurrence

June 23, 2016 — Potent doses of broccoli sprout extract activate a 'detoxification' gene and may help prevent cancer recurrence in survivors of head and neck cancer, according to a 'green ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Knowing what physical traits a plant has is called phenotyping. Because it is such a labor intensive process, scientists are working to develop technology that makes phenotyping much easier. The tool ... read more

June 20, 2016 — Last month, a scientist harvested about 145 pounds of Purple Straw seed, which was grown from less than half a pound. Purple Straw is the only heirloom wheat to have been cultivated continually in ... read more

Plant Kingdom Provides Two New Candidates for the War on Antibiotic Resistance

June 20, 2016 — New research has discovered peptides from two crop species that have antimicrobial effects on bacteria implicated in food spoilage and food poisoning. They are similar in structure to a human peptide ... read more

Plants More Vulnerable to Nanoparticles When Parents Grown in Contaminated Soil

June 15, 2016 — Plants are more vulnerable to toxic nanoparticles if their parents were grown in contaminated soil, according to the first multi-generational study on the safety of cerium oxide nanoparticles in ... read more

Healthy Plant-Based Diet Linked With Substantially Lower Type 2 Diabetes Risk

June 14, 2016 — Consuming a plant-based diet -- especially one rich in high-quality plant foods such as whole grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, and legumes -- is linked with substantially lower risk of developing ... read more

June 14, 2016 — Solitary mason bees specializing on sunflower pollen were not attacked by a common brood-parasitic wasp, which lays eggs in the nests, where its larvae kill bee eggs and eat their pollen ... read more

Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Sunday, November 22, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015