Veterinary Medicine News
May 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:39am EDT

More Veterinary Medicine News
May 24, 2017

Can Aromatherapy Calm Competition Horses?

Apr. 26, 2017 — Although studies suggest that inhaling certain scents may reduce stress in humans, aromatherapy is relatively unexplored in veterinary medicine. But new research raises the question of whether ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — The raccoon and the raccoon dog are two non-indigenous animal species that have become established in Europe in the past decades. Their increasing abundance has not only made them the most common ... read more

Positive Long-Term Colic Surgery Results for Horses

Mar. 2, 2017 — Many horse owners and equine veterinarians find themselves facing a difficult decision when it comes to treating a horse surgically for colic, with concerns including postoperative performance and ... read more

Keep Calm and Measure Cats' Blood Pressure

Mar. 1, 2017 — A decade ago, researchers presented some alarming facts: the risk of becoming hypertensive during a lifetime exceeds 90% for people in developed countries, with over 1.5 billion adults expected to ... read more

Model Assesses Interventions for Bovine Tuberculosis in Morocco

Feb. 2, 2017 — In many developing countries, a significant fraction of the tuberculosis burden comes potentially from the tuberculosis bacteria carried by animals, essentially cattle. Efforts to reduce the ... read more

Scientists Develop New Flu Vaccines for Dogs

Jan. 26, 2017 — Just like humans, dogs can catch the flu. Two new vaccines for canine influenza could curb the spread of flu in shelters and kennels and prevent the possible transmission of a dog flu virus to ... read more

Spread of Diseases in Farmed Animals Shown Using Social Network Analysis

Jan. 26, 2017 — Researchers have shown that looking at movements of operators and vehicles between farms in the same way we look at contacts in social networks can help explain the spread of dangerous infectious ... read more

Studies Offer New Hope for Diagnosis of Chiari-Malformation in Toy Dog Breeds

Jan. 25, 2017 — Researchers have made advances in the study of the Chiari malformation and Syringomyelia disorder in toy ... read more

In Madagascar, Rift Valley Fever Follows Trade Routes

Jan. 24, 2017 — Rift Valley fever is an emerging viral disease that is threatening public health and has already had a substantial economic impact. Two publications have revealed that in Madagascar, cattle trading ... read more

How a Dog's Diet Shapes Its Gut Microbiome

Jan. 24, 2017 — Studies of the gut microbiome have gone to the dogs -- and pets around the world could benefit as a result. In a new paper, researchers report that the ratio of proteins and carbohydrates in a ... read more

'Bring It Back,' but Within Bounds: Retrieval Strains the Forelimbs of Dogs

Jan. 18, 2017 — Hunting dogs such as the popular breed retriever are ideally suited for retrieving birds or small game. However, the weight the dogs carry strains their locomotor system. A motion study has shown ... read more

Jan. 13, 2017 — Symptoms of tremors and shaking in newborn piglets are not a sign that the animals are cold, but rather that they are suffering from a specific viral infection. Researchers have now been able to ... read more

Do Dogs of All Ages Respond Equally to Dog-Directed Speech?

Jan. 11, 2017 — People tend to talk to dogs as though they are human babies. A new study shows that people speak more slowly and with a higher tone to dogs of all ages -- both adults and puppies -- and that puppies ... read more

Bisphenol A in Canned Dog Food May Increase BPA Concentrations in Pets

Dec. 19, 2016 — Bisphenol A (BPA) is a widely used industrial chemical found in many household items, including resins used to line metal storage containers, such as food cans. Now, researchers have found that ... read more

Dec. 16, 2016 — A new study sheds light on inclusion body disease, and may help veterinary care teams better protect the health of their populations of large ... read more

Nov. 30, 2016 — A veterinary research team has discovered the specific genetic mutations that make Campylobacter jejuni such a virulent strain of bacteria in ruminant animals such as sheep and cattle. The research ... read more

Discovery of New Bacteria Complicates Problem With Salmon Poisoning in Dogs

Nov. 3, 2016 — Scientists have discovered another bacterium that can cause symptoms similar to "salmon poisoning" in dogs - and may complicate the efforts of Pacific Northwest pet owners to keep their ... read more

Oct. 11, 2016 — Chitosan microparticles kill bacteria in cow uteri, report researchers, who also suggest that it may someday be possible for chitosan microparticles to be used to help humans who have become ill from ... read more

Oct. 11, 2016 — A genomic analysis of 28 dog breeds has traced the genetic history of the remarkable Fonni's Dog, a herd guardian endemic to the Mediterranean island of Sardinia. The results reveal that the ... read more

Rapid Spread of Dog Disease Can Be Stopped With Diligent Infection Control

Oct. 5, 2016 — Protocol for keeping dogs from transmitting disease has, until now, lagged decades behind efforts to contain human infectious disease. New guidance for halting the spread of a multitude of dog ... read more

Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015