Molecular Biology News
May 23, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 4:40pm EDT

More Molecular Biology News
May 23, 2017

Calcium Dynamics Regulating the Timing of Decision-Making in C. Elegans

May 23, 2017 — All animals make decisions according to information, but the detailed mechanism is not known. The researchers found that, a tiny worm chooses the direction in an odor space by mathematically ... read more

May 19, 2017 — Culinary treatments (boiling, microwaving, grilling, and deep frying) influence on proximate composition and antioxidant capacity of most cultivated mushrooms worlwide. A study has shown that ... read more

Social Networking for the Proteome, Upgraded

May 17, 2017 — Researchers have mapped the interaction partners for proteins encoded by more than 5,800 genes, representing over a quarter of the human genome, according to a new study. The network, dubbed BioPlex ... read more

May 17, 2017 — Researchers have invented new tools for decoding and controlling signalling circuits in living cells with flashes of light. In principle, any cellular circuit can now be targeted with the new method. ... read more

May 15, 2017 — As part of a project dedicated to modeling how single-celled purple bacteria turn light into food, a team of computational scientists simulated a complete ATP synthase in all-atom detail. The work ... read more

Virus Study Targets Infection Linked to Birth Defects

May 15, 2017 — Fresh insights into how a common virus replicates could pave the way for new therapies to stop its spread. Scientists have discovered a key molecule linked to Human Cytomegalovirus (HCMV) infection, ... read more

Stem Cells in Plants and Animals Behave Surprisingly Similarly

May 12, 2017 — A new study shows that the behavior of stem cells in plants and animals is surprisingly similar. The researchers were able to produce mathematical equations that reveal very small differences in the ... read more

Immune Cells Rely on Receptor to Signal Counterattack on Parasitic Worm

May 12, 2017 — Immune cells, called macrophages, may rely on a compound to signal an attack to beat back attacks from parasitic worms, according to an international team of ... read more

'Molecular Prosthetics' Can Replace Missing Proteins to Treat Disease

May 11, 2017 — Researchers have demonstrated that a small molecule can transport iron in human cells and live animals when proteins that normally do the same job are missing, a condition that often causes severe ... read more

May 11, 2017 — Proper DNA inheritance is essential for healthy chloroplast: the energy center of all plant cells. Researchers discover a new gene in chloroplast that disentangles its DNA for proper plant ... read more

May 11, 2017 — The first analysis of how proteins are arranged in a cell was published today in Science, revealing that a large portion of human proteins can be found in more than one location in a given ... read more

May 11, 2017 — Cell-based therapies could offer a way to treat cartilage injuries before the ultimate damage of osteoarthritis on articular cartilage, a new study suggests. Cartilage-derived chondrocytes can be ... read more

May 10, 2017 — Six biological pigments called rhodopsins play well-established roles in light-sensing in the fruit fly eye. Three of them also have light-independent roles in temperature sensation. New research ... read more

May 10, 2017 — Bacteria in the gut microbiome drive the formation of cerebral cavernous malformations (CCMs), clusters of dilated, thin-walled blood vessels in the brain that can cause stroke and seizures. The ... read more

How Cells Combat Salmonella

May 10, 2017 — With drug resistance being on the rise worldwide, bacterial infections pose one of the greatest global threats to human health. By deciphering the host-pathogen interaction on a molecular level, ... read more

May 10, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new method to shed light onto a mostly unknown process of bacterial protein production. Their results could be used for the design of new ... read more

May 9, 2017 — A new bioinformatics tool to compare genome data has been developed. The program called 'ModelFinder' uses a fast algorithm and allows previously not attainable new insights into ... read more

May 9, 2017 — Researchers have described, for the first time, how plastin, an actin-bundling protein, acts as a molecular rivet, providing global connectivity to the cortex underlying the plasma membrane of ... read more

New Major Gene Expression Regulator in Fungi

May 8, 2017 — Changing a single letter, or base, in an organism's genetic code impact its traits. Subtler changes can and do happen: in eukaryotes, one such modification involves adding a methyl group to base ... read more

Maternal and Paternal Cooperation in Plants

May 8, 2017 — Researchers disprove the assumption that parents conflict with one another during a plant's embryonic development, explains a new ... read more

Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Friday, May 19, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Monday, May 15, 2017
Friday, May 12, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Monday, May 8, 2017
Friday, May 5, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Saturday, April 29, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017