Molecular Biology News
August 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:55am EDT

More Molecular Biology News
August 26, 2016

Solving a 48 Year Old Mystery: Scientists Grow Noroviruses in Human Intestinal Cell Cultures

Aug. 25, 2016 — For the first time, scientists have grown human noroviruses, the leading viral cause of acute diarrhea worldwide, in human intestinal cell cultures in the ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — The process of energy generation by mitochondria is closely tied to intracellular calcium regulation by a membrane gateway inside mitochondria known as the mitochondrial Ca2+ uniporter (MCU). How MCU ... read more

A Brain Circuit to Push Past Nutritional Stress

Aug. 24, 2016 — Nutritional stress is a normal part of life; going hungry on a short-term basis generally does not impair important functions. The brain coordinates the response to nutritional stress but how it does ... read more

Aug. 18, 2016 — Scientists have used CRISPR gene editing technology and live cell, single molecule microscopy to watch in real-time, for the first time, the essential interaction between telomerase and ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — In infection diseases, membrane fouling, interaction with bacteria, as well as in rapid healing of wounds for example, the way proteins interact with a surface plays an important role. On a surface, ... read more

TERRA, the RNAs That Protect Telomeres

Aug. 17, 2016 — Despite their especially compact structure that is difficult to access, telomeres transcribe information like the rest of the DNA. The RNAs resulting from this process are called TERRA and their ... read more

New Discovery Increases Understanding of How Plants and Bacteria See Light

Aug. 16, 2016 — Plants, bacteria and fungi react to light with light-sensitive proteins. Scientists have now determined the inner workings of one of these ... read more

The Most Complete Catalog of Proteins in King Cobra Venom Yet

Aug. 15, 2016 — Seven milliliters of a king cobra’s venom can kill 20 people. But what exactly is in the snake’s venom? Researchers have pursued that question for ... read more

DNA Naturally Fluoresces: Discovery Opens Door for Staining-Free, Super-Resolution Imaging

Aug. 15, 2016 — Scientist shave recently caught DNA doing something that has never been seen before: it ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — Yeasts are physically hard to distinguish, and it is easy to think they are all the same. Metabolically, genetically and biochemically, however, yeasts are highly diverse. So far industry has only ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that a family of previously overlooked proteins plays a critical role in bacterial cell wall synthesis. The discovery paves the way for the development of novel antibiotics ... read more

A Very Hungry Caterpillar: Researchers Sequence Genome of 'Gluttonous' Tobacco Hornworm

Aug. 15, 2016 — The genome of the tobacco hornworm -- an important model of insect biology -- has now been sequenced by a team of researchers. The sequenced genome can lead to improved molecular biology, physiology ... read more

Aug. 12, 2016 — New research outlines discoveries on the complex I (NADH:ubiquinone oxidoreductase), one of the largest membrane-bound enzymes in the cell, powers ATP synthesis in mammalian mitochondria by using the ... read more

Aug. 12, 2016 — New work has revealed that in the sea squirt embryo, the orientation of the cell division machinery in epithelial cells is controlled by a unique cell membrane structure, which we call an ... read more

Autophagy Under the Microscope as Never Before

Aug. 11, 2016 — We don't tend to wrap our recycling waste in bubble wrap but that's essentially what cells do during the cellular recycling process called autophagy. Researchers have viewed the earliest ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — Like a magician, the freshwater flatworm known as planaria can survive decapitation or even being cut into many pieces. But the flatworm does not need to rely on trickery. Its remarkable ability to ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — A plant molecule once regarded as a biological dead end now offers new leads into the development of hardier plants, scientists ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — When one cell divides into two, the newly born daughter cells have to be equipped with everything they will need in their tiny lives. Most important of all is that they inherit a complete copy of the ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — Creating and examining 10,296 mutants of a ribozyme leads to a better understanding of these widespread but understudied RNA ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — An international research team identified a novel signal peptide that matures in rice flowers to promote bristle (awn) elongation. The gene encoding this peptide contains a GC-rich region that ... read more

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016