Molecular Biology News
February 13, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:53pm EST

More Molecular Biology News
February 13, 2016

New Imaging Technique Shows How DNA Is Protected at Chromosomes' Ends

Feb. 11, 2016 — A new imaging technique has allowed researchers to see how DNA loops around a protein that aids in the formation of a special structure in telomeres. Telomeres are essentially caps on the ends of ... read more

New Target Found in Search for New, More Effective Herbicide

Feb. 11, 2016 — A new target in plants for the development of new herbicides for use by farmers and gardeners has been identified by researchers studying an enzyme in plants called DNA gyrase. In plants, DNA gyrase ... read more

Alternative Proteins Encoded by the Same Gene Have Widely Divergent Functions in Cells

Feb. 11, 2016 — In a first large-scale systematic study, researchers found that most sibling proteins -- known as 'protein isoform' encoded by the same gene -- often play radically different roles within ... read more

Feb. 10, 2016 — DNA is unwound by a type of “pumpjack” mechanism, similar to the way one operates on an oil rig, a team of scientists suggests. This finding is based on new close-up images of the proteins that ... read more

Chemical Cages: New Technique Advances Synthetic Biology

Feb. 10, 2016 — A clever means of localizing and confining enzymes and the substrate molecules they bind with has been presented by researchers, speeding up reactions essential for life ... read more

Expression of a 'Ouija Board' Protein That Can Summon 'Monster' Genes

Feb. 8, 2016 — Biologists have studied Drosophila melanogaster flies to discover a new protein dubbed “Ouija Board,” which plays an important role in the biosynthesis of the steroid hormones necessary for ... read more

Feb. 5, 2016 — The ability to see the direction in which something is moving is vital for survival. Only in this way is it possible to avoid predators, capture prey or, as humans in a modern world, cross a road ... read more

Feb. 5, 2016 — Cells are not uniform spheres; they generally come in a variety of disparate shapes. In the broadest sense, this variation in shapes is known as cell polarity, and it is an essential property for a ... read more

Feb. 5, 2016 — IBS researchers create multiplex Digenome-seq to find errors in CRISPR-Cas9 ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Using a special profiling technique, researchers have determined the mechanism of action of a potent antibiotic, known as tropodithietic acid, leading them to uncover its hidden ability as a ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a molecular regulator that allows salmonella bacteria to switch from actively causing disease to lurking in a chronic but asymptomatic state called a ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Scientists have made an exciting discovery that could provide a new way to prevent bacterial infections in both humans and plants without triggering multi-drug resistance in ... read more

Hair Thinning by Stem Cell Loss

Feb. 4, 2016 — Why people lose their locks in old age may be related to the aging of hair follicle stem cells, two new studies suggest. Though it is known that mammals that live for longer lifespans lose their ... read more

Leading Bugs to the Death Chamber: A Kinder Face of Cholesterol

Feb. 4, 2016 — Cells of our immune system kill pathogens by enclosing them in a compartment called the phagosome. The pathogen-containing phagosome is physically transported to execution chambers (lysosomes) by ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — A process has been uncovered by researchers that uses pressure to deliver chemical probes in a fine-tuned manner into living ... read more

How Roots Grow

Feb. 4, 2016 — In contrast to animals, plants form new organs throughout their entire life, such as roots, branches, flowers and fruits. Researchers wanted to know to what extent plants follow a pre-determined plan ... read more

Feb. 3, 2016 — A new study helps explain how fruit flies get their keen sense of smell. Researchers have identified a set of genetic control switches that interact early in a fly's development to generate ... read more

Feb. 3, 2016 — Researchers have shown that senescent cells -- cells that no longer divide and accumulate with age -- negatively impact health and shorten lifespan by as much as 35 percent in normal mice. The ... read more

Biomolecule's Behavior Under Artificial Conditions More Natural Than Expected

Feb. 2, 2016 — Researchers often analyze isolated biomolecules in test tubes, and it is doubtful if the results can be applied to densely-packed cells. A team of researchers monitored the folding of an RNA ... read more

Piecing Together the Cells Elevator-Like Mechanism for Sodium

Feb. 1, 2016 — Researchers have pieced together how sodium is transported into and out of our cells. This could be a potential benefit for the development of novel treatments against some forms of cancer and ... read more

Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Friday, December 25, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015