NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Molecular Biology News
September 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:25pm EDT

More Molecular Biology News
September 27, 2016

New Switch Decides Between Genome Repair, Death of Cells

Sep. 27, 2016 — The genetic information of every cell is encoded in the sequence of the DNA double helix. Double strand breaks in the DNA, which can be induced by radiation, are a dangerous threat to the cells, and ... read more

Sep. 26, 2016 — To fill in the blanks on mitochondria, researchers deleted 174 genes, one by one, in yeast. They then subjected the yeast to high-intensity mass spectrometry to measure unprecedented detail on ... read more

Sep. 26, 2016 — Researchers have built a three-dimensional map of the anthrax toxin that may explain how it efficiently transfers its lethal components into the cytoplasm of infected cells. The study suggests that ... read more

Sep. 23, 2016 — In the female dog, cells of the uterus can accumulate lipid droplets to form so-called foamy epithelial cells during late metoestrus. These cells produce a hormone that is involved in the ... read more

Researchers Describe Key Protein Structure and a Drug Prototype That Could Assist Therapeutic Development

Sep. 21, 2016 — The three-dimensional, atomic structure of an important cell receptor molecule linked to the development of several diseases has now been described in a new ... read more

Scientists Discover Interplay of Yin-Yang Antagonists Vital for Cell Division

Sep. 20, 2016 — A pair of large enzyme complexes attack each other in turn to form a molecular switch, which is essential for cell division, a new study has ... read more

How a Bacterial Virulence Factor Promotes Its Own Secretion

Sep. 18, 2016 — Many bacteria depend on their ability to attach, or adhere, to our cells for the ability to cause disease. When their survival means disease for us, we often turn to antibiotics, but his miracle ... read more

The End Justifies the Means, Even at the Cellular Level

Sep. 15, 2016 — Each of our cells is endowed with a miniature clock composed of a set of ‘clock genes’. During the day, the expression of these genes varies, and this fluctuation influences many biological ... read more

Decelerated Protein Synthesis, Degradation in a Worm With Doubled Lifespan

Sep. 14, 2016 — The gradual accumulation of damage to all kinds of molecules in the cell is often considered as the primary cause of aging. This escalating damage could cause the progressive failure of cell ... read more

Sep. 13, 2016 — Eggs can be 'tricked' into developing into an embryo without fertilization, but the resulting embryos, called parthenogenotes, die after a few days because key developmental processes ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Trees are able to distinguish whether one of their buds or shoots has been randomly torn off or has been eaten by a roe deer. In the case of roe deer browsing, they activate corresponding defense ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Experiments have shown that it is remarkably easy for protein-like, two-dimensional structures -- amyloids -- to form from basic building blocks. This discovery supports the researchers' ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Researchers have successfully determined the three-dimensional structure of a cone snail venom insulin, revealing how these highly efficient natural proteins called Con-Ins G1 can operate faster than ... read more

Journey to the Centre of the Cell: Nano-Rods and Worms Wriggle Best

Sep. 12, 2016 — A new microscopy technique has been applied in research that allows scientists to monitor the movements of nanoparticles through the inside of a cell. They found that drug delivery is more effective ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Researchers have found that the structure of an insulin molecule produced by predatory cone snails may be an improvement over current fast-acting therapeutic ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Important mechanisms involved in the formation of neural circuits in the brain have now been revealed by a research team. This group also discovered that delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), a ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Scientists have developed a sensitive fluorescent antibody probe that specifically detects monomethylation of lysine 20 in histone H4 in living cells. This research has future implications and can be ... read more

What Happens When You Poke a Cell?

Sep. 12, 2016 — For the first time, sperm release in a live animal is described using time lapse imaging at cellular resolutions in Drosophila ... read more

Sep. 10, 2016 — Two very different types of protein have been mapped by researchers. One helps soil bacteria digest carbon compounds; the other protects cells from the effects of harmful ... read more

Heat Shock Protein Appears to Turn on Schistosoma Invasion

Sep. 9, 2016 — The heat shock protein Hsp70, known for helping cells withstand stress, may also act as a switch that triggers free-swimming Schistosoma larvae to begin penetrating the skin and transforming into the ... read more

Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Sunday, September 18, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Saturday, September 10, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016