Molecular Biology News
May 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:26pm EDT

More Molecular Biology News
May 26, 2016

May 26, 2016 — Drexel scientists have discovered an unusual mechanism for how two antimalarial drugs kill Plasmodium parasites. Amidst growing concerns about drug resistance, these findings could help to develop ... read more

Targeting Metals to Fight Pathogenic Bacteria

May 26, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a unique system of acquisition of essential metals in the pathogenic bacterium Staphylococcus aureus. This research represents a new potential target for the design of ... read more

May 24, 2016 — Bacteria use a form of 'social media' communication, quorum sensing, to monitor how many of their species are in the neighborhood. This is important in the pathogenicity of Vibrio cholerae, ... read more

Cell Labelling Via Photobleaching: Precious Ally for Scientific Research

May 24, 2016 — A multidisciplinary team of researchers gives birth to a unique method that enables instant, specific labeling of individual cells, Cell Labelling via Photobleaching (CLaP). This method will become a ... read more

Chloride 'Switch' Turns on Membrane Formation

May 23, 2016 — Chloride plays a key role in the formation of the basement membrane, a suprastructure on the outside of cells that undergirds and guides the function of most of the tissues of the body. In ... read more

Liquid Order: Fluid Self-Organizes Into Structure That Controls Cell Growth, Health

May 20, 2016 — Although known since the 1830s as a round, dark spot in a cell's nucleus, only recently has the nucleolus gotten its full due. Scientists have now discovered how the nucleolus, an organelle with ... read more

May 20, 2016 — A scientific study describes for the first time the function of a signalling pathway –particularly, the pathway of epidermal growth factor receptors (EGFR) - in the differentiation of the planarian ... read more

Enzyme Pair Play Crucial Role in Maintaining Balance of Cellular Processes

May 20, 2016 — Scientists show that ULK1 and ULK2, two enzymes involved in autophagy, regulate the trafficking of proteins between select cellular compartments, a new report ... read more

Factor Preserves DNA Integrity in Bacteria Despite Assault from Antibiotics

May 19, 2016 — A key biochemical enables bacteria to repair otherwise fatal damage to their DNA, including that caused by antibiotics, report scientists. The study results revolve around the delicacy of DNA ... read more

Study Identifies Unexpected Mutation in Commonly Used Research Mice

May 19, 2016 — A strain of inbred mice commonly used for the creation of so-called knockout animals has been found to carry a previously undetected mutation that could affect the results of immune system research ... read more

May 19, 2016 — New findings yield insights into how plants get their traits. Revealing a landscape of protein-binding zones on DNA, collectively dubbed the "cistrome," shows how plants control where and ... read more

Biologists Find How Plants Reconstitute Stem Cells

May 19, 2016 — Stem cells are typically thought to have the intrinsic ability to generate or replace specialized cells. However, a team of biologists has shown that regenerating plants can naturally reconstitute ... read more

May 19, 2016 — Flaviviruses -- such as Zika, dengue, and yellow fever -- have emerged as human pathogens because of their ability to specifically overcome our anti-viral defenses. In the case of Zika, researchers ... read more

Calcium Channels Team Up to Activate Excitable Cells

May 18, 2016 — Voltage-gated calcium channels open in unison, rather than independently, to allow calcium ions into and activate excitable cells such as neurons and muscle cells, researchers have ... read more

May 18, 2016 — A new study demonstrates the evolution of protein structure and function over 3.8 billion years. Snippets of genetic code, consistent across organisms and time, direct proteins to create ... read more

May 18, 2016 — Researchers have developed a new method to directly follow viral infections in living organisms. This method can make infected cells produce fluorescent proteins, which means that they light up and ... read more

May 17, 2016 — Mitochondria are the power stations of human cells. They provide the energy needed for the cellular metabolism. But how did these power stations evolve, and how are they constructed? Researchers ... read more

May 16, 2016 — A contagious form of cancer that can spread between dogs during mating has highlighted the extent to which dogs accompanied human travelers throughout our seafaring history. But the tumors also ... read more

Methionine Could Be Key to Improving Pregnancy Rate in Dairy Cattle

May 16, 2016 — Adding methionine to the diets of Holstein cows during the prepartum and postpartum periods may impact the preimplantation embryo in a way that enhances its capacity for survival, research ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Biologists have made an important discovery that helps explain how plants regulate the proliferation of their stem cells. The discovery has near-term implications for increasing the yield of maize ... read more

Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016