Endangered Animals News
July 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:51am EDT

More Endangered Animals News
July 26, 2016

July 12, 2016 — Algae that live in and under the sea ice play a much greater role for the Arctic food web than previously assumed. In a new study, biologists show that not only animals that live directly under the ... read more

Is the Agile Wallaby Man's New Best Friend?

July 11, 2016 — Looking for a new pet? If so, consider the Agile Wallaby or the Asian Palm Civet. Responding to the growing trend in keeping exotic animals as pets a team of researchers has developed a methodology ... read more

July 8, 2016 — The resurgence of Zika virus has raised anxieties about the spread of infectious disease by mosquitoes; climate change and species invasions are strong themes on the minds of infectious disease ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Amphibians that tolerate higher temperatures are likely to fare better in a world affected by climate change, disease and habitat loss, according to two recent ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Chewed bark, leaves and fruit discarded by mountain gorillas provide a simple way to test the endangered apes for viruses without disturbing them, according to scientists studying mountain gorillas ... read more

Rhesus Macaques May Be Preying on Bird Eggs in Silver Springs

July 7, 2016 — A new study in Florida is suggesting that that more needs to be learned about animals' habits and impacts so that park staff can make science-based decisions on how to manage non-native ... read more

Game Theory: Does the Rhino Poacher or the Gamekeeper Win?

July 6, 2016 — Conservationists have used game theory to look at the likely outcome of the battle between rhino poachers and the gamekeeper or rhino ... read more

July 5, 2016 — Green turtles hatching en masse from their nests 'swamp' predators, allowing more individuals to reach the safety of the sea, new research ... read more

The Snow Leopard -- World’s Most Mysterious Big Cat -- May Be More Common Than Thought

July 5, 2016 — The snow leopard has long been one of the least studied – and therefore poorly understood – of the large cats. No ... read more

June 30, 2016 — Researchers have described a new genus and species of cavefish from Mexico -- the Oaxaca Cave ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Approximately 30 percent of current Adélie penguin colonies may be in decline by 2060, researchers predict, and approximately 60 percent may be in decline by 2099. The declines are associated with ... read more

June 28, 2016 — Species across the world are rapidly going extinct due to human activities, but humans are also causing rapid evolution and the emergence of new species. A new study summarizes the causes of ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Gravel-bed river floodplains are some of the most ecologically important habitats in North America, according to a new study by scientists from the US and Canada. Their research shows how broad ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Experts have made a surprising discovery that could subvert the significance of traditional criteria used for species classification. Employing novel techniques to retrieve DNA sequences from ... read more

June 23, 2016 — Traditionally, the evolutionary development of an insect species has been explained by the notion that the female insect chooses her male partner based on size and other factors, so-called ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Though mammals adapted on land, a new study has shown that during three major independent evolutionary events, a number of mammals hearkened back to the ... read more

Rare Moth in Severe Decline at Its Last English Site

June 22, 2016 — Numbers of a rare species of moth -- found only in York in England -- have tumbled in recent years, a team of scientists has discovered. The Dark Bordered Beauty (Epione vespertaria) is found on ... read more

Endangered Boreal Felt Lichen Set to Decline 50 Percent in 25 Years Despite Conservation Efforts

June 21, 2016 — Erioderma pedicellatum, commonly known as the Boreal felt lichen, grows on trees in the damp boreal forests along the Atlantic coast. It is also one of the most endangered lichens in the world. A new ... read more

June 20, 2016 — Over 90 percent of mammal species were wiped out by the same asteroid that killed the dinosaurs in the Cretaceous period 66 million years ago, significantly more than previously thought, a new study ... read more

June 17, 2016 — An extremely rare eyeless catfish species previously known to exist only in Mexico has been discovered in Texas, report ... read more

Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016