NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Endangered Animals News
October 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:54am EDT

More Endangered Animals News
October 24, 2016

Bushmeat Hunting Threatens Mammal Populations and Ecosystems, Poses Food Security Threat

Oct. 20, 2016 — The ongoing decline of more than 300 species of animals is having significant environmental impacts and posing a food security threat for millions of people in Asia, Africa and South America, ... read more

Oct. 3, 2016 — The earliest ancestors of modern sea turtles may have come from the Deep South in the United States, new evidence suggests. Working with two relatively complete turtle skeletons, the fossils help ... read more

Sep. 29, 2016 — Dying due to electrocution at the power lines is the most common death for Bonelli’s eagle <em>(Aquila fasciata</em>), a threatened species in Europe. New work shows a statistic model ... read more

Sep. 27, 2016 — A new optimization technique could help conservation biologists choose the most cost-effective ways of connecting isolated populations of rare, threatened and endangered species living in protected ... read more

Sep. 27, 2016 — Many people are concerned about conservation of the planet's cute and cuddlies. But in a world of global climate change, sometimes we must prioritize which species we can and should save from ... read more

Sep. 26, 2016 — Africa's overall elephant population has seen the worst declines in 25 years, mainly due to poaching over the past ten years -- according to IUCN's African Elephant Status ... read more

Gaps in Data Place Thousands of Illegally Traded Wild Animals at Risk, Say Researchers

Sep. 26, 2016 — The fate of over 64,000 live wild animals officially reported to have been confiscated by enforcement agencies remains untraceable, according to a new report. Between 2010 and 2014, more than 64,000 ... read more

Sep. 23, 2016 — The effects of an intense storm every twenty-five years could make the marine alga populations of <em>Cystoseira zosteroides</em> disappear – an endemic species of the Mediterranean ... read more

Sep. 23, 2016 — Sapoviruses are an emerging group of viruses of the group of caliciviruses and well known agents of gastric enteritis, but very little is currently known about their role in wildlife ecology or the ... read more

Sep. 23, 2016 — In the late summer of 2016, a field team monitored Caspian tern chicks through to fledging in Cape Krusenstern National Monument in Alaska. This discovery of Caspian terns breeding above the Arctic ... read more

Sep. 22, 2016 — Whales are the biggest animals to ever have existed on Earth, and yet some subsist on creatures the size of a paper clip. It's a relatively common factoid, but, in truth, how they do this is ... read more

Sep. 22, 2016 — Trophy hunters can play an important role in lion conservation, researchers have shown. These findings may surprise the public, but most lion conservationists think trophy hunting could play a key ... read more

How a Native Plant Ended Up on Reality TV, and Why It's at Risk

Sep. 22, 2016 — In one of television’s more bizarre recent offerings, the History Channel show “Appalachian Outlaws” follows a band of West Virginians as they hunt rugged forests for American ginseng, a ... read more

It's Not All About Tigers and Criminals: Illegal Wildlife Trade Responses Need Nuance

Sep. 22, 2016 — Responses to illegal wildlife trade need to be more nuanced and not only focused on high-profile species if we are to truly tackle the problem, say ... read more

More Than One in Ten UK Species Threatened With Extinction

Sep. 21, 2016 — Climate change, urban expansion and agricultural intensification blamed for risk to some of Britain's best loved species. Some of the UK's leading nature experts have delivered a clarion ... read more

Malaysia's Unique Freshwater Mussels in Danger

Sep. 21, 2016 — Peninsular Malaysia hosts at least three rare mussel species, one of which (Hyriopsis bialata) is not found anywhere else on the planet. Now investigators suggest that this species may be in danger. ... read more

Fate of Turtles, Tortoises Affected More by Habitat Than Temperature

Sep. 20, 2016 — Habitat degradation poses a greater risk to the survival of turtles and tortoises than rising global temperatures, according to new research. More than 60 per cent are listed as vulnerable, ... read more

Sep. 20, 2016 — The southern sea otter,Enhydra lutris nereis, continues its climb toward recovery, according to the annual count. For the first time, southern sea otters' numbers have exceeded the threshold ... read more

Plant Diversity Alleviates the Effects of Flooding on Crops

Sep. 20, 2016 — In grasslands, growing plants in higher diversity fields may help alleviate the negative impacts of flooding. This finding may extend to how we grow important food crops. In a long-term biodiversity ... read more

Sep. 17, 2016 — From climate to the peninsula's very shape, not much in Florida has stayed the same over the last 8 million years. Except, it turns out, ... read more

Thursday, October 20, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Saturday, September 17, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Sunday, September 4, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016