advertisement
Endangered Animals News
February 20, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 4:31pm EST

More Endangered Animals News
February 20, 2018

Feb. 16, 2018 — Scientists are working to understand the ecology and taxonomy of Texas' first federally endangered mussel ... read more

Underreporting in International Wildlife Trade

Feb. 12, 2018 — Researchers have established several key trends in wildlife trade following an in-depth study on international wildlife trade data. The findings shed light on the market forces driving the movement ... read more

Feb. 7, 2018 — A groundbreaking study of sea turtle nests and hatchlings using paternity tests to uncover 'who are your daddies?' is the first to document multiple paternity in loggerhead sea turtle nests ... read more

Feb. 5, 2018 — Scientists have revealed that ray-finned fishes are perhaps one of Earth's most resilient groups of animals, having survived four mass extinction events that wiped out many other ... read more

Feb. 2, 2018 — Tropical forests worldwide are at risk. Two of the main threats are the deforestation for arable land and climate change. Scientists compared the losses due to deforestation with those that would ... read more

Feb. 1, 2018 — A new study shows that the brain of turtles has evolved slowly, but constantly over the last 210 million years, eventually reaching a variety in form and complexity, which rivals that of other animal ... read more

Jan. 29, 2018 — Three nests of the Critically Endangered Red-headed vulture were found in January in Chhep Wildlife Sanctuary by conservationists. The population of this species in Cambodia is possibly less than 50 ... read more

Jan. 29, 2018 — Using new technologies developed to extract life history information from bones, researchers are learning more than ever about populations of green sea turtles living in the eastern region of the ... read more

Jan. 25, 2018 — Human beings take up a lot of real estate -- around 50-70 percent of the Earth's land surface. And our increasing footprint affects how mammals of all sizes, from all over the planet, ... read more

Jan. 25, 2018 — Contrary to public perception, die-offs in honeybee colonies are an agricultural not a conservation issue, argue researchers, who say that manged honeybees may contribute to the genuine biodiversity ... read more

Jan. 25, 2018 — Once abundant in Southern California, the foothill yellow-legged frog inexplicably vanished from the region sometime between the late 1960s and early 1970s. The reasons behind its rapid extirpation ... read more

Jan. 24, 2018 — Introduced predators pose threats to biodiversity and are implicated in the extinction of many native ... read more

Endangered Woodpeckers Persist, but Still Struggle, on Private Land

Jan. 24, 2018 — The US Fish and Wildlife Service's Safe Harbor was established to encourage private landowners to take steps to benefit endangered Red-cockaded Woodpeckers on their land. The program has reduced ... read more

Is Species Richness Increasing? Insight Into an Intense Ecological Debate

Jan. 24, 2018 — Scientists are debating whether and why it appears that the number of species at sites worldwide is holding steady (even increasing at many), as biodiversity declines ... read more

Jan. 24, 2018 — New study identifies conservation priorities based on evolutionary history and ... read more

Jan. 23, 2018 — Protecting areas with loggerhead sea turtle sporadic nesting in western Mediterranean can be crucial for the preservation of the species in the future, according to a new ... read more

Jan. 23, 2018 — Climbing a mountain is challenging. So, too, is providing the best possible information to plan for climate change's impact on mountain vegetation and wildlife. Scientists show that using ... read more

Wild Sri Lankan Elephants Retreat from Sound of Disturbed Asian Honey Bees

Jan. 22, 2018 — A new study using playbacks, has for the first time shown that Asian elephants in Sri Lanka are scared of honey bees, much like their African counterparts. The study showed that Asian elephants ... read more

Jan. 22, 2018 — Invasive species have diverse impacts in different locations, including biodiversity loss, as a result of native species being outcompeted for similar resources. A US research team studied the case ... read more

Jan. 22, 2018 — Male sea turtles are disappearing and not just in Australia. Researchers found that 97 to 100 percent of hatchlings in southeast Florida have been female since 2002. They are the first to show why ... read more

Friday, February 16, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Monday, February 5, 2018
Friday, February 2, 2018
Thursday, February 1, 2018
Monday, January 29, 2018
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Monday, January 22, 2018
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Thursday, January 11, 2018
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Tuesday, January 9, 2018
Monday, January 8, 2018
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
Tuesday, January 2, 2018
Tuesday, December 26, 2017
Friday, December 22, 2017
Thursday, December 21, 2017
Friday, December 22, 2017
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
Monday, December 18, 2017
Monday, December 11, 2017
Thursday, December 14, 2017
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Monday, December 11, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Monday, December 4, 2017
Friday, December 1, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Friday, November 24, 2017
Wednesday, November 22, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Monday, November 20, 2017