NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Endangered Animals News
February 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:55pm EST

More Endangered Animals News
February 27, 2017

Shot Against Cancer: Vaccination Stops Tumor Growth in Rhinoceros

Feb. 16, 2017 — Female rhinoceros often suffer from vaginal or uterus tumors, which complicate the production of offspring. For the first time, scientists succeeded in stopping the growth and regeneration of ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — If degraded and logged areas of tropical forests are left to nature, the populations of certain endangered tree species are not able to recover. This applies in particular to trees with large fruit ... read more

Impact of Climate Change on Mammals and Birds 'Greatly Underestimated'

Feb. 13, 2017 — Large numbers of threatened species have already been impacted by climate change, new research concludes. Alarmingly, this team of international researchers found evidence of observed responses to ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Biological invasions pose major threats to biodiversity, but little is known about how evolution might alter their impacts over time. Now, Rutgers University scientists have performed the first study ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — As the climate changes and fisheries transform the oceans, the world's African penguins are in trouble. Young penguins aren't able to take all the changes into account and are finding ... read more

Snow Leopard and Himalayan Wolf Diets Are About One-Quarter Livestock

Feb. 8, 2017 — Around a quarter of Himalayan snow leopard and wolf diets are livestock, the rest being wild prey, according to a new ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A research team has found a way to translate their knowledge of blue whales off California and in the eastern tropical Pacific Ocean to the other side of the world, revealing those areas of the ... read more

Rethink Needed to Save Critically Endangered Black Rhinoceros

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new strategy of conservation must be adopted if the black rhinoceros is to be saved from extinction, concludes a new ... read more

Carnivores More Seriously Threatened by Roads Than Previously Acknowledged

Feb. 8, 2017 — The effects of roads on carnivores have obviously been underestimated in worldwide species conservation. This is the conclusion of the first comprehensive global study on this topic. The protection ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — For marine protected areas established to help coral reefs recover from overfishing, size really does seem to make a difference, say ... read more

The Solution from the Skies to Save Endangered Species

Feb. 6, 2017 — The world’s first astrophysics-ecology drone project could be the answer to many global conservation efforts, say ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — The critically endangered Nimba toad is long known for its exceptional reproductive biology. The females of this unique species give live birth to fully developed juveniles, having for nine months ... read more

Researchers Investigate Decline in South Africa's Forest-Birds

Feb. 3, 2017 — Forest-dwelling bird species are disappearing from some of South Africa's indigenous forests, with forest birds in the Eastern Cape being the most affected. A new study showed that the ranges of ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — Remote cameras can transform monitoring wildlife and habitat biodiversity worldwide, outlines a new ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — A new study shows that the number of vampire bats, which transmit rabies and are a concern for livestock breeders, may be increasing in Brazil and the Americas along with growth in the populations of ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Using remote sensing cameras and sound recorders, scientists have captured rare video footage of a newly discovered population of critically endangered monkeys in one of the most remote regions in ... read more

Scat Sniffer Dogs Tell Researchers a Lot About Endangered Lizards

Jan. 31, 2017 — Dogs can be trained to find almost anything, but one researcher had them detect something a little unusual -- the scat of endangered blunt-nosed leopard lizards. The dogs helped find out how ... read more

Too Many Deer Are Bad for the Forest

Jan. 30, 2017 — Overabundant deer can spell trouble for people, including frequent car collisions and the spread of zoonotic diseases. But deer can also disrupt wildlife communities -- such as forest songbirds -- by ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — After more than a year of data collection, analysis and mapping, experts have published a comprehensive survey of Southeastern watersheds and the diverse aquatic wildlife that live in these ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — Bumblebees recently became the first species from the U.S. to be placed on the endangered species list, but an entomologist said bumblebee endangerment is nothing to be bugged ... read more

Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Monday, December 26, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Friday, November 25, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016