Endangered Animals News
April 30, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 10:39am EDT

More Endangered Animals News
April 30, 2017

Apr. 12, 2017 — Florida's manatee population is highly likely to endure for the next 100 years, a study has ... read more

Eat Wild Venison to Support Native Woodland Birds, Says Ecologist

Apr. 10, 2017 — Wild deer in Britain should be hunted for venison to drastically reduce their populations and support the re-emergence of our native woodland birds, according to an ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — Debris from logging in tropical forests is threatening the survival of hatchling leatherback turtles and the success of mothers at one of the world's most important nesting sites in Colombia, ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — A team of economists and ecologists has developed one of the first models to assign a dollar value to the loss or gain of species in an ecosystem. This new work offers an economic argument for ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — The gradual decline of the dinosaurs and pterosaurs presumably came before the impact of the Chicxulub asteroid and the global mass extinction at the end of the Cretaceous Period, new research ... read more

Mar. 31, 2017 — Droplets and exhaled breath caught from the blowholes of killer whales along the Pacific coast are providing scientists with insights into whale health and revealing bacteria and fungi that may be a ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Some fungal viruses (mycoviruses) that infect fungi associated with forest trees are able to cross the barriers between distantly related fungal species, report researchers. This overturns the former ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Is it a boy or is it a girl? For baby sea turtles it's not that cut and dry. Because they don't have an X or Y chromosome, baby sea turtles' sex is defined during development by the ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — When asked to name their favorite wildlife, Bahamian children chose feral cats, dogs and pigs - invasive species that can be more damaging in an island environment. However, island kids chose a wider ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — Sixteen million years ago, the reptile Diplocynodon ratelii lived in wooded ecosystems among the lakes and pools of what we know today as Catalonia (Spain). Fossils found at the Els Casots site in ... read more

Cornering Endangered Species

Mar. 28, 2017 — Geographic areas occupied by certain species shrink as they decline in abundance, leaving them more vulnerable to extinction by harvest, concludes new ... read more

Scientists Overcome Inaccessibility of Caves Through Molecular Genetic Approach

Mar. 27, 2017 — An international group of scientists has used a novel highly sensitive method for detection of environmental DNA in groundwater to extend the poorly known range of the rare subterranean amphibian ... read more

Biodiversity Loss Shifts Flowering Phenology at Same Magnitude as Global Warming

Mar. 24, 2017 — Researchers have revealed that declining plant diversity -- from habitat loss, human use, and other environmental pressures -- causes plants to flower earlier, and that the effects of diversity loss ... read more

Strong Interaction Between Herbivores and Plants

Mar. 23, 2017 — Important findings have been revealed on the interaction between nutrient availability and the diversity of consumer species in freshwater environments. A better understanding of this interaction ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Scientists have studied the development of the amphibian and reptile fauna in Western Siberia during the past twelve million years. In their study, they demonstrate that the species diversity of both ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — In a vulnerable forest in southeastern Brazil, where the air was once thick with the guttural chatter of brown howler monkeys, there now exists silence. Yellow fever, a virus carried by mosquitoes ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — It's not every day someone gets to say, 'I've discovered a new species.' It's a claim that biologist Chris Funk can happily make. Funk and collaborators, who've spent ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — The snake fauna of Central and South America seems largely under-researched, since as many as thirty-three species of a single genus have been discovered in the last ten years only. Recently, a team ... read more

New Hope for the Saiga Antelope?

Mar. 22, 2017 — The Saiga Antelope, which is currently threatened with extinction, used to be much more flexible in its habitat and food choices in the past than previously assumed, scientists have discovered. Based ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Birds benefit from flocking together -- even when they're not of a feather. According to a new study, China's endangered crested ibises benefit from joining forces with other, more ... read more

Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017