NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Endangered Animals News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 3:24pm EST

More Endangered Animals News
February 20, 2017

Snow Leopard and Himalayan Wolf Diets Are About One-Quarter Livestock

Feb. 8, 2017 — Around a quarter of Himalayan snow leopard and wolf diets are livestock, the rest being wild prey, according to a new ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A research team has found a way to translate their knowledge of blue whales off California and in the eastern tropical Pacific Ocean to the other side of the world, revealing those areas of the ... read more

Rethink Needed to Save Critically Endangered Black Rhinoceros

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new strategy of conservation must be adopted if the black rhinoceros is to be saved from extinction, concludes a new ... read more

Carnivores More Seriously Threatened by Roads Than Previously Acknowledged

Feb. 8, 2017 — The effects of roads on carnivores have obviously been underestimated in worldwide species conservation. This is the conclusion of the first comprehensive global study on this topic. The protection ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — For marine protected areas established to help coral reefs recover from overfishing, size really does seem to make a difference, say ... read more

The Solution from the Skies to Save Endangered Species

Feb. 6, 2017 — The world’s first astrophysics-ecology drone project could be the answer to many global conservation efforts, say ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — The critically endangered Nimba toad is long known for its exceptional reproductive biology. The females of this unique species give live birth to fully developed juveniles, having for nine months ... read more

Researchers Investigate Decline in South Africa's Forest-Birds

Feb. 3, 2017 — Forest-dwelling bird species are disappearing from some of South Africa's indigenous forests, with forest birds in the Eastern Cape being the most affected. A new study showed that the ranges of ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — Remote cameras can transform monitoring wildlife and habitat biodiversity worldwide, outlines a new ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — A new study shows that the number of vampire bats, which transmit rabies and are a concern for livestock breeders, may be increasing in Brazil and the Americas along with growth in the populations of ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Using remote sensing cameras and sound recorders, scientists have captured rare video footage of a newly discovered population of critically endangered monkeys in one of the most remote regions in ... read more

Scat Sniffer Dogs Tell Researchers a Lot About Endangered Lizards

Jan. 31, 2017 — Dogs can be trained to find almost anything, but one researcher had them detect something a little unusual -- the scat of endangered blunt-nosed leopard lizards. The dogs helped find out how ... read more

Too Many Deer Are Bad for the Forest

Jan. 30, 2017 — Overabundant deer can spell trouble for people, including frequent car collisions and the spread of zoonotic diseases. But deer can also disrupt wildlife communities -- such as forest songbirds -- by ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — After more than a year of data collection, analysis and mapping, experts have published a comprehensive survey of Southeastern watersheds and the diverse aquatic wildlife that live in these ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — Since the year 2000, the Eurasian grey wolf, Canis lupus lupus, has spread across Germany. For researchers, a good reason to have a closer look at the small “occupants” of this returnee and to ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — The cane toad, which overran Australia when introduced there, and Panama's iconic, endangered golden frog both belong to the family Bufonidae. Researchers combed through many research papers to ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Current nature reserves are not very suitable for the critically endangered Critically Endangered Leadbeater's Possum, but expansion of nature reserves might come at the expense of other ... read more

Invasive Beetle Species in Hawaii Can Now Be Identified Faster With New Genetic Test

Jan. 25, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new genetic-testing method for identifying the invasive coconut rhinoceros beetle, which promises to be much faster than existing physical identification methods. The new ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Rare and extinct animals are preserved in jars of alcohol in natural history museum collections around the world, which provide a wealth of information on the changing biodiversity of the planet. ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — Chimpanzees are an endangered species and scientists and conservationists are turning to the NASA-US Geological Survey Landsat satellites to help bolster their efforts to preserve their forest ... read more

Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Monday, December 26, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Friday, November 25, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016