Mammals News
July 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:51pm EDT

More Mammals News
July 28, 2016

Scientists Review Methods to Prevent Bites, Suppress Ticks That Transmit Lyme Disease

July 20, 2016 — Decades of scientific literature on the effectiveness of various methods of preventing bites and controlling ticks that transmit Lyme disease has been reviewed by a research team, and outlined in a ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Scientists studied mouse lemur DNA to determine how Madagascar's landscape changed over time -- since the lemurs are forest-dependent, changes in their DNA show how Madagascar's forests ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Luzon, the largest island in the Philippines, is home to the world's greatest concentration of unique mammal species -- 93 percent of the land mammals there are found nowhere else. A new paper ... read more

July 14, 2016 — A team of researchers has for the first time begun to quantify the economic and social impact of bringing back large carnivores. Using cougars and their value in reducing deer-vehicle collisions as a ... read more

July 14, 2016 — American black bears may be able to recognize things they know in real life, such as pieces of food or humans, when looking at a photograph of the same thing. This is one of the findings of a study ... read more

Discovery of New Strains of the HTLV-4 Virus in Hunters Bitten by Gorillas in Gabon

July 13, 2016 — Scientists have identified two new strains of the HTLV-4 virus in two hunters who were bitten by gorillas in Gabon. These findings support the notion that gorillas represent a major source of ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Crows are performing a useful function and keeping our environment free from rotting carcasses, research carried ... read more

July 11, 2016 — Searching for simple inherited dental characteristics that could lead to genes controlling tooth development, researchers have uncovered an easy-to-measure trait that tracks primate evolution over ... read more

Is the Agile Wallaby Man's New Best Friend?

July 11, 2016 — Looking for a new pet? If so, consider the Agile Wallaby or the Asian Palm Civet. Responding to the growing trend in keeping exotic animals as pets a team of researchers has developed a methodology ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Chewed bark, leaves and fruit discarded by mountain gorillas provide a simple way to test the endangered apes for viruses without disturbing them, according to scientists studying mountain gorillas ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Although protected areas such as national parks can play a crucial role in conserving wildlife, most species of large carnivores and large herbivores also depend on being able to occupy ... read more

The Taming of the Rat

July 6, 2016 — If you worry about having a pet rat in case it bites you, then you can relax. Recent research has found that a domesticated strain of rat selectively bred for tameness almost never bites human ... read more

July 6, 2016 — It has long been known that monkeys convey information through alarm calls, but now a combined team of linguists and primatologists has laid the groundwork for a systematic 'primate ... read more

King Penguins Keep an Ear out for Predators

July 6, 2016 — Sleeping king penguins react differently to the sounds of predators than to non-predators and other sounds, when they are sleeping on the beach. Research has revealed that even asleep, these penguins ... read more

Could Goats Become Our New Best Friend?

July 5, 2016 — Goats have the capacity to communicate with people like other domesticated animals, such as dogs and horses, according to scientists. The researchers hope the study will lead to a better ... read more

The Snow Leopard -- World’s Most Mysterious Big Cat -- May Be More Common Than Thought

July 5, 2016 — The snow leopard has long been one of the least studied – and therefore poorly understood – of the large cats. No ... read more

July 5, 2016 — Humans' early mammal relatives likely diversified 66 million years ago, after the extinction of dinosaurs opened up space for animals such as big cats, horses, elephants and eventually apes to ... read more

June 30, 2016 — When a team of researchers began listening in on seven sperm whales in the waters off the Azores, they discovered that the whales' characteristic tapping sounds serve as a form of individual ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated the importance of jasmonate-dependent nicotine production for the survival of tobacco plants which are attacked by mammalian ... read more

June 28, 2016 — Our ancestors evolved three times faster in the 10 million years after the extinction of the dinosaurs than in the previous 80 million years, according to researchers. The team found the speed of ... read more

Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016