Mammals News
April 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:08am EDT

More Mammals News
April 27, 2017

Can Aromatherapy Calm Competition Horses?

Apr. 26, 2017 — Although studies suggest that inhaling certain scents may reduce stress in humans, aromatherapy is relatively unexplored in veterinary medicine. But new research raises the question of whether ... read more

Apr. 19, 2017 — Analysis of the microscopic wear on the teeth of the legendary man-eating lions of Tsavo reveals that shortage of normal prey did not drive them to begin killing and eating ... read more

Apr. 18, 2017 — Researchers have released the annual Winter Study detailing updates on the ecology of Isle Royale National Park, which indicates no change in their small population of ... read more

Apr. 14, 2017 — Scientists have sought to better understand the evolutionary history of bacteria residing within lice. In this study, they see that bacterial evolution is driven by associations with lice, and louse ... read more

Apr. 17, 2017 — Large saber-toothed cats that roamed Los Angeles 12,000 years ago had many injuries to their shoulders and backbones that likely occurred when they were fighting with other large animals, biologists ... read more

Apr. 14, 2017 — A wild-born, pure Australian desert dingo called Sandy Maliki has taken out first place in the World's Most Interesting Genome competition. The UNSW-led proposal to have Sandy's DNA decoded ... read more

Apr. 13, 2017 — Whales from both poles migrate long distances to breed in tropical waters. Researchers tagged 47 humpbacks with satellite transmitters to understand how the humpbacks' Southeastern Pacific ... read more

Apr. 12, 2017 — Asian elephants are able to recognize their bodies as obstacles to success in problem-solving, further strengthening evidence of their intelligence and self-awareness, according to a new ... read more

Apr. 12, 2017 — Researchers have demystified the way that polar bears search for their typical prey of ringed seals. The answer, it turns out, is simple: they follow their nose using the power of ... read more

Apr. 12, 2017 — Florida's manatee population is highly likely to endure for the next 100 years, a study has ... read more

Apr. 11, 2017 — According to new research, nomadic horse culture -- famously associated with Genghis Khan and his Mongol hordes -- can trace its roots back more than 3,000 years in the eastern Eurasian Steppes, in ... read more

Apr. 11, 2017 — A new study assessing the underwater soundscape off Southern California found that blue, fin and humpback whales experience a range of acoustic environments, including noise from shipping traffic as ... read more

Apr. 11, 2017 — The first-ever comprehensive population assessment of the Chinese white dolphins that inhabit Hong Kong waters has been presented by researchers. In their report, they include information on how what ... read more

Eat Wild Venison to Support Native Woodland Birds, Says Ecologist

Apr. 10, 2017 — Wild deer in Britain should be hunted for venison to drastically reduce their populations and support the re-emergence of our native woodland birds, according to an ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Tiny movements in horseshoe pack more information into ultrasound pulses the bats send and receive, helping them locate objects around ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — Gray wolves provide an important case study for understanding ecosystem effects when apex predators reoccupy their former ranges. These species often rely on anthropogenic food sources, which has ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — Young kangaroos are more likely to survive in the wild if they spend more time alone with their mothers than among others of their own species. They are also larger and heavier than other young ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — The raccoon and the raccoon dog are two non-indigenous animal species that have become established in Europe in the past decades. Their increasing abundance has not only made them the most common ... read more

Apr. 4, 2017 — A novel coronavirus has been identified in a bat from Uganda that is similar to the one causing Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS) in people, giving further credence to the theory that such ... read more

Mar. 31, 2017 — Droplets and exhaled breath caught from the blowholes of killer whales along the Pacific coast are providing scientists with insights into whale health and revealing bacteria and fungi that may be a ... read more

Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017