Mammals News
July 23, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:50pm EDT

More Mammals News
July 23, 2016

July 7, 2016 — Chewed bark, leaves and fruit discarded by mountain gorillas provide a simple way to test the endangered apes for viruses without disturbing them, according to scientists studying mountain gorillas ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Although protected areas such as national parks can play a crucial role in conserving wildlife, most species of large carnivores and large herbivores also depend on being able to occupy ... read more

The Taming of the Rat

July 6, 2016 — If you worry about having a pet rat in case it bites you, then you can relax. Recent research has found that a domesticated strain of rat selectively bred for tameness almost never bites human ... read more

July 6, 2016 — It has long been known that monkeys convey information through alarm calls, but now a combined team of linguists and primatologists has laid the groundwork for a systematic 'primate ... read more

King Penguins Keep an Ear out for Predators

July 6, 2016 — Sleeping king penguins react differently to the sounds of predators than to non-predators and other sounds, when they are sleeping on the beach. Research has revealed that even asleep, these penguins ... read more

Could Goats Become Our New Best Friend?

July 5, 2016 — Goats have the capacity to communicate with people like other domesticated animals, such as dogs and horses, according to scientists. The researchers hope the study will lead to a better ... read more

The Snow Leopard -- World’s Most Mysterious Big Cat -- May Be More Common Than Thought

July 5, 2016 — The snow leopard has long been one of the least studied – and therefore poorly understood – of the large cats. No ... read more

July 5, 2016 — Humans' early mammal relatives likely diversified 66 million years ago, after the extinction of dinosaurs opened up space for animals such as big cats, horses, elephants and eventually apes to ... read more

June 30, 2016 — When a team of researchers began listening in on seven sperm whales in the waters off the Azores, they discovered that the whales' characteristic tapping sounds serve as a form of individual ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated the importance of jasmonate-dependent nicotine production for the survival of tobacco plants which are attacked by mammalian ... read more

June 28, 2016 — Our ancestors evolved three times faster in the 10 million years after the extinction of the dinosaurs than in the previous 80 million years, according to researchers. The team found the speed of ... read more

June 28, 2016 — Fewer female white-tailed deer disperse than males, but when they do, they typically travel more than twice as far, taking much more convoluted paths and covering larger areas, according to ... read more

June 28, 2016 — Two biologists have developed a mathematical model of the way social networks arise in animal populations. Though relatively simple, their model generated networks that faithfully recapitulated ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Gravel-bed river floodplains are some of the most ecologically important habitats in North America, according to a new study by scientists from the US and Canada. Their research shows how broad ... read more

June 24, 2016 — The potential evolutionary link between hairs in mammals, feathers in birds and scales in reptiles has been debated for decades. Today, researchers demonstrate that all these skin appendages are ... read more

June 23, 2016 — Biologists working in Turkey discovered two surprising facts about a group of 16 brown bears: First, six of the bears seasonally migrated between feeding and breeding sites, the first known brown ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Though mammals adapted on land, a new study has shown that during three major independent evolutionary events, a number of mammals hearkened back to the ... read more

Rare Moth in Severe Decline at Its Last English Site

June 22, 2016 — Numbers of a rare species of moth -- found only in York in England -- have tumbled in recent years, a team of scientists has discovered. The Dark Bordered Beauty (Epione vespertaria) is found on ... read more

Young Bowhead Whales May Cease Growing Lengthwise to Grow Head and Baleen Plates

June 22, 2016 — Young bowhead whales may cease growing lengthwise and undergo severe bone loss to help grow their enormous head and baleen plates, according to a ... read more

June 22, 2016 — New research suggests for the first time that wild boars and wart hogs have an internal magnetic compass that helps them orient themselves as they forage for food and inhabit new ... read more

Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016