Mammals News
May 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:22am EDT

More Mammals News
May 25, 2016

May 17, 2016 — Ecologists have set up camera traps in Africa. The images will help wildlife authorities in Botswana to target their conservation work more ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Fox squirrels flick their tails when they can't get a cherished nut in much the same way that humans kick a vending machine that fails to deliver the anticipated soda or candy bar, according to ... read more

May 11, 2016 — A doctoral student at the University of Pennsylvania has identified a new species of fossil dog. The specimen, found in Maryland, would have roamed the coast of eastern North America approximately 12 ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Mountain gorillas from Volcanoes National Park in Rwanda eat up to 30 kilos of plants a day and their diet is highly varied in a habitat that is becoming increasingly fragmented as a result of ... read more

May 10, 2016 — Mongoose use urine and anal gland secretions to communicate with other members of their species. However, in the mongoose, secretions from sick animals were found to be infected with the TB ... read more

May 9, 2016 — Acoustic warning signals emitted by tiger moths to deter bats -- a behavior previously proven only in the laboratory -- actually occur in nature and are used as a defense mechanism, according to new ... read more

Daily Up and Down of the Plankton Animals in the Sea

May 9, 2016 — A unique series of measurements taken over several years in the Antarctic Ocean provide new findings about the daily vertical migration of zooplankton communities: scientists of the observed changes ... read more

Antarctic Whales and the Krill They Eat

May 9, 2016 — The Western Antarctic sector of the Southern Ocean is the regular feeding ground of a large number of fin and humpback whales of the Southern Hemisphere. Around 5,000 fin whales likely migrate to its ... read more

May 9, 2016 — A team of scientists using techniques from the field of dentistry is shedding new light on the evolution of walruses, fur seals and sea lions. The researchers have cast further doubt on previous ... read more

Why 'Sharks Get Cancer, Mole Rats Don't'

May 6, 2016 — A new book by a radiation oncologist explores how animals can help us understand how the immune system can be used to fight ... read more

May 4, 2016 — Findings from a new study challenge assumptions about leopards' status, including particularly worrying declines in Asia. Researchers suggest that the species has lost nearly 75% of their ... read more

'Eve' and Descendants Shape Global Sperm Whale Population Structure

May 4, 2016 — Although sperm whales have not been driven to the brink of extinction as have some other whales, a new study has found a remarkable lack of diversity in the maternally inherited mitochondrial DNA ... read more

Evolution of the Javan Leopard

May 4, 2016 — New insights into the evolutionary history of the Javan leopard have been gained by new research. The results of the study confirm that Javan leopards are clearly distinct from Asian leopards and ... read more

May 3, 2016 — In December 2015 an international group of scientists convened to discuss the imminent extinction of the northern white rhinoceros and the possibility of bringing the species back from brink of ... read more

May 3, 2016 — Current estimates of the number of cheetahs in the wild are 'guesswork', say the authors of a new study that finds that the population in the cheetah stronghold of Maasai Mara, Kenya, is ... read more

May 2, 2016 — Biologists have completely sequenced the mitochondrial genome for the Hispaniolan solenodon, filling in the last major branch of placental mammals on the tree of life. The study confirmed that the ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Visitors to Denali National Park and Preserve and Yellowstone National Park were twice as likely to see a wolf when hunting wasn't permitted adjacent to the parks, a new study ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Researchers have identified a key action of a watershed gene critical to bone formation and the evolution of vertebrates. The Sp7 or Osterix gene more than likely emerged from an ancestral gene ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Selective browsing by white-tailed deer likely is promoting the spread of some invasive plant species in northeastern US forests, as deer avoid eating vegetation they find ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Despite considerable evidence for the California sea lion's intelligence, very little is known about how their brain is organized. Now, a team of neuroscientists has taken an important step ... read more

Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016