Mammals News
May 26, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 11:08am EDT

More Mammals News
May 26, 2017

May 18, 2017 — Spatial capture-recapture model analysis is often used to estimate tiger abundance. A new study, however, finds that dates and times of animal detections are often not factored into the analysis. ... read more

Shearing of Alpacas Is Necessary, but Also Stressful

May 12, 2017 — Alpacas, a species of New World camelids, have very thick wool. This requires them to be shorn regularly, just like sheep. But shearing is a source of stress for the animals. This has now been ... read more

May 11, 2017 — Modern whales' ancestors probably hunted and chased down prey, but somehow, those fish-eating hunters evolved into filter-feeding leviathans. An analysis of a 36.4-million-year-old whale fossil ... read more

Three New Sub-Species of Snow Leopard Discovered

May 11, 2017 — A recent research paper reveals that there are three sub-species of snow leopard. Until now, researchers had assumed this species, Panthera uncia, was ... read more

Rare Feline Genetic Disorders Identified Through Whole Genome Sequencing

May 11, 2017 — Veterinary neurologists found a genetic link between degenerative myelopathy (DM) in dogs and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig's disease in people. Now they have found that a ... read more

May 10, 2017 — African lions are under the same threats extinct sabre-toothed tigers ... read more

May 10, 2017 — The world's only population of Javan rhinoceros, already under severe threat from poaching, could go extinct in the future due to natural disasters, including volcanic eruptions and ... read more

May 9, 2017 — A comparison of conditions in the outback on either side of Australia's dingo fence has revealed that extermination of these apex predators not only affects the abundance of other animals and ... read more

Affluent Countries Contribute Less to Wildlife Conservation Than the Rest of the World

May 4, 2017 — Less affluent countries are more committed to conservation of their large animals than richer ones, a new research collaboration has ... read more

May 3, 2017 — Two populations of wild dolphins living off the coast of Florida and South Carolina are experiencing more chronically activated immune systems than dolphins living in controlled environments, raising ... read more

Elephant Herpes: Super-Shedders Endanger Young Animals

May 3, 2017 — Elephants have species-specific herpesviruses, which frequently lead to death, especially in the young. Researchers have traced the infection transmission route of different elephant calves, ... read more

May 3, 2017 — New research has documented that these economically and ecologically important game animals are not just moving from low-elevation winter range to high-elevation summer range. Rather, the daily ... read more

May 3, 2017 — Climate plays a key role in determining what animals can live where. And while human-induced climate change has been causing major problems for wildlife as of late, changes in the Earth's ... read more

May 3, 2017 — A new study of the bony head-crests of male gorillas could provide some of the first clues about the social structures of our extinct human relatives, including how they chose their sexual ... read more

Lab Mice May Not Be Effective Models for Immunology Research

May 3, 2017 — Laboratory mice may not be effective models for studying immune responses to disease. This research reveals the limitations of laboratory mice as immunological ... read more

May 2, 2017 — The black bear population in southern New York has grown and expanded its range since the early 1990s, which has led to increased encounters with ... read more

First US Success of Nonhuman Primate Gene Editing

May 1, 2017 — Scientists have shown that gene editing using CRISPR/Cas9 technology can be quite effective in rhesus monkey embryos -- the first time this has been demonstrated in the ... read more

Apr. 27, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new method to retrieve hominin DNA from cave sediments -- even in the absence of skeletal ... read more

Apr. 27, 2017 — Two new species of African mole-rat have been discovered by researchers. The species, formally described as Fukomys hanangensis and Fukomys livingstoni, were found around Mount Hanang and at Ujiji on ... read more

Can Aromatherapy Calm Competition Horses?

Apr. 26, 2017 — Although studies suggest that inhaling certain scents may reduce stress in humans, aromatherapy is relatively unexplored in veterinary medicine. But new research raises the question of whether ... read more

Thursday, May 18, 2017
Friday, May 12, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017