Mammals News
May 2, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:22am EDT

More Mammals News
May 2, 2016

Apr. 20, 2016 — Seven fossil teeth exposed by the Panama Canal expansion project are first evidence of a monkey on the North American continent before the Isthmus of Panama connected it to South America 3.5 million ... read more

Muskoxen Hair Analysis Shows Diet Suffers During Snow-Heavy Arctic Winters

Apr. 20, 2016 — Analysis of hairs from muskoxen in the Arctic tundra indicates they had limited amounts of forage available and relied heavily on body stores during snow-heavy ... read more

Ancient DNA Reveals Evolution of Giant Bears in the Americas

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers are shedding new light on the evolution of what are believed to be the largest bears that ever walked the ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — A study undertaken by scientists to understand swimming behavior in polar bears is showing an increase in this behavior related to changes in the amount and location of summer sea ice. The pattern of ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — Humans aren't alone in their ability to mix perfumes and colognes. Lemurs, too, get more out of their smelly secretions by combining fragrances from different scent glands to create richer, ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — Numerous studies show that childhood trauma can have far-reaching effects on adult health; new research finds the same is true for wild baboons. Baboons that experience multiple misfortunes in early ... read more

30 Years After Chernobyl, Camera Study Reveals Wildlife Abundance in Chernobyl Exclusion Zone

Apr. 18, 2016 — While humans are now scarce in the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone, continued studies--including a just-published camera study--validate findings that wildlife populations are abundant at the site. The ... read more

Gun Hunting Could Lead to Extinction of Threatened Primates on African Island

Apr. 18, 2016 — Gun hunting on Bioko Island correlates significantly with lower numbers of the majority of the island's primate species, a new study ... read more

Apr. 15, 2016 — Scientists have described three new species of mouse lemurs. They live in the South and East of Madagascar and increase the number of known mouse lemur species to 24. As little as 20 years ago, only ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — A series of seismic surveys for oil and gas planned for the mid- and southeastern Atlantic coastal areas of the United States pose a substantial threat to one of the world’s most endangered whale ... read more

Dino Dinner, Dead or Alive

Apr. 14, 2016 — Many meat-eating dinosaurs would have been expert scavengers, relying on carrion to make up a significant portion of their calorific intake, new research ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — The establishment of moose in tundra regions of Alaska was the result of warmer and longer summers that increased their shrub habitat, according to a new ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A new study examines the decline of the Sumatran rhino in Borneo. It concludes that the remnant populations of Sumatran rhinos can only be rescued by combining efforts of total protection with ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — Scientists have finalized a study of newborn and fetal dolphins found stranded on beaches in the northern Gulf of Mexico between 2010 and 2013. The study team identified substantial differences ... read more

New Way to Smell a Rat Means End for Rodents

Apr. 11, 2016 — Scientists have developed a new way to exterminate rats by identifying and synthetically replicating the male brown rat's sex pheromone. The chemical is a powerful attractant for luring female ... read more

Top Predators Play an Important Role in Human-Dominated Ecosystems

Apr. 11, 2016 — Also in human-dominated landscapes large carnivores such as brown bears or wolves -- so-called top predators -- play a crucial role in the regulation of wildlife populations. The study is one of few ... read more

Developing Ways to Study Influenza D Virus

Apr. 8, 2016 — Researchers have found antibodies to the newly discovered influenza D virus in pigs, cattle, horses, goats and sheep, but not poultry. A researcher has proven that the guinea pig can be used as an ... read more

Fewer Than 250 Mature Bawean Warty Pigs in Existence

Apr. 6, 2016 — The rare Bawean warty pig mostly forages at night in community-owned forests on Bawean island, and is endangered, according to a new ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — A new immune-suppressing therapy has led to the longest survival yet for a cross-species heart transplant, according to new research. The study involved transplanting pig hearts into ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — A new study addresses a controversial hypothesis regarding the potential ramming function of the sperm whale's head. This hypothesis was instrumental in inspiring Herman Melville to write the ... read more

Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016