NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Endangered Plants News
February 19, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 9:55am EST

More Endangered Plants News
February 19, 2017

Feb. 10, 2017 — Scientists have developed a technique for introducing proteins into plant cells using plasma treatment. Their method could have multiple applications in plant research and ... read more

The Origin of Stem Cells

Feb. 8, 2017 — The protein WOX2 is responsible for enabling plants to develop organs throughout their ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — Nearly a decade after being logged, vegetation in forested areas severely burned by California's Cone Fire in 2002 was relatively similar to areas untouched by logging equipment. The findings of ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — Removing exotic plant species has a much greater impact on ecosystems than previously thought. Pollination processes become more efficient, and the pollination network soon becomes more resilient. ... read more

Scat Sniffer Dogs Tell Researchers a Lot About Endangered Lizards

Jan. 31, 2017 — Dogs can be trained to find almost anything, but one researcher had them detect something a little unusual -- the scat of endangered blunt-nosed leopard lizards. The dogs helped find out how ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — A new study has highlighted the minute details of how the plant's immune system leads to its ability to resist disease. Researchers said the finding was significant as food security was an ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — The process of synthesizing many important master proteins in plants involves extensive modification, or 'tagging' by sugars after the protein is assembled, research shows. Their work ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Mountain regions of the world are under direct threat from human-induced climate change which could radically alter these fragile habitats, warn an international team of ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — An invasive dune plant has an advantage over its native counterpart: the invasive is better at preventing erosion of dunes during big storms, report ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — Plants emit odors in response to herbivory. A new study reveals that the odor bouquet changes depending on the type of enemy that attacks the plant. To the surprise of the researchers involved, ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — There are about 400,000 species of plants in the world. Humans use approximately 10-15% of them to cover our basic needs, such as food, medicine and shelter, as well as other needs, such as ... read more

New Findings on How Plants Manage Immune Response

Jan. 19, 2017 — New research has uncovered a previously unknown means by which plants are able to regulate how their immune systems respond to ... read more

Jan. 19, 2017 — A new study demonstrates how herbaria can be valuable resources for studying the impact over time of large herbivores on perennial plant populations. The study uses historically collected plant ... read more

Wheat Virus Crosses Over, Harms Native Grasses

Jan. 17, 2017 — Once upon a time, it was thought that crop diseases affected only crops. New research shows, however, that a common wheat virus can spread and harm perennial native ... read more

New Tools Will Drive Greater Understanding of Wheat Genes

Jan. 16, 2017 — Scientists have developed a much-needed genetic resource that will greatly accelerate the study of gene functions in wheat. The resource, a collection of wheat seeds with more than 10 million ... read more

Soil Fungi Help Tree Seedlings Survive, Influence Forest Diversity

Jan. 13, 2017 — The relationship between soil fungi and tree seedlings is more complicated than previously known, new research ... read more

Jan. 13, 2017 — Scientists have made a breakthrough in understanding how valuable anti-cancer compounds are produced in the Madagascar Periwinkle (Catharanthus ... read more

Jan. 12, 2017 — Rainforests on infertile wet soils support more than half of all plant species. Shrublands on infertile dry soils in southwestern Australia, jokingly called 'knee-high tropical ... read more

This Bay in Scandinavia Has World Record in Carbon Storing

Jan. 12, 2017 — Forests are potent carbon sinks, but also the oceans' seagrasses can store enormous amounts of carbon. A little bay in Denmark stores a record amount of carbon. Here is the ... read more

Jan. 12, 2017 — In order to improve our understanding of the impact climate change has on plant life in the Antarctic, researchers have just signed a co-operation agreement on moss research. The biologists will join ... read more

Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Friday, November 25, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016