NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Endangered Plants News
February 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:55pm EST

More Endangered Plants News
February 24, 2017

Impact of Climate Change on Mammals and Birds 'Greatly Underestimated'

Feb. 13, 2017 — Large numbers of threatened species have already been impacted by climate change, new research concludes. Alarmingly, this team of international researchers found evidence of observed responses to ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Scientists have discovered why the green peach aphid (Myzus persicae) is one of the most destructive pests to many of our most important crops. Their research will inform industry and research ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Invisible to the naked eye, cyst nematodes are a major threat to agriculture, causing billions of dollars in global crop losses every year. A group of plant scientists recently found one of the ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Scientists have developed a technique for introducing proteins into plant cells using plasma treatment. Their method could have multiple applications in plant research and ... read more

Bluebells May Fail to Flourish as Warmer Days Speed Start of Spring

Feb. 10, 2017 — Bluebells and some other spring flowers appear to be slipping out of sync with spring, as changes in seasonal temperatures alter the optimum time for them to come into leaf or flower, a new study has ... read more

The Origin of Stem Cells

Feb. 8, 2017 — The protein WOX2 is responsible for enabling plants to develop organs throughout their ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new discovery of a type of autophagy could lead to new methods for controlling aging in plants, report ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — Nearly a decade after being logged, vegetation in forested areas severely burned by California's Cone Fire in 2002 was relatively similar to areas untouched by logging equipment. The findings of ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — Removing exotic plant species has a much greater impact on ecosystems than previously thought. Pollination processes become more efficient, and the pollination network soon becomes more resilient. ... read more

Scat Sniffer Dogs Tell Researchers a Lot About Endangered Lizards

Jan. 31, 2017 — Dogs can be trained to find almost anything, but one researcher had them detect something a little unusual -- the scat of endangered blunt-nosed leopard lizards. The dogs helped find out how ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — A new study has highlighted the minute details of how the plant's immune system leads to its ability to resist disease. Researchers said the finding was significant as food security was an ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — The process of synthesizing many important master proteins in plants involves extensive modification, or 'tagging' by sugars after the protein is assembled, research shows. Their work ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Mountain regions of the world are under direct threat from human-induced climate change which could radically alter these fragile habitats, warn an international team of ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — An invasive dune plant has an advantage over its native counterpart: the invasive is better at preventing erosion of dunes during big storms, report ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — Plants emit odors in response to herbivory. A new study reveals that the odor bouquet changes depending on the type of enemy that attacks the plant. To the surprise of the researchers involved, ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — There are about 400,000 species of plants in the world. Humans use approximately 10-15% of them to cover our basic needs, such as food, medicine and shelter, as well as other needs, such as ... read more

New Findings on How Plants Manage Immune Response

Jan. 19, 2017 — New research has uncovered a previously unknown means by which plants are able to regulate how their immune systems respond to ... read more

Jan. 19, 2017 — A new study demonstrates how herbaria can be valuable resources for studying the impact over time of large herbivores on perennial plant populations. The study uses historically collected plant ... read more

Wheat Virus Crosses Over, Harms Native Grasses

Jan. 17, 2017 — Once upon a time, it was thought that crop diseases affected only crops. New research shows, however, that a common wheat virus can spread and harm perennial native ... read more

New Tools Will Drive Greater Understanding of Wheat Genes

Jan. 16, 2017 — Scientists have developed a much-needed genetic resource that will greatly accelerate the study of gene functions in wheat. The resource, a collection of wheat seeds with more than 10 million ... read more

Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Friday, November 25, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016