NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Personalized Medicine News
February 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:04am EST

More Personalized Medicine News
February 27, 2017

Alzheimer's Drug Prescribed Off-Label Could Pose Risk for Some

Feb. 25, 2017 — Donepezil, a medication that is approved to treat people with Alzheimer's disease, should not be prescribed for people with mild cognitive impairment without a genetic test. Researchers ... read more

Direct-to-Consumer Genomics: Harmful or Empowering?

Feb. 23, 2017 — In a new study, a research explores questions that stem from new advances in direct-to-consumer DNA tests, which have the effect of separating the physician-patient relationship from access to new ... read more

Scientists Identify Aggressive Pancreatic Cancer Cells and Their Vulnerability

Feb. 9, 2017 — A series of preclinical experiments using patient-derived tumor xenografts (PDXs) and mouse models point to potential treatments for patients with a rapidly-progressing and resistant subgroup of ... read more

Study of Complex Genetic Region Finds Hidden Role of NCF1 in Multiple Autoimmune Diseases

Feb. 8, 2017 — Investigators report pre-clinical research showing that a genetic variant encoded in neutrophil cystolic factor 1 (NCF1) is associated with increased risk for autoimmune diseases, including systemic ... read more

Researchers Identify 'Synthetic Essentiality' as Novel Approach for Locating Cancer Therapy Targets

Feb. 6, 2017 — A new method has been found for identifying therapeutic targets in cancers lacking specific key tumor suppressor genes. The process, which located a genetic site for the most common form of prostate ... read more

New Treatment Regimen Extends Life for Some Men With Recurrent Prostate Cancer, Study Finds

Feb. 2, 2017 — Adding hormonal therapy to radiation treatment can significantly improve the average long-term survival of men with prostate cancer who have had their prostate gland removed, according to a new ... read more

Genetic Study Uncovers Potential New Treatments for Inflammatory Diseases

Feb. 1, 2017 — Researchers have studied over ten million DNA variations and found new links between the human genome and inflammation tracers. The study uncovered new possibilities for treatment of diseases such as ... read more

Updated Cystic Fibrosis Diagnosis Guidelines Can Help in Diagnosis, Personalized Treatment

Jan. 31, 2017 — An international research group of 32 experts from nine countries has updated the guidelines for diagnosing the genetic disease cystic fibrosis. The researchers expect that these guidelines will ... read more

Epigenetic Diversity in Childhood Cancer

Jan. 30, 2017 — Tumors of the elderly carry many DNA mutations that can influence disease course. In contrast, much fewer genetic variants exist in childhood cancers, leaving their clinical diversity unexplained. ... read more

Genome Editing in Clinical Genetics: Points to Consider

Jan. 27, 2017 — Genome editing, including CRISPR/Cas9, is a new and notable technology that enables geneticists and researchers to edit parts of the human genome. The American College of Medical Genetics and ... read more

Scientists Describe Lab Technique With Potential to Change Medicine and Research

Jan. 26, 2017 — Researchers who developed and tested a revolutionary laboratory technique that allows for the endless growth of normal and diseased cells in a laboratory are publicly sharing how the technique ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — Engineers have developed methods to observe gene editing in action, and they’re putting those capabilities to work to improve genetic engineering ... read more

Precision Medicine Advances Pediatric Brain Tumor Diagnosis and Treatment

Jan. 19, 2017 — In the largest clinical study to date of genetic abnormalities in pediatric brain tumors, researchers performed clinical testing on more than 200 tumor samples and found that a majority had genetic ... read more

Best Treatment Option Written in Cancer's Genetic Script

Jan. 16, 2017 — An international collaboration has shown proof-of-concept that truly personalized therapy will be possible in the future for people with cancer. Details of how a knowledge bank could be used to find ... read more

New Research Holds Promise for Personalized Lung Cancer Treatments

Jan. 12, 2017 — New research has uncovered distinct types of tumors within small cell lung cancer that look and act differently from one another. Scientists also identified a targeted drug combination that worked ... read more

Common Epilepsies Share Genetic Overlap With Rare Types

Jan. 10, 2017 — Several genes implicated in rare forms of pediatric epilepsy also contribute to common forms of the disorder, new research has ... read more

Computer Models Could Help Design Physical Therapy Regimens

Jan. 10, 2017 — Researchers have developed a computational walking model that could help guide patients to their best possible recovery after a ... read more

Unique Gene Signature Predicts Potentially Lethal Prostate Cancers

Jan. 10, 2017 — Standard therapy for prostate cancer, the third-leading cause of cancer-related deaths in American men, is based on blocking androgens, the male sex hormones. However, for some men, prostate cancer ... read more

Researchers Discover New Subtype of Cervical Cancer

Jan. 10, 2017 — Scientists have identified a new subtype of cervical cancer that may explain why a fraction of cervical cancer patients do not respond to standard ... read more

Jan. 10, 2017 — A landmark study has revealed the reason why men with a family history of prostate cancer who also carry the BRCA2 gene fault have a more aggressive form of prostate ... read more

Saturday, February 25, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Saturday, December 3, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016