Personalized Medicine News
February 13, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:33pm EST

More Personalized Medicine News
February 13, 2016

Feb. 10, 2016 — A cardio-oncology program is focusing on modulating the risk factors for cardiovascular disease in men, especially those receiving androgen deprivation therapy (ADT) to treat their prostate ... read more

Professors Use Cadaver DNA to Advance Genetics Literacy in Medical Curricula

Feb. 9, 2016 — Cadavers have long been one of the most important resources for anatomy teaching in medical school. Now, they are also at the forefront of cutting-edge genetics teaching, thanks to some innovative ... read more

Proteomics and Precision Medicine

Feb. 5, 2016 — Researchers have used personalized proteomics to devise a successful treatment strategy for a patient with uveitis, a potentially blinding eye disease that can have many causes, making it ... read more

Single-Lesion Biopsy May Be Insufficient to Choose Therapy Targeting Resistance Mutations

Feb. 5, 2016 — When metastatic tumors driven by drug-targetable genetic mutations become resistant to a targeted therapy drug, the usual practice is to test a single metastatic lesion for new mutations that can ... read more

Researchers Patent New Methods That Allow Them to Identify the Cells Causing Metastasis in Cancer

Feb. 4, 2016 — Researchers have patented a new method that allows to identify the cells causing metastasis in cancer, with a simple blood ... read more

Making the Leap from Sequence Data to Actionable Targets in Clinical Oncology

Feb. 1, 2016 — The ever-shrinking cost of DNA sequencing improves accessibility for an increasing number of people and, importantly, for the diagnosis and treatment of disease. This is particularly salient in ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Clinical genomic sequencing is feasible in pediatric oncology and can be used to recommend therapy or pinpoint diagnosis in children with solid tumors, according to the multi-center ... read more

In Lung Cancer, Not All HER2 Alterations Are Created Equal

Jan. 28, 2016 — Study shows two distinct causes of HER2 activation in lung cancer: mutation of the gene and amplification of the gene. In patient samples of lung adenocarcinoma, 3 percent were found to have HER2 ... read more

Inherited Genetic Markers May Predict Melanoma Survival -- And Help Plot Course of Disease

Jan. 20, 2016 — How long will a patient survive following the removal of a melanoma tumor? A more definitive answer to that question could come from new studies. Researchers there have discovered an inherited ... read more

Important Associations Between Genetics, Sleep Behavior Identified by Study

Jan. 12, 2016 — A research initiative exploring the utility of genetic information in the clinical setting has published a study and identified six noteworthy genes that affect human sleep duration. The focus of the ... read more

Epigenetic Regulation of Metastatic Breast Cancer Progression May Guide Prognosis, Future Therapy

Jan. 7, 2016 — A gene that plays a role in the development of breast cancer to metastatic disease has been identified which may help to predict disease progression and serve as a target for the development of ... read more

New Approach to Diagnosing Low Back Pain, Revealed by Clinical Study

Jan. 7, 2016 — A new, personalized approach to diagnosing low back pain has been discovered by researchers. Low back pain is the second most common cause of physician visits in the US and contributes to an ... read more

Lung Cancer Clinical Trial Finds Lung Function Without Additional Imaging

Jan. 6, 2016 — A clinical trial is evaluating a new method for pinpointing and sparing healthy lung tissue during lung cancer radiotherapy. The group is applying advanced image analysis techniques to 4D CT scans ... read more

Jan. 6, 2016 — Researchers have found the 'bad seeds' of liver cancer and believe they could one day reprogram them to remain responsive to cancer treatment, a new study has found. The key to disrupting ... read more

Novel RNA Delivery System May Treat Incurable Blood Cancers

Jan. 5, 2016 — Mantle Cell Lymphoma is considered the most aggressive known blood cancer, and available therapies are scarce. A new study offers tangible hope of curing the currently incurable cancer -- and others ... read more

Radiation an Important Addition to Treatment for Pancreatic Cancer Surgery Candidates

Jan. 5, 2016 — Radiation therapy was associated with a lower risk of cancer recurrence in pancreatic cancer surgery patients, making it, like chemotherapy, an important addition to treatment, new research found. ... read more

Jan. 4, 2016 — A gene that is known to suppress the growth and spread of many types of cancer has the opposite effect in some forms of colorectal cancer, researchers have found. It is a finding that may lay the ... read more

Improving Access to Clinical Trials When Biopsies Are Required

Jan. 4, 2016 — The requirement for tumor tissue specimens and associated analyses in order to participate in clinical trials appears to be a significant barrier to clinical trial enrollment and may delay treatment. ... read more

Three Hits to Fight Lung Cancer

Jan. 4, 2016 — Cancers with KRAS-related gene mutations might benefit from a triple therapy with two experimental drugs plus radiation therapy, a new study in mice has ... read more

Personalizing Cancer Therapies May Combat Resistance to Targeted Therapy Drugs

Dec. 23, 2015 — American physicians report the case of a patients whose lung cancer was re-sensitized to crizotinib, a first-generation targeted therapy drug, by a mutation conferring resistance to a more selective, ... read more

Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Saturday, December 12, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Saturday, October 10, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015