Personalized Medicine News
July 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:33pm EDT

More Personalized Medicine News
July 30, 2016

Updated Testing Guidelines Make More Women Eligible for Herceptin, Yet Benefit Uncertain

July 27, 2016 — Changes to HER2 testing guidelines for breast cancer in 2013 significantly increased the number of patients who test HER2-positive, according to a new study. Cancers that have an excess of HER2 ... read more

Simplifying Access to Gene Testing for Women With Ovarian Cancer

July 13, 2016 — A new streamlined approach to genetic testing for women with ovarian cancer provides testing rapidly and affordably, allowing many more patients to benefit from personalized cancer management and ... read more

Novel Discovery Improves Profiling of Acute Myeloid Leukemia Patients for Targeted Therapies

July 8, 2016 — Researchers have identified a set of genes, including DNMT3A, that could potentially be used to predict clinical outcomes of patients who suffer from a type of Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) associated ... read more

Cancer Cell Lines Predict Drug Response and Accelerate Personalized Medicine

July 7, 2016 — Research has shown that patient-derived cancer cell lines harbor most of the same genetic changes found in patients' tumors, and could be used to learn how tumors are likely to respond to new ... read more

Genetic Testing Can Help Deliver Precision Medicine to Men With Advanced Prostate Cancer

July 7, 2016 — Genetic testing in men with advanced prostate cancer could pick up a significant proportion whose disease may be caused by inherited mutations in genes involved in repairing DNA damage, a major new ... read more

New Consensus Guidelines on the Management of Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

July 6, 2016 — New consensus guidelines have been released for the management of metastatic colorectal cancer that reflect an increasingly personalized approach to ... read more

'Omics' Data Improves Breast Cancer Survival Prediction

July 6, 2016 — Precise predictions of whether a tumor is likely to spread would help clinicians and patients choose the best course of treatment. But current methods fall short of the precision needed. New research ... read more

New Targeted Gene Therapy Could Lead to Improved Treatment for Emphysema

July 5, 2016 — Researchers have developed a new strategy using lung-targeted gene therapy that may lead to improved treatments for inherited diseases including ... read more

Genetic Mutations Found Linked to Rare Cases of Multiple Bowel Tumors

July 5, 2016 — Researchers have identified genetic mutations affecting the immune system which may lead to the development of more than one bowel tumour at the same time. Understanding how these cancers develop ... read more

July 4, 2016 — A study that is first of its kind has looked at how far genetic factors control the immune cell response to pathogens in healthy individuals. A team investigated the response of immune cells from 200 ... read more

How Will Genomics Enter Day-to-Day Medicine?

June 30, 2016 — A quiet transformation has been brewing in medicine, as large-scale DNA results become increasingly available to patients and healthcare providers. Amid a cascade of data, physicians, counselors and ... read more

Epigenetics: New Tool for Precision Medicine

June 27, 2016 — Four new papers mark the feasibility of epigenetic analysis for clinical diagnostics and precision medicine. Epigenetic analysis addresses key limitations of genetic testing, helping to ensure that ... read more

Genetic Signatures Expose Drug Susceptibility in Breast Cancer Cells

June 25, 2016 — A genomics approach has unmasked genetic signatures in breast cancer cells that predict their sensitivity to certain drugs. The findings provide proof of concept for personalized pharmaceutical ... read more

Aggressiveness of Acute Myeloid Leukemia Elucidated

June 24, 2016 — Scientists have discovered why acute leukemias with the same genetic abnormality vary in their aggressiveness based on their cellular origin. They found that the cancer inducing alteration is ... read more

Researchers Discover How Faulty Genetic Instructions Drive a Deadly Blood Cancer in Adults

June 23, 2016 — A study has uncovered the genetic mechanism for how acute myeloid leukemia cells with a specific DNA mutation stay as undifferentiated cells, rather than maturing into healthy blood ... read more

Chemical Signal Can Make It Easier to Personalize Medication

June 23, 2016 — An international research team has searched for possible non-genetic causes of common immune diseases and discovered that there is a signal called hydroxymetylcytosine (HMC) in many regions of DNA, ... read more

Discovery of an Epigenetic Regulator of Tumorigenesis Suggests New Strategies Against Lethal Forms of Breast Cancer

June 23, 2016 — Scientists have identified a previously unknown mechanism by which a protein called CBX8 promotes tumor growth in the most lethal forms of breast cancer. The study underscores the need for cancer ... read more

Genetic Clue to How Patients Respond to Treatment for Parkinson's Disease

June 23, 2016 — Researchers have identified a gene variant which explains why some patients with Parkinson’s Disease respond well to drug treatment and other do ... read more

Precision Medicine Introduced to Psychiatry

June 21, 2016 — New research is highlighting the potential merits of using precision medicine in prescribing antidepressants. Eleven percent of Americans 12 years and older have been prescribed antidepressant ... read more

Large-Scale Genetic Study Provides New Insight Into the Causes of Migraine

June 20, 2016 — An international research consortium has identified almost 30 new genetic risk factors for common migraine. Many of these risk variants localize inside or close to genes that regulate the vascular ... read more

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Saturday, June 25, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016