Personalized Medicine News
May 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:34pm EDT

More Personalized Medicine News
May 27, 2016

Proteins Key to Unlocking Cancer for National Cancer Moonshot

May 23, 2016 — The National Cancer Moonshot initiative needs to move beyond genomics to target the proteins that are driving cancer, according to a new ... read more

Genetic Biomarker May Predict Nerve Pain Side Effects Associated With Prostate Cancer Treatment

May 13, 2016 — Taxanes are a group of drugs commonly used to treat cancers of the breast, lung, ovary, or prostate, but its use can be limited by significant side effects. Researchers report prostate cancer ... read more

Blood Marker Determines Who Will Respond to Colorectal Cancer Drug

May 13, 2016 — Cancer researchers have identified a marker that shows up in a blood test that determines which patients with colorectal cancer that has spread would benefit from receiving the drug ... read more

Prostate Cancer Screening Guidelines Called Into Question

May 5, 2016 — Researchers discuss their findings related to PSA screening, and urge reconsideration of prostate cancer screening after finding critical flaw in landmark ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Only a few cells in a cancerous tumor are able to break away and spread to other parts of the body, but the curve along the edge of the tumor may play a large role in activating these tumor-seeding ... read more

Exercise Genes? Study Suggests Certain People With Depression May Benefit from Exercise

Apr. 27, 2016 — Call it personalized medicine for depression -- but the prescription in this case is exercise, which researchers have found helps people with certain genetic ... read more

Minimally Invasive Colitis Screening Using Infrared Technology Could Offer Fast, Simple Test

Apr. 26, 2016 — A minimally invasive screening for ulcerative colitis, a debilitating gastrointestinal tract disorder, using emerging infrared technology could be a rapid and cost-effective method for detecting ... read more

Altered Primary Chromatin Structures: Implications in Cancer Development

Apr. 25, 2016 — Alterations in the primary structure of chromatin resulting from imprecise arrangements of nucleosomes along DNA has been the focus of recent research, and in particular, its functional implications ... read more

Older Adults Need Better Blood Pressure and Cholesterol Control to Prevent Cardiovascular Disease

Apr. 22, 2016 — Prevention of cardiovascular events in elderly patients presents a therapeutic challenge because this age group is generally underrepresented in clinical trials, and doctors often assume that it is ... read more

New Neurodevelopmental Syndrome Identified

Apr. 21, 2016 — A new neurodevelopmental syndrome and the genetic mutation that causes it has been identified by a team of researchers. The discovery was made by performing whole-exome sequencing of patients with an ... read more

Rare Pediatric Cancer Successfully Treated With New Targeted Therapy

Apr. 19, 2016 — When a baby's life was threatened by a rare pediatric cancer that would not respond to surgery or chemotherapy, doctors successfully shrank the tumor by 90 percent using an experimental ... read more

First Computer Program Developed to Detect DNA Mutations in Single Cancer Cells

Apr. 19, 2016 — A new method for detecting DNA mutations in a single cancer cell has been announced. This is in comparison to current technology that analyzes millions of cells which they believe could have ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Cancer is rarely the result of a single mutation in a single gene. Rather, tumors arise from the complex interplay between any number of mutually exclusive abnormal changes in the genome, the ... read more

Apr. 15, 2016 — As medical professionals search for new ways to personalize diagnosis and treatment of disease, researchers have already put into practice what may be the next big step in precision medicine: ... read more

Study Uncovers Genetic Variation That Predicted Type and Rate of Physical Decline in Patients With Parkinson's Disease

Apr. 14, 2016 — A site of genetic variation has been found that identified which patients with Parkinson's disease are more likely to have tremors versus difficulty with balance and walking. The team also found ... read more

Specific Gene in the Tumor Determines the Effectiveness of Cancer Treatment

Apr. 14, 2016 — A cancer treatment can be basically effective but, equally, it may have negative consequences. Therefore, it has not been possible to determine prior to treatment whether a patient will benefit from ... read more

Researchers Discover Liver Metastases Have Different Radiation Sensitivities

Apr. 12, 2016 — Radiation is a commonly used therapeutic option to treat liver metastases, with the majority of tumors maintained under control after one year. However, some patients do not respond as well to ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — When a targeted therapy blocks a pathway that enables tumors to grow, the cells usually manage to get around that obstacle. The result is drug resistance. Researchers have now found a way to map ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — A new computational tool successfully tested in a small pilot trial harnesses clinical data to predict the optimal drug dose for an ... read more

Precision Medicine Brings New Hope to Those With Advanced Urothelial Cancer

Apr. 4, 2016 — Five of six patients with advanced metastatic urothelial cancer and one of two specific genetic abnormalities responded to treatment with afatinib, approved in 2013 for lung cancer. One patient with ... read more

Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Saturday, December 12, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015