Nervous System News
April 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:01pm EDT

More Nervous System News
April 29, 2016

Apr. 26, 2016 — The Allen Institute for Brain Science has announced major updates to its online resources available at brain-map.org, including a new resource on Aging, Dementia and Traumatic Brain Injury. The ... read more

New Light Shed on Causes of Movement Disorders in Parkinson's Disease

Apr. 26, 2016 — A possible cause has been found for the disrupted communication between brain cells exhibited by Parkinson's patients. Researchers have discovered that this group of patients have increased ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — Anxiety and depression are two of the most frequently occurring mental disorders worldwide. Light-activated nerve cells may indicate how they are formed, report ... read more

Regenerating Brain Tissue Brings Hope for a New Treatment Against Alzheimer's and Parkinson’s

Apr. 25, 2016 — Researchers developed a nanogel that enables the growth of new neurons. Working with animal models, researchers were able to cross the electroencephalic barrier, introduce a nanogel and achieve the ... read more

New Advance Announced in Fight Against Parkinson's, Alzheimer's

Apr. 25, 2016 — A lab-based study seems to have discovered a way of 'reversing' symptoms for Parkinson's and Alzheimer's diseases. The researchers have demonstrated that genetic and ... read more

Unique Mouse Model for Studying ALS Developed

Apr. 21, 2016 — A unique mouse model has been developed that will allow researchers around the world to better study the genetic origins and potential treatments for a neurodegenerative brain disease that causes ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Because billions of neurons are packed into our brain, the neuronal circuits that are responsible for controlling our behaviors are by necessity highly intermingled. This tangled web makes it ... read more

A New Player Revealed in Nerve Growth Process

Apr. 20, 2016 — A protein previously known for its role in kidney function, adaptor protein CD2AP, also plays a significant role in the nervous system, and is associated with a type of neural growth known as ... read more

New Role for Immature Brain Neurons in the Dentate Gyrus Identified

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers present data and a simple statistical network model that describe an unanticipated property of newly formed, immature neurons in the dentate gyrus. The model resolves a seeming paradox in ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — Chronic brain diseases such as epilepsy involve disturbances of the brain's electrical activity. Finding new and better ways to correct them is the dream of millions of patients, their ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — The flu and other viral infections have long been known to cause mood changes, beyond the more familiar symptoms of fever and sore throat. A study in mice now reveals how the antiviral immune ... read more

A Breath of Fresh Air: Scientists Reveal How the Brain Generates Respiratory Rhythm

Apr. 19, 2016 — Computational modeling shows the mechanisms by which a diverse group of neurons in the brainstem cause humans to ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — An underlying cause of dangerous immune suppression in people with high level spinal cord injuries has been identified by researchers who now propose a possible treatment. They report that spinal ... read more

New Study Examines the Effect of Ecstasy on the Brain

Apr. 18, 2016 — The effect ecstasy has on different parts of the brain has been the focus of recent study. Researchers found that ecstasy users showed significant reductions in the way serotonin is transported in ... read more

Smoking and Schizophrenia: Understanding, Breaking the Cycle of Addiction

Apr. 18, 2016 — Smoking addiction in schizophrenia can be explained by significantly increased activation of the ventro-medial prefrontal cortex (vmPFC), a region involved in the brain reward system. These new data ... read more

Too Much 'Noise' Can Affect Brain Development

Apr. 15, 2016 — Using cutting-edge imaging technology, biologists have determined that uncontrolled fluctuations (known as "noise") in the concentration of the vitamin A derivative Retinoic acid (RA) can ... read more

Immune Cells Help the Brain to Self-Heal After a Stroke

Apr. 15, 2016 — After a stroke, there is inflammation in the damaged part of the brain. Until now, the inflammation has been seen as a negative consequence that needs to be abolished as soon as possible. But, as it ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Falling asleep and waking up are key transitions in everyone's day. Despite decades of research, how these transitions work -- the neurobiological mechanics of our circadian rhythm -- has ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Improved rabies virus technology maps neurons across large swaths of nervous ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — New research is enabling a quadriplegic Ohio man to regain his ability to pick up objects, stir liquids and even play video games -- using his own ... read more

Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Saturday, April 9, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Saturday, April 2, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016