Nervous System News
July 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:31pm EDT

More Nervous System News
July 27, 2016

HD Monkeys Display Full Spectrum of Symptoms Seen in Humans

July 21, 2016 — Transgenic Huntington's disease monkeys display a full spectrum of symptoms resembling the human disease, strengthening the case that they could be used to evaluate emerging treatments before ... read more

Brains of College Athletes With Prior Concussion Show Physical Changes Months, Years Later

July 21, 2016 — University athletes with a history of concussion had changes in the size, blood flow and connections in their brains months and even years after the injury -- changes not seen in athletes without ... read more

Scientists Apply New Imaging Tool to Common Brain Disorders

July 20, 2016 — A new approach has been developed to scanning the brain for changes in synapses that are associated with common brain disorders. The technique may provide insights into the diagnosis and treatment of ... read more

July 20, 2016 — The contact points of cells in the cerebral cortex form functional ... read more

July 20, 2016 — A new study has uncovered details of how a type of immune cell helps the brain get rid of the tiny amyloid-beta aggregates that can clump together to form the plaques characteristic of ... read more

People Estimate Their Own Abilities Based on Others' Performance

July 20, 2016 — Ratings of our own abilities are strongly influenced by the performance of others, according to a new study. Interacting with high performers makes us feel more capable in cooperative team settings, ... read more

Antibody-Based Drug for Multiple Sclerosis

July 19, 2016 — A research team has developed an antibody with potential therapeutic effects against multiple sclerosis. The study paves the way for a new strategy to control the disease, say the ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Scientists have shown that the most common genetic cause of Parkinson's disease -- a mutant LRRK2 kinase enzyme -- contributes to the formation of inclusions in neurons, resembling one of the ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Researchers have found how sensory nerve cells work together to transmit itch signals from the skin to the spinal cord, where neurons then carry those signals to the brain. Their discovery may ... read more

Toxic Alzheimer's Protein Spreads Through Brain Via Extracellular Space

July 18, 2016 — A toxic Alzheimer's protein can spread through the brain via the extracellular space that surrounds the brain's neurons, finds a new ... read more

Body-Mind Meditation Can Boost Attention and Health, Lower Stress

July 18, 2016 — Meditation has long been promoted as a way to feel more at peace. But research shows it can significantly improve attention, working memory, creativity, immune function, emotional regulation, ... read more

The Architecture of Audition: Study Shows Auditory Cortex of Hearing, Deaf People Are Nearly Identical

July 17, 2016 — The neural architecture in the auditory cortex -- the part of the brain that processes sound -- of profoundly deaf and hearing people is virtually identical, a new study has found. The study raises a ... read more

Repeated Stimulation Treatment Can Restore Movement to Paralyzed Muscles

July 15, 2016 — A new patient study could open a new opportunity to rehabilitate patients with spinal cord damage, say investigators. This study represents the first time that attempts were made to rehabilitate ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Every time you move around, you are turning on genes in your brain. A study in mice shows that if such genes get stuck in the "on" position, the consequences can include faulty brain wiring ... read more

Promising New Insights Into ALS

July 14, 2016 — Research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) has led to interesting and unexpected conclusions. When scientists were investigating the relevance of the higher expression of the IP3R2 protein in ... read more

July 13, 2016 — While measuring brain activity with magnetic resonance imaging during blood pressure trials, researchers found that men and women had opposite responses in the right front of the insular cortex, a ... read more

July 13, 2016 — The majority of cases of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) are unknown. Now researchers have created a "mini-brain" model, derived from persons with a particular form of idiopathic ASD ... read more

Drug-Use May Hamper Moral Judgment

July 13, 2016 — Regular cocaine and methamphetamine users can have difficulty choosing between right and wrong, perhaps because the specific parts of their brains used for moral processing and evaluating emotions ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Researchers have identified a new biological pathway involved in Alzheimer's disease. In experiments using fruit flies, blocking the pathway reduced the death of brain cells, suggesting that ... read more

July 12, 2016 — A new understanding of how developing brain cells come to rely on oxygen may inform the treatment of brain diseases. The findings reveal a metabolic route thought to go awry in cancer and ... read more

Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Sunday, July 17, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016