NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Nervous System News
October 21, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:02pm EDT

More Nervous System News
October 21, 2016

Advances Made in Alzheimer's Research

Oct. 20, 2016 — A major advance has been made in Alzheimer’s research, say researchers. They showed how a diseased vertebrate brain can naturally react to Alzheimer’s pathology by forming more neurons. Two ... read more

Visual Cortex Plays Role in Plasticity of Eye Movement Reflex

Oct. 12, 2016 — The visual cortex – a region of the brain known to process sensory information – plays a key role in promoting the plasticity of innate, spontaneous eye movements, according to a ... read more

Oct. 11, 2016 — The African naked mole rat is an odd, homely creature with the closest thing to real-life super powers on earth. These small rodents can live for 32 years, they are cancer-resistant, and they are ... read more

New Study Finds 'Amplifier' Helps Make Connections in the Fetal Brain

Oct. 11, 2016 — Early neural connections are sparse, weak, and unreliable. Now researchers have discovered that fetal brains use a special amplifier in order to transmit ... read more

Research Team Maps Genomic Landscape of Schwannoma Tumors

Oct. 10, 2016 — Researchers have described the genomic landscape of schwannomas in a new paper. Schwannomas are one of the most common posterior fossa brain tumors and the most common spinal ... read more

What's Really Going on in PTSD Brains? Experts Suggest New Theory

Oct. 7, 2016 — PTSD experts agree that the condition has its roots in very real, physical processes within the brain – and not some sort of psychological “weakness”. But no clear consensus has emerged about ... read more

Research Uncovers a New Disruption at the Root of Parkinson's Disease

Oct. 7, 2016 — Leading-edge research has shown for the first time that a malfunctioning stress-coping mechanism in the brain is at the root of Parkinson’s disease. Genetic mutations that cause Parkinson’s ... read more

Oct. 7, 2016 — Mathematical modeling of the brain scans of patients with Alzheimer's disease and others at risk for the devastating neurodegenerative disorder has identified specific patterns of brain atrophy ... read more

Aberrant Tau Proteins Put Neuronal Networks to Sleep

Oct. 7, 2016 — Researchers present new findings on the role of the protein Tau in certain brain diseases. Their report, which is based on laboratory studies, suggests that the drug “Rolofylline” could possibly ... read more

Oct. 6, 2016 — Researchers have created a new way to design and fabricate microfibers that support cell growth and could be useful tools for reconnecting nerves and regenerating other damaged ... read more

Women's Better Verbal Memory Skills May Mask Early Signs of Alzheimer's

Oct. 6, 2016 — Women may have better verbal memory skills than men even when their brains show the same level of problems metabolizing glucose, which occurs in people with Alzheimer’s disease, according to ... read more

Oct. 5, 2016 — Your gut may play a pivotal role in preventing the onset of Parkinson's disease. And the reason may be its knack for ... read more

Stimulating Neurons Could Protect Against Brain Damage

Oct. 4, 2016 — A breakthrough in understanding how brain damage spreads – and how it could potentially be limited – has been made through a collaboration between neuroscientists and ... read more

Developing Brain Regions in Children Hardest Hit by Sleep Deprivation

Oct. 4, 2016 — Sleep is vital for humans. If adults remain awake for longer than usual, the brain responds with an increased need for deep sleep. This is measured in the form of "slow wave activity" using ... read more

Unraveling Roundworm Nerve Regeneration Mechanism Could Aid Nerve Injury Treatment

Oct. 4, 2016 — The detailed molecular mechanisms behind regrowth of severed nerves in roundworms have been explained by researchers in a new report. This could lead to treatments promoting human recovery from nerve ... read more

Oct. 3, 2016 — Cranial neural crest cells -- which give rise to the bones and cartilage of the skull -- are vulnerable to Zika virus. The discovery, made by infecting in vitro cultures of human cells, offers a ... read more

Oct. 3, 2016 — People with spinal cord injuries suffer from many complications in addition to paralysis and numbness. Some of these problems are caused by a lack of the neurotransmitter GABA in the injured spinal ... read more

Oct. 3, 2016 — Tau PET is a new and promising imaging method for Alzheimer's disease. A case study now confirms that tau PET images correspond to a higher degree to actual changes in the brain. According to ... read more

Abnormal Brain Protein May Contribute to Alzheimer's Disease Development

Sep. 30, 2016 — A recently-recognized pathologic protein in the brain may play a larger role in the development of clinical Alzheimer’s disease dementia than previously recognized, according to a new study of ... read more

Sep. 30, 2016 — When exposed to cold, clusters of cells within the body's white fat become beige -- a color change that reflects the creation of more energy-producing mitochondria, cellular components that ... read more

Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Sunday, September 18, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016