Nervous System News
April 29, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 5:28pm EDT

More Nervous System News
April 29, 2017

Apr. 24, 2017 — Cells in the brain’s master circadian clock synchronize voltage rhythms despite asynchronous calcium rhythms, which might explain how a tissue-wide rhythm is ... read more

Apr. 20, 2017 — New research overturns a long-standing paradigm about how axons grow during embryonic development. The findings of the study could help scientists replicate or control the way axons grow, which may ... read more

Hearing Tests Miss Common Form of Hearing Loss, Study Shows

Apr. 20, 2017 — Traditional clinical hearing tests often fail to diagnose patients with a common form of inner ear damage that might otherwise be detected by more challenging behavioral tests, according to new ... read more

Apr. 20, 2017 — Damaging tangles of the protein tau dot the brains of people with neurodegenerative diseases like Alzheimer's and boxer's dementia. Now, a team of scientists has found a way to measure tau ... read more

Crucial 'Traffic Regulator' in Neurons Discovered by Cell Biologists

Apr. 19, 2017 — Cell biologists have discovered the protein that may be the crucial traffic regulator for the transport of vital molecules inside nerve cells. When this traffic regulator is removed, the flow of ... read more

Apr. 19, 2017 — Drinking a beetroot juice supplement before working out makes the brain of older adults perform more efficiently, mirroring the operations of a younger brain, according to a new ... read more

Apr. 18, 2017 — New evidence refutes the long-held scientific belief that the gut nerve cells we're born with are the same ones we die with. The finding has profound implications for the understanding and ... read more

Getting a Handle on Brain Organization

Apr. 17, 2017 — Even among people born without hands, there is an overlap in brain activity when viewing hands and viewing tools, suggesting the connection between the two hands and tools is deeply ingrained in ... read more

Apr. 13, 2017 — The most complex organ in humans is the brain. Due to its complexity, it is extremely difficult to do scientific experiments on it -- ones that could help us to understand neurodegenerative diseases ... read more

Apr. 13, 2017 — Research showed that a regulatory protein of chromosome structure (cohesin) is essential for proper maintenance of gene expression in the developing brain. Reduced cohesin impaired development of ... read more

Apr. 13, 2017 — A new study refines our understanding of a human skill -- the ability to instantaneously assess a new environment and get oriented thanks to visual ... read more

Apr. 12, 2017 — A team of engineers has combined nanoparticles, aerosol science and locusts in new proof-of-concept research that could someday vastly improve drug delivery to the brain, making it as simple as a ... read more

Common Factor Links Neurodegenerative Disease in Young and Old

Apr. 12, 2017 — A common mechanism in two forms of neurodegeneration that affect young adults or the elderly has now been identified by researchers. The discovery advances efforts to find better treatments and cures ... read more

Suppressing Single Protein Greatly Extends Life Span of Mice With Form of ALS, Study Shows

Apr. 12, 2017 — A possible new therapeutic approach for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, a progressive neurodegenerative disease, has now been suggested by scientists in a new ... read more

Catch Me If You Can: Scientists Discover Neurons That Control Willingness to Mate in Female Fruit Flies

Apr. 12, 2017 — Scientists used advanced genetic and behavioral tools to establish that walking speed is in fact a key indicator of female's receptivity and discover neurons that control mating in the brain of ... read more

Apr. 11, 2017 — Nearly half of people with one mental illness also experience another mental illness at the same time. This is leading researchers to shift their focus away from individual disorders and search ... read more

Cortical Nerve Function in Former Amputees Remains Poor Decades After Reconstructive Surgery

Apr. 11, 2017 — The nerve cells (neurons) controlling sensation and movement of the hands show injury-induced changes for years after hand amputation, reattachment or transplant, researchers have ... read more

PID1 Gene Enhances Effectiveness of Chemotherapy on Brain Cancer Cells

Apr. 11, 2017 — The gene PID1 enhances killing of medulloblastoma and glioblastoma cells, investigators have found. Medulloblastoma is the most commonly occurring malignant primary brain tumor in children; ... read more

Researchers Identify Link Between Birth Defect, Neurodegenerative Diseases

Apr. 10, 2017 — A new study has found a link between neurological birth defects in infants commonly found in pregnant women with diabetes and several neurodegenerative diseases, including Alzheimer's, ... read more

Interpersonal Abuse in Early Life May Lead to Concentration Issues Later in Life

Apr. 10, 2017 — Does a history of abuse before the age of 18 affect later capacity to concentrate and stay focused? According to a new study, Veterans with a history of physical or sexual abuse or witnessing family ... read more

Monday, April 24, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Sunday, February 19, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017