Nervous System News
August 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:31pm EDT

More Nervous System News
August 27, 2016

How PSD Forms and Why Defects Can Cause Autism

Aug. 25, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that SynGAP and PSD-95, two abundance proteins in PSD that are known to cause autism when mutated, can form an autonomously assembled network structure both in test-tube ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — Scientists are testing a drug that could boost levels of critical protective protein in brain. In the study, the team conducted tests in a mouse model of Alzheimer's disease by raising the ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — Researchers have revealed that microglia -- cells involved in immune functions in the brain -- also influence brain connectivity and formation of new links between neurons in the developing brain. By ... read more

A Brain Circuit to Push Past Nutritional Stress

Aug. 24, 2016 — Nutritional stress is a normal part of life; going hungry on a short-term basis generally does not impair important functions. The brain coordinates the response to nutritional stress but how it does ... read more

Mechanism That Alters Neural Excitability Offers Window Into Neuropsychiatric Disease

Aug. 23, 2016 — Researchers show, for the first time, that the well-known mechanism of gene expression control -- dynamic changes in DNA methylation -- is also involved in changes to the excitability of neural ... read more

Relief for Epilepsy at the Scale of a Single Cell

Aug. 23, 2016 — Researchers have developed in collaboration with French colleagues a small device that both detects the initial signal of an epileptic attack and doses a substance that effectively stops it. All this ... read more

Aug. 23, 2016 — Researchers from the epicenter of the current Zika virus outbreak have released a report on imaging findings in babies and fetuses infected with the Zika virus. Zika virus is most dangerous when ... read more

Bioimaging: A Clear View of the Nervous System

Aug. 22, 2016 — A new and versatile imaging technique enables researchers to trace the trajectories of whole nerve cells and provides extensive insights into the structure of neuronal ... read more

Aug. 22, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated the role of lysosomal vesicles in transporting alpha-synuclein aggregates, responsible for Parkinson's and other neurodegenerative diseases, between neurons. These ... read more

Aug. 22, 2016 — In a classic experiment, Ivan Pavlov conditioned dogs to salivate at the ringing of a bell. Now, scientists can see what happens in the brains of live animals during this experiment with a new ... read more

Aug. 19, 2016 — A fundamental question in neuroscience is how neuronal circuits give rise to brain function, as disruptions in these connections can lead to brain disorders. Translating the rules governing the ... read more

Electrical Synapses in the Brain Offer New Avenue for Epilepsy Research and Possible Treatment

Aug. 19, 2016 — A child with absence epilepsy may be in the middle of doing something—she could be dancing, studying, talking—when all of a sudden she stares off into space for a few moments. Then, as quickly as ... read more

Study Supports New Strategy to Fight Cocaine Addiction

Aug. 18, 2016 — Strong evidence supporting a new strategy against drug addiction has been revealed by research. The researchers showed that a compound that inhibits the activity of certain brain-cell receptors can ... read more

Aug. 18, 2016 — A new study shows for the first time that the Zika virus can infect the mouse adult brain in regions that are vital to learning and memory. The researchers observed that infection correlated with ... read more

Can't Stand the Heat? Study Reveals How We Figure out If We're Too Hot

Aug. 17, 2016 — With temperatures soaring, our ability to detect and avoid places that are too warm is vital for regulating our body temperature. However, until now, little was known about the molecular mechanisms ... read more

Curbing the Life-Long Effects of Traumatic Brain Injury

Aug. 17, 2016 — A fall down the stairs, a car crash, a sports injury or an explosive blast can all cause traumatic brain injury (TBI). Patients often recover. But in the days or weeks following the hit, they can ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — The brain has exquisitely organized communication machinery that ensures ultrafast transmission of signals between neurons. Like cargo-carrying boats, tiny bubbles packed with neurotransmitters dock ... read more

Potential Therapeutic Target for Huntington's Disease

Aug. 16, 2016 — There is new hope in the fight against Huntington's disease. Scientists have discovered that changing a specific part of the huntingtin protein prevented the loss of critical brain cells and ... read more

Microscale and Macroscale Brain Disruptions Are Associated in Schizophrenia

Aug. 16, 2016 — Brain abnormalities in schizophrenia have been identified at the microscale (alterations in synaptic connections between neurons) and the macroscale (altered connections between brain regions). ... read more

Researchers Examine How Parkinson's Disease Alters Brain Activity Over Time

Aug. 15, 2016 — Neuroscientists peered into the brains of patients with Parkinson's disease and two similar conditions to see how their neural responses changed over time. The study may provide a new tool for ... read more

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Sunday, July 17, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016