NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Nervous System News
February 21, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:32am EST

More Nervous System News
February 21, 2017

Neurotrophic Factor GDNF Is an Important Regulator of Dopamine Neurons in the Brain

Feb. 15, 2017 — New research results are expanding our understanding of the physiological role of the glial cell line-derived neurotrophic factor GDNF in the function of the brain's dopamine systems. In a new ... read more

Scientists Show 'Matchmaker' Role for Protein Behind SMA

Feb. 14, 2017 — Cell biologists have a detailed picture for what they think the SMN (survival of motor neurons) protein is doing, and how its deficiency causes problems in SMA patients' cells. This new work ... read more

Children of Patients With C9orf72 Mutations Are at a Greater Risk of Frontotemporal Dementia or ALS at a Younger Age

Feb. 14, 2017 — The most common genetic cause of the brain diseases frontotemporal dementia (FTD) and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) is a mutation in the C9orf72 gene. Researchers have demonstrated that if an ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Psychologists have designed an experiment to investigate whether human vision is more sensitive during physical ... read more

Keeping Up the Pressure

Feb. 13, 2017 — Besides the classic stress response – an acute reaction that gradually abates when the threat passes – our bodies appear to have a separate mechanism that deals only with chronic stress, research ... read more

Neurons Support Cancer Growth Throughout the Body

Feb. 13, 2017 — Cancer cells rely on the healthy cells that surround them for sustenance. Tumors reroute blood vessels to nourish themselves, secrete chemicals that scramble immune responses, and, according to ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Scientists have genetically engineered a mouse that resists addiction to ... read more

New Discovery Could Be a Major Advance for Neurological Diseases

Feb. 13, 2017 — The discovery of a new mechanism that controls the way nerve cells in the brain communicate with each other to regulate our learning and long-term memory could have major benefits to understanding ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Traumatic brain injury (TBI) is a largely silent epidemic that affects roughly two million people each year, according to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. But the scale at which ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — New research identifies a role for neuronal protein interaction in preventing frontotemporal lobar degeneration, a dementia that starts in middle ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — The loss of motor function and mental acuity associated with Huntington's disease might be treatable by restoring a cellular quality control process, which researchers have identified as a key ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Researchers have identified a genetic signature found exclusively in the nerve cells that supply, or innervate, the muscles of an organism's outermost extremities: the hands and feet. The ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — A team of biomedical scientists has identified a molecule (123C4) that targets a gene (EphA4 receptor) that plays a critical role in the progression of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, sometimes known ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — A new molecular pathway that inhibits the myelination of neurons in the brains of patients with the rare genetic disorder tuberous sclerosis complex (TSC) has been discovered by researchers. The ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Noradrenaline is a neuromodulator secreted in the brain depending on behavioral context and physiological states of animal, influencing a wide range of physiological functions by modulating brain ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new therapeutic agent tested in a mouse model of multiple sclerosis (MS) produced anti-inflammatory activity and prevented loss of cells in the optic nerve, according to a new ... read more

Blood Test May Help Differentiate Parkinson's from Similar Diseases

Feb. 8, 2017 — A simple blood test may be as accurate as a spinal fluid test when trying to determine whether symptoms are caused by Parkinson's disease or another atypical parkinsonism disorder, according to ... read more

Why There Is Sometimes Permanent Vision Loss After Head Injury

Feb. 8, 2017 — Research has shed new light on what causes the permanent vision loss sometimes seen in the wake of a head injury, report ... read more

Handedness Arises from Genes in the Spinal Cords of Embryos

Feb. 7, 2017 — The left side of the spinal cord matures slightly faster than the right side in human embryos of four to eight weeks age. This is the earliest left-right difference of development in the human ... read more

Human Brain 'Organoids' Offer New Insight Into Rare Developmental Disease

Feb. 7, 2017 — Research has used brain “organoids” — tiny 3D models of human organs that scientists grow in a dish to study disease — to identify root causes of Miller-Dieker Syndrome (MDS), a rare genetic ... read more

Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016