NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Staying Healthy News
October 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:59am EDT

More Staying Healthy News
October 27, 2016

Oct. 17, 2016 — "Coffee" was the most tweeted food in the continental U.S. between mid-2014 to mid-2015 followed by "beer" then "pizza". Besides hinting at which foods are popular, ... read more

Moms and Dads of Kids With Food Allergies Think They're Allergic Too

Oct. 12, 2016 — Only 28 percent of parents of kids with food allergies tested positive to the foods to which they reported being allergic, new research ... read more

Men With High Genetic Chance of Bowel Cancer Could Have Lower Risk With Healthy Lifestyles

Sep. 29, 2016 — Men with a high genetic risk of developing bowel cancer over the next 25 years could have a lower risk of developing the disease if they also have a healthy lifestyle, according to a ... read more

Unknown Exposure to Second-Hand Smoke Associated With Increased Mortality

Sep. 26, 2016 — A new biomarker has identified known and unknown exposure to second-hand smoke and confirmed a strong association to increased mortality in non-smokers, according to a new study. The results provide ... read more

Exercise Can Increase Levels of Hunger-Promoting Endocannabinoids Even If You Are Sleep-Deprived

Sep. 26, 2016 — A research group has investigated how levels of endocannabinoids -- which target the same receptors as cannabis -- are affected by short sleep duration, and whether acute exercise can modulate this ... read more

Are Modern Humans Simply Bad at Smoking?

Sep. 23, 2016 — Scientist looked for the genetic footprint of fire use in our genes, but found that our prehistoric cousins - the Neanderthals - and even the great apes seem better at dealing with the toxins in ... read more

How Can We Make Tomorrow's Doctors Healthier Now?

Sep. 21, 2016 — A randomized study aims to learn whether wearing activity trackers and incorporating physical activity education helps student-physicians improve their activity levels. Researchers say they're ... read more

Age Limit for Federal Food Assistance Program Is Increasing Food Insecurity

Sep. 20, 2016 — A problem has been found with regard to the requirement that when children turn five, they are no longer eligible to receive food assistance from Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, ... read more

Sep. 19, 2016 — As researchers nationwide try to get college students to eat healthier foods, they’re finding that gardening may lead to a lasting habit of eating more fruits and vegetables. That’s a recent ... read more

What Vitamins, Nutrients Will Help Prevent Glaucoma from Worsening?

Sep. 14, 2016 — A healthy lifestyle, consisting of balanced nutrition, moderate exercise, and appropriate rest is an important part of your overall health and well-being and can help prevent illness too. A recent ... read more

Is It Safe to Get Up Close and Personal With Food Allergy Triggers?

Sep. 14, 2016 — Allergists realize people who are severely allergic to a food can experience great anxiety when encountering the food in any form. Kids, in particular, can get extremely nervous about the idea of ... read more

Healthy Diet Boosts Children’s Reading Skills

Sep. 13, 2016 — A healthy diet is linked to better reading skills in the first three school years, shows a recent ... read more

Broccoli V. French Fries: Appealing to Teens' Impulse to Rebel Can Curb Unhealthy Eating

Sep. 12, 2016 — By appealing to widely-held adolescent values, it's possible to reduce unhealthy eating habits and motivate better food choices among adolescents, a new report ... read more

Healthy Eating Standards Still Not Fully Adopted Among YMCA After-School Programs

Sep. 9, 2016 — Healthy Eating standards represent a means of increasing fruit, vegetable, whole grain, and water intake among adolescents by providing healthy snacks in conjunction with education on healthy eating. ... read more

Three in Four Don't Know Obesity Causes Cancer

Sep. 8, 2016 — Three out of four people in the United Kingdom are unaware of the link between obesity and cancer, according to a new report. The nationwide survey found that people from lower socioeconomic ... read more

Employees of Medical Centers Report High Stress, Negative Health Behaviors

Sep. 8, 2016 — Approximately 15 to 20 percent of adults in the U.S. will report high levels of stress, several American surveys have found. A new study has identified stress and burnout as a major problem employees ... read more

High Variability Suggests Glycemic Index Is Unreliable Indicator of Blood Sugar Response

Sep. 7, 2016 — The glycemic index value of a food can vary by 20 percent within an individual and 25 percent among individuals, according to the results of a controlled feeding trial in 63 healthy adults. The ... read more

European Standards to Prevent Repeat Heart Attacks Launched Today

Sep. 6, 2016 — European standards to prevent repeat heart attacks have now been released. The consensus document outlines the steps patients and healthcare professionals can take to prevent recurrent heart ... read more

Diagnosing, Managing Food Allergies: A Guide for Physicians

Sep. 6, 2016 — A new review aims to help physicians diagnose and manage food allergies in children and adults. The article looks at recent evidence from guidelines, randomized controlled trials and other ... read more

Young People Exposed to Vaping Ads Less Likely to Think Occasional Smoking Bad for Health

Sep. 6, 2016 — Exposure to advertisements for e-cigarettes may decrease the perceived health risks of occasional tobacco smoking, suggests new research, prompting concern that this may lead more young people to ... read more

Monday, October 17, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Sunday, July 10, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016