Staying Healthy News
April 23, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:26am EDT

More Staying Healthy News
April 23, 2017

Nutrition Label Readers Favor Food Quality Over Quantity

Apr. 18, 2017 — Although nutrition-label users eat roughly the same amount of food as less-discerning diners, the two groups diverge when it comes to the quality of the food they eat, suggests a new ... read more

Brain Signals After a Meal Respond to Food Pictures More in Obese Than Lean Kids

Apr. 3, 2017 — Brain signals that should help tell us we are full after eating appear to be dulled in obese children, according to preliminary ... read more

Can Childhood Obesity Be Prevented Before Conception?

Mar. 29, 2017 — A research team has received federal funding to determine if childhood obesity can be prevented before women become ... read more

Why Do We Choose to Get Vaccinations?

Mar. 29, 2017 — Since vaccines protect not only those who take them, but also the people who otherwise could have been infected, there are many plausible motives for choosing to get vaccinated. Apart from the most ... read more

Effects of Gut Flora Revisited

Mar. 16, 2017 — Changes in gut microbiota after unhealthy diet may protect from metabolic ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — Oral health of modern day African tribe transitioning from hunting and gathering to agricultural diet challenges long held presumptions about our Stone Age ... read more

Scientists Are Gauging How Mood Influences Eating Habits

Mar. 16, 2017 — Researchers are presenting details of how specially-programmed smartwatches monitor family member's emotions and eating behaviors for a study on ... read more

'No Fat' or 'No Sugar' Label Equals No Guarantee of Nutritional Quality

Mar. 15, 2017 — Terms such as no-fat or no-sugar, low-fat or reduced-salt on food packaging may give consumers a sense of confidence before they purchase, but these claims rarely reflect the actual nutritional ... read more

Cooking at Home Tonight? It's Likely Cheaper and Healthier, Study Finds

Mar. 14, 2017 — People who cook at home more often, rather than eating out, tend to have healthier overall diets without higher food expenses. Lack of time often prevents people from preparing their own nutritious ... read more

Money, Not Access, Key to Resident Food Choices in 'Food Deserts'

Mar. 14, 2017 — While access to healthy foods is a significant challenge, the biggest variable limiting diet choices in so-called 'food deserts' is limited financial ... read more

Probiotics May Not Always Be a Silver Bullet for Better Health

Mar. 14, 2017 — Researchers have investigated the impact of probiotics on gut health and cognitive function. In rats fed on 'junk' diets, the probiotic medicine was able to significantly impact microbial ... read more

How to Get Kids to Use Salad Bars in Public Schools

Mar. 13, 2017 — Thanks to a national initiative, salad bars are showing up in public schools across the country. Now a researcher is trying to nail down how to get kids to eat from ... read more

Mar. 9, 2017 — Eating a diet lacking in healthy foods and/or high in unhealthy foods was estimated to contribute to more than 400,000 deaths from heart and blood vessel diseases in the United States in 2015. Eating ... read more

Men With Impaired Glucose Metabolism Should Avoid High-Carbohydrate Foods in the Evening

Mar. 9, 2017 — According to a nutrition study, the so-called internal clock also influences how people with impaired glucose metabolism react to carbohydrate-rich food. E.g., in men with prediabetes, abundant ... read more

College Students' Perception of Dietary Terms Could Help Nutrition Education

Mar. 8, 2017 — Researchers are set out to determine college students' perception of the terms real meal, meal, and snack and how those perceptions might enable more effective nutrition ... read more

New Study Examines Whether Dogs Are Feline-Friendly, or Not

Mar. 7, 2017 — While most behavioral assessments focus on dogs’ responses to visual stimuli, the study found that dogs rely heavily on another sense, ... read more

Photos Show Promise as Dietary Assessment Tool, but More Training Needed

Mar. 7, 2017 — Research suggests that photographs of your food are good for a lot more than just entertaining your friends on social media -- those pictures might help improve your health and also national ... read more

Sulforaphane, a Phytochemical in Broccoli Sprouts, Ameliorates Obesity

Mar. 7, 2017 — Sulforaphane, a phytochemical in broccoli sprouts, is known to exert effects of cancer prevention by detoxicating chemical compounds taken into the body and by enhancing anti-oxidation ability. In ... read more

Women Suffer from Asthma Symptoms More Frequently and More Severely Than Men

Mar. 7, 2017 — Women suffer more frequently and more severely from pollen and food allergies and therefore also from asthma. Firstly, female sex hormones increase the risk and symptoms of asthma and allergies and, ... read more

Isoflavones in Food Associated With Reduced Mortality for Women With Some Breast Cancers

Mar. 6, 2017 — Higher intake of foods containing isoflavones, estrogen-like compounds primarily found in soy, is associated with reduced all-cause mortality in women with hormone-receptor-negative breast cancer and ... read more

Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Friday, November 25, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016