Staying Healthy News
August 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:58pm EDT

More Staying Healthy News
August 28, 2016

Direct and Active Parent Involvement Key to Healthy Living for Kids

Aug. 24, 2016 — Parents who directly and actively engage their children in healthy living behavior -- instead of passively 'supporting' the behavior -- are significantly more likely to see their kids meet ... read more

Study to Explore the Scale of Physical Activity, Nutritional Health Messaging at Major Sporting Events

Aug. 18, 2016 — An international consortium is examining how physical activity and nutritional health messages are promoted in the run up to and during large-scale sporting ... read more

Physical Training and Social Support Reduce Frailty and Malnutrition

Aug. 17, 2016 — A training program for the reactivation of older and frail people has achieved remarkable success. It was revealed that physical training and addressing nutrition-relevant aspects with the aid of ... read more

Lack of Fresh Food Choices Linked to Signs of Early Heart Disease

Aug. 15, 2016 — A lack of access to nearby stores selling fresh food may increase residents' risk of developing the signs of early heart disease, according to new ... read more

Children Score Low on Cardiovascular Health Measures

Aug. 11, 2016 — Most children are born with ideal cardiovascular health and promoting good heart health should begin at birth. While most children have ideal blood pressure, about 91 percent of American children ... read more

The Healthiest Eaters Are the Most Culturally 'Fit'

Aug. 10, 2016 — How to be a healthy eater depends on culture. A recent study shows that in the US and Japan, people who fit better with their culture have healthier eating ... read more

Report: People Buy Most of Their Junk Food at the Supermarket

Aug. 9, 2016 — An analysis of a nationally representative sample of US adults reveals that access to healthy foods in a supermarket does not hinder Americans' consumption of empty calories. In fact, the study ... read more

Diet Designed to Lower Blood Pressure Also Reduces Risk of Kidney Disease

Aug. 9, 2016 — People who ate a diet high in nuts and legumes, low-fat dairy, whole grains, fruits, and vegetables and low in red and processed meat, sugar-sweetened beverages and sodium were at a significantly ... read more

Avoiding the High Calorie Office Snacks

Aug. 2, 2016 — The culture of grabbing something quick to eat amid a mounting pile of to-dos at work often leads to making the wrong decisions when searching for something to eat in the workplace. Unplanned cake ... read more

Meat Consumption Contributing to Global Obesity

Aug. 1, 2016 — Should we be warning consumers about over-consumption of meat as well as ... read more

New Framework for Human Nutrition

Aug. 1, 2016 — Existing models for measuring health impacts of the human diet are limiting our capacity to solve obesity and its related health problems, nutritional scientists ... read more

Teens Who Smoke Daily Are More Likely to Report Health Complaints

July 29, 2016 — As fewer teens overall take up smoking, those who do smoke daily are reporting more health complaints than in years past, a new study ... read more

Historical Love-Affair With Indulgent Foods

July 26, 2016 — Our desire for indulgent meals may be over 500 years old. A new analysis of European and American paintings across five centuries shows that salt, bread, sausage, and shellfish were among the most ... read more

Home-Cooked Meals for Infants Not Always Better Than Shop-Bought Ones

July 19, 2016 — Home-cooked meals specifically designed for infants and young children, are not always better than commercially available baby ... read more

Soft Drink, Soft Price: Soda Prices Found to Be Significantly Low

July 18, 2016 — Researchers found a huge disparity between the price of soda, which is linked to the prevalence of health issues like diabetes, and milk -- a difference in price that could be narrowed by taxes like ... read more

Losing Weight Lowered Levels of Proteins Associated With Tumor Growth

July 14, 2016 — Overweight or obese women who lost weight through diet or a combination of diet and exercise also significantly lowered levels of proteins in the blood that help certain tumors grow, according to a ... read more

July 13, 2016 — People with serious weight problems who are not interested in or candidates for bariatric surgery can turn to physician-supervised weight-loss programs go beyond diet and exercise to tackle obesity ... read more

Food Nudging Can Help Us to Eat in a Healthier Way

July 13, 2016 — What we eat in the canteen and buy in the supermarket for dinner depends on the order in which the dishes are presented, and how easy it is to get to the products. This is the conclusion of a ... read more

Your Diet Plan Isn't Working? New Research Explains Why

July 12, 2016 — Dieters tend to adopt the wrong strategies, often planning to ditch their favorite foods and replace them with less-desirable options, according to new research. Conversely, successful dieters focus ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Researchers have developed a portable and easy-to-use method to help people estimate portion size using only their ... read more

Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Sunday, July 10, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016