Mating and Breeding News
February 11, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:54pm EST

More Mating and Breeding News
February 11, 2016

Jan. 29, 2016 — Researchers have, for the first time, successfully raised laboratory-bred colonies of a threatened Caribbean coral species to sexual maturity. Due to its large size and branching shape, elkhorn ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — Scientists investigated the camouflage of ground-nesting birds in Zambia, using sophisticated digital imaging to demonstrate how they would appear from the perspective of a ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — As hybrid plants provide a very high agricultural yield for only one generation, new hybrid seeds need to be produced and used every year. However, natural cloning via seeds might enable the ... read more

Mating Behavior in the Natural World Contradicts Darwin’s Idea That Females Make the Decisions, Researchers Find

Jan. 28, 2016 — A provocative study by evolutionary biologists takes on one of Charles Darwin’s central ideas: that males adapt and compete for the attention of females because it is the females who ultimately ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Queen bees and ants emit a chemical that alters the DNA of their daughters and keeps them as sterile and industrious workers, scientists have found. The team found evidence that workers exposed to ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — A transplantation experiment in moths shows how the brain experiences reality through the ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — Evolutionary biologists often debate on whether sexual selection can lead to new species. Most studies have focused on natural selection or, for the few studies that considered sexual selection, on ... read more

Earthworms Could Be a Threat to Biodiversity

Jan. 27, 2016 — The humble earthworm may be a threat to plant diversity in natural ecosystems, says a new study. The work found an association between the presence of these European-introduced invertebrates and ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — For female gelada monkeys, a grunt from a male primate won't suffice to get her attention. The call of the wild must involve moans, wobbles or yawns to entice these females, according to a new ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — A study of reed warbler behavior reveals for the first time that in assessing the risks posed by cuckoos the birds combine information from multiple sources. An 'information highway' ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Why do animals engage in sexual reproduction? Biologists sought answers with mud snails that breed both sexually and asexually. They found that asexual snails grow faster and reach reproductive age ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Cuckoos are nest parasites, meaning they lay their eggs in other birds' nests. The female cuckoo has to lay eggs that mimic the color, size and shape of the eggs of the host bird. Using a ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Drosophila erecta is an African fruit fly with a big problem: The male sexual organ is so rough that sex acts, almost literally, as a two-edged sword -- necessary for reproduction, but physically ... read more

Promiscuity Could Reduce Benefits of Successful Mating, Research Shows

Jan. 19, 2016 — Males that mate with multiple partners may actually experience a reduction in paternity rates, due to sperm competition, as their partners will also mate with many other ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — Only a few mammals and some birds are as long-lived as humans, and many of these species share interesting characteristics in how they age. A new paper explores lifetime reproductive patterns in ... read more

Jan. 18, 2016 — When a sperm and an egg cell merge a new life begins. This is the case in humans and in animals, but in principle also in plants. A team of biologists has discovered a gene trigger in the moss ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Researchers are studying why older parents produce offspring who tend to have shorter lives. They are addressing this question through the study of a long-lived seabird, the European ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Large ornamental structures in dinosaurs, such as horns and head crests are likely to have been used in sexual displays and to assert social dominance, according to a new analysis of Protoceratops. ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Brazilian torrent frogs may use sophisticated audio and visual signals to communicate, including inflating vocal sacs, squealing, and arm waving, according to a new study. The authors suggest their ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Using modern genetic approaches, a team of researchers has provided strong support for the long-standing, but hotly debated, evolutionary theory of kin selection, which suggests that altruistic ... read more

Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Saturday, November 21, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Saturday, November 14, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015