Mating and Breeding News
October 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:18am EDT

More Mating and Breeding News
October 4, 2015

Sep. 16, 2015 — Four new native bee species were recognized as part of the largest Australian nature discovery project 'Bush Blitz.' The South Australian bee specialists used molecular and morphological ... read more

Invasive Brood Parasites a Threat to Native Bird Species

Sep. 16, 2015 — North Americans might be seeing new species of birds in certain areas of the continent in the near future. According to research, Eurasian birds are beginning to develop a presence on our continent, ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — Female butterflies generally choose among male suitors, but with hundreds of related species living in close proximity, how can they decide which are the right ones? A solution is that males have ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — To discover a living huntsman spider in the South African deserts is a difficult feat; to study the spider in detail is almost impossible. The eight-legged animals are quick, nocturnal, and dwell in ... read more

Sep. 15, 2015 — A two week research cruise is set to investigate if new areas have become available for successful spawning of cod after a recent inflow of water from the North ... read more

Africanized Bees Continue to Spread in California

Sep. 11, 2015 — Biologists have found that the Africanized honey bee -- an aggressive hybrid of the European honey bee -- is continuing to expand its range northward since its introduction into Southern California ... read more

Sep. 11, 2015 — Delay mechanism within elegant brain circuit consisting of just five neurons means female crickets can automatically detect chirps of males from same species. Scientists say this example of simple ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — Brown-headed cowbirds have a reputation for being deadbeat parents: They lay their eggs in other birds' nests and then disappear, the story goes, leaving the care and feeding of their offspring ... read more

Sep. 7, 2015 — Estrogen in suburban yards is changing the ratio of male and female green frogs at nearby ponds, a new study shows. Higher levels of estrogen in areas where there are shrubs, vegetable gardens, and ... read more

Sep. 2, 2015 — Their pregnancies are carried by the males but, when it comes to breeding, seahorses have more in common with humans than previously thought, new research ... read more

Ancient Hybridization Key to Domestic Dog's Origin, Wolf Conservation Efforts

Sep. 1, 2015 — The ancestry of man's best friend is more complicated than its furry coat and soulful eyes betray. Understanding the evolutionary history of the domesticated dog may help protect endangered ... read more

Sep. 1, 2015 — Unlike most mammals, mature male orangutans exhibit different facial characteristics: some develop large 'cheek pads' on their faces; other males do not. A team of researchers studied the ... read more

Aug. 31, 2015 — Among birds, the line between species is often blurry. Some closely related species interbreed where their ranges overlap, producing hybrid offspring. In the coastal marshes of New England, this has ... read more

Aug. 27, 2015 — A professor who studies birds around the world has discovered trends in how the offspring grow, how parents care for the young and how well the young survive based on where they ... read more

Aug. 27, 2015 — In the attempt to choose a mate, it's no surprise that females will select the more 'attractive' of two males, but now a new study reveals that female tungara frogs are susceptible to ... read more

Mating With the Wrong Insect May Cut Yellow Fever Mosquito Populations

Aug. 27, 2015 — Asian tiger mosquitoes can drive down yellow fever mosquito populations when the female chooses the wrong male with which to mate, UF/IFAS scientists say. Both insects transmit chikungunya and ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — The dominant matriarchs of meerkat society carry a heavy burden. Not only are these females stressed from having to constantly scold and cajole the rowdy members of the tribe to maintain their perch ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — Using DNA sequencing, researchers have accurately painted a clear picture of fish spawning activities in a marine protected area and have created a baseline for continuing studies on the effects of ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — Female mice exposed in utero, or in the womb, to low levels of arsenic through drinking water displayed signs of early puberty and became obese as adults, according to scientists. The finding is ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — Could the sperm harpoon the egg to facilitate fertilization? That’s the intriguing possibility raised by the discovery that a protein within the head of the sperm forms spiky filaments, suggesting ... read more

Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Saturday, June 20, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015