Mating and Breeding News
May 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:46am EDT

More Mating and Breeding News
May 28, 2015

May 14, 2015 — Researchers are studying quail to understand the underlying mechanisms involved in their breeding ... read more

May 11, 2015 — Sturgeons are among the most threatened fish species worldwide. To ensure that one day these living fossils will return to our rivers in large numbers, European scientists are collaborating on ... read more

May 7, 2015 — Wild-type zebrafish consistently beat out genetically modified Glofish in competition for female mates, an advantage that led to the disappearance of the transgene from the fish population over time, ... read more

May 6, 2015 — Shifting to renewable energy sources has been widely touted as one of the best ways to fight climate change, but even renewable energy can have a downside, as in the case of wind turbines' ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Flowering plants naturally know when they need to spare or perish their cells. In a new study, an international group of plant biologists has examined the ovules of plant cells by live-imaging to ... read more

May 1, 2015 — The CRISPR/Cas system, which is based on chemically synthesized small RNAs and commercially available Cas9 enzyme, has enabled long gene-cassette knock-in in mice with highest efficiency ever ... read more

Mammals Not the Only Animals to Feed Embryo During Gestation

Apr. 30, 2015 — For over a century, the scientific understanding of matrotrophy of an embryo developing inside a mom's body has come from vertebrates. This process was thought to be infrequent among the other ... read more

Apr. 29, 2015 — Flour beetles exhibit a highly tactile form of courtship in which the male mounts the female and stimulates her, drumming his lower leg along her abdomen until she allows him to mate with her. Such ... read more

Apr. 29, 2015 — Recombination, or crossing-over, occurs when sperm and egg cells are formed and segments of each chromosome pair are interchanged. This process plays an crucial role in the maintenance of genetic ... read more

Soldier Beetle Went a-Courtin'

Apr. 29, 2015 — Being bigger and bolder holds various benefits for male soldier beetles. They enjoy higher rates of successful courtship and more often land a larger, more fertile ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — Flowering plants naturally know when they need to spare or perish their cells. Scientists have now examined the ovules of plant cells to reveal a novel cell-elimination system based on an unusual ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Bumblebees that have been infected by parasites seek out flowers with nicotine in the nectar, likely to fight off the infection, new research has found. The nicotine appears to slow the progression ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — Scientists have discover that certain cell structures, the centrioles, could act as information carriers throughout cell generations. The discovery raises the possibility that transmission of ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Why do animals fight with members of other species? A nine-year study by biologists says the reason often has to do with 'obtaining priority access to females' in the ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Many loggerhead sea turtles that nest in Dry Tortugas National Park head to rich feeding sites in the Bahamas after nesting, a discovery that may help those working to protect this threatened ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — The first convincing evidence for sexual differences in a species of dinosaur has been described in a study of the iconic dinosaur ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Biologists who study animal behavior suggest that evolution is hard at work when it comes to the acrobatic courtship dances of a tropical bird ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — A genetic test that can prevent the entry of 'killer' bees into Australia and their spread around the world has been created by researchers. "A number of countries have export ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Among soft-bodied cephalopods, vampire squid live life at a slower pace. At ocean depths from 500 to 3,000 meters, they don't swim so much as float, and they get by with little oxygen while ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — While the female baboon's big red bottom may be an eyesore to some, it has an aphrodisiac effect on her mates. Biologists have long thought that baboon males prefer females with bigger backsides ... read more

Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Saturday, April 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Sunday, January 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 31, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Saturday, December 20, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014