Bacteria News
October 13, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:48pm EDT

More Bacteria News
October 13, 2015

Oct. 8, 2015 — Biochemists have long known that crucial cell processes depend on a highly regulated cleanup system known as proteolysis, where specialized proteins called proteases degrade damaged or ... read more

Vaginal Microbes Influence Whether Mucus Can Trap HIV

Oct. 6, 2015 — HIV particles are effectively trapped by the cervicovaginal mucus from women who harbor a particular vaginal bacteria species, Lactobacillus crispatus. The findings could lead to new ways to reduce ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — Scientists have discovered and mapped a light-sensing protein that uses vitamin B12 to perform key functions, including gene ... read more

Infections in Childhood Could Provide Clues to Disease Development in Later Life

Sep. 27, 2015 — The interaction between infections and the microbiota during infancy in the lungs could help provide clues to disease development later in life, according to the findings of a new ... read more

Plum Good Health Benefits

Sep. 27, 2015 — Researchers have shown a diet containing dried plums can positively affect microbiota, also referred to as gut bacteria, throughout the colon, helping reduce the risk of colon ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — A new analysis supports the hypothesis that viruses are living entities that share a long evolutionary history with cells. A new study offers the first reliable method for tracing viral evolution ... read more

Dried Plums Can Reduce Risk of Colon Cancer, Research Shows

Sep. 25, 2015 — A diet containing dried plums can positively affect microbiota, also referred to as gut bacteria, throughout the colon, helping reduce the risk of colon cancer, researchers ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — Humans have been breeding crops until they're bigger and more nutritious since the early days of agriculture, but genetic manipulation isn't the only way to give plants a boost. Integrative ... read more

Know Your Chardonnay from Your Chablis? Scientists Reveal New Secrets to Regional Wine Variation

Sep. 24, 2015 — New research has shown for the first time how tiny genetic differences in a single microbe help to produce the distinctive variations in taste and odor between wines from different ... read more

Researchers Propose Ecological Route to Plant Disease Control

Sep. 24, 2015 — New research has revealed a potential natural defence against invasive pathogens which damage food crops across the ... read more

Ticks Carrying Lyme Disease Found in South London Parks

Sep. 24, 2015 — Visitors to two popular parks in South London are at risk of coming into contact with ticks that can transmit Lyme disease to humans, according to new ... read more

Human Activity Affecting Microbes in Soil

Sep. 23, 2015 — Agricultural inputs such as nitrogen and phosphorous alter soil microbial communities, which may have unintended environmental consequences, new research from an ecologist ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — Biological engineers have devised a new mix-and-match system to genetically engineer viruses that target specific bacteria. The approach could generate new weapons against bacteria for which there ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — Microbiologists are addressing the global environmental issue of ocean dead zones. Their research is discovering the potential of naturally occurring bacteria called rhizobia to stem the tide of ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — Why do whales use echolocation when bacteria do not? Because body size determines available sensing modes, argue researchers following a new ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — We each give off millions of bacteria from our human microbiome to the air around us every day, and that cloud of bacteria can be traced back to an individual. New research focused on the personal ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — A molecular Swiss Army knife has been built by researchers that streamlines the molecular machinery of cyanobacteria, also known as blue-green algae, making biofuels and other green chemical ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — A review of dozens of key ecological studies has found very little evidence to support one of the field's commonly held beliefs: Cheating is widespread among 'mutualists,' species that ... read more

Sep. 20, 2015 — Sequencing of GBS strain aims to determine the reason for the recent increase in infection and to help combat the ... read more

Sep. 18, 2015 — Good communication is crucial to any relationship, especially when partners are separated by distance. This also holds true for microbes in the deep sea that need to work together to consume large ... read more

Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Sunday, September 20, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Saturday, August 1, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015