Bacteria News
September 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:18am EDT

More Bacteria News
September 1, 2015

Humans Carry More Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria Than Animals They Work With

Aug. 24, 2015 — One of the most common and costly diseases faced by the dairy industry is bovine mastitis, a potentially fatal bacterial inflammation of the mammary gland. Widespread use of antibiotics to treat the ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — A bacterial infection turns non-farming social amoebae into farmers, evolutionary biologists ... read more

Compound Found in Red Wine Causes Conflicting Changes in Dogs' Immune Systems

Aug. 24, 2015 — Researchers have found that resveratrol does affect the immune systems of dogs in different ways when introduced to dogs' ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — The study of a chestnut leaf extract, rich in ursene and oleanene derivatives, shows that it that blocks Staphlococcus aureus virulence and pathogenesis without detectable ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Using a Trojan horse strategy, bacteria that respond to antibiotics in lab tests can become highly resistant in the body. This strategy may explain why antibiotics are ineffective in some patients ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Bacteria do not cease to amaze us with their survival strategies. A research has now discovered how bacteria enter a sleep mode using a so-called FIC toxin. In a new article, the scientists describe ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Ever wonder what that the words triple-washed or pre-washed on a bag of baby spinach mean? Not much according to engineers. They discovered that small peaks and valleys in baby spinach leaves could ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Plants and animals, including humans, are not autonomous individuals but are holobionts: biomolecular networks that consist of visible hosts plus millions of invisible microbes, recent ... read more

Change in Process of Disinfecting Spinach, Salad Greens Could Reduce Illness Outbreaks

Aug. 19, 2015 — Cross contamination in commercial processing facilities that prepare spinach and other leafy greens for the market can make people sick. But researchers are reporting a new, easy-to-implement method ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — The intricate interplay between immune cells working to defeat infection has been seen and photographed for the first time. Researchers used state-of-the-art microscopy to painstakingly capture ... read more

How an Emerging Anti-Resistance Antibiotic Targets the Bacterial Membrane

Aug. 18, 2015 — Scientists are planning for a future in which superbugs gain the upper hand against our current arsenal of antibiotics. One emerging class of drug candidates, called AMLPs (antimicrobial ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — Microbes are the oldest and most successful organisms on the planet, and they communicate and interact using chemistry as their language. It remains extremely challenging to understand these chemical ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — Bacteria exhibit extreme adaptability, which makes them capable of surviving in the most inhospitable conditions. New research results produced by Danish and British researchers now reveal the ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — Nearly 2 million people throughout the Great Plains and California above aquifer sites contaminated with natural uranium that is mobilized by human-contributed nitrate, according to a new study. Data ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — A scientific peek into bacteria boudoirs is revealing how 'sex' among disease-causing microbes can lead different species or strains to become resistant to antibiotic medications. In a ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — When fruit flies are attacked by parasites or bacteria they respond by producing offspring with greater genetic variability, new research shows. This extra genetic variability may give the offspring ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — A helpful subset of the intestinal microbiome, lactobacilli, stimulates the cytoprotective Nrf2 pathway in both flies and mice. The findings could potentially lead to advances in the use of bacteria ... read more

Statistical Advances Help Unlock Mysteries of the Human Microbiome

Aug. 13, 2015 — Advances in the field of statistics are helping to unlock the mysteries of the human microbiome -- the vast collection of microorganisms living in and on the bodies of ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Humans and animals are never alone. Everyone is host to over two thousand different species of microbes, of which most colonize our bodies only after we are born. One would assume that the ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Blooms of toxic cyanobacteria, or blue-green algae, are a poorly monitored and underappreciated risk to recreational and drinking water quality in the United States, and may increasingly pose a ... read more

Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Saturday, August 1, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015