Bacteria News
February 6, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:54am EST

More Bacteria News
February 6, 2016

Virologists Investigating Novel Applications for Viruses

Jan. 26, 2016 — Viruses can be classified in a completely new way based on viral structures, new research suggests. A better understanding of how viruses work can help open up new applications for viruses in the ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Scientists have made a 'vitamin mimic' -- a molecule that looks and acts just like a natural vitamin to bacteria -- that offers a new window into the inner workings of living ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — A bacterium found in the remote Gobi Desert has shown talents for using the sun's light as energy, and now researchers reveal that it can be found in surprisingly many different places, ... read more

Gone Fishin' for Natural Products, With a New Dragnet

Jan. 20, 2016 — Nature contains a treasure trove of substances that could help fight human disease. Just this year, the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine honored the development of drugs that fight parasites and ... read more

Immune 1-2-3 Punch Against Parasites Reveals Potentially Ancient Cell Death Pathway

Jan. 19, 2016 — The immune system's killer cells deliver a tightly controlled, 3-phase knockout punch that kills intracellular parasites through a novel pathway that an international team led by researchers has ... read more

Immunity Genes Could Protect Some from E. Coli While Others Fall Ill

Jan. 19, 2016 — When a child comes home from preschool with a stomach bug that threatens to sideline the whole family for days, why do some members of the family get sick while others are unscathed? According to a ... read more

Jan. 16, 2016 — Spending time in close contact with others means risking catching germs and getting sick. But being sociable may also help transmit 'good' microbes, finds a new study. Researchers monitored ... read more

How Bacterial Communication 'Goes With the Flow' in Causing Infection, Blockage

Jan. 14, 2016 — The destructive ability of bacteria to organize an infection or block pathways such as intestines, medical stents and wastewater pipes relies on communication with one another, report ... read more

Rats Pose Health Threat to Poultry, Humans

Jan. 14, 2016 — Rats can absorb disease agents from their local environment and spread them, according to a new study. The results also indicate that the threat rats pose to the health of poultry and humans has been ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — For the first time, researchers have been able to take a series of 3D images of a large section from a medicine-synthesizing enzymes in action. The researchers believe that the images they have ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — The bacteria that causes plague, Y. pestis, may have persisted long-term in Europe from the 14th to 17th century in an unknown reservoir, according to a new ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Gut microbes are well known to contribute to health and disease, but what has been less clear is how the host controls gut microbes. A study now reveals that mice and humans produce small molecules ... read more

Environmental Changes Can Elicit Fast Changes in Pathogens

Jan. 13, 2016 — Environmental changes can elicit fast changes in pathogens, say researchers, adding that their research suggests that for bacterial virulence, meat beats the veggie ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Modifying the structure of poplar wood can also alter the endosphere microbiome, the bacteria that reside inside tree tissue, new research shows. In this study, the researchers looked into how trees ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — New research uses time lapse microscopy to show that bacteria use a hedging strategy to trade off varying degrees of antibiotic resistance even when they are not under threat. This new insight could ... read more

How Plants Interact With Beneficial Microbes in the Soil

Jan. 12, 2016 — Biologists working with the alfalfa-clover Medicago truncatula, has found how a gene in the host plant encodes a protein that recognizes the cell membrane surrounding the symbiotic bacteria, then ... read more

Acidification Affects the Ability of Bacteria to Clean Our Oceans

Jan. 12, 2016 — Marine bacteria are heavily influenced by the ongoing ocean acidification caused by human emissions of carbon ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — A newly identified enzyme appears to play a key role in transmitting Pierce's disease from insects to grapevines. The discovery may lead to new diagnostics and preventive treatments for the ... read more

Revealing the Secrets of Marine Microbes: Exciting Results from the MaCuMBA Project

Jan. 11, 2016 — Huge successes in the isolation and cultivation of marine microbial strains have been made by the EC-funded MaCuMBA (Marine Microorganisms: Cultivation Methods for Improving their Biotechnological ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — The coffee berry borer is a plague that affects coffee crops, it has a detoxification system based on microbial communities, therefore, is able to perform its life cycle in this plant, exposed to ... read more

Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015