Bacteria News
May 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:00pm EDT

More Bacteria News
May 5, 2015

Research Seeks Alternatives for Reducing Bacteria in Fresh Produce Using Nanoengineering

Apr. 29, 2015 — Nearly half of foodborne illnesses in the US have been attributed to contaminated fresh produce. Prevention and control of bacterial contamination on fresh produce is critical to ensure food safety. ... read more

Students Break New Ground in Understanding Genetic Diversity of Bacteriophages

Apr. 28, 2015 — Over the last seven years, thousands of undergraduate students have sequenced and analyzed the genomes of bacteria-infecting viruses, known as bacteriophages. Those genomes are now the focal point of ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Just in time for spring and the explosion of ticks in forests, lawns and trails, a new study has uncovered a never-before-seen illness transmitted by ticks. The disease could be a 'substantial ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — The genome of an important bacteria contains far more 'junk DNA' than scientists expected -- making its genome more closely resemble that of a higher ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — In a major breakthrough in shellfish management and disease prevention, researchers have discovered a new method to detect a bacterium that has contaminated New England oyster beds and sickened ... read more

Soy: It's Good for Eating, Baking -- And Cleaning Up Crude Oil Spills

Apr. 22, 2015 — If you've studied ingredient labels on food packaging, you've probably noticed that soy lecithin is in a lot of products, ranging from buttery spreads to chocolate cake. Scientists have now ... read more

Battle in the Gut: Immune Cells Help 'Good Bacteria' Triumph Over 'Bad Bacteria'

Apr. 21, 2015 — The body's immune system may be the keeper of a healthy gut microbiota, report scientists. They found that a binding protein on white blood cells could affect whether or not mice produced a ... read more

Uranium Isotopes Carry the Fingerprint of Ancient Bacterial Activity

Apr. 20, 2015 — The oceans contain billions of tons of dissolved uranium. Over the planet's history, some of this uranium was transformed into an insoluble form, causing it to precipitate and accumulate in ... read more

Researchers Produce First Atlas of Airborne Microbes Across United States

Apr. 20, 2015 — The first atlas of airborne microbes across the continental US has been created by scientists, a feat that has implications for better understanding health and disease in humans, animals and crops. ... read more

Apr. 17, 2015 — Scientists investigated whether stomach ulcers in cattle are related to the presence of certain bacteria. For their study, they analyzed bacteria present in healthy and ulcerated cattle stomachs and ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — By combining biocompatible light-capturing nanowire arrays with select bacterial populations, a potentially game-changing new artificial photosynthesis system offers a win/win situation for the ... read more

Could Maple Syrup Help Cut Use of Antibiotics?

Apr. 16, 2015 — A concentrated extract of maple syrup makes disease-causing bacteria more susceptible to antibiotics, according to laboratory experiments. The findings suggest that combining maple syrup extract with ... read more

New Research Sheds Light on How Popular Probiotic Benefits the Gut

Apr. 16, 2015 — The gut bacteria Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG has a reputation as a helpful microbe. Now, researchers have come up with an explanation for why. It appears that the bacteria may boost the activity of ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — Scientists focused on producing biofuels more efficiently have a new powerful dataset to help them study the DNA of microbes that fuel bioconversion and other ... read more

How Salmonella Survives the Macrophage's Acid Attack

Apr. 14, 2015 — New research reveals that Salmonella fights acid with acid, by lowering the pH of its own interior in response to the acidification of the Salmonella-containing compartment by the macrophage, and by ... read more

Bacterial Raincoat Discovery Paves Way to Better Crop Protection

Apr. 13, 2015 — Fresh insights into how bacteria protect themselves -- by forming a waterproof raincoat -- could help develop improved products to protect plants from disease. Researchers have discovered how ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — It may come as a bit of a surprise to learn that bacteria have an immune system -- in their case to fight off invasive viruses called phages. And like any immune system -- from single-celled to human ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — Researchers demonstrate how the motility structure of the unicellular archaea is fixed to the cell wall of archaea – a type of unicellular life form. In addition, the researchers demonstrated that ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — While the phrase “an apple a day” is a popular saying, a new study suggests that pears as part of a healthy diet could play a role in helping to manage type 2 diabetes and diabetes-induced ... read more

Apr. 10, 2015 — An international team of researchers tracked nitrogen as soil bacteria pulled it from the air and released it as plant-friendly ammonium. This process—called biological nitrogen ... read more

Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015