Bacteria News
February 11, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:24pm EST

More Bacteria News
February 11, 2016

Feb. 4, 2016 — Using a special profiling technique, researchers have determined the mechanism of action of a potent antibiotic, known as tropodithietic acid, leading them to uncover its hidden ability as a ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a molecular regulator that allows salmonella bacteria to switch from actively causing disease to lurking in a chronic but asymptomatic state called a ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — New research identifies two new enzymes in bacteria that help fight off infection at a later stage, after an invading virus has already begun to replicate. The enzymes are part of the CRISPR-Cas ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Scientists have made an exciting discovery that could provide a new way to prevent bacterial infections in both humans and plants without triggering multi-drug resistance in ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — A new study provides a detailed look at how the microbes in the mouth ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — The bacteria living in our bodies are important for our health. The makeup of each person's microbiome plays a role in both the tendency to become obese and in each individual's reaction to ... read more

Insect Growth Regulator Wears a Second Hat: Infection Fighter

Jan. 28, 2016 — During an animal's embryonic development, a chemical chain reaction known as Hippo directs organs to grow to just the right size and no larger. Now researchers working with laboratory flies ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — It is the disappearance of a glycolipid from the bacterial cell envelope during evolution that may have considerably increased the virulence of tuberculosis bacilli in humans. Scientists have shown ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — Biologists have utilized the largest collection of metagenomic datasets to uncover a completely novel bacterial phylum -- ... read more

Jan. 26, 2016 — In October 2015, researchers ran the first tests confirming the presence of Zika virus transmission in the South American country. The team documents a disease trajectory that started with nine ... read more

Jan. 26, 2016 — Naturally occurring clay from British Columbia, Canada -- long used by the region's Heiltsuk First Nation for its healing potential -- exhibits potent antibacterial activity against ... read more

Virologists Investigating Novel Applications for Viruses

Jan. 26, 2016 — Viruses can be classified in a completely new way based on viral structures, new research suggests. A better understanding of how viruses work can help open up new applications for viruses in the ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — For the first time, scientists describe distinct bacterial assemblages living in a mixed microbial community (dental plaque), which they discovered using a novel imaging approach newly ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — In the water above natural oil seeps in the Gulf of Mexico, where oil and gas bubbles rise almost a mile to break at the surface, scientists have discovered something unusual: phytoplankton, tiny ... read more

Biologists Develop Method for Antibiotic Susceptibility Testing

Jan. 22, 2016 — A team of biologists and biomedical researchers has developed a new method to determine if bacteria are susceptible to antibiotics within a few hours, an advance that could slow the appearance of ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Scientists have made a 'vitamin mimic' -- a molecule that looks and acts just like a natural vitamin to bacteria -- that offers a new window into the inner workings of living ... read more

Powerful Machine-Learning Technique Uncovers Unknown Features of Pathogen

Jan. 21, 2016 — A powerful new machine-learning technique can be applied to large datasets in the biological sciences to uncover previously unknown features of organisms and their genes. For example, the technique ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — A bacterium found in the remote Gobi Desert has shown talents for using the sun's light as energy, and now researchers reveal that it can be found in surprisingly many different places, ... read more

Gone Fishin' for Natural Products, With a New Dragnet

Jan. 20, 2016 — Nature contains a treasure trove of substances that could help fight human disease. Just this year, the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine honored the development of drugs that fight parasites and ... read more

Immune 1-2-3 Punch Against Parasites Reveals Potentially Ancient Cell Death Pathway

Jan. 19, 2016 — The immune system's killer cells deliver a tightly controlled, 3-phase knockout punch that kills intracellular parasites through a novel pathway that an international team led by researchers has ... read more

Thursday, February 4, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015