Genetically Modified News
August 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:14am EDT

More Genetically Modified News
August 30, 2015

Regulatory, Certification Systems Creating Paralysis in Use of Genetically Altered Trees

Aug. 20, 2015 — Myriad regulations and certification requirements around the world are making it virtually impossible to use genetically engineered trees to combat catastrophic forest threats, according to a new ... read more

Aug. 14, 2015 — Another barrier to commercially viable biofuels from sources other than corn has fallen with the engineering of a microbe that improves isobutanol yields by a factor of ... read more

Tool Developed for More Accurate Interpretation of Biomedical Research

July 23, 2015 — Investigators have recently achieved great success with a study involving biomedical research on mouse models. The research group recently used tangible examples to demonstrate how the side effects ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Researchers unveil a series of sensors, memory switches, and circuits that can be encoded in the common human gut bacterium. These basic computing elements will allow the bacteria to sense, memorize, ... read more

July 7, 2015 — In an effort to further the commercial viability of cellulosic ethanol, a team of scientists used the Titan supercomputer to model the interaction of lignin and hemicellulose in the plant cell wall ... read more

July 4, 2015 — A climate-induced change of male dragon lizards into females occurring in the wild has been confirmed for the first time, according to recent ... read more

June 19, 2015 — A new method of controlled ovarian hyperstimulation, termed ultra-superovulation, has been developed by researchers in which ovulation of a very large number of eggs from one female mouse occurs. ... read more

June 16, 2015 — Researchers have developed a way to put bacteria under a molecular lock and key as a way to contain its accidental spread. The method involves a series of genetic mutations that render the microbe ... read more

Winner Doesn't Always Take All

June 11, 2015 — Theoretically predicted and now demonstrated experimentally for the first time using soil bacteria: weaker organisms can prevail against stronger ones -- if they are superior in number. This acts as ... read more

Genetically Modified Fish on the Loose?

June 10, 2015 — Transgenic fish may soon enter commercial production, but little is known about their possible effects on ecosystems, should they escape containment. Further, risk-assessment efforts are often ... read more

June 10, 2015 — Coral colonies are more genetically diverse than it has been assumed to date, conclude researchers who have conducted comprehensive studies into the genetic variability in individual colonies of ... read more

New Information Changes Few Opinions on GMOs, Global Warming

June 2, 2015 — First impressions are critical. So much so that for many people, even when they are given scientific information, they won't change their minds. This is particularly true for issues such as ... read more

May 28, 2015 — New work from a multidisciplinary team of scientists used massive DNA sequencing of bacterial populations that grow in the hot springs in Yellowstone National Park to determine their genetic ... read more

New Findings Shed Light on Complexities of Emerging Zoonotic Malaria

May 28, 2015 — Zoonotic malaria has been shown to be caused by two genetically distinct Plasmodium knowlesi parasite subpopulations associated with different monkey host species in Malaysia, according to new ... read more

Scientists See a Natural Place for 'Rewilded' Plants in Organic Farming

May 28, 2015 — One key element of organic agriculture is that it rejects unpredictable technologies, such as genetic engineering. But what if adding a gene from undomesticated plants to bring back a natural trait ... read more

May 27, 2015 — Engineers have devised a new way to detect cancer that has spread to the liver, by enlisting help from probiotics -- beneficial bacteria similar to those found in yogurt. Using a harmless strain of ... read more

May 21, 2015 — A new study finds the toxin in a widely used genetically modified (GM) crop is having little impact on the crop pest corn earworm -- which is consistent with predictions made almost 20 years ago that ... read more

May 21, 2015 — Antimicrobial resistance in bacteria poses a global threat to public health. Common antibiotics are often ineffective in treating infectious diseases because pathogens acquire resistance genes. These ... read more

May 12, 2015 — Pollution from historic mining activities in south west England has led to a reduction in genetic diversity of brown trout according to new research. The findings indicate that human activity can ... read more

May 11, 2015 — The water flea has genetically adapted to climate change. Biologists compared 'resurrected' water fleas -- hatched from 40-year-old eggs -- with more recent specimens to reach this ... read more

Thursday, August 20, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Saturday, March 7, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Sunday, November 2, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Friday, October 17, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Sunday, September 14, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Sunday, August 31, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014