Genetically Modified News
April 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:06am EDT

More Genetically Modified News
April 26, 2015

Apr. 24, 2015 — Researchers have discovered that the signalling route - a cascade activation of several molecules - triggered by the ATM protein regulates DNA repair during the production of spermatocytes by ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — Sweet potatoes from all over the world naturally contain genes from the bacterium Agrobacterium, researchers report. Sweet potato is one of the most important food crops for human consumption in the ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — Researchers have produced the first whole-genome sequences of endangered mountain gorillas in the Virunga volcanic mountain range in central Africa. Findings from sequence analysis suggest the ... read more

What Is the Definition of 'Natural' Foods? Consumers Want to Know

Mar. 24, 2015 — After decades of debate there remains no generally accepted definition of a "natural" food product. Regulatory agencies have refused to settle the issue but may be under new pressure from ... read more

Mar. 7, 2015 — An experimental drug causes loss of weight and fat in mice, a new study has found. Known as GC-1, the drug reportedly speeds up metabolism, or burning off, of fat ... read more

How Healthy Is Genetically Modified Soybean Oil?

Mar. 5, 2015 — Soybean oil accounts for more than 90 percent of all the seed oil production in the United States. Genetically modified soybean oil, made from seeds of GM soybean plants, was recently introduced into ... read more

Dog DNA Tests Alone Not Enough for Healthy Pedigree, Experts Say

Mar. 4, 2015 — Breeding dogs on the basis of a single genetic test carries risks and may not improve the health of pedigree lines, experts warn. Only a combined approach that makes use of DNA analysis, health ... read more

Mar. 2, 2015 — You might resemble or act more like your mother, but a novel research study reveals that mammals are genetically more like their dads. Specifically, the research shows that although we inherit equal ... read more

Enhancing High-Temperature Tolerance in Plants: Effective on Rice and Tomatoes

Mar. 2, 2015 — Agricultural researchers have identified for the first time that theE-2-hexenal, a plant-derived chemical substance, can induce a plant's stress response to high ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — Colorado potato beetles are a dreaded pest of potatoes. Since they do not have natural enemies in most regions, farmers try to control them with pesticides. However, this strategy is often ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — The phenotype of organisms is shaped by the interaction between environmental factors and their genetic constitution. A recent study by a team of population geneticists shows that fruit flies live in ... read more

Feb. 25, 2015 — A survey of rice, wheat, barley, fruit, and vegetable crops found that most mutants created by advanced genetic engineering techniques may be out of the scope of current genetically modified organism ... read more

Feb. 24, 2015 — Scientists have generated mature, functional skeletal muscles in mice using a new approach for tissue engineering. The scientists grew a leg muscle starting from engineered cells cultured in a dish ... read more

Gene May Help Reduce GM Contamination

Feb. 19, 2015 — Genetically modified crops have long drawn fire from opponents worried about potential contamination of conventional crops and other plants. Now a plant gene might help farmers reduce the risk of GM ... read more

Feb. 16, 2015 — A new study in mice has shown that the DNA of bacteria that live in the body can pass a trait to offspring in a way similar to the parents' own DNA. According to the authors, the discovery means ... read more

Feb. 12, 2015 — Studying aging and its associated diseases has been challenging because existing vertebrate models (e.g., mice) are relatively long lived, while short-lived invertebrate species (e.g., yeast and ... read more

Feb. 11, 2015 — Scientists have genetically describe the first kobuviruses to be reported from Africa. The results show that the viruses are less host-specific than previously ... read more

Epigenetic Breakthrough: A First of Its Kind Tool to Study the Histone Code

Feb. 10, 2015 — Scientists have created a new research tool, based on the fruit fly, to help crack the histone code. This research tool can be used to better understand the function of histone proteins, which play ... read more

Feb. 10, 2015 — Engineers hope to improve treatment for diabetes patients with a new type of engineered insulin. In tests in mice, the researchers showed that their modified insulin can circulate in the bloodstream ... read more

First Humanized Mouse Model of Sjögren’s Syndrome Opens Door to Study Other Autoimmune Diseases

Feb. 10, 2015 — Despite the prevalence of Sjögren’s syndrome – an autoimmune disease most commonly known for causing dry eyes and mouth - a lack of knowledge about how the condition starts has stalled the ... read more

Friday, April 24, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Saturday, March 7, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Sunday, November 2, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Friday, October 17, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Sunday, September 14, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Sunday, August 31, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Friday, August 1, 2014
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Monday, June 2, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Monday, May 26, 2014