Genetically Modified News
February 7, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:19am EST

More Genetically Modified News
February 7, 2016

Exact Pol(e) Position -- Precisely Where the Polymerase Is Changed

Jan. 21, 2016 — A method for the thorough analysis of protein modifications has been developed by researchers who have mapped the phosphorylation sites of the RNA polymerase II enzyme, which is responsible for ... read more

Dec. 17, 2015 — A streamlined protocol for an alternative gene insertion method using genome editing technologies, the PITCh (Precise Integration into Target Chromosome) system, has been developed. This new ... read more

Bacteria Engineered With Synthetic Circadian Clocks

Dec. 10, 2015 — Many of the body's processes follow a natural daily rhythm or so-called circadian clock, so there are certain times of the day when a person is most alert, when the heart is most efficient, and ... read more

Modified Mosquitoes Could Help Fight Against Malaria

Dec. 7, 2015 — For the first time, malarial mosquitoes have been modified to be infertile and pass on the trait rapidly -- raising the possibility of reducing the spread of ... read more

Battle of the Sexes: How Inhibition of Male Flower Production Lets Female Flowers Emerge

Nov. 30, 2015 — Scientist have shown how the gene that codes for 'androecy' -- a state in which a plant produces male flowers only -- mediates the production of a key plant enzyme that determines whether ... read more

DNA Sequences in GMOs: Largest Database Now Publicly Available

Nov. 26, 2015 — The JRC has published a new database, JRC GMO-Amplicons, which contains more than 240 000 DNA sequences appearing in genetically modified organisms (GMOs). It will help to verify the presence of ... read more

Nov. 23, 2015 — After a decade of battling the highly destructive citrus greening bacterium, researchers have developed genetically modified citrus trees that show enhanced resistance to greening, and have the ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Stealthy diseases sometimes trick plants by hijacking their defense signaling system, which issues an alarm that diverts plant resources for the wrong attack and allows the enemy pathogens to easily ... read more

Engineers Design Magnetic Cell Sensors

Nov. 2, 2015 — Engineers have designed magnetic protein nanoparticles that can be used to track cells or to monitor interactions within cells. The new "hypermagnetic" protein nanoparticles can be produced ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — A consortium of 48 scientists from 50 institutions in the United States are calling for a Unified Microbiome Initiative that would span national cross-institutional and cross-governmental agency ... read more

Cellular Stress Management in People and Plants

Oct. 26, 2015 — Bioscientists have discovered the function of a fundamental biological mechanism. Their findings are significant for the stress biology of human cells as well as the development of agricultural crops ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — A mammal that has long been studied for its unusual social behavior is not inbred, as previously thought and is genetically more complex that people previously believed, a study ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — Biology professors and students use tomatoes from campus garden to teach high schools students about genetic diversity. Students learn about dominant and recessive genes and the genetic influence on ... read more

Genome-Edited Plants, Without DNA

Oct. 19, 2015 — The public and scientists are at odds over the safety of genetically modified (GM) food. According to a January 2015 Pew Research Center report, only 37% of the public believe that GM foods are ... read more

Oct. 15, 2015 — A team of researchers has used engineered viruses to provide quantum-based enhancement of energy transport. The work points the way toward inexpensive and efficient solar cells or light-driven ... read more

Oct. 9, 2015 — Plant scientists engineered the cassava plant to produce higher levels of vitamin B6 in its storage roots and leaves. This could help to protect millions of people in Africa from serious ... read more

Oct. 8, 2015 — Striga, also known as witchweed, is a parasitic plant that affects 100 million people in sub-Saharan Africa. Researchers have made a discovery that could lead to more effective ways to protect ... read more

Studying Cardiac Arrhythmias in Nematodes

Oct. 2, 2015 — A simple model using the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans has been developed that can be used to test substances for treating genetically-mediated cardiac arrhythmias. They used the nematode feeding ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — Humans have been breeding crops until they're bigger and more nutritious since the early days of agriculture, but genetic manipulation isn't the only way to give plants a boost. Integrative ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — Biological engineers have devised a new mix-and-match system to genetically engineer viruses that target specific bacteria. The approach could generate new weapons against bacteria for which there ... read more

Thursday, January 21, 2016
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Saturday, March 7, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015