Mammals News
September 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:14pm EDT

More Mammals News
September 2, 2015

Aug. 31, 2015 — White-tailed eagles detect and avoid the ingestion of large metal particles (larger than 8 mm) but ignore smaller metal particles whilst feeding on shot mammalian carcasses. Lead-based bullets split ... read more

Study in Bats and Rodents Offers Insights on How Viruses Spread Across Species

Aug. 25, 2015 — Bats are natural reservoirs of several important emerging viruses, and because cross-species transmission appears to be quite common among bats, it's important to study bats in a community ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — The fact that the greatest diversity of large mammals is found in Africa reflects past human activities -- and not climatic or other environmental constraints. This is determined in a new study, ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Research reveals new insight behind widespread wildlife extinctions, shrinking fish sizes, and disruptions to global food chains. 'Our wickedly efficient killing technology, global economic ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — A scientist has cautioned against culling sharks because the long term ecological impact cannot be predicted. This research into leopard sharks took place on the east coast of ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Leading scientists and experts in the field of rhino conservation state in a new paper that it is safe to consider the Sumatran rhinoceros extinct in the wild in Malaysia. The survival of the ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — A cooling, drying climate over the last 40 million years turned North America from a warm and wooded place into the drier, open plains we know today. A new study shows how dogs evolved in response to ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — New research has found that fallow deer bucks make judgements about the possible threat from competitors from the sound of their ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Koko the gorilla is best known for a lifelong study to teach her a silent form of communication, American Sign Language. But some of the simple sounds she has learned may change the perception that ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Scientists have identified a new species of pre-mammal in what is now Zambia. Thanks to a unique groove on the animal's upper jaw, it was dubbed Ichibengops, which combines the local Bemba word ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Black-footed ferrets, a critically endangered species native to North America, have renewed hope for future survival thanks to successful efforts by a coalition of conservationists, to reproduce ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — If an unidentified flying object suddenly appeared in the sky, it's likely your heart would beat faster. Now, researchers have found that the same is true for ... read more

Scent Matters to Fur Seals

Aug. 12, 2015 — Antarctic fur seals have unique ‘scent profile’ to recognize their pups, scientists have found. Until now researchers thought voice recognition was mostly important for finding their young, but ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Competition played a more important role in the evolution of the dog family (wolves, foxes, and their relatives) than climate change, shows a new international study. Researchers analyzed over 2000 ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — The wild boar population in Europe is growing. However, the reasons for this growth were not yet clear. Scientists have now found that climate change plays a major role. The number of wild boars ... read more

Aug. 11, 2015 — Feral animals and pest plants threaten many Australian species in the Lake Eyre Basin, the world's largest internally draining lake system in central Australia. A three-year study has ... read more

Bringing the Tasmanian Devil Back to Mainland Australia Would Restore Ecosystem Health

Aug. 11, 2015 — Australian researchers have conducted the first study assessing the ecological impact of returning Tasmanian devils to mainland Australia, as a way to replace culled dingoes as apex ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — Loved and hated. Admired and feared. Almost wiped out and now restored. Wolves have a long and varied history in Norway and trigger strong feelings on both sides of the ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — A land animals' ecological niche is a strong predictor of pupil shape, a new analysis has found. Species with pupils that are vertical slits are more likely to be ambush predators that are ... read more

Why It's Hard to Make a Bunny Mad

Aug. 6, 2015 — Rabbits have long been considered immune to prion disease, but recently scientists have shown that they can -- under certain circumstances -- get transmissible spongiform encephalopathy (or TSE, the ... read more

Monday, August 31, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015