Mammals News
May 6, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:59am EDT

More Mammals News
May 6, 2015

Apr. 28, 2015 — The Iberian ibex was reintroduced in the Sierra de Guadarrama (Madrid) in 1989. Now, some say there are too many of them. Researchers have assessed the impact on woody plant species in order to know ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Dolphins that raise their voices to be heard in noisy environments expend extra energy in doing so, according to new research that for the first time measures the biological costs to marine mammals ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — An international team of researchers has sequenced the nearly complete genome of two Siberian woolly mammoths -- revealing the most complete picture to date -- including new information about the ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Canada's most easterly province has as many non-native land mammals as it does native ones. But that species diversity could be negatively affecting the island's food web, according to new ... read more

Eardrum Evolved Independently in Mammals and Reptiles/birds

Apr. 22, 2015 — Researchers have used evo-devo methods to determine that the eardrum evolved independently in mammals and ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — The good relationship between humans and dogs was certainly influenced by domestication. For long, it was assumed that humans preferred particularly tolerant animals for breeding. Thus, cooperative ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — A map shows how California's state highway system is strewn with roadkill "hot spots," which are identified in a newly released report. The data could help state highway planners take ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Only three wolves seem to remain in Isle Royale National Park. Researchers observed the wolves during their annual Winter Study, and the lone group, at an unprecedented low, is a sharp decline from ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — While the female baboon's big red bottom may be an eyesore to some, it has an aphrodisiac effect on her mates. Biologists have long thought that baboon males prefer females with bigger backsides ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Demand for natural rubber fueled by the tire industry is threatening protected parts of Southeast Asia, according to new research. Researchers say that the extent of the problem is comparable to oil ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Scientists synthesized decades of scientific discoveries to illuminate the common and unique patterns driving the extraordinary transitions that whales, dolphins, seals and other species underwent as ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Two primatologists working in the forests of the Republic of Congo have returned from the field with a noteworthy prize: the first-ever photograph of the Bouvier's red colobus monkey, a rare ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — A team of scientists has documented the longest migration of a mammal ever recorded -- a round-trip trek of nearly 14,000 miles by a whale identified as a critically endangered species that raises ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — New research is providing the most comprehensive picture of the evolutionary history of baleen whales, which are not only the largest animals ever to live on earth, but also among the most ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — A species of bone-eating worm that was believed to have evolved in conjunction with whales has been dated back to prehistoric times when it fed on the carcasses of giant marine ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — Researchers have produced the first whole-genome sequences of endangered mountain gorillas in the Virunga volcanic mountain range in central Africa. Findings from sequence analysis suggest the ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — It turns out sea turtles, even at a tender 6-18 months of age, are very active swimmers. They don't just passively drift in ocean currents as researchers once thought. Researchers say it's ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — Bacteria found naturally on some bats may prove useful in controlling the deadly fungal disease known as white-nose syndrome, which has devastated bat populations throughout eastern North America and ... read more

The Hoo's Hoo of Gibbon Communication

Apr. 7, 2015 — The secret communication of gibbons has been interpreted for the first time, researchers report. The research reveals the likely meaning of a number of distinct gibbon whispers, or 'hoo' ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — The number of gorillas and chimpanzees in Central Africa continues to decline due to hunting, habitat loss, and disease, combined with a widespread lack of law enforcement and corruption in the ... read more

Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015