Mammals News
November 25, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:19am EST

More Mammals News
November 25, 2015

Nov. 5, 2015 — When it comes to spreading viruses, bats are thought to be among the worst. Now a new study of nearly 900 nonhuman primates in Bangladesh and Cambodia shows that macaques harbor more diverse ... read more

Nov. 5, 2015 — Humans can help the critically endangered Saimaa ringed seal to cope with climate change. Human-made snow drifts developed in a recent study improved the breeding success of seals during winters with ... read more

Gulls Follow Ducks to Find Dinner

Nov. 5, 2015 — Gulls have learned to follow diving ducks and take the bottom-dwelling mussels that the ducks bring to the surface, a food source that would otherwise be inaccessible to them. Gulls are one of the ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — The relatively rare, forest-dwelling fisher is increasingly becoming the innocent victim of illegal marijuana farms in forested lands in California. According to a recently published study, ... read more

Warmer New England Waters Change Landscape for Cod and Lobsters

Nov. 3, 2015 — An expert says a rapidly changing climate will dramatically change the living marine resources and maritime traditions of seacoast communities, like those of New England and must be accounted for by ... read more

Nov. 3, 2015 — A plant geneticist has discovered the gene in the ancient Australian native tobacco plant Nicotiana benthamiana, known as Pitjuri to Australian indigenous Aboriginals tribes. The discovery was made ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — A study of life and extinctions among woolly mammoths and other ice-age animals suggests that interconnected habitats can help Arctic mammal species survive environmental ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Bats in northeast China are infected with the fungus that causes white-nose syndrome, a deadly disease that has decimated bat populations in North America since it first appeared in upstate New York ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — One way to monitor impacts to the ecosystem is by observing the changes in occurrence or distribution of sea birds and marine mammals. So a team of researchers is 'eavesdropping' on marine ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — In general, herpes viruses are considered to be specific to a single species or group of related animals. Recent research findings contradict this assumption by showing that two equine herpes viruses ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Scientists will use two methods of harvesting ambient energy to power marine sensors on elephant seals. Current research is limited by the sensors' short battery lifespans or because data is ... read more

First Evaluation of New Fingerprinting Methods for Ivory

Nov. 2, 2015 — Scientists have collaborated with imaging and fingerprint experts to validate the use of new techniques for retrieving fingerprints from ivory for the first ... read more

Oct. 30, 2015 — Researchers have said some of the venomous contents in the bats' saliva likely evolved by recruiting ancestral genes to produce new transcript molecules rather than by creating completely new ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — Researchers have described the new genus and species, Pliobates cataloniae, based on a skeleton recovered from the landfill of Can Mata (Catalonia, NE Spain). The fossil remains belong to an adult ... read more

Ancestry of Mammalian 'Warm-Bloodedness' Revealed

Oct. 29, 2015 — 'Warm-bloodedness', a characteristic of mammals, is a trait encompassing a suite of physiological processes that helps to maintain a relatively high, constant body temperature. A new study ... read more

Mummified Seals Reveal Ecological Impact of Ice Change

Oct. 29, 2015 — Scientists are using the mummified remains of seals freeze-dried in Antarctica to examine the long-term effects of changing ice patterns on marine mammal ecology. Recent work examined over five ... read more

Mammal Body-Size Responds to Climate Change in Ancient Wyoming

Oct. 29, 2015 — Evidence from fossils suggests that multiple global warming events, which occurred over 50 million years ago, impacted the evolution of mammals living in ancient Wyoming. Using over seven thousand ... read more

A Study of Weaning Age in Fossil Elephants Gives Hints About the Cause of Their Extinction

Oct. 29, 2015 — The extinctions of many giant mammals, like mammoths, at the end of the Ice Ages is a story that most people know about. The causes of these extinctions have long been debated in the scientific ... read more

Oct. 28, 2015 — The remains of an Iberian lynx specimen which lived 1.6 million years ago -- the oldest ever discovered -- were found resting in a cave in Barcelona. This discovery not only allows us to shed light ... read more

Group Living: For Baboons Intermediate Size Is Optimal

Oct. 27, 2015 — Intermediate-sized groups provide the most benefits to wild baboons, new research reveals. The researchers compiled their findings based on observing five social wild baboon groups in East Africa ... read more

Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Sunday, September 13, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015