Mammals News
February 5, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:20pm EST

More Mammals News
February 5, 2016

Jan. 27, 2016 — RNA sequencing is uncovering emerging diseases in wildlife that other diagnostic tests cannot detect. Researchers used a technique called transcriptome sequencing to screen for blood-borne diseases ... read more

Jan. 26, 2016 — Bat body type, and the environmental conditions bats use in their hibernation sites, may explain species differences in bat mortality from white-nose syndrome, according to a ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — Over-hunting large mammals in tropical forests could make climate change worse. Tropical forests worldwide store more than 460 billion tonnes of carbon. Researchers studied the impact of over-hunting ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — Despite decades of research, the idea that relative brain size predicts cognitive abilities remains highly controversial, because there is still little experimental evidence to support it. However, a ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — Were domestic cats brought to China over 5,000 years ago? Or were small cats domesticated in China at that time? There was no way of deciding between these two hypotheses until a team of ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — Looking through the eyes of zebra predators, researchers found no evidence supporting the notion that zebras' black and white stripes are for protective camouflage or that they provide a social ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — A new study measures the psychological predictors of tolerance for tigers in the Bangladesh Sundarbans, where the large carnivores have a rocky and sometimes violent relationship with local ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — Snowshoe hare populations could decline steeply by mid-century unless the hares are able to adapt to winters with less snowfall, when their white coats make them easy prey. The good news: A wide ... read more

A Predictive Risk Map for the Nematode Parasite Mansonella Perstans in Uganda

Jan. 21, 2016 — Infection with the nematode parasite Mansonella perstans is one of the most neglected of the neglected tropical diseases. Although symptoms are usually mild, the infection can cause swelling, fever, ... read more

Do Animals Exercise to Keep Fit?

Jan. 20, 2016 — From joining a gym to taking up running, getting fit is a perennially popular new year's resolution. We lead sedentary lifestyles and have easy access to energy-rich food, so we need to do ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Reports of bat deaths worldwide due to human causes largely unique to the 21st century are markedly rising, according to a new analysis. Collisions with wind turbines worldwide and the disease ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — New camera trap photos capture the elusive bush dog in Panama on its way North as it expands out of South America. Bush dogs, Speothos venaticus, are short-legged and stubby, standing only about a ... read more

Global Analysis Reveals Why Many Bat Populations Are in Decline

Jan. 19, 2016 — Many of the 1,300 species of bat are considered to be threatened and declining. A new analysis reveals trends and causes of death in bats around the world, shedding new light on the possible factors ... read more

Jan. 15, 2016 — Materials scientists have shown for the first time that the mother-of-pearl in clam shells does not form in a crystallization process but is a result of the aggregation of nanoparticles within an ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — A new method uses “detection dogs,” genetic analysis, and scientific models to assess habitat suitability for bears in an area linking the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem (GYE) to the northern U.S. ... read more

Rats Pose Health Threat to Poultry, Humans

Jan. 14, 2016 — Rats can absorb disease agents from their local environment and spread them, according to a new study. The results also indicate that the threat rats pose to the health of poultry and humans has been ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Monkeys, like humans, will take the time and effort to punish others who get more than their fair share, according to a new study. In fact, they can act downright spiteful. Capuchin monkeys will yank ... read more

Plague-Riddled Prairie Dogs a Model for Infectious Disease Spread

Jan. 13, 2016 — Sporadic outbreaks of plague among black-tailed prairie dogs is an ideal model for the study of infectious zoonotic disease, say biologists. Plague doesn't usually kill people these days, but ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — High levels of vitamin D are linked to improved fertility and reproductive success, a study of wild sheep has found. Experts hope that further studies will help to determine the relevance of the ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Ehen temperatures get warmer, woodrats suffer a reduced ability to live on their normal diet of toxic creosote, suggesting that global warming may hurt plant-eating animals, report ... read more

Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015