Bird Flu Research News
July 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:13am EDT

More Bird Flu Research News
July 3, 2015

Property Inhibiting Growth of Bird Flu Virus Discovered in Eggs

May 8, 2015 — An egg is many things. It is a versatile food but also an efficient source of bioactive compounds. A researcher has discovered that fractions isolated from the ovomucin protein in egg white can ... read more

Researchers Monitor for Next Novel Influenza Strain

Mar. 3, 2015 — While flu season starts to die down, researchers are diligently monitoring for the next novel influenza virus by monitoring swine influenza viruses. The work is starting with swine in the field. ... read more

Dec. 29, 2014 — An international research team has shown how changes in a flu virus that has plagued Chinese poultry farms for decades helped create the novel avian H7N9 influenza A virus that has sickened more than ... read more

Dec. 18, 2014 — Ferrets share a mutation that was previously thought to be unique to humans, among the mammals, research has shown for the first time. This helps to explain why the molecular characteristics of ... read more

Dec. 17, 2014 — Bird migration is an impressive phenomenon, but why birds often travel huge distances to and from their breeding grounds in the far North is still very unclear. Suggestions include that the birds ... read more

Chickens and Turkeys 'Closer to Dinosaur Ancestors' Than Other Birds

Dec. 11, 2014 — New research suggests that chickens and turkeys have experienced fewer gross genomic changes than other birds as they evolved from their dinosaur ... read more

Dec. 8, 2014 — A new study may lead to new, more effective vaccines and medicines by revealing detailed information about how a flu antibody binds to a wide variety of flu ... read more

Nov. 20, 2014 — An international team of researchers has shown that it may be possible to improve the effectiveness of the seasonal flu vaccine by 'pre-empting' the evolution of the influenza ... read more

Nov. 20, 2014 — Scientists looking to understand – and potentially thwart – the influenza virus now have a much more encompassing view, thanks to the first complete structure of one of the flu virus’ key ... read more

Some Flu Viruses Potentially More Dangerous Than Others

Nov. 18, 2014 — Certain subtypes of avian influenza viruses have the potential to cause more severe disease in humans than other avian influenza subtypes and should be monitored carefully to prevent spread of ... read more

Ferret Genome Sequenced, Holds Clues to Respiratory Diseases

Nov. 17, 2014 — The draft sequence of the ferret genome provides genetic information important to the study of respiratory disorders. Scientists are now able to examine the network of the animal's genes ... read more

Flu Infection Has Long-Ranging Effects

Nov. 3, 2014 — Flu infection has long-ranging effects beyond the lung that can wreak havoc in the gut and cause gastrointestinal symptoms, according to new research. The study suggests ways to relieve these ... read more

New Step Towards Eradication of H5N1 Bird Flu

Oct. 31, 2014 — A new test has been developed that can distinguish between birds that have been vaccinated against the H5N1 strain of avian influenza virus or 'bird flu' with those that have been naturally ... read more

Lethal Virus More Threatening to Public Health Than Ebola: Influenza

Oct. 27, 2014 — With Americans on edge about the potential spread of Ebola, it is easy to overlook another virus to which we have long been accustomed – influenza. According to estimates by the Centers for Disease ... read more

Oct. 23, 2014 — Here are three disaster scenarios for zoo or aquarium managers: one, a wildfire lunges towards your facility, threatening your staff and hundreds of zoo animals. Two, hurricane floodwaters pour into ... read more

Scientists 'Must Not Become Complacent' When Assessing Pandemic Threat from Flu Viruses

Oct. 15, 2014 — As our ability to assess the pandemic risk from strains of influenza virus increases with the latest scientific developments, we must not allow ourselves to become complacent that the most ... read more

Oct. 7, 2014 — An experimental vaccine to protect people against H7N9 avian influenza prompted immune responses in 59 percent of volunteers who received two injections at the lowest dosage tested, but only if the ... read more

Studies Examine Vaccination Strategies for Prevention, Control of Avian Flu

Oct. 7, 2014 — New vaccination strategies for the prevention and control of avian influenza, often referred to as “bird flu,” have been examined by two randomized trials, scientists ... read more

In-Depth Analysis of Bat Influenza Viruses Concludes They Pose Low Risk to Humans

Oct. 2, 2014 — Zoonosis -- transmission of infections from other vertebrates to humans -- causes regular and sometimes serious disease outbreaks. Bats are a well-known vertebrate reservoir of viruses like rabies ... read more

Despite What You've Heard, Kids With Egg Allergies Should Get the Flu Shot, Experts Say

Sep. 24, 2014 — If you have a child with egg allergies, you may have been told they shouldn’t get the shot because of a possible reaction to the trace amounts of egg in the vaccine. Not true, say experts. Recent ... read more

Friday, May 8, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Saturday, September 6, 2014
Thursday, September 4, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Monday, July 21, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014
Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Thursday, May 1, 2014
Monday, April 28, 2014
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Monday, April 21, 2014
Thursday, April 10, 2014
Tuesday, April 8, 2014
Monday, March 31, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Sunday, March 16, 2014
Thursday, March 6, 2014
Thursday, February 27, 2014
Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Sunday, February 16, 2014
Friday, February 7, 2014
Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Thursday, January 16, 2014
Wednesday, January 15, 2014
Thursday, January 9, 2014
Monday, December 23, 2013
Monday, December 16, 2013
Sunday, December 15, 2013
Wednesday, December 11, 2013
Monday, December 9, 2013
Thursday, December 5, 2013
Tuesday, December 3, 2013
Friday, November 22, 2013
Thursday, November 21, 2013
Thursday, November 14, 2013
Friday, November 8, 2013
Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Monday, October 28, 2013
Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Monday, October 21, 2013
Sunday, October 20, 2013
Friday, October 4, 2013
Sunday, September 22, 2013
Thursday, September 19, 2013
Monday, September 16, 2013
Wednesday, September 11, 2013
Wednesday, August 21, 2013
Wednesday, August 14, 2013
Monday, August 12, 2013
Tuesday, August 6, 2013
Monday, July 22, 2013
Tuesday, July 16, 2013
Monday, July 15, 2013
Wednesday, July 10, 2013
Tuesday, July 9, 2013