Asthma News
July 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:53pm EDT

More Asthma News
July 30, 2015

Second Severe Allergic Reaction Can Occur Hours After First

July 7, 2015 — New research offers clues as to why some kids can have a second, related severe allergic reaction hours after a first – and what to do about ... read more

July 7, 2015 — Magnetic resonance imaging and computed tomography provide important information on the symptoms and exercise capabilities of people with mild-to-moderate chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, ... read more

Stress-Fighting Proteins Could Be Key to New Treatments for Asthma

July 6, 2015 — Investigators have discovered the precise molecular steps that enable immune cells implicated in certain forms of asthma and allergy to develop and survive in the body. The findings reveal a new ... read more

June 30, 2015 — From the founding of America, the Fourth of July has been synonymous with fireworks. A new study quantifies the surge in fine particulate matter -- particles that are two and one half microns in ... read more

Severe Asthma Fails to Respond to Mainstay Treatment, Study Shows

June 29, 2015 — The immune response that occurs in patients with severe asthma is markedly different than what occurs in milder forms of the lung condition, according to researchers. People with severe asthma, in ... read more

New Strategies, Solutions to Fight Pediatric Asthma

June 27, 2015 — Low flu vaccination rates, medication compliance and limited access to primary care providers have contributed to the high pediatric asthma rates in California, researchers conclude. This new study ... read more

Children With Asthma Likely Born in Area With High Air Pollution

June 27, 2015 — Children who develop asthma in Toronto are more likely to have been born in a neighborhood that has a high level of traffic-related air pollution, new research ... read more

June 25, 2015 — A study supports a surprising alternative approach to controlling asthma: targeting certain sensory nerve endings in the lungs. The researchers show that specialized sensory neurons called ... read more

How to Predict Biphasic Allergic Reactions in Children

June 22, 2015 — Children are more likely to have a repeat, delayed anaphylactic reaction from the same allergic cause, depending on the severity of the initial reaction, reports the first pediatric study to look at ... read more

Adenosine in Ambrosia Pollen Increases Allergic Response

June 17, 2015 — Ragweed (Ambrosia artemisiifolia) -- an otherwise unremarkable plant -- produces pollen that can trigger strong allergic reactions such as asthma even in very small quantities. Scientists have now ... read more

Scientists Map Surface of Immune Cells

June 12, 2015 — The immune system must constantly adapt to its environment in order to protect a body effectively. The so-called T cells are an important example in this regard. One of their functions is to form the ... read more

Older Asthma Patients at Increased Risk for Treatment Failure

June 12, 2015 — Older patients with asthma are at increased risk for treatment failure, particularly those patients being treated with inhaled corticosteroids, according to a new ... read more

Low Birth Weight and Childhood Infections Predict Ankylosing Spondylitis

June 11, 2015 — The results of a new study showed that a diagnosis of ankylosing spondylitis can be predicted by low birth weight, having older siblings and hospitalization for infection between the ages of 5-16 ... read more

Aerobic Exercise Seems to Curb Asthma Severity and Improves Quality of Life

June 10, 2015 — Aerobic exercise seems to curb the severity of asthma symptoms and improves quality of life, finds a small study. It should be routinely added to the drug treatment of moderate to severe asthma, ... read more

Weight Loss in Obese Adults Can Reduce Severity of Asthma

June 8, 2015 — Weight loss reduced asthma severity as measured by airway hyperresponsiveness in obese adults, a research study has shown. The incidence of asthma is 1.47 times higher in obese people than nonobese ... read more

Parent-Reported Symptoms Gauge Features of the Food Allergic Disease Eosinophilic Esophagitis

June 4, 2015 — Researchers have identified that parent-reported responses to a questionnaire called the Pediatric Eosinophilic Esophagitis Symptom Score correspond to clinical and biologic features of eosinophilic ... read more

June 1, 2015 — Particles of less than 2.5 microns emitted by vehicles have negative repercussions for bronchiolitis, pneumonia, asthma and bronchitis in children. Should their concentrations be reduced to the ... read more

Treatment for Genetically Caused Emphysema Effective, Experts Say

May 28, 2015 — A landmark clinical study provides convincing evidence that a frequently overlooked therapy for genetically-caused emphysema is effective and slows the progression of lung disease. Alpha-1 ... read more

Soy Supplements Don't Improve Asthma, Study Concludes

May 26, 2015 — Despite previous findings suggesting a link between soy intake and decreased asthma severity, a new placebo-controlled study shows soy supplements do not improve lung function for patients with ... read more

A New Use for Statins: Asthma

May 26, 2015 — Statins inhaled as a spray can treat symptoms of asthma, researchers report. The findings support that statins should be explored as a new class of inhaler therapy for asthma. According to the ... read more

Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Saturday, March 14, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Friday, December 19, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014