Asthma News
May 22, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:23pm EDT

More Asthma News
May 22, 2015

Certain Risk Factors Can Predict the Risk for COPD Exacerbations in Patients Using Inhaled Medications

May 18, 2015 — Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD), being female, and certain scores on the St. George’s Respiratory Questionnaire (SGRQ) were associated with exacerbations of chronic obstructive pulmonary ... read more

Genetic Variance Explains Poor Response to Common Asthma Medications

Apr. 21, 2015 — Researchers have identified a biological basis for asthmatic children who do not respond well to corticosteroid treatment -- currently the most effective treatment for chronic asthma and acute asthma ... read more

How Twitter Can Help Predict Emergency Room Visits

Apr. 15, 2015 — Researchers analyzed asthma-related tweets, along with data from air quality sensors, to successfully predict how many asthma sufferers would visit the emergency room on a given day. "We ... read more

Receptor for Asthma-Associated Virus Identified

Apr. 6, 2015 — A cellular receptor for rhinovirus C, a cold-causing virus that is strongly associated with severe asthma attacks, has been identified by researchers. A variant in the gene for this receptor ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — By determining the structure of a common respiratory bacterium's toxin, researchers have taken a step toward development of drugs and vaccines for reactive airway diseases. Mycoplasma pneumoniae ... read more

Asthma Rates Among Black Youth Are Similarly High in Urban, Rural Communities

Apr. 7, 2015 — Asthma rates among black youth living in urban Detroit and rural Georgia are essentially the same, researchers report, a finding that conflicts with the widely held theory that city life is a risk ... read more

Witnessing Drug Problems or Domestic Violence Causes Greater Asthma Incidence

Apr. 2, 2015 — Children exposed to greater number of adverse childhood experiences had increased risk of asthma incidence, research shows. The survey drew from interviews with parents of more than 92,000 children ... read more

Ozone Air Pollution Could Harm Women's Fertility

Mar. 29, 2015 — Many urban and suburban areas have high levels of ground-level ozone, an air pollutant that can adversely affect lung and heart health. New research in mice suggests breathing high levels of ozone ... read more

South-East Asian Haze Increases Risk of Respiratory Mortality

Mar. 19, 2015 — Research has shown a significant association between haze events in South-East Asia and mortality rates caused by respiratory illness on the west coast of peninsular ... read more

Mar. 18, 2015 — In diseases such as asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), the body produces too much mucus, making breathing difficult. New research provides clues to potentially counteract ... read more

Researchers Uncover a Mechanism Linking Inhaled Diesel Pollution and Respiratory Distress

Mar. 14, 2015 — Researchers have, for the first time, shown how exhaust pollution from diesel engines is able to affect nerves within the lung. Air pollution is a significant threat to health, they say, and ... read more

Bariatric Surgery Appears to Cut Risks for Serious Asthma-Related Events

Mar. 13, 2015 — Bariatric surgery can significantly reduce the risk of asthma attacks -- also called exacerbations -- in obese patients with asthma, research shows. The report is the first to find that significant ... read more

Scientists Open Door for Asthma Cure

Mar. 10, 2015 — Scientists have identified a way to target a recently discovered cell type that causes asthma, paving the way to cure the chronic respiratory disease that affects 25 million ... read more

Smoking When Pregnant Increases Cancer Risk for Daughters

Mar. 5, 2015 — Women who smoke when pregnant are putting their daughters at a greater risk of developing ovarian and breast cancer later in life, a new study has determined. Findings also demonstrated that mothers ... read more

'Life-Prolonging' Research for Cystic Fibrosis Patients Underway

Mar. 5, 2015 — Preventing lung infections in childhood could stop later life-threatening infections for people with cystic fibrosis (CF), according to recent research. Scientists are investigating how bacteria ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — A 20-year study shows that decreasing air pollution in Los Angeles has led to healthier lungs for millennials when compared to children in the '90s. The gains in lung function paralleled ... read more

Infant Gut Bacteria and Food Sensitization: Associations in the First Year of Life

Mar. 4, 2015 — New light has been shed on changes in intestinal bacteria of infants that can predict future development of food allergies or asthma. The research reveals that infants with a fewer number of ... read more

Marijuana: The Allergen You Never Knew Existed

Mar. 3, 2015 — As marijuana’s legal status throughout the country continues to change, people should know it can cause allergic ... read more

Pregnant Women With Asthma Need to Curb Urge to Ask for Antibiotics

Mar. 3, 2015 — Twice as many children born to mothers who took antibiotics during pregnancy were diagnosed with asthma by age 3 than children born to mothers who didn’t take prenatal antibiotics, a new study has ... read more

Advocacy, Race Affect Flu Vaccination Rates

Feb. 23, 2015 — A doctor's recommendation and a patient's race may influence flu vaccination rates, according to researchers. Researchers found that 90 percent of patients received vaccination if their ... read more

Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Saturday, March 14, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Friday, December 19, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Sunday, November 16, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Sunday, November 16, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Saturday, November 8, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Friday, October 17, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014