Asthma News
February 12, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:54pm EST

More Asthma News
February 12, 2016

Asthma, Allergies: Protective Factor Found in Farm Milk

Jan. 27, 2016 — Fresh, unprocessed cow's milk has a higher content of omega-3 fatty acids than does pasteurized, homogenized or low-fat milk. This factor partly explains why children who consume the unprocessed ... read more

New Model: How Asthma Develops from Exposure to House Dust Mites

Jan. 26, 2016 — A previously unknown step in the pathway that leads to asthma has been found by researchers, a discovery that may offer new therapeutic approaches to this incurable disease. Asthma affects more than ... read more

Anti-Asthma Drugs Taken During Pregnancy Associated With Autism Risk

Jan. 26, 2016 — Taking B2AR agonist asthma drugs during pregnancy appears to be associated with an increased risk that the child will develop autism, according to new ... read more

Antibiotic Use in Early Life Disrupt Normal Gut Microbiota Development

Jan. 26, 2016 — The use of antibiotics in early childhood interferes with normal development of the intestinal microbiota, shows research. Particularly the broad-spectrum macrolide antibiotics have adverse ... read more

Vitamin D Supplementation During Pregnancy May Not Reduce Risk of Asthma, Wheezing in Offspring

Jan. 26, 2016 — Two randomized trials examine if vitamin D supplementation during pregnancy would reduce the risk of asthma or persistent wheezing in offspring. Asthma often begins in early childhood and is the most ... read more

‘Homing’ Molecule Discovery Could Help Speed-Up Fight Against Flu

Jan. 21, 2016 — Scientists have discovered a new molecule which could help better target and kick-start the body's natural fight against common infections like ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Researchers are studying new approaches to reducing fall asthma exacerbations, with a focus on new approaches to reducing fall asthma exacerbations in pediatric ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — An uncommon and little-studied type of cell in the lungs has been found to act like a sensor, linking the pulmonary and central nervous systems to regulate immune response in reaction to ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — A large new study reveals previously unknown risk factors associated with an eye condition that causes serious progressive nearsightedness at a relatively young age. The findings, made through the ... read more

Researchers Further Illuminate Pathway for Treatment of Cystic Fibrosis

Jan. 12, 2016 — New research findings add further clarity to a question that has polarized the cystic fibrosis (CF) research community. It is well established that people with cystic fibrosis have two faulty copies ... read more

Genetic Variation Linked to Respiratory Disease

Jan. 7, 2016 — Genetic mutations in a protein associated with asthma can affect a person’s susceptibility to a variety of lung diseases -- and could lead to new treatments -- researchers have ... read more

Commensal Bacteria Regulate Immune Cells in Lungs to Produce Proteins for Host Defense

Jan. 5, 2016 — The human body contains approximately ten times as many bacterial cells as human cells. Known as commensal bacteria, they exist in a mutually beneficial, symbiotic relationship with their human ... read more

Childhood Asthma May Increase Risks of Shingles

Dec. 28, 2015 — Nearly 1 million incidents of herpes zoster, which is also known as shingles, occur every year in the US, with an estimated one-third of all adults affected by age 80. Despite its prevalence, ... read more

Mental Disorders Associated With Subsequent Chronic Physical Conditions

Dec. 23, 2015 — International survey data suggest an assortment of mental disorders were associated with increased risk of the onset of a wide array of chronic physical ... read more

Modeling COPD, Asthma in a Human Small Airway-on-a-Chip

Dec. 21, 2015 — A research team has leveraged its organ-on-a-chip technology to develop a model of the human small airway in which lung inflammatory diseases, such as chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), ... read more

Researchers Develop New Method for Looking Into the Lungs

Dec. 18, 2015 — For the first time, researchers have succeeded in producing 3-D images showing oxygen and carbon dioxide transport in the lungs. The new method provides hope for better treatment of COPD and lung ... read more

Diversity in Medical Research Is a Long Way Off, Study Shows

Dec. 15, 2015 — Despite Congressional mandates aimed at diversifying clinical research, little has changed in the last 30 years in both the numbers of studies that include minorities and the diversity of scientists ... read more

Scientists Show How Drug Molecules Regulate a Medically Important Protein

Dec. 10, 2015 — A new study shows how different pharmaceutical drugs hit either the 'on' or 'off' switch of a signaling protein linked to asthma, obesity and type 2 ... read more

Sleep-Disordered Breathing Patients at Greater Risk for Atrial Fibrillation

Dec. 9, 2015 — Sleep-disordered breathing often predicts the development of atrial fibrillation in older men, according to researchers. The risk increased with age, they ... read more

Smoking in Pregnancy 'Affects Boys' Fitness in Later Life'

Dec. 9, 2015 — Mothers who smoke are putting more than their own health at risk, suggests a new ... read more

Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015