Asthma News
October 8, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:23pm EDT

More Asthma News
October 8, 2015

Health Hazards of Occupational Exposure to Talc

Sep. 28, 2015 — Talc, a substance commonly used in a number of manufacturing processes, including many in the food processing industry, is a health hazard and exposure to it should be closely monitored, say ... read more

Walking Quieter Routes to Work Can Avoid Peaks in Air Pollution

Sep. 27, 2015 — Commuting to work by walking on quieter side streets rather than main roads can help people avoid exposure to peaks in harmful air pollution, according to new ... read more

What Happens on the Molecular Level When Smog Gets Into the Lungs?

Sep. 16, 2015 — Coughing. A sore throat. Maybe a pain in your chest as you take a deep breath. These are all common symptoms for many city-living people when smog levels are high. And while it is well understood ... read more

Smoke from Forest Fires Aggravates Respiratory Health of Children, Study Shows

Sep. 15, 2015 — Air pollution from forest fires aggravates the respiratory health of children, new research concludes. Researchers conclude that this study provides scientific evidence that wildfires, such as those ... read more

Reduced Heart Rate Variability May Indicate Greater Vulnerability to PTSD

Sep. 10, 2015 — A prospective longitudinal study of US Marines suggests that reduced heart rate variability -- the changing time interval between heartbeats -- may be a contributing risk factor for post-traumatic ... read more

Major Study Moves a Step Closer to Treatments for Severe Asthma

Sep. 9, 2015 — Initial findings from a major study have helped identify key characteristics of severe asthma, which will help with the development of new treatments for patients with the ... read more

Sep. 8, 2015 — Researchers discovered a mechanism that stops the body reacting with an excessive immune reaction. This could be the basis for a new treatment for allergies, they ... read more

Medicinal Marijuana: Patients Battle Stigma and Misunderstanding

Aug. 28, 2015 — New research examines the experiences of California residents who have been prescribed medical marijuana and the stigma they experience from public opinion.  The findings indicate that the stigma of ... read more

Aug. 27, 2015 — The fungus Cryptococcus causes meningitis, a brain disease that kills about 1 million people each year. It's difficult to treat because fungi are genetically quite similar to humans, so ... read more

E-Cigarette Use Linked to Cough Reflex Sensitivity

Aug. 20, 2015 — The popularity of electronic cigarettes has steadily increased worldwide, but little is known about their effects on health. New research suggests that the single use of an electronic cigarette ... read more

Study Reveals New Insights Into How Asthma 'Pathways' Could Be Blocked

Aug. 19, 2015 — New insights have been gained into how asthma may be caused, by identifying three distinct groups of asthma patients characterized by the activity of different genes in an individual’s ... read more

Breastfeeding Could Reduce Commons Infections Among Indigenous Infants

Aug. 17, 2015 — Promoting breastfeeding could lead to a substantial reduction in common infections and even deaths that are more common in Indigenous infants than non-Indigenous infants, a new study ... read more

Smoking Ban Linked to Drop in Stillbirths, Newborn Deaths

Aug. 13, 2015 — Stillbirths have dropped by almost 8 percent in England since the smoking ban was introduced, research shows. The number of babies dying shortly after birth has also dropped by almost eight per cent, ... read more

Even If Severe Allergic Reaction Is in Doubt, Epinephrine Should Be Used, Experts Say

Aug. 6, 2015 — Even when emergency physicians aren't 100 percent sure a person is suffering from a severe allergic reaction, epinephrine should be used, experts ... read more

Exploring 'Clinical Conundrum' of Asthma-COPD Overlap in Nonsmokers With Chronic Asthma

Aug. 5, 2015 — Researchers may be closer to finding the mechanism responsible for loss of lung elastic recoil and airflow limitation in nonsmokers with chronic asthma. The study reported that both nonsmokers and ... read more

If the 'Pollen Tsunami' Has Swept Through, Why Are You Still Miserable?

Aug. 5, 2015 — Although spring, summer and fall have different sets of allergens to trip up allergy and asthma sufferers, they can cause the same symptoms. Those who have multiple triggers, may not be able to ... read more

Teen Marijuana Use Not Linked to Later Depression, Lung Cancer, Other Health Problems, Study Finds

Aug. 4, 2015 — Chronic marijuana use by teenage boys does not appear to be linked to later physical or mental health issues such as depression, psychotic symptoms or asthma, according to a new ... read more

July 31, 2015 — A device to mix liquids utilizing ultrasonics is the first and most difficult component in a miniaturized system for low-cost analysis of sputum from patients with pulmonary diseases such as ... read more

Hair Samples May Offer New Insights Into the Relationship Between Asthma, Cortisol, and Complications in Pregnancy

July 28, 2015 — Hair samples can be used to measure the effects of asthma on the cortisol levels of women during pregnancy, according to new research. This research also shows that levels of cortisol, a ... read more

Study Uncovers Mechanism Responsible for Pollen-Induced Allergies

July 22, 2015 — When people are exposed to airborne allergens such as pollens, their immune system responds by sending neutrophils to the airways. Neutrophils are a type of white blood cells that move quickly to a ... read more

Monday, September 28, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Saturday, March 14, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015