Colitis News
June 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:23am EDT

More Colitis News
June 30, 2015

Pioneering Study May Explain Origin of Several Digestive Diseases

June 29, 2015 — The tridimensional characterization of the calcium phosphate formed in the stomach is shown for the first time in a new study, revealing its internal structure, morphology and real functionality. ... read more

Obesity: Small Intestine Contributes to Chronic Inflammation

June 22, 2015 — Obesity is caused by numerous and complex factors, some of which are as yet unsuspected. Scientists have now shown that severe obesity is accompanied by inflammation of the small intestine and ... read more

Zebrafish Provide a Novel Model to Study Short Bowel Syndrome

June 19, 2015 — Investigators are providing new hope for babies with short bowel syndrome (SBS) by developing a novel model of SBS in ... read more

Unique Bacterial Fingerprint Identified in Systemic Sclerosis

June 11, 2015 — The results of a new study showed that people with systemic sclerosis (SSc) have a unique bacterial signature in their colon, when compared with healthy people. These findings suggest that changes in ... read more

Pathway Identified That May Cause Seizures, Shorten Survival for Patients With Severe Brain Tumors

May 27, 2015 — A chemical pathway that may be associated with seizures and shorter patient survival in some patients with malignant glioma, the most common and deadly form of brain tumor, has been identified by ... read more

Complex Signaling Between Blood, Stem Cells Controls Regeneration in Fly Gut

May 25, 2015 — Having a healthy gut may well depend on maintaining a complex signaling dance between immune cells and the stem cells that line the intestine. Scientists report significant new insight into how these ... read more

May 21, 2015 — Scientists and clinicians have carried out the first detailed study of how our intestinal tract changes as we age, and how this determines our overall ... read more

Multiple Sclerosis: Scientists Identify Cause of Movement, Balance Problems

May 19, 2015 — New research into the causes of the excessive inflammation that drives multiple sclerosis has identified a faulty 'brake' within immune cells, a brake that should be controlling the ... read more

Researchers Make Progress Engineering Digestive System Tissues

May 18, 2015 — New proof-of-concept research suggests the potential for engineering replacement intestine tissue in the lab, a treatment that could be applied to infants born with a short bowel and adults having ... read more

Patients Seek Greater Ownership of Health-Care Decisions

May 18, 2015 — Patients faced with a choice of surgical options want to engage their physicians and take a more active role in decision-making, according to a new study. Further, those physicians must provide ... read more

Non-Invasive Colon Cancer Screening May Be Promising for African-Americans, Study Finds

May 18, 2015 — Stool DNA (sDNA) testing, a new non-invasive technology for colon cancer screening, is a promising alternative to colonoscopy for African Americans, according to a new study. According to the ... read more

Definitive Tests for Irritable Bowel Syndrome Developed

May 14, 2015 — Millions of people afflicted by irritable bowel syndrome can now be diagnosed quickly and accurately with two simple blood tests developed by a gastroenterologist. The tests confirm when a patient ... read more

May 13, 2015 — A newly discovered link between bacteria and immune cells sheds light on inflammatory bowel disease, an autoimmune condition that affects 1.6 million people in the United States, according to ... read more

May 12, 2015 — An important discovery has been made about an immune cell that is already being used in immunotherapy to treat diseases such as type I diabetes. The work details how regulatory T cells can cure ... read more

How E. Coli Thrive in Patients With Inflammatory Bowel Disease

May 12, 2015 — The survival and proliferation of usually harmless Escherichia coli in the gut of inflammatory bowel disease patients may now be better understood, as researchers have defined a fundamental mechanism ... read more

Healthy Lifestyle Before Bowel Cancer Diagnosis Could Help Improve Survival

May 6, 2015 — Following lifestyle guidelines about diet, physical activity and maintaining a healthy weight is associated with an improved likelihood of survival when diagnosed with bowel cancer. This is based on ... read more

Underappreciated Cause of Bowel Obstruction Should Be Included in Surgical Assessments

May 6, 2015 — Each year, more than 10 million Americans seek medical attention, often in emergency situations, for symptoms of intestinal blockages. Researchers have identified an abnormal form of small bowel ... read more

In Late Post-Surgical Colon 'Leaks,' Finger Points to Microbes

May 6, 2015 — Post-surgical leaks that develop after a segment of the colon has been removed and stitched back together often are caused not by negligence or technical error but by bacteria in the bowel that elude ... read more

Fecal Microbiota Transplant Cures C. Diff, Blocks Multi-Drug Resistant Pathogens, Study Shows

May 6, 2015 — A fecal microbiota transplant (FMT) not only cured a case of Clostridium difficile (C. diff) infection in a 66 year old man; it eliminated populations of multi-drug resistant organisms both in the ... read more

Treatment Reduces Risk of Recurrence of C. Difficile Infection

May 5, 2015 — Among patients with Clostridium difficile infection (CDI) who recovered following standard treatment with the antibiotics metronidazole or vancomycin, oral administration of spores of a strain of C. ... read more

Monday, June 29, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Friday, December 12, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Sunday, November 16, 2014