Colitis News
February 11, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:24pm EST

More Colitis News
February 11, 2016

C. Diff Study Provides Insight Into Antibiotic Resistance and Risks for Infection

Feb. 4, 2016 — Exposure to specific antibiotics is linked to the development of certain strains of antibiotic-resistant C. difficile, one of the fastest growing bacteria superbugs, according to a new ... read more

Rate of Office Visits, Cumulative Costs Prior to Colonoscopies for Colon Cancer Screening

Feb. 2, 2016 — Researchers analyzed billing data to determine the proportion of colonoscopies for colon cancer screening and polyp surveillance that were preceded by office visits and the associated payments for ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — A new paper describes methods to optimize characteristics of cells grown in a lab using biomaterial coatings. The research falls within the field of tissue engineering - the use of biomaterials, ... read more

Frozen Vs. Fresh Fecal Transplantation for C. Diff. Infection Shows Similar Effectiveness

Jan. 12, 2016 — Among adults with Clostridium difficile infection that is recurrent or not responsive to treatment, the use of frozen compared with fresh fecal microbiota transplantation (FMT) did not result in a ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Researchers have conducted the first ever trials of smart pills that can measure intestinal gases inside the body, with surprising results revealing some unexpected ways that fiber affects the ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — Antibiotics that fight infection can adversely affect the digestive tract and give destructive bacteria a chance to flourish, say researchers. This research seeks to identify probiotic mixes to treat ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — The composition of the gut microbiome in infants at six weeks of age appears to be associated with the delivery method by which they were born and how they were fed, according to a new ... read more

Researchers Closer to Better Treatment for Leading Cause of Hospital-Acquired Diarrhea

Jan. 11, 2016 — Researchers have obtained the crystal structure of a toxin from the bacterium Clostridium difficile ('C. diff') -- the leading cause of hospital-acquired diarrhea in the United States. They ... read more

Superiority of Chromoendoscopy in Dysplasia Detection in Patients With Colitis, Landmark Study Shows

Jan. 7, 2016 — Chromoendoscopy is superior to random biopsy or white-light colonoscopy in detecting dysplasia in patients with inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD), according to a long-term surveillance ... read more

Antibiotics Pave Way for C. Diff Infections by Killing Bile Acid-Altering Bacteria

Jan. 6, 2016 — Bile acids, which are altered by bacteria normally living in the large intestine, inhibit the growth of Clostridium difficile, new research indicates. The work sheds light on the ways in which some ... read more

Anti-Inflammatory Drug and Gut Bacteria Have a Dynamic Interplay

Jan. 4, 2016 — An NSAID changed the composition and diversity of gut microbes, which in turn shaped how the drug is broken down and ultimately, cut its effectiveness, researchers report at the conclusion of an ... read more

Psychotherapies Have Long-Term Benefit for Those Suffering from Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Dec. 28, 2015 — The beneficial effects of using psychological therapy to treat the symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome are not only short term but are also long lasting, a new meta-analysis has ... read more

Vitamin A Quells Severity of Preemie Gastrointestinal Disease in Mice

Dec. 21, 2015 — After observing that some gastrointestinal disease in premature human and mouse infants progresses only when certain immune system white blood cells go into inflammatory overdrive, researchers have ... read more

Large Proportion of IBS Sufferers Are Vitamin D Deficient

Dec. 21, 2015 — A large proportion of people living with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) are vitamin D deficient, a new study has found. The British study, which is the first of its kind, found that out of 51 IBS ... read more

Insensitive Irritable Bowel Syndrome Studied

Dec. 18, 2015 — For the first time, biopsies of patients with irritable bowel syndrome have shown that the nerves in their gut wall respond poorly to a cocktail of inflammatory substances. This refutes the previous ... read more

Cultural Revolution in the Study of the Gut Microbiome

Dec. 14, 2015 — A human-organs-on-chips technology has been used to microengineer a model of human intestinal inflammation and bacterial overgrowth in a human-gut-on-a-chip. The advance, say researchers, allows them ... read more

Gut Microbes Trigger Fat Loss in Response to Cold Temperatures

Dec. 3, 2015 — Exposure to cold temperatures is known to mimic the effects of exercise, protecting against obesity and improving metabolic health. A study now reveals that the beneficial health effects of cold ... read more

Immune System Affects Gut Bacteria Evolution

Dec. 2, 2015 — Researchers have discovered that when the immune system of the host is compromised, the composition of the gut bacteria changes, and the pace and predictability of the process of adaptation of these ... read more

Genetic Mutations Differ Within a Single Tumor

Dec. 2, 2015 — When researchers looked at different areas within an individual rectal cancer sample, they found cases in which each area contained different genetic mutations. The findings could have significant ... read more

Genetic Study of Patients With Inflammatory Bowel Disease Could Lead to Better Treatments

Nov. 30, 2015 — Genetic variation in patients with inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) appears to play a major role in determining how sick they will become and could provide a road map for more effective ... read more

Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015