Smoking News
July 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:29pm EDT

More Smoking News
July 4, 2015

Smoking Allowed in Growing Number of Restaurants, Bars in Georgia

June 22, 2015 — Despite the passage of Georgia's Smokefree Air Act in 2005, the number of restaurants and bars that allow smoking has doubled in recent years, according to ... read more

June 19, 2015 — Cigarette prices and images on cigarette packets have an impact on women in terms of continuing to smoke or quitting. In fact, less educated women are more responsive to pictorial labels on cigarette ... read more

Inclusion of Experimenters in E-Cigarette Prevalence Studies of 'Questionable' Value

June 19, 2015 — The inclusion of experimenters -- who are unlikely to become habitual users -- in e-cigarette prevalence studies is of 'questionable' value for monitoring population public health trends, ... read more

Age-Related Inflammatory Processes Facilitate Development of COPD

June 17, 2015 — At present, there is a lack of effective treatments that target the causes of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). Scientists are therefore investigating the molecular causes of COPD in ... read more

Mechanism Regulating Gene Expression Linked to Bone and Joint Damage in Ankylosing Spondylitis

June 12, 2015 — A new study reveals that DNA methylation -- a mechanism that regulates gene expression -- could influence the progression of structural damage to the joints and spine in ankylosing spondylitis. Study ... read more

Additives in Low Tar ('light'), E-Cigarettes May Reinforce Nicotine Dependence

June 10, 2015 — Pyrazine additives in low tar ('light') and e-cigarettes may be reinforcing the addictive qualities of nicotine, and should be strictly regulated, concludes research. The evidence suggests ... read more

Social Media Helps Young Adults Quit Smoking

June 9, 2015 — Young adults who use social media to quit smoking are twice as successful in their efforts as those who use a more traditional method, according to new research. The study compared the success of the ... read more

June 1, 2015 — Researchers have found that the more hunter-gatherers smoke cannabis, the less they are infected by intestinal worms. The link suggests that they may unconsciously be, in effect, smoking medical ... read more

Smokers and Those Exposed to Passive Smoke Require More Anesthetic and Painkiller During Operations

May 29, 2015 — New research shows that both smokers and those exposed to passive smoke require more anesthetic and painkillers to reach the same level of anesthesia as ... read more

All Forms of Smoking Are Bad for the Heart

May 29, 2015 — All forms of smoking are bad for the heart, the European Society of Cardiology has ... read more

Smoking Legislation Prevents More Than 11,000 Child Hospital Admissions in England Each Year

May 29, 2015 — The introduction of smoke-free legislation in England was associated with over 11,000 fewer admissions to hospital a year from respiratory infections in children, according to a new ... read more

E-Cigarette Vapor, Even When Nicotine-Free, Found to Damage Lung Cells

May 26, 2015 — With the use of e-cigarettes on the rise, especially among young people, research to uncover the health effects of e-cigs is becoming increasingly important. In a new study, researchers find that ... read more

Parents Are Integral in Stopping Rise as Teen E-Cigarette Usage Triples

May 22, 2015 — Though many think e-cigarettes are helping to reduce the number of smokers in the US, research is showing the opposite is true when it comes to teens. Experts recently released data showing that in ... read more

New Study Challenges Claims on Aldehyde Content of Third Generation E-Cigarettes

May 21, 2015 — In January 2015 a report found that a third generation e-cigarette -- an e-cigarette with variable power settings -- set to the maximum power and long puff duration generated levels of formaldehyde ... read more

How Big Tobacco Is Able to Woo Parliamentarians

May 20, 2015 — An investigation asks to what extent is the tobacco industry able to reach out and influence parliamentarians? The findings raise important questions about how far the vested interests of the tobacco ... read more

Growing Up With Smokers Doubles Risk for Adult Smoking Among Hispanics

May 20, 2015 — For Hispanics/Latinos living in the United States, growing up in a home with a regular smoker nearly doubled their chances of becoming an adult smoker. The findings are based on data from the ... read more

Smoking a Significant Predictor of Lung Cancer Recurrence in Survivors

May 19, 2015 — A new study has shown that many lung cancer survivors are at high risk for developing another lung cancer or having their cancer return after completing treatment. The study specifically looked at ... read more

Anti-Smoking Commercials Burn out Over Time

May 19, 2015 — The massive, federally funded anti-smoking campaign in the United States 'Tips From Former Smokers' -- 'Tips' for short -- fizzled more than it popped. That's the conclusion ... read more

Smoking Marijuana May Cause Early Puberty and Stunts Growth in Boys

May 18, 2015 — Boys who smoke marijuana go through puberty earlier but grow more slowly than those who have never smoked the drug according to a new ... read more

Getting Smokers to Quit With an Unlikely Drug: Nicotine

May 18, 2015 — COPD is a mix of chronic bronchitis (which involves a constant cough) and emphysema (which destroys lung tissue). Most people who develop COPD are older with a history of smoking. The Centers for ... read more

Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Sunday, April 26, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015