Smoking News
November 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:00am EST

More Smoking News
November 27, 2015

Hiding Tobacco Products at Convenience Stores Reduces Teens' Risk of Future Tobacco Use

Nov. 23, 2015 — A one-of-a-kind laboratory replica of a convenience store is the first to use a realistic setting to examine whether limiting displays of cigarettes and other tobacco products in retail outlets can ... read more

Marked Decline in Retailer Compliance After Enactment of NYC's Tobacco 21 Law

Nov. 20, 2015 — In a study examining compliance with NYC's law increasing legal age for purchasing cigarettes from 18 to 21, researchers found retailer compliance with ID checks significantly decreased since ... read more

Increasing Cigarette Taxes Shifts Consumers to More Dangerous Products

Oct. 29, 2015 — Increasing cigarette exercise taxes may have the unintended consequence of encouraging consumers to seek higher nicotine content and more dangerous cigarette products, according to a ... read more

E-Cigarettes Connected to Problematic Drinking, Study Finds

Oct. 28, 2015 — Using e-cigarettes is related to problematic drinking, according to new research. In a study involving around 1400 people, researchers also found that more women than men use e-cigarettes socially, ... read more

Brain Imaging Can Predict Success of Large Public Health Campaigns

Oct. 28, 2015 — In a new study, brain activity in 50 smokers in Michigan was able to predict the outcome of an anti-smoking advertising campaign sent to 800,000 in New York, demonstrating the promise of neuroscience ... read more

New Finding Helps Explain Why Many Alcohol Drinkers Also Are Smokers

Oct. 27, 2015 — Alcohol and nicotine use have long been known to go hand in hand. Previous research shows that more than 85 percent of US adults who are alcohol-dependent also are nicotine-dependent. Now, ... read more

Sweeping Recommendations on Tobacco and E-Cigarettes

Oct. 26, 2015 — While adolescent use of tobacco has declined since the 1970s, it remains a persistent public health problem -- and e-cigarettes are threatening to addict a new generation to nicotine. In a ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — A physician, who during his 31-year career in medicine has seen the harmful effects of smoking on his patients, advocates for raising the smoking age to 21. He says the move would help curb access to ... read more

Exposure to Secondhand Smoke Linked to Increased Risk of Tooth Decay in Young Children

Oct. 21, 2015 — Exposure to secondhand smoke at four months of age is associated with an increased risk of tooth decay at age 3 years, concludes a study from ... read more

Researcher Finds Key Clues About 'Betel Nut' Addiction That Plagues Millions Worldwide

Oct. 21, 2015 — For hundreds of millions of people around the world, chewing betel nut produces a cheap, quick high but also raises the risk of addiction and oral cancer. Now, new findings reveal how the nut's ... read more

Case Report Finds Acute Hypersensitivity Pneumonitis in Patient Using E-Cigarettes

Oct. 19, 2015 — Researchers present a case report of acute inhalation lung injury related to the use of e-cigarettes and a flavored e-cigarette liquid containing ... read more

Tualang Honey Supplements Found to Reduce Harmful Side Effects of Smoking

Oct. 19, 2015 — Smoking is a known factor in many serious health issues: stroke, myocardial infarction, cardiovascular disease, coronary artery disease, to name but a few. In their recent research, investigators ... read more

Oct. 16, 2015 — Nicotine use over time increases the speed that codeine is converted into morphine within the brain, by increasing the amount of a specific enzyme, according to new research in rat models. It appears ... read more

Use of E-Cigarettes, Alternative Tobacco Products May Lead to Increased Tobacco Use

Oct. 13, 2015 — The increasing use of alternative tobacco products, such as water pipes and e-cigarettes, by children under the age of 18 is a burgeoning public health crisis, researchers write in a new ... read more

Oct. 13, 2015 — The average life span of smokers is more than 10 years shorter than that of non-smoker, and it is said that smoking is a factor which accelerates aging. However, the details of the mechanism which ... read more

Obesity Doesn't Protect Patients With Cardiovascular Disease

Oct. 13, 2015 — Why is it that study after study shows obese or overweight people with cardiovascular disease outliving their normal weight counterparts? Would this phenomenon, referred to as the obesity paradox, ... read more

Exercise and Stop Smoking to Improve Depression After Heart Attack

Oct. 10, 2015 — Exercise and stop smoking to improve depression after a heart attack, experts ... read more

Smoking Set to Kill One in Three Young Men in China

Oct. 8, 2015 — One in three of all the young men in China will eventually be killed by tobacco, unless a substantial proportion stop smoking, according to new research. The researchers conducted two large, ... read more

Older Tobacco Users Pay More for Health Insurance Under Affordable Care Act

Oct. 8, 2015 — A new study finds tobacco users would pay more for a health insurance plan from the Affordable Care Act exchanges than non-tobacco users in nearly every county of the 37 states that used ... read more

Smoking Cessation Drug Proves Initially More Effective for Women

Oct. 7, 2015 — The most effective prescription drug used to quit smoking initially helps women more than men, according to a study, which found that varenicline, marketed as Chantix, was more effective earlier in ... read more

Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Saturday, October 10, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015