Smoking News
May 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:23am EDT

More Smoking News
May 7, 2015

Electronic Cigarettes Gaining in Popularity Among Teens

Apr. 26, 2015 — Teens no longer smoke just cigarettes. They have branched out to using alternative tobacco products such as electronic cigarettes, hookahs and little cigars. In fact, e-cigarette use is rising ... read more

Frequent Indoor Tanning Among Teens Shows Correlation With Smoking, Social Media Use

Apr. 20, 2015 — More than a third of New Jersey high school students who engage in indoor tanning do so frequently and many would find it hard to stop the practice. Investigators also found that frequent indoor ... read more

Reducing Global Tobacco Use

Apr. 20, 2015 — Although global efforts to cut tobacco use have had some success, more can be done to reduce the number of deaths from smoking, according to a new commentary. More than 170 countries have signed the ... read more

Smoking and Mother's Genetics Combine to Increase Likelihood of Twins

Apr. 17, 2015 — African American mothers who smoke and have a genetic profile that includes a single nucleotide polymorphism, SNP, of the TP53 gene have an increased likelihood of having twins, concluded a team of ... read more

Smokers Underestimate Risks of a Few Cigarettes

Apr. 17, 2015 — Many people still dangerously underestimate the health risks associated with smoking even a few cigarettes a day, despite decades of public health campaigning, researchers report. "People who ... read more

Cardiorespiratory Fitness Reduces Disease Risk Among Smokers

Apr. 17, 2015 — Cardiorespiratory fitness is associated with reduced metabolic syndrome risk among smokers, according to researchers. Smoking is estimated to cause 443,000 deaths each year in the United States, ... read more

Smokers Who Use E-Cigarettes Less Likely to Quit, Study Shows

Apr. 16, 2015 — The increase in use of e-cigarettes has led to heated debates between opponents who question the safety of these devices and proponents who claim the battery-operated products are a useful cessation ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — A licensed clinical psychologist is focusing on the ADHD-autism link to better understand why people with ADHD and autism may be more prone to substance abuse and, in the process, to develop more ... read more

Breastfeeding May Prevent Postpartum Smoking Relapse

Apr. 16, 2015 — While a large number of women quit or reduce smoking upon pregnancy recognition, many resume smoking postpartum. Previous research has estimated that approximately 70 percent of women who quit ... read more

Many Teens Try E-Cigs, but Few Become Regular Users

Apr. 15, 2015 — E-cigarettes are popular with teens, including those who have never smoked, but few of those who try them become regular users, while most of those who do so are also smokers, finds research. ... read more

High Flavoring Content in Some E-Cigarettes May Be Cause for Concern

Apr. 15, 2015 — The levels of chemicals used to flavor some brands of e-cigarette fluid exceed recommended exposure limits and could be respiratory irritants, in some cases, suggests research. The electronic ... read more

Alcohol May Elevate the Expression of Two Enzymes Called CYP2E1, CYP2U1

Apr. 14, 2015 — The prefrontal cortex and amygdala are brain regions that not only referee cognitive functions and emotional states, but also contribute to the reinforcing effects of alcohol and tobacco. Little is ... read more

Nicotine Use Increases Compulsive Alcohol Consumption, Study Finds

Apr. 14, 2015 — In rat models, nicotine exposure actually promotes alcohol dependence, researchers report. "It's a vicious cycle," said a biologist and a senior author of the new study. "Nicotine ... read more

Racial, Ethnic Disparities Seen in Smoking Rates, Related Illnesses

Apr. 14, 2015 — April is National Minority Health Month, and one of the most significant health issues minorities face is disproportionate rates of smoking and health-related illnesses, experts ... read more

E-Cigarette Use Is Not Risk-Free

Apr. 14, 2015 — E-cigarettes are not without health risks for people who vape or for bystanders, researchers report. The report has only considered e-cigarettes with nicotine since there has been very little ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — Passive smoking isn't only something that people have to cope with, but plants too. This is because some plants are actually able to take up nicotine from cigarette smoke, while others that grow ... read more

Researchers List Reasons Why the U. S. Surgeon General Should Announce That UV Tanning Causes Skin Cancer

Apr. 8, 2015 — A July, 2014 Call to Action to Prevent Skin Cancer by acting Surgeon General Dr. Boris Lushniak points out that indoor tanning is "strongly associated with increased skin cancer risk," but ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — Young adults are more likely to appreciate the dangers of smoking when warnings are presented in images as well as text, according to a new study. The labels used in the study emphasized negative ... read more

Women Smokers Concerned About Weight Are Less Likely to Try to Quit

Apr. 6, 2015 — Women who believe smoking helps them manage their weight are less likely to try quitting in response to anti-smoking policies than other female smokers in the U.S. A new study is the first to find ... read more

Cigarette Smoke Makes Superbugs More Aggressive

Apr. 2, 2015 — Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA), an antibiotic-resistant superbug, can cause life-threatening skin, bloodstream and surgical site infections or pneumonia. Researchers now report ... read more

Sunday, April 26, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Sunday, January 11, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014