Smoking News
April 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:23pm EDT

More Smoking News
April 26, 2015

Apr. 16, 2015 — A licensed clinical psychologist is focusing on the ADHD-autism link to better understand why people with ADHD and autism may be more prone to substance abuse and, in the process, to develop more ... read more

Breastfeeding May Prevent Postpartum Smoking Relapse

Apr. 16, 2015 — While a large number of women quit or reduce smoking upon pregnancy recognition, many resume smoking postpartum. Previous research has estimated that approximately 70 percent of women who quit ... read more

Many Teens Try E-Cigs, but Few Become Regular Users

Apr. 15, 2015 — E-cigarettes are popular with teens, including those who have never smoked, but few of those who try them become regular users, while most of those who do so are also smokers, finds research. ... read more

High Flavoring Content in Some E-Cigarettes May Be Cause for Concern

Apr. 15, 2015 — The levels of chemicals used to flavor some brands of e-cigarette fluid exceed recommended exposure limits and could be respiratory irritants, in some cases, suggests research. The electronic ... read more

Alcohol May Elevate the Expression of Two Enzymes Called CYP2E1, CYP2U1

Apr. 14, 2015 — The prefrontal cortex and amygdala are brain regions that not only referee cognitive functions and emotional states, but also contribute to the reinforcing effects of alcohol and tobacco. Little is ... read more

Nicotine Use Increases Compulsive Alcohol Consumption, Study Finds

Apr. 14, 2015 — In rat models, nicotine exposure actually promotes alcohol dependence, researchers report. "It's a vicious cycle," said a biologist and a senior author of the new study. "Nicotine ... read more

Racial, Ethnic Disparities Seen in Smoking Rates, Related Illnesses

Apr. 14, 2015 — April is National Minority Health Month, and one of the most significant health issues minorities face is disproportionate rates of smoking and health-related illnesses, experts ... read more

E-Cigarette Use Is Not Risk-Free

Apr. 14, 2015 — E-cigarettes are not without health risks for people who vape or for bystanders, researchers report. The report has only considered e-cigarettes with nicotine since there has been very little ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — Passive smoking isn't only something that people have to cope with, but plants too. This is because some plants are actually able to take up nicotine from cigarette smoke, while others that grow ... read more

Researchers List Reasons Why the U. S. Surgeon General Should Announce That UV Tanning Causes Skin Cancer

Apr. 8, 2015 — A July, 2014 Call to Action to Prevent Skin Cancer by acting Surgeon General Dr. Boris Lushniak points out that indoor tanning is "strongly associated with increased skin cancer risk," but ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — Young adults are more likely to appreciate the dangers of smoking when warnings are presented in images as well as text, according to a new study. The labels used in the study emphasized negative ... read more

Women Smokers Concerned About Weight Are Less Likely to Try to Quit

Apr. 6, 2015 — Women who believe smoking helps them manage their weight are less likely to try quitting in response to anti-smoking policies than other female smokers in the U.S. A new study is the first to find ... read more

Cigarette Smoke Makes Superbugs More Aggressive

Apr. 2, 2015 — Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA), an antibiotic-resistant superbug, can cause life-threatening skin, bloodstream and surgical site infections or pneumonia. Researchers now report ... read more

Cancer Prevention Efforts in the US a Mixed Bag

Apr. 1, 2015 — While there has been substantial progress in some cancer control efforts in the past several decades, like reductions in smoking and increased utilization of cancer screening, progress in some areas ... read more

One in Four High School Seniors Now Try Smoking Water Pipes

Mar. 26, 2015 — Despite declines in the number of youths who smoke cigarettes, hookah or water pipe use continues to rise among Canadian youth, a new study reports. The study found that almost one in four high ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Kids exposed to their parents' smoking had a higher risk of developing clogged arteries in adulthood than those with non-smoking parents. Researchers stressed that parents should not smoke if ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — The harmful effects of smoking during pregnancy may be reflected in the facial movements of mothers' unborn babies, new research has suggested. The researchers say that the reason for this might ... read more

Smokers at Twice Risk of Prostate Cancer Recurring After Surgery

Mar. 20, 2015 — Current smokers, and those who have quit smoking less than 10 years previously, have twice the risk of a recurrence of prostate cancer after surgery, according to new ... read more

Effect of Smoking, Alcohol on Feeding Tube Duration in Head/neck Cancer Patients

Mar. 19, 2015 — Current smoking and heavy alcohol consumption appear to be risk factors for prolonged use of a feeding tube in patients with head and neck cancer undergoing radiotherapy or chemoradiotherapy, ... read more

Smoking: Standardized Packaging With Large Graphic Health Warnings Encouraged More Thoughts About Quitting

Mar. 19, 2015 — Introduction of standardized packaging for tobacco products in Australia prompted more smokers to think about quitting and to attempt to quit, show findings of surveys of adults ... read more

Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Sunday, January 11, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014