Leukemia News
October 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:56am EDT

More Leukemia News
October 5, 2015

Key Cellular Enzyme Could Be Effective Drug Target in Urologic Cancer Cells

Sep. 10, 2015 — A key cellular enzyme, c-Abl, could be an effective drug target in cancer cells for urologic cancers, such as prostate and kidney, new research indicates. Ongoing research into treatments for kidney ... read more

Sustained Remission of Multiple Myeloma After Personalized Cellular Therapy

Sep. 9, 2015 — A multiple myeloma patient whose cancer had stopped responding after nine different treatment regimens experienced a complete remission after receiving an investigational personalized cellular ... read more

Sep. 8, 2015 — Researchers have identified and validated a new molecular mechanism of action to overcome drug resistance in patients with acute myeloid ... read more

Telomerase Targeting Drug Demonstrates Benefit in Myelofibrosis Treatment

Sep. 2, 2015 — Imetelstat, a novel drug that targets telomerase, has demonstrated potential value in treating patients with myelofibrosis, according to the results of a new ... read more

Researchers Report Long-Term Remissions in First Personalized Cell Therapy Trial

Sep. 2, 2015 — Eight of 14 patients in the first trial of a personalized cellular therapy for chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) responded to the therapy, with some complete remissions continuing past four and a ... read more

Aug. 31, 2015 — Cancer cells survive the stressful environment inside a tumor in part through autophagy, the controlled digestion and recycling of damaged components. However, blocking the process doesn't kill ... read more

Aug. 31, 2015 — Scientists have discovered what may well be the oldest known case of leukemia. By means of high-resolution computer tomography, they were able to detect indications of the cancer in an approximately ... read more

Aug. 27, 2015 — Scientists have identified how mutations in the IKZF1 gene contribute to a high-risk leukemia subtype and drugs that may enhance the effectiveness of targeted ... read more

Relapse, Poor Survival in Leukemia Linked to Genetic Mutations That Persist in Remission

Aug. 25, 2015 — For patients with an often-deadly form of leukemia, new research suggests that lingering cancer-related mutations -- detected after initial treatment with chemotherapy -- are associated with an ... read more

Researchers Testing Drug for Cancer, Bone Marrow Disorders

Aug. 19, 2015 — An international phase I, randomized clinical trial is underway that tests the drug guadecitabine (SGI-110) in Myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS) and acute myelogenous leukemia (AML). MDS are a group of ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — Migrating tumor cells produce a protein that aids them to set up home in bones, researchers show. If a tumor develops metastases, the chances of the patient's survival will be severely ... read more

Combining Chemotherapy With an Immune-Blocking Drug Could Stop Cancer Growing Back

Aug. 12, 2015 — Giving patients a drug that blocks part of the immune system from going into overdrive might help prevent cancer coming back in some people, according to new ... read more

New Tool Uses 'Drug Spillover' to Match Cancer Patients With Treatments

July 28, 2015 — A new article describes a new tool that improves the ability to match drugs to disease: the Kinase Addiction Ranker predicts what genetics are truly driving the cancer in any population of cells and ... read more

New Drug for Blood Cancers Now in Five Phase II Clinical Trials

July 28, 2015 — The safety and dosing of a new drug for treating blood cancers has now been established by a group of scientists. The drug is a small molecule inhibitor that suppresses the activity of a signaling ... read more

New Treatment Options for a Fatal Leukemia

July 27, 2015 — In industrialized countries, acute lymphoblastic leukemia is the most common form of cancer in children. An international research consortium has now succeeded in decoding a specific form of this ... read more

Improved Outcomes Associated With Stem Cell Transplantation for Children With Serious Chronic Leukemia

July 23, 2015 — Researchers have shown greatly improved outcomes in using stem cell transplantation to treat patients with a serious but very rare form of chronic blood cancer called juvenile myelomonocytic leukemia ... read more

Access Denied: Leukemia Thwarted by Cutting Off Link to Environmental Support

July 23, 2015 — A protein's critical -- and previously unknown -- role in the development and progression of acute myeloid leukemia, a fast-growing and extremely difficult-to-treat blood cancer, has been ... read more

Opening the Door to the Cause of Myeloid Leukemia: Finding the Targets of Common Mutation

July 23, 2015 — A breakthrough in understanding how mutated genes in leukemia reprogram blood stem cells and send them spiraling out of control has been made by a team of ... read more

First Synthesis of Molecules That Cause Rapid Cell Death in Cancer

July 21, 2015 — The first total syntheses of certain compounds involved in excessive cell death in leukemia has been carried out by researchers. The researchers completed the total syntheses of several members of ... read more

New Finding on the Formation of Fat Tissue in Humans

July 16, 2015 — Bone marrow contains stem cells that normally give rise to new red and white blood cells. A team of researchers from Sweden and France has now shown that bone marrow cells can also form ... read more

Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Saturday, May 30, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014