Leukemia News
September 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:26pm EDT

More Leukemia News
September 2, 2015

Researchers Testing Drug for Cancer, Bone Marrow Disorders

Aug. 19, 2015 — An international phase I, randomized clinical trial is underway that tests the drug guadecitabine (SGI-110) in Myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS) and acute myelogenous leukemia (AML). MDS are a group of ... read more

New Drug for Blood Cancers Now in Five Phase II Clinical Trials

July 28, 2015 — The safety and dosing of a new drug for treating blood cancers has now been established by a group of scientists. The drug is a small molecule inhibitor that suppresses the activity of a signaling ... read more

Opening the Door to the Cause of Myeloid Leukemia: Finding the Targets of Common Mutation

July 23, 2015 — A breakthrough in understanding how mutated genes in leukemia reprogram blood stem cells and send them spiraling out of control has been made by a team of ... read more

First Synthesis of Molecules That Cause Rapid Cell Death in Cancer

July 21, 2015 — The first total syntheses of certain compounds involved in excessive cell death in leukemia has been carried out by researchers. The researchers completed the total syntheses of several members of ... read more

New Finding on the Formation of Fat Tissue in Humans

July 16, 2015 — Bone marrow contains stem cells that normally give rise to new red and white blood cells. A team of researchers from Sweden and France has now shown that bone marrow cells can also form ... read more

Young Adults Who Survive Cancer Hospitalized More Often Than the General Population

July 13, 2015 — Up to 20 years after people in the 20-44 age group are declared cancer-free, they still have more hospitalizations than the general public, new research has ... read more

New Approach to Treating B-Cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia Shows Promise

July 13, 2015 — A new compound that locks a disease-related protein into an inactive position stifled the growth of an aggressive form of leukemia in laboratory and animal tests, researchers ... read more

Scientists Find Molecular Switch That Creates Long-Term Immunity

July 13, 2015 — Researchers have identified a protein responsible for preserving the antibody-producing cells that lead to long-term immunity after infection or ... read more

July 10, 2015 — Even though the transplantation of blood stem cells, also known as bone marrow, has saved many lives over many decades, the genes that control the number or function of blood stem cells are not fully ... read more

Multiple Myeloma Hides in Bones Like a Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

July 9, 2015 — Multiple myeloma uses a trick akin to a wolf in sheep’s clothing to grow in and spread to new bone sites. By overexpressing Runx2, a gene that normally is a master regulator of bone formation, the ... read more

Promising Drug for Childhood Acute Leukemia: Where to Next?

July 9, 2015 — A recently-developed drug, already used safely in adult leukemia clinical trials, holds great promise for some children with an aggressive form of cancer known as acute lymphoblastic leukemia, a new ... read more

Melanoma Mutation Rewires Cell Metabolism

July 2, 2015 — A mutation found in most melanomas rewires cancer cells' metabolism, making them dependent on a ketogenesis enzyme. The finding points to possible strategies for countering resistance to ... read more

Study of Gene Mutations in Aplastic Anemia May Help Optimize Treament

July 1, 2015 — Scientists have identified a group of genetic mutations in patients with aplastic anemia, which likely will help doctors optimize treatment for this rare and deadly blood condition. The study could ... read more

Trial Could Impact Older Myelodysplastic Syndrome Population's Access to Bone Marrow Transplants

June 23, 2015 — An America-wide clinical trial analyzes outcomes after two common treatments: bone marrow transplant and chemotherapy. The results could lead to wider access to transplants, researchers ... read more

Current Blood Cancer Drug Prices Not Justified, Study Finds

June 23, 2015 — The costs associated with cancer drug prices have risen dramatically over the past 15 years, which is of concern to many top oncologists. In a new analysis, researchers concluded that the majority of ... read more

Researchers Help Identify Gene Mutation That Can Trigger Lymphoblastic Leukemia

June 18, 2015 — After collecting data on a leukemia-affected family for nearly a decade, an international team of genetic researchers is tracking down a mutation partly responsible for causing the disease. Their ... read more

June 15, 2015 — Rich, creamy, nutritious and now cancer fighting. New research reveals that molecules derived from avocados could be effective in treating a form of cancer. AML is a devastating disease and proves ... read more

Breast Cancer Cells Form Metastases

June 15, 2015 — A particular human gene variant makes breast cancer cells more aggressive. Not only are these more resistant to chemotherapy but also leave the primary tumour and establish themselves in other parts ... read more

Scientists Identify 'Mutation Accelerator' in Gene Mutation Linked to Common Adult Leukemia

June 10, 2015 — In preliminary experiments with mice and lab-grown cells, scientists have found that a protein-signaling process accelerates the work of the gene most frequently mutated in a common form of adult ... read more

Establishing Definitions to Increase Survival After Blood/marrow Transplant

June 9, 2015 — Blood and Marrow Transplantation (BMT) is a potentially curative treatment for patients with leukemia or other life-threating blood diseases. With a goal of increasing survival rates, a research team ... read more

Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Saturday, May 30, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Sunday, December 7, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Sunday, December 7, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014