Leukemia News
December 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:57am EST

More Leukemia News
December 1, 2015

Nov. 3, 2015 — Patients with unexplained low blood counts and abnormally mutated cells who do not fit the diagnostic criteria for recognized blood cancers should be described as having clonal cytopenias of ... read more

Oct. 27, 2015 — For two generations of one family, inherited variation in the ETV6 gene linked to an increased risk of childhood acute lymphoblastic ... read more

New Finding Offers Clues for Blocking Cancer Gene

Oct. 27, 2015 — A new study suggests a potential new way to block Notch, one of the most common cancer-causing genes, without causing severe side effects. The Notch gene plays a role in many types of cancer. ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — In some cases of acute myeloid leukemia, a mutant protein is known to cause dramatic changes in gene expression. Now researchers have identified a second protein with similar function that plays an ... read more

Study Provides More Precise Estimates of Cancer Risks Associated With Low Level Radiation

Oct. 20, 2015 — More precise estimates of cancer risks associated with prolonged, low level exposure to ionising radiation among nuclear industry workers have been released by ... read more

Cancer Researchers Publish Findings on Rare Childhood Leukemia

Oct. 20, 2015 — New findings on juvenile myelomonocytic leukemia (JMML) were recently published. JMML is a very rare and aggressive form of childhood leukemia most often found in children younger than 6. Only about ... read more

Scientists Find Way to Make Leukemia Cells Kill Each Other

Oct. 19, 2015 — Scientists have found a way to change leukemia cells into leukemia-killing immune cells. The surprise finding could lead to a powerful new therapy for leukemia and possibly other ... read more

Orange Lichens Are Potential Source for Anticancer Drugs

Oct. 19, 2015 — An orange pigment found in lichens and rhubarb called parietin may have potential as an anti-cancer drug because it interferes with the metabolic enzyme 6PGD, scientists have ... read more

Scientists Find Evidence of How Incurable Cancer Develops

Oct. 16, 2015 — Researchers have made a breakthrough in explaining how an incurable type of blood cancer develops from an often symptomless prior blood disorder. The findings could lead to more effective treatments ... read more

Mutations Driving Leukemia Identified

Oct. 15, 2015 — An international team of scientists has identified novel genes associated with chronic lymphocytic leukemia through the analysis of high-throughput sequencing ... read more

Preclinical Study Shows Potential to Increase the Effectiveness of Leukemia Treatments

Oct. 13, 2015 — Preclinical experiments have shown that blocking the production of a protein known as chromodomain helicase DNA-binding protein 4 may help increase the effectiveness of first-line treatments for ... read more

Double Enzyme Hit May Explain Common Cancer Drug Side Effect

Oct. 12, 2015 — Many leukemias are caused by loss of the enzyme Pten. Some anti-leukemia treatments work by inhibiting another enzyme called Shp2. Researchers have now found that mice lacking both of these enzymes ... read more

Oct. 12, 2015 — Cancer researchers have discovered how cancer-induced bone destruction causes skeletal muscle weakness. They found that inhibiting TGF-?, a growth factor released from bone during cancer-induced bone ... read more

3D Image of Cancer Protein Aids Quest for New Treatments

Oct. 9, 2015 — The first three-dimensional image of a key protein known to be involved in the development of blood and other cancers has been created by scientists. This discovery showed the protein, called Trib1, ... read more

Novel Compound Turns Off Mutant Cancer Gene in Animals With Leukemia

Oct. 9, 2015 — A compound that halts cancer in animals with Ewing sarcoma and prostate cancer appears to work against some forms of leukemia, too, scientists ... read more

Researchers Create 'Leukemia in a Dish' to Better Study It

Oct. 8, 2015 — Scientists engineered stem cells to better understand the mechanisms behind a form of leukemia caused by changes in a key gene, according to a new ... read more

'Alarm Clock' of a Leukemia-Causing Oncogene Identified

Oct. 8, 2015 — Mutations in DNMT3A gene cause MEIS1 activacion, triggering leukemia, a research team ... read more

Blood Cancers: Half-Matched Donor Bone Marrow Transplant May Be as Good as Full Match

Oct. 7, 2015 — When it comes to treating blood cancers like leukemia and lymphomas, new research shows that a half-matched donor bone marrow transplant may be just as good as a full match, in the first apples to ... read more

Oct. 6, 2015 — Normal T-cell development requires Notch signaling but hyperactivity can lead to cancer. Drugs that inhibit Notch, such as gamma-secretase inhibitors, are currently being tested in different cancer ... read more

Study Lays Groundwork for Blood Test to Aid in the Detection and Monitoring of Myeloma

Sep. 30, 2015 — Only 5 percent of myeloma cases are stage I when diagnosed. One reason may be the lack of good routine screening tests to identify patients who will progress to myeloma. A new study has found that ... read more

Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Saturday, May 30, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015