Vitamin News
October 13, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:29pm EDT

More Vitamin News
October 13, 2015

Calcium Supplements May Increase the Risk of Kidney Stone Recurrence

Oct. 13, 2015 — Calcium supplements may increase the risk of kidney stone recurrence, according to a new ... read more

Pumpkin Foods May Not Live Up to Healthy Reputation

Oct. 12, 2015 — Pumpkin products proliferate this time of year -- and not just for traditional pies and breads, but for whimsical goodies that may not live up to the pumpkin's healthy reputation. But one expert ... read more

People With Genetic Variant Increasing Vitamin D Metabolism Improve Blood Sugar Control With High Protein Weight Loss Diet

Sep. 29, 2015 — People carrying a certain genetic variant relating to vitamin D metabolism are more likely to benefit from a high-protein weight loss diet than those without it, research ... read more

Nutritional Deficiencies Common Before Weight Loss Surgery

Sep. 14, 2015 — Malnutrition is a known complication of weight loss surgery, but findings from a small study show many obese people may be malnourished before they undergo the ... read more

Sep. 10, 2015 — Rickets has been identified in a Neolithic skeleton from the Scottish island of Tiree, making it the earliest case of the disease in the United Kingdom. The nature of the grave itself - a simple ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — While babies are born with very little vitamin K, and the only way to sufficiently supplement it is through an injection soon after birth, some parents are shying away from the shots, a new study ... read more

Vitamin C: The Exercise Replacement?

Sep. 4, 2015 — Exercise improves health in overweight and obese adults but can be hard to incorporate into a daily routine. New findings show that taking vitamin C supplements daily instead can have similar ... read more

Sep. 2, 2015 — Sarcopenia is a natural part of aging, but it’s also a growing public health concern for older adults. That’s why a researcher is testing a combination of supplements and resistance training to ... read more

Vitamin A Implicated in Development of Alcoholic Liver Disease

Sep. 1, 2015 — With a name like 'Alcoholic Liver Disease,' you may not think about vitamin A as being part of the problem. That's exactly what scientists have shown, however, in a new research ... read more

Low Bleeding and Stroke Rates in Atrial Fibrillation Patients Given Rivaroxaban for Stroke Prevention

Sep. 1, 2015 — Atrial fibrillation (AF) patients treated with rivaroxaban for stroke prevention have low rates of bleeding and stroke, reveals real-world data from the XANTUS study. The findings confirm clinical ... read more

Vitamin D May Play Key Role in Preventing Macular Degeneration

Aug. 31, 2015 — Women who are deficient in vitamin D and have a specific high-risk genotype are 6.7 times more likely to develop AMD than women with sufficient vitamin D status and no high risk genotype, scientists ... read more

Lack of Folic Acid Enrichment in Europe Causes Mortality Among Fetuses

Aug. 28, 2015 — A new international study shows that 5,000 fetuses in Europe annually are affected by spina bifida and other severe defects on the central nervous system. Seventy percent of these pregnancies are ... read more

Genetic Study Finds Association Between Reduced Vitamin D and Multiple Sclerosis Risk

Aug. 25, 2015 — Genetic findings support observational evidence that lower vitamin D levels are associated with increased risk of multiple sclerosis, according to a new research ... read more

Vitamin D Supplements Could Help Reduce Falls in Homebound Elderly

Aug. 17, 2015 — Every year falls affect approximately one in three older adults living at home, with approximately one in 10 falls resulting in serious injury. Even if an injury does not occur, the fear of falling ... read more

Vitamin D in Teens: Don't Overdo It, or Bad Things Might Happen

Aug. 14, 2015 — Dosing obese teens with vitamin D shows no benefits for their heart health or diabetes risk, and could have the unintended consequences of increasing cholesterol and fat-storing triglycerides. These ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Many 'medical foods' are designed to help manage patients with rare inborn errors of metabolism, and can help prevent serious and life-threatening complications. Unfortunately such special ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Heteroduplex oligonucleotide is a brand new oligonucleotide drug. It is found to be significantly potent at reducing expression of the target RNA, and also improves the phenotype in disease models ... read more

Controlling Inflammation to Reduce Chronic Disease Risk

Aug. 7, 2015 — An unresolved inflammatory response is likely to be involved from the early stages of disease development, scientists say. Controlling inflammation is crucial to human health and a key future ... read more

New Vitamin B3 Pathway Identified

Aug. 6, 2015 — A new vitamin B3 pathway that regulates liver metabolism has been identified by scientists. The discovery provides an opportunity to pursue the development of novel drug therapies for the treatment ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — Scientists have shown how aging cripples the production of new immune cells, decreasing the immune system's response to vaccines and putting the elderly at risk of ... read more

Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015