Vitamin News
February 7, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:31pm EST

More Vitamin News
February 7, 2016

Jan. 25, 2016 — Researchers have begun to explore in earnest the concept of "mixed vascular dementia," but until recently there was no reliable animal model. When one expert discovered that a special diet ... read more

Healthy Hunger-Free Kids Act Linked to More Nutritious Meals

Jan. 4, 2016 — The Healthy Hunger-Free Kids Act was associated with more nutritious school lunches chosen by students with no negative effect on school meal participation, according to an ... read more

Higher Monthly Doses of Vitamin D Associated With Increased Risk of Falls

Jan. 4, 2016 — Higher monthly doses of vitamin D were associated with no benefit on low extremity function and with an increased risk of falls in patients 70 or older in a randomized clinical trial, according to a ... read more

Taking Vitamin D May Benefit People With Multiple Sclerosis

Jan. 4, 2016 — Taking a high dose of vitamin D3 is safe for people with multiple sclerosis and may help regulate the body's hyperactive immune response, according to a pilot ... read more

Vitamin D Deficiency Does Not Increase Risk and Severity of Obstructive Sleep Apnea

Dec. 23, 2015 — A recent study of elderly men found no evidence that obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) increased in severity (or prevalence) as a result of vitamin D deficiency. The researchers also found no evidence to ... read more

Vitamin D Levels Linked to Weight-Loss Surgery Outcomes

Dec. 22, 2015 — Low levels of vitamin D have long been identified as an unwanted hallmark of weight loss surgery, but new findings from a study of more than 930,000 patient records add to evidence that seasonal sun ... read more

Vitamin A Quells Severity of Preemie Gastrointestinal Disease in Mice

Dec. 21, 2015 — After observing that some gastrointestinal disease in premature human and mouse infants progresses only when certain immune system white blood cells go into inflammatory overdrive, researchers have ... read more

Large Proportion of IBS Sufferers Are Vitamin D Deficient

Dec. 21, 2015 — A large proportion of people living with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) are vitamin D deficient, a new study has found. The British study, which is the first of its kind, found that out of 51 IBS ... read more

Almonds May Help Augment Nutrients in Diet

Dec. 18, 2015 — Eating a moderate amount of almonds each day may enrich the diets of adults and their young children. In the study, when parents and children were eating almonds, their Healthy Eating Index increased ... read more

Nutritional Vitamin D Supplements Do Not Help Treat Anemia in Dialysis Patients

Dec. 18, 2015 — Vitamin D2 supplements taken for 6 months did not reduce dialysis patients’ need for anemia drugs that stimulate red blood cell production, report investigators at conclusion of the largest ... read more

Another 'Whey' to Improve Your Health in the New Year?

Dec. 15, 2015 — Adding calcium, Vitamin D and prebiotic dietary fibre to a beverage made of whey can have huge health benefits for those who drink it, team of scientists has ... read more

Low Levels of Vitamin D May Increase Risk of Stress Fractures in Active Individuals

Dec. 14, 2015 — Vitamin D plays a crucial role in ensuring appropriate bone density. Active individuals who enjoy participating in higher impact activities may need to maintain higher vitamin D levels to reduce ... read more

Dec. 14, 2015 — A leading cause of cancer deaths worldwide, colon cancer is famously resistant to treatment. Now the biological pathway behind the growth of colon cancer has been discovered by researchers who have ... read more

Dec. 8, 2015 — Salk team develops drug that prevents and reverses deadly liver damage in ... read more

Dec. 8, 2015 — An engineer and an ophthalmologist are developing a portable sensor that can quickly and inexpensively determine whether an eye injury is mild or severe. The device, called OcuCheck, measures levels ... read more

Dec. 7, 2015 — The vitamin D receptor promotes the differentiation of oligodendrocyte progenitor cells and boosts myelin sheath regeneration, according to a new study. The research suggests potential new ways to ... read more

Can Vitamin D Levels Be Determined by Genes?

Dec. 2, 2015 — Certain genetic variations increase the risk of having a lower level of vitamin D. This is the finding of a PhD project from Denmark, which has examined the effect of eating vitamin D fortified foods ... read more

Nov. 30, 2015 — Neuroscientists have identified a brain region that links anxious temperament to low social status. The researchers were able to tweak social hierarchy in animals using a regular ... read more

PMS as an Early Marker for Future High Blood Pressure Risk

Nov. 24, 2015 — In the first prospective study to consider premenstrual syndrome (PMS) as a possible sentinel for future risk of hypertension, epidemiologists report that women with moderate-to-severe PMS had a 40 ... read more

Vitamin D Does Not Reduce Colds in Asthma Patients

Nov. 23, 2015 — Vitamin D supplements do not reduce the number or severity of colds in asthma patients, according to a new study. The findings surprised the researchers who had previously published research showing ... read more

Monday, January 25, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015