Vitamin News
August 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:58pm EDT

More Vitamin News
August 4, 2015

Benefits of Vitamin B12 Supplements for Older People Questioned

July 1, 2015 — Taking vitamin B12 supplements does not benefit neurological or cognitive function in older people with moderate deficiency of vitamin B12, research has shown for the first ... read more

Folate Biomarkers Determined

June 30, 2015 — An international paper on folate biomarkers is part of an initiative to provide evidence-based guidance for the global nutrition and public health community. The comprehensive study on folate, an ... read more

Vitamin A Supplementation May Cause Immune System to 'Forget' Past Infections

June 30, 2015 — Although vitamin A supplementation can have profound health benefits when someone is deficient, new evidence is emerging to show that vitamin A supplementation above and beyond normal levels may have ... read more

Muscadine Grape Seed Oil May Help Reduce Obesity

June 29, 2015 — Most of the seeds and skin from grapes used for wine production winds up in waste streams. But scientists have found that the oil extracted from Muscadine grape seeds produces a form of Vitamin E, ... read more

Weight Loss, Combined With Vitamin D, Reduces Inflammation Linked to Cancer, Chronic Disease

June 24, 2015 — For the first time, researchers have found that weight loss, in combination with vitamin D supplementation, has a greater effect on reducing chronic inflammation than weight loss alone. Chronic ... read more

Vitamin B12 Supplement Linked to Pimply Skin

June 24, 2015 — Vitamin B12 tweaks how genes behave in the facial bacteria of some people who normally enjoy clear skin, leading to pimples, new research ... read more

June 24, 2015 — When it comes to overuse injuries in high school sports, girls are at a much higher risk than boys, a new study shows. Overuse injuries include stress fractures, tendonitis and joint pain, and occur ... read more

Uninterrupted NOAC Therapy During AF Ablation Appears Safe

June 24, 2015 — Uninterrupted treatment with novel oral anticoagulants during catheter ablation of atrial fibrillation is safe, suggests new research. Continuation of NOAC therapy was not associated with ... read more

Uninterrupted Vitamin K Antagonists Recommended During Ablation, Device Implantation

June 23, 2015 — Experts have recommended uninterrupted anticoagulation with vitamin K antagonists during ablation and device implantation. Dramatic changes in the field during the last five years demanded a ... read more

Vitamin D Status Related to Immune Response to HIV-1

June 15, 2015 — Vitamin D plays an important part in the human immune response and deficiency can leave individuals less able to fight infections like HIV-1. Now an international team of researchers has found that ... read more

Researchers Discover New Enzyme, Link to Iron in Vitamin A Synthesis

June 15, 2015 — A research team's discovery of new information about how plants synthesize carotenoids, precursors for vitamin A that are essential for plant development and survival, and human health, could ... read more

Vitamin D Shows Promise for Treating Crohn's Disease

June 12, 2015 — New research suggests that supplementation with vitamin D may impact on the intestinal barrier dysfunction associated with Crohn's disease, and could have a role in the treatment of the ... read more

Vitamin D Supplements May Benefit Children With Kidney Disease

June 11, 2015 — Among children with chronic kidney disease, those with lower vitamin D levels had higher levels of blood markers related to kidney dysfunction as well as greater kidney function loss over time, ... read more

June 10, 2015 — An analysis of breast milk concludes that levels of health-promoting compounds known as carotenoids differ by country, with the U.S. lagging behind China and Mexico, a reflection of regional dietary ... read more

June 9, 2015 — Researchers are visually capturing the first process of chromosome alignment and separation at the beginning of mouse development. The findings could lead to answers to questions concerning the ... read more

Importance of a Balanced Diet for Mental Health

June 8, 2015 — The importance of nutrition for maintaining mental health has been highlighted by recent research. The human brain needs an adequate intake of key nutrients, such as polyunsaturated fatty acids ... read more

Is Dietary Supplementation Appropriate for Children With Autism Spectrum Disorder?

June 4, 2015 — Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) are often picky eaters, which can lead parents to suspect that their children might not be getting adequate amounts of vitamins and minerals. This ... read more

Vitamin D, Calcium Supplements Do Not Improve Menopausal Symptoms

June 1, 2015 — Women who took vitamin D and calcium supplements had the same number of menopausal symptoms as women who did not take the supplements, according to a study. Involving 34,157 women, the study is part ... read more

Drug Treatment to Prevent Hip Fracture Is Neither Viable nor Cost Effective, Experts Say

May 26, 2015 — The current focus on drugs to prevent hip fractures is neither viable as a public health strategy nor cost effective, argue an international team of ... read more

Include Men in Osteoporosis Screening Guidelines, Experts Urge

May 20, 2015 — Osteoporosis affects more men than prostate cancer. In a large study of smokers, men were more likely than women to have osteoporosis and fractures of their vertebrae. Smoking history and chronic ... read more

Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014