Vitamin News
August 31, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:59pm EDT

More Vitamin News
August 31, 2015

Aug. 13, 2015 — Many 'medical foods' are designed to help manage patients with rare inborn errors of metabolism, and can help prevent serious and life-threatening complications. Unfortunately such special ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Heteroduplex oligonucleotide is a brand new oligonucleotide drug. It is found to be significantly potent at reducing expression of the target RNA, and also improves the phenotype in disease models ... read more

July 30, 2015 — Evaluating drug-induced liver injury is a critical part of pharmaceutical drug discovery and must be carried out on human liver cells. Now, scientists report that they produced large amounts of ... read more

Commercial Ties May Be Fueling Unnecessary, Potentially Harmful Osteoporosis Treatment

July 21, 2015 — A complex web of interactions between industry, advocacy organizations, and academia may be fueling enthusiasm for calcium and vitamin D supplements to prevent and treat osteoporosis, despite ... read more

Antibiotic Use and Decrease in INR Levels Among Patients Taking Vitamin K Antagonists

July 21, 2015 — Researchers have found an association between treatment with the antibiotic dicloxacillin and a decrease in international normalized ratio (INR; a measure of blood coagulation) levels among patients ... read more

Does Heart Disease Begin in Childhood?

July 15, 2015 — A 'statistically significant association' between higher vitamin D levels and lower non-HDL cholesterol in kids has been found by researchers. There has been evidence that low vitamin D ... read more

Review Examines Nutritional Issues Related to Autism Spectrum Disorder

July 15, 2015 — There is consensus that children with autism have selective eating patterns, food neophobia, limited food repertoire, and sensory issues. Researchers now report that there are inconsistent results ... read more

Ancestral Diets Determine Vulnerability to Type 2 Diabetes

July 10, 2015 — The middle classes from developing countries are more susceptible than western Caucasians to obesity, type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular disease in today's changing environment. New research ... read more

July 9, 2015 — A key set of immune cells that protect the body from infection would be lost without directions provided by vitamin A, according to a recent study. A team of researchers found retinoic acid is ... read more

July 7, 2015 — The current recommended minimum daily dose of vitamin D is not sufficient to restore healthy vitamin D levels in overweight or obese blacks, researchers ... read more

Benefit of Extending Anticoagulation Therapy Lost After Discontinuation of Therapy

July 7, 2015 — Among patients with a first episode of pulmonary embolism (the obstruction of the pulmonary artery or a branch of it leading to the lungs by a blood clot) who received six months of anticoagulant ... read more

Vitamin C Related to Reduced Risk of Cardiovascular Disease, Early Death

July 7, 2015 — High vitamin C concentrations in the blood from the intake of fruit and vegetables are associated with a reduced risk of cardiovascular disease and early death, new research ... read more

Benefits of Vitamin B12 Supplements for Older People Questioned

July 1, 2015 — Taking vitamin B12 supplements does not benefit neurological or cognitive function in older people with moderate deficiency of vitamin B12, research has shown for the first ... read more

Folate Biomarkers Determined

June 30, 2015 — An international paper on folate biomarkers is part of an initiative to provide evidence-based guidance for the global nutrition and public health community. The comprehensive study on folate, an ... read more

Vitamin A Supplementation May Cause Immune System to 'Forget' Past Infections

June 30, 2015 — Although vitamin A supplementation can have profound health benefits when someone is deficient, new evidence is emerging to show that vitamin A supplementation above and beyond normal levels may have ... read more

Muscadine Grape Seed Oil May Help Reduce Obesity

June 29, 2015 — Most of the seeds and skin from grapes used for wine production winds up in waste streams. But scientists have found that the oil extracted from Muscadine grape seeds produces a form of Vitamin E, ... read more

Weight Loss, Combined With Vitamin D, Reduces Inflammation Linked to Cancer, Chronic Disease

June 24, 2015 — For the first time, researchers have found that weight loss, in combination with vitamin D supplementation, has a greater effect on reducing chronic inflammation than weight loss alone. Chronic ... read more

Vitamin B12 Supplement Linked to Pimply Skin

June 24, 2015 — Vitamin B12 tweaks how genes behave in the facial bacteria of some people who normally enjoy clear skin, leading to pimples, new research ... read more

June 24, 2015 — When it comes to overuse injuries in high school sports, girls are at a much higher risk than boys, a new study shows. Overuse injuries include stress fractures, tendonitis and joint pain, and occur ... read more

Uninterrupted NOAC Therapy During AF Ablation Appears Safe

June 24, 2015 — Uninterrupted treatment with novel oral anticoagulants during catheter ablation of atrial fibrillation is safe, suggests new research. Continuation of NOAC therapy was not associated with ... read more

Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015