Sleep Disorder Research News
September 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:55pm EDT

More Sleep Disorder Research News
September 1, 2015

Central Sleep Apnea Device Increases Mortality in Heart Failure

Sep. 1, 2015 — Adaptive servo-ventilation (ASV) therapy increases mortality and should not be used to treat central sleep apnea in heart failure patients with reduced ejection fraction, the SERVE-HF trial ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Bacteria do not cease to amaze us with their survival strategies. A research has now discovered how bacteria enter a sleep mode using a so-called FIC toxin. In a new article, the scientists describe ... read more

Anesthesia Professionals Key to Identifying Children at Risk for Sleep-Disordered Breathing Prior to Surgery

Aug. 10, 2015 — Knowing which risks may come into play before or during surgery is especially important where children are concerned. Implementation of a screening questionnaire helps anesthesia professionals ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — Sleeping in the side position, as compared to on one’s back or stomach, may more effectively remove brain waste and prove to be an important practice to help reduce the chances of developing ... read more

Study Finds Brain Chemicals That Keep Wakefulness in Check

July 29, 2015 — Mice that have a particular brain chemical switched off become hyperactive and sleep for just 65 per cent of their normal time, a new study shows. This discovery could help researchers to develop new ... read more

Adolescents With Sleep Problems More Likely to Self-Harm

July 29, 2015 — There is a strong relationship between sleep problems such as insomnia, and self-harm, according to findings in a new Norwegian study. The researchers say that depressive symptoms accounted for some, ... read more

Sleepy Fruitflies Get Mellow

July 28, 2015 — Whether you're a human, a mouse, or even a fruitfly, losing sleep is a bad thing, leading to physiological effects and behavioral changes. Researchers used fruitflies to probe deeper into the ... read more

Many New Mothers Report No Physician Advice on Infant Sleep Position, Breastfeeding

July 27, 2015 — Many new mothers do not receive potentially life saving advice from physicians on aspects of infant care such as sleep position, breastfeeding, immunization and pacifier use, according to a new ... read more

July 26, 2015 — Sleeping not only protects memories from being forgotten, it also makes them easier to access, according to new research. A new study tracked memories for novel, made-up words learnt either prior to ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Genes that control the biological clocks in cells throughout the body are altered after losing a single night of sleep, researchers report. For the study the researchers studied 15 healthy ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Researchers have successfully treated patients with moderate to severe eczema using a rheumatoid arthritis drug recently shown to reverse two other disfiguring skin conditions, vitiligo and alopecia ... read more

Body Temperature May Trigger Sudden Cardiac Death

July 16, 2015 — When studying the proteins that underlie electrical signaling in the heart, and subjecting those proteins to conditions that are similar to the stress of exercise, researchers have found that in some ... read more

Clinical Pathway Uncovers Obstructive Sleep Apnea in Hospitalized Patients

July 15, 2015 — A multi-disciplinary group of researchers and physicians has created a clinical pathway to identify obstructive sleep apnea in higher-risk, hospitalized ... read more

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Insomnia With Psychiatric, Medical Conditions

July 6, 2015 — Cognitive behavioral therapy is a widely used nonpharmacologic treatment for insomnia disorders and an analysis of the medical literature suggests it also can work for patients whose insomnia is ... read more

REM Sleep Critical for Young Brain Development; Medication Interferes

July 3, 2015 — Rapid eye movement or REM sleep actively converts waking experiences into lasting memories and abilities in young brains, reports a new study. The finding broadens the understanding of ... read more

Statins Linked to Lower Aggression in Men, but Higher in Women

July 1, 2015 — In the first randomized trial to look at statin effects on behavior, researchers report that aggressive behavior typically declined among men placed on statins (compared to placebo), but typically ... read more

Improving Sleep Quality Has Pain Control Benefits

July 1, 2015 — Sleep disruption appears to be associated with altered pain processing and central sensitization, according to research. For the study, participants with knee pain were recruited from the community ... read more

Causal Pathway May Link Job Stress, Sleep Disturbances

June 30, 2015 — There may be a reciprocal, causal pathway between job strain and disturbed sleep, implying that interventions to treat sleep problems may improve work satisfaction, researchers have ... read more

For Women With Bipolar Disorder, Sleep Quality Affects Mood

June 30, 2015 — Poor sleep is associated with negative mood in women with bipolar disorder, according to researchers. Bipolar disorder is a brain disorder that causes unusual shifts in mood, energy, activity levels ... read more

June 27, 2015 — A specific calcium channel plays a crucial role in deep, slow-wave sleep, scientists have discovered. This is a key step toward understanding both normal and abnormal waking brain ... read more

Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Sunday, July 26, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Saturday, April 25, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015