Prostate Health News
November 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:21am EST

More Prostate Health News
November 28, 2015

Scientists Show How Frequently Mutated Prostate Cancer Gene Suppresses Tumors

Oct. 29, 2015 — New research has found how SPOP, a gene frequently mutated in prostate cancer, is able to halt tumors by inducing senescence, a state of stable cell cycle arrest, which means that the cells have ... read more

New Genetic Discovery Advances Understanding of Prostate Cancer

Oct. 26, 2015 — A new and important genetic discovery, which sheds light on how prostate cancers develop and spread, has been made by an international research team. Prostate cancer is one of the most common cancers ... read more

Racial Differences in Outcomes, Costs of Care in Older Men With Prostate Cancer

Oct. 22, 2015 — Older black men with localized prostate cancer were more likely to have poorer quality care, incur higher costs and have worse postoperative outcomes than white men but that did not translate to ... read more

The Dilemma of Screening for Prostate Cancer

Oct. 14, 2015 — Primary care providers are put in a difficult position when screening their male patients for prostate cancer -- some guidelines suggest that testing the general population lacks evidence whereas ... read more

Prostate Cells Undergo 'Reprogramming' to Form Tumors, Study Finds

Oct. 12, 2015 — Researchers link early prostate cancer to alterations in a program controlled by a 'master regulator' of cell growth. These epigenetic changes point to new avenues for preventing and ... read more

Novel Compound Turns Off Mutant Cancer Gene in Animals With Leukemia

Oct. 9, 2015 — A compound that halts cancer in animals with Ewing sarcoma and prostate cancer appears to work against some forms of leukemia, too, scientists ... read more

Testosterone Therapy Does Not Increase Aggressive Prostate Cancer Risk

Oct. 5, 2015 — Exposure to testosterone therapy over a five-year period was not associated with an increased risk of aggressive prostate cancer, shows a new population-based study. Further, risk of high-grade ... read more

Better Evaluation of Prostate Cancer MRI-Scans

Oct. 1, 2015 — International radiological bodies have agreed on a standard for how doctors evaluate MRI to confirm a diagnosis of prostate cancer. This promises to reduce the number of over diagnosis of ... read more

Risk Factors for Prostate Cancer

Sep. 29, 2015 — New research suggests that age, race and family history are the biggest risk factors for a man to develop prostate cancer, although high blood pressure, high cholesterol, vitamin D deficiency, ... read more

Fewer, Larger Radiotherapy Doses Prove Effective for Prostate Cancer Patients

Sep. 28, 2015 — Giving fewer but higher doses of radiotherapy, is as effective at treating prostate cancer as giving lower doses for a longer period, according to new research. The results could mean men need fewer ... read more

Androgen Deprivation Therapy Associated With Increased Risk for Fatal Heart Attack

Sep. 22, 2015 — Long term follow up of a randomized clinical trial that compared ADT and radiation therapy (RT) to RT alone finds that men with significant comorbidity; most commonly prior heart attack, who received ... read more

More Men at Risk for Prostate Cancer as a Result of Less Regular Screening

Sep. 22, 2015 — The US Preventive Services Task Force recommendation against regular prostate specific antigen (PSA) screening for prostate cancer is controversial. While it may reduce the risk of over diagnosis and ... read more

Becoming Cyborgs in the Battle Against Prostate Cancer

Sep. 21, 2015 — Men are surprisingly positive and open to the concept of having cancer-detecting biosensors implanted within their bodies – effectively making them cyborgs -- new research ... read more

Molecular Imaging Study Reveals Improved Detection of Early Recurrent Prostate Cancer

Sep. 17, 2015 — A recently developed drug was significantly better at detecting recurring prostate cancer in early stages, researchers report. The American Cancer Society reports that prostate cancer is the second ... read more

How the 'Heat' Compound from Chili Peppers Could Help Kill Cancer Cells

Sep. 9, 2015 — Capsaicin, the compound responsible for chilis' heat, is used in creams sold to relieve pain, and recent research shows that in high doses, it kills prostate cancer cells. Now researchers are ... read more

Some With Low-Risk Prostate Cancer Not Likely to Succumb to the Disease

Aug. 31, 2015 — Men with relatively unaggressive prostate tumors and whose disease is carefully monitored by urologists are unlikely to develop metastatic prostate cancer or die of their cancers, according to ... read more

Adverse Effects of Common Prostate Enlargement and Hair Growth Drugs

Aug. 25, 2015 — Twenty-five percent of men currently taking Finasteride or Dutasteride, popularly known as Proscar and Avodart, for the treatment of benign prostate enlargement, appear not to benefit from taking ... read more

Two-Drug Combination Boosts Survival in Metastatic Prostate Cancer

Aug. 5, 2015 — Men with metastatic, hormone-sensitive prostate cancer gained more than a year of survival when they received both hormone-blocking medications and chemotherapy right after diagnosis, rather than ... read more

Failure to Control Early Prostate Cancer Results in a Poor Outcome

Aug. 3, 2015 — Research finds an association between positive post-radiation therapy biopsy results and subsequent clinical outcomes in men with localized prostate cancer. After skin cancer, prostate cancer is the ... read more

Prostate Cancer Is Five Different Diseases, Experts Say

July 29, 2015 — Scientists have, for the first time, identified that there are five distinct types of prostate cancer and have found a way to distinguish between them, according to a landmark ... read more

Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Sunday, May 31, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Saturday, March 21, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015