Prostate Health News
July 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:51pm EDT

More Prostate Health News
July 5, 2015

Erectile Dysfunction Worsened, Testosterone Levels Decreased by Some Treatments of Prostate Enlargement

June 12, 2015 — Men with benign prostate enlargement who used finasteride to treat their condition, experienced worsening erectile dysfunction that did not resolve with continued treatment. In addition, they ... read more

June 8, 2015 — A novel radionuclide drug tackles the challenge of prostate cancer imaging and takes a turn as a cancer-killing therapy for tumors in and out of the prostate, according to new ... read more

Molecular MRI Aims at Component of Multiple Cancers

June 8, 2015 — A relatively new biomarker called prostate-specific membrane antigen (PSMA) is the bullseye for three new magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) agents that bind to the protein in not only prostate cancer, ... read more

PET Detects More Prostate Cancer Than Conventional Imaging

June 8, 2015 — Research shows how a new molecular imaging agent finds prostate cancer that has spread to other tissues by locking in on an enzyme called prostate specific membrane antigen, associated with prostate ... read more

Theranostic PET Takes on Both Ovarian and Prostate Cancer

June 8, 2015 — A first-in-human study shows how a powerful new drug finds and attaches itself to the ovarian and prostate cancer cells for both imaging and personalized cancer ... read more

Possible New Combination Chemotherapy for Patients With Advanced Prostate Cancer

May 31, 2015 — A role for combination therapy using two or more chemotherapy agents at the same time has not been well studied. This week, however, results of a clinical trial may change the perspective on a role ... read more

Component in Green Tea May Help Reduce Prostate Cancer in Men at High Risk

May 28, 2015 — Prostate cancer is the second most common type of cancer in men and is predicted to result in an estimated 220,000 cases in the United States in 2015. A team of researchers recently published results ... read more

Researchers Unveil New Gene Subgroup in Prostate Cancer

May 25, 2015 — Prostate cancer researchers have drawn a molecular portrait that provides the first complete picture of localized, multi-focal disease within the prostate and also unveils a new gene subgroup driving ... read more

International Study of Advanced Prostate Cancer Genome Finds Potential Targets for Drug Therapy

May 21, 2015 — First study of the genomic composition of prostate cancer shows many patients have gene mutations that can be targeted with existing or potential drugs. The finding is based on an analysis of tumor ... read more

Scientists Unveil Prostate Cancer's 'Rosetta Stone'

May 21, 2015 — Almost 90 percent of men with advanced prostate cancer carry genetic mutations in their tumors that could be targeted by either existing or new cancer drugs, a landmark new study reveals. Scientists ... read more

Australian Public Not Being Informed About Dangers of Medical Overdiagnosis

May 20, 2015 — A national survey reveals that only one in ten Australians report being told about the risk of overdiagnosis by their doctors, according to research. The increasingly recognized problem of ... read more

Researchers Focus on Potential Tool for Predicting Survival, Staging in Prostate Cancer

May 20, 2015 — A molecule that promotes metastasis of advanced prostate cancer to the bone, an incurable condition that significantly decreases quality of life, has been identified by researchers. The research may ... read more

Urine-Based Test Improves on Prostate Serum Antigen for Detecting Prostate Cancer

May 18, 2015 — A new urine-based test improved prostate cancer detection -- including detecting more aggressive forms of prostate cancer -- compared to traditional models based on prostate serum antigen, or PSA, ... read more

May 15, 2015 — A common treatment for prostate cancer is a prostatectomy, in which all or part of the prostate gland is removed. Recent studies have shown that this procedure is often over-prescribed. Spatial light ... read more

Unemployment Linked to Rise in Prostate Cancer Deaths

May 14, 2015 — The knock-on effects of the economic downturn have been explored in economy and psychology. Now researchers are examining the effects of unemployment on an even darker subject - cancer ... read more

Economic Burden of Cancer Extends Into Survivorship

May 13, 2015 — The economic burden of cancer extends beyond diagnosis and treatment, and concludes that cancer survivors face thousands of dollars of excess medical expenses every year, a new study concludes. ... read more

Men With Asthma Less Likely to Develop Lethal Prostate Cancer

May 13, 2015 — In what they are calling a surprising finding in a large study of men who completed questionnaires and allowed scientists to review their medical records, researchers report that men with a history ... read more

May 13, 2015 — Increased diabetes risk has been connected to higher levels of testosterone to prostate enlargement, a new study reports. A new study anthropologists suggests that the hormone testosterone -- ... read more

Androgen Deprivation Therapy May Lead to Cognitive Impairment in Prostate Cancer Patients

May 13, 2015 — Cognitive impairment can occur in cancer patients who are treated with a variety of therapies, including radiation therapy, hormone therapy, and chemotherapy. After chemotherapy treatment it is ... read more

Combined Radiation, Hormonal Therapy Improves Survival in Node-Positive Prostate Cancer

May 11, 2015 — Men with prostate cancer that has spread to nearby lymph nodes can benefit from the addition of radiation therapy to treatments that block the effects of testosterone, a new study finds. The findings ... read more

Friday, June 12, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Sunday, May 31, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Saturday, March 21, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Friday, December 19, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014