Prostate Health News
May 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:20am EDT

More Prostate Health News
May 7, 2015

Recurrence of Prostate Cancer Detected Earlier With Innovative PSMA-Ligand PET/CT

May 4, 2015 — A recent study compared use of the novel Ga-68-PSMA-ligand PET/CT with other imaging methods and found that it had substantially higher detection rates of prostate-specific membrane antigen in ... read more

Diffusion Tensor MR Tractography Effective as Quantitative Tool, Treatment Marker Response

Apr. 24, 2015 — MR tractography may be a reliable quantitative imaging biomarker to assess prostate cancer treatment response to androgen deprivation and radiation therapy, researchers ... read more

Study on New Treatment for Prostate Cancer

Apr. 9, 2015 — A new study represents the first time low temperature plasmas (LTPs) have been applied on cells grown directly from patient tissue samples. Taking both healthy prostate cells and prostate cancer ... read more

Genetic Alterations Associated With Risk of Prostate Cancer

Apr. 2, 2015 — 22 genetic variations that are associated with an increased risk of developing prostate cancer have been identified by an international team of researchers. Prostate cancer affects one out of every 6 ... read more

Lethal Prostate Cancer Can Spread from Other Metastatic Sites, Study Affirms

Apr. 1, 2015 — A new genomic analysis of tissue from patients with prostate cancer has added more evidence that cells within metastases from such tumors can migrate to other body parts and form new sites of spread ... read more

Scientists Drill Down to Genetic Root of Prostate Tumor Development

Apr. 1, 2015 — Scientists have revealed the root of prostate cancers in individual men, discovering that despite huge genetic variety between tumors they also share common gene faults -- insight that could offer ... read more

Mar. 31, 2015 — By age 60, more than 50 percent of men in the United States suffer from benign prostatic hyperplasia, a condition that leads to annoying changes in urinary flow. While medical therapy is usually the ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — A new drug that shows potential in laboratory studies against a rare type of acute leukemia has been developed by scientists. And additional studies suggest the same compound could play a role in ... read more

Fitness Level Associated With Lower Risk of Some Cancers, Death in Men

Mar. 26, 2015 — Men with a high fitness level in midlife appear to be at lower risk for lung and colorectal cancer, but not prostate cancer, and that higher fitness level also may put them at lower risk of death if ... read more

Detecting Cancer Cells in Blood Can Give an Early Warning of Treatment Failure

Mar. 23, 2015 — A blood test that measures the number of cells shed from prostate tumors into the bloodstream can act as an early warning sign that treatment is not working, a major new study shows. Researchers ... read more

Favorable 15-Year Survival Outcomes for Older Prostate Cancer Patients With Low-Risk Disease

Mar. 23, 2015 — Results from a population-based study show favorable survival outcomes among patients with low-risk prostate cancer treated with conservative management initially. The study, which examined men 65 ... read more

Implementing Decision Aids Affects Care Decisions in Urology

Mar. 23, 2015 — After clinicians implemented video-based decision aids for men with two common prostate conditions, rates of elective surgery for benign prostatic hyperplasia and rates of active treatment for ... read more

Sweeping Prostate Cancer Review Upends Widely Held View on Radiation

Mar. 23, 2015 — Two new studies have upended the widely held view that it's best to delay radiation treatment as long as possible after the removal of the prostate in order to prevent unwanted side effects. The ... read more

Prostate Screening: Combining MRI With Conventional Prostate Surveillance Effective, Study Suggests

Mar. 23, 2015 — Initial results from a randomized screening trial indicates that using MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) alongside conventional prostate cancer screening seems to offer improved cancer detection and ... read more

Vitamin D May Keep Low-Grade Prostate Cancer from Becoming Aggressive

Mar. 22, 2015 — Taking vitamin D supplements could slow or even reverse the progression of less aggressive, or low-grade, prostate tumors without the need for surgery or radiation, scientists ... read more

Regaining Normal Sexual Functioning Is 'Rare' After Prostate Operations

Mar. 21, 2015 — Regaining normal erectile function is rare after the most common prostate operation, radical prostatectomy, new research ... read more

Smokers at Twice Risk of Prostate Cancer Recurring After Surgery

Mar. 20, 2015 — Current smokers, and those who have quit smoking less than 10 years previously, have twice the risk of a recurrence of prostate cancer after surgery, according to new ... read more

How Fatty Acids Can Fight Prostate Cancer

Mar. 18, 2015 — A mechanism by which omega-3 fatty acids inhibit the growth and spread of prostate cancer cells has been found by researchers. The findings, which are at odds with a 2013 study asserting that ... read more

Predicting Prostate Cancer: Nanotechnology Shows Promise for More Accurate Prostate Cancer Screening and Prognosis

Mar. 16, 2015 — A study in the emerging field of nanocytology could one day help men make better decisions about whether or not to undergo aggressive prostate cancer treatments. The prostate-specific antigen (PSA) ... read more

Study Identifies 'Lethal' Subtype of Prostate Cancer

Mar. 16, 2015 — Of prostate cancer patients with combination MAP3K7 and CHD1 deletions, about 50 percent will have recurrent prostate cancer, which ultimately leads to death, a study concludes. About 10 percent of ... read more

Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Saturday, March 21, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Friday, December 19, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Saturday, October 25, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Friday, October 10, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Thursday, September 4, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014