STD News
September 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:21pm EDT

More STD News
September 3, 2015

Provision of HIV Treatment Can Be Cost-Saving for Companies in High Prevalence Settings

Sep. 1, 2015 — In settings with a high prevalence of HIV, such as South Africa, provision of antiretroviral therapy programs in the workplace can be cost saving for companies due to reductions in healthcare costs, ... read more

Examining Service Delivery, Patient Outcomes in Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program

Aug. 31, 2015 — Outpatient human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) health care facilities funded by the federal Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program were more likely to provide case management, mental health, substance abuse and ... read more

HIV Testing Among Older Adults Is Declining, Despite CDC Recommendation

Aug. 26, 2015 — In 2006 the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommended that most doctors should automatically screen all their patients, including older adults, for HIV even if they don't exhibit ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — A ring with the ability to diagnose sexually transmitted diseases like syphilis, gonorrhea, chlamydia and trichomoniasis has been ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — A multifaceted farming intervention can reduce food insecurity while improving HIV outcomes in patients in Kenya, according to a randomized, controlled ... read more

Hepatitis C Infection May Fuel Heart Risk

Aug. 11, 2015 — People infected with the hepatitis C virus are at risk for liver damage, but the results of a new study now show the infection may also spell heart ... read more

Research Advances Potential for Test and Vaccine for Genital and Oral Herpes

Aug. 11, 2015 — Findings from a pair of new studies could speed up the development of a universally accurate diagnostic test for human herpes simplex viruses, according to researchers. The work may also lead to the ... read more

SIV Shrugs Off Antibodies in Vaccinated Monkeys

Aug. 11, 2015 — Experimental vaccines can protect a majority of monkeys from repeated challenge with SIV. But when the virus does get through, it's not clear whether vaccine-induced antibodies were exerting any ... read more

HIV Grows Despite Treatment, Study Finds

Aug. 4, 2015 — HIV can continue to grow in patients who are thought to be responding well to treatment, according to research. During treatment for HIV the virus hides in blood cells that are responsible for the ... read more

HVTN 505 Vaccine Induced Antibodies Nonspecific for HIV

July 30, 2015 — A new study helps explain why the candidate vaccine used in the HVTN 505 clinical trial was not protective against HIV infection despite robustly inducing anti-HIV antibodies: the vaccine stimulated ... read more

American Report Highlights Priorities to Help States Achieve National HIV/AIDS Strategy Goals

July 30, 2015 — A set of recommendations has been released by experts for how states across the US can improve HIV prevention and care outcomes in an effort to achieve the goals identified within the National ... read more

HPV16 Detection in Oral Rinses for Oropharyngeal Cancer

July 30, 2015 — The presence of persistent human papillomavirus type 16 DNA in oral rinses after treatment for HPV-related oropharyngeal cancer was rare but it appears to be associated with poor prognosis and ... read more

July 29, 2015 — Researchers have developed a smartphone test for chlamydia that can detect the disease with high accuracy, which could reduce the prevalence of this sexually transmitted disease (STD) by making ... read more

Improved Survival of HIV Patients Facilitates Heart Disease Research

July 27, 2015 — The improved survival rate of HIV patients in sub-Saharan Africa due to effective treatment programs is increasing the ability of researchers in Africa to study the impacts of cardiovascular disease ... read more

HIV Susceptibility Linked to Little-Understood Immune Cell Class

July 22, 2015 — High diversity among certain cells that help fight viruses and tumors is strongly associated with the likelihood of subsequent infection by HIV, researchers have ... read more

Screening in Pregnancy Key to Eliminating Mother-to-Child HIV Transmission

July 22, 2015 — Canada has almost eliminated mother-to-child HIV transmission, known as vertical transmission, in recent years by ensuring that all women have the opportunity to be screened for HIV in pregnancy and ... read more

HIV Treatment Has Social, Socioeconomic Benefits, as Well as Improved Health

July 21, 2015 — HIV treatment for illicit drug users improves their social and socioeconomic well-being as well as their health, new research shows. While the health benefits of antiretroviral therapy (ART) for HIV ... read more

New Drug Combination Treats Hepatitis C Patients Also Infected With HIV

July 21, 2015 — A new combination of drugs that effectively treats hepatitis C (HCV) patients co-infected with human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV) has been discovered by researchers who report that the novel ... read more

Early Antiretroviral Therapy Prevents Non-AIDS Outcomes in HIV-Infected People, Study Concludes

July 21, 2015 — Starting antiretroviral therapy early not only prevents serious AIDS-related diseases, but also prevents the onset of cancer, cardiovascular disease, and other non-AIDS-related diseases in ... read more

Comprehensive Global Prevention Can End HIV/AIDS Pandemic, Experts Say

July 21, 2015 — Although much progress has been made in combating the global HIV/AIDS pandemic, to halt new infections and end the pandemic, a combination of non-vaccine and vaccine prevention modalities will be ... read more

Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Sunday, June 28, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Saturday, May 9, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Saturday, April 25, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015