STD News
October 6, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:21am EDT

More STD News
October 6, 2015

Sep. 11, 2015 — Broadly neutralizing antibodies (bNAbs) are thought to be the future for treating and preventing HIV infections. A bNAb recently characterized by researchers can neutralize the virus in several ... read more

Sep. 10, 2015 — Simple melodies help nurses remember medicines for treating HIV in pregnant ... read more

Upward Trend in Hepatitis C Infection Rates Among HIV-Positive MSM

Sep. 10, 2015 — A systematic review and meta-analysis of studies characterizing the incidence of the sexual transmission of HCV among HIV-positive MSM has been conducted by researchers. The high reinfection rates ... read more

First Belgian Study to Test Use of Preventive HIV Medication

Sep. 9, 2015 — The first Belgian research project to test the applicability of preventive HIV medication among gay men as an additional tool of the Belgian prevention strategy is underway. The researchers hope that ... read more

Study Proves Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) Is Effective at Preventing HIV in High-Risk Gay Men

Sep. 9, 2015 — The Lancet today publishes the results of the PROUD study, which shows giving daily HIV medication to gay men who are HIV negative yet at high risk of becoming HIV positive is highly effective at ... read more

Simplified HIV Test and Treat Program Associated With Better Coverage and Lower Mortality

Sep. 8, 2015 — A 'Test and Treat' protocol for HIV/AIDS diagnosis and treatment, implemented in two Guangxi, China counties in 2012, was associated with increased engagement in HIV/AIDS care and a 62 ... read more

HIV Self-Testing (HIVST) Safe, Acceptable, and Accurate, Study Suggests

Sep. 8, 2015 — HIV self-testing (HIVST) delivered by trained volunteers may prove to be widely used, safe, accurate, and acceptable in urban settings of sub-Saharan Africa, according to a new study. This ... read more

The Achilles' Heel of HIV

Sep. 8, 2015 — Researchers have discovered how cells in the body can detect the genetic material of so-called retroviruses. The pathogen of the immunodeficiency disease AIDS, the HI-1 virus, also belongs to this ... read more

Needle Exchange Program Prevented 120 New Cases of HIV in Two Years, Study Suggests

Sep. 3, 2015 — The District of Columbia's needle exchange program prevented 120 new cases of HIV infection and saved an estimated $44 million over just a two-year period, according to a first-of-a-kind ... read more

Provision of HIV Treatment Can Be Cost-Saving for Companies in High Prevalence Settings

Sep. 1, 2015 — In settings with a high prevalence of HIV, such as South Africa, provision of antiretroviral therapy programs in the workplace can be cost saving for companies due to reductions in healthcare costs, ... read more

Why Do Certain Hormonal Contraceptives Increase the Risk of HIV?

Sep. 1, 2015 — In recent years, evidence has been building that injectable contraceptive depot medroxyprogesterone acetate (Depo-Provera or DMPA) is associated with an increased risk of HIV infection. Now a study ... read more

Aug. 31, 2015 — HIV-1 infection with multiple founder variants points to poorer clinical outcomes than infection with a single variant, according to research. In the study, researchers analyzed large sample sets ... read more

Examining Service Delivery, Patient Outcomes in Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program

Aug. 31, 2015 — Outpatient human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) health care facilities funded by the federal Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program were more likely to provide case management, mental health, substance abuse and ... read more

Scientists Identify Possible Key in Virus, Cancer Research

Aug. 27, 2015 — Scientists have uncovered a viral protein in the cell that inhibits the major DNA sensor and thus the body's response to viral infection, suggesting that this cellular pathway could be ... read more

HIV Particles Do Not Cause AIDS, Our Own Immune Cells Do

Aug. 27, 2015 — Scientists have discovered that HIV does not cause AIDS by the virus's direct effect on the host's immune cells, but rather through the cells' lethal influence on one another. In a new ... read more

HIV Testing Among Older Adults Is Declining, Despite CDC Recommendation

Aug. 26, 2015 — In 2006 the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommended that most doctors should automatically screen all their patients, including older adults, for HIV even if they don't exhibit ... read more

Pregnancy Is a Missed Opportunity for HIV-Infected Women to Gain Control Over Condition

Aug. 25, 2015 — Pregnancy could be a turning point for HIV-infected women, when they have the opportunity to manage their infection, prevent transmission to their new baby and enter a long-term pattern of ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — A ring with the ability to diagnose sexually transmitted diseases like syphilis, gonorrhea, chlamydia and trichomoniasis has been ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — A multifaceted farming intervention can reduce food insecurity while improving HIV outcomes in patients in Kenya, according to a randomized, controlled ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — The intricate interplay between immune cells working to defeat infection has been seen and photographed for the first time. Researchers used state-of-the-art microscopy to painstakingly capture ... read more

Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Sunday, June 28, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Saturday, May 9, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Saturday, April 25, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015