STD News
July 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:21am EDT

More STD News
July 3, 2015

Fatalistic Beliefs May Prevent Appalachian Women from Completing HPV Vaccination Series

June 27, 2015 — Could a fatalistic attitude toward cervical cancer serve as a barrier to prevention of the disease? A recent study suggests a link between fatalistic beliefs and completion of the human ... read more

New and Innovative Approach for Successful Vaccination Against Chlamydia Infections

June 25, 2015 — Chlamydiae are the most common, sexually transmitted, bacterial pathogens in the world. Every year around 100 million people contract Chlamydia infections, which are one of the main causes of female ... read more

Two Large Trials Provide Further Evidence That One Dose of HPV Vaccine Could Prevent the Majority of Cervical Cancers

June 9, 2015 — A single dose of the bivalent human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine (Cervarix®, GlaxoSmithKline group of companies) may offer a similar level of protection against HPV-16/18 infections, which cause ... read more

Research Offers a New Approach to Improving HIV Vaccines

June 4, 2015 — Researchers have identified a molecule that recognizes HIV and initiates an immune response. The findings could help improve the efficacy of HIV vaccines to prevent infection, they ... read more

Thirty Years of AIDS Data Highlight Survival Gains, Room for Improvement

June 4, 2015 — Although treatment advances have dramatically reduced deaths from opportunistic infections related to AIDS, a new study drawing on 30 years of data from more than 20,000 patients in San Francisco ... read more

June 2, 2015 — A small section of the envelope protein, located on the 'tail' of the HIV virus is necessary for the protein to be sorted into viral particles. Figuring out how to manipulate the envelope ... read more

Many UK Patients With Gonorrhea Prescribed Outdated Antibiotics

May 29, 2015 — Many UK patients with gonorrhea are being prescribed antibiotics that are no longer recommended for treating the infection by their family doctor, reveals research published in the online journal BMJ ... read more

Starting Antiretroviral Treatment Early Improves Outcomes for HIV-Infected Individuals

May 27, 2015 — HIV-infected individuals have a considerably lower risk of developing AIDS or other serious illnesses if they start taking antiretroviral drugs sooner, when their CD4+ T-cell count--a key measure of ... read more

Health, Social Inequities Drives HIV in Young Men Who Have Sex With Other Men

May 19, 2015 — Researchers sought to identify the factors associated with incident HIV infection among a cohort of racially/ethnically and socioeconomically diverse young, gay, bisexual and other men who have sex ... read more

Bacterial Communities of Female Genital Tract Have Impact on Inflammation, HIV Risk

May 19, 2015 — The most common bacterial community in the genital tract among healthy South African women not only is significantly different from that of women in developed countries but also leads to elevated ... read more

HIV Reservoirs Remain Obstacles to Cure

May 19, 2015 — Antiretroviral therapy has proven lifesaving for people infected with HIV; however, the medications are a lifelong necessity for most HIV-infected individuals and present practical, logistical, ... read more

Diabetes Drug May Reduce Heart Attack Risk in HIV Patients

May 15, 2015 — A diabetes drug may have benefits beyond lower blood sugar in patients with HIV. New research suggests the drug may prevent cardiovascular problems because it works to reduce inflammation that is ... read more

Men Benefit from Vaccinating Girls Against HPV but Remain at Risk of Some Cancers

May 12, 2015 — Men benefit indirectly from vaccinating girls against human papillomavirus, but remain at risk of cancers associated with the virus, finds a study. Human papillomavirus is one of the most common ... read more

May 12, 2015 — A new study details how and when disease-fighting macrophages and monocytes enter different areas of the brain during HIV infection, where these cells appear in conjunction with the onset of ... read more

Patients More Likely to Get HPV Vaccine After Electronic Health Record Prompts

May 11, 2015 — A simple reminder via electronic health record systems linked to significantly higher HPV vaccine completion rates, researchers say. The HPV vaccine has the lowest completion rates of any other ... read more

Parents' Decision-Making in HPV Vaccination of Daughters

May 9, 2015 — Human Papillomavirus (HPV) is a leading cause of sexually transmitted diseases, with more than 70% of sexually active people getting the virus at least once in their lifetimes. Persistent infection ... read more

Hepatitis C Common Among HIV-Positive Patients in Sub-Saharan Africa

May 6, 2015 — A new study has found high levels of infection with hepatitis C across Africa, particularly in people infected with HIV. In the largest study of its kind, researchers collated data on over 1.1 ... read more

Researchers 'Un-Can' the HIV Virus

May 4, 2015 — If the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) is a bit like a hermetically sealed tin, can no one has yet been able to break open. The good news is that researchers have now identified a way to use a ... read more

Patients With AIDS at Increased Risk of Developing Age-Related Macular Degeneration

May 4, 2015 — Patients with acquired immunodeficiency syndrome have a four-fold increase in their risk of developing intermediate-stage age-related macular degeneration compared to people of the same age who are ... read more

How Chickenpox Virus Can Cause a Stroke in an HIV Patient

May 4, 2015 — Varicella-zoster virus causes chickenpox in children and shingles in older adults. The virus typically remains dormant in patients with healthy immune systems, but can reactivate if the immune system ... read more

Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Saturday, May 9, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Saturday, April 25, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Friday, January 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Friday, December 26, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Saturday, December 6, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014