STD News
February 6, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:51pm EST

More STD News
February 6, 2016

Jan. 29, 2016 — An online 'pop quiz' researchers developed in 2009 shows promising accuracy in predicting sexually transmitted infections (STIs) in young women, although not, apparently, in young ... read more

Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) as Safe as Aspirin

Jan. 14, 2016 — The researchers reviewed major studies of both PrEP for HIV prevention and aspirin for heart attack prevention. They found that both had similar low rates of serious side effects. Aspirin users ... read more

New Anti-Inflammatory Agents Can Control Inflammatory Responses to Fungal Infection

Jan. 11, 2016 — The most frequent fungal threat to humans, Candida albicans, is a common cause oral and genital infection. The fungal infections are often worsened by overwhelming inflammatory responses in the body ... read more

Jan. 8, 2016 — Among HIV-positive patients with Hodgkin lymphoma, a new study finds that blacks are significantly less likely than whites to receive treatment for the cancer, even though chemotherapy saves ... read more

HIV/AIDS Management: Trial Shows Importance of Cotrimoxazole Prophylaxis in Malaria-Endemic Regions

Jan. 5, 2016 — Cotrimoxazole (CTX) discontinuation is inferior to CTX continuation among ART-treated, immune-reconstituted HIV-infected adults living in a malaria-endemic region, according to results of a recent ... read more

Efficacy of Major Chlamydia Drug Confirmed

Dec. 23, 2015 — In one of the most tightly controlled trials ever conducted of drugs used to treat sexually transmitted infections, researchers have confirmed that azithromycin remains effective in the treatment of ... read more

In China, Training Doctors Reduced STI Risk

Dec. 23, 2015 — Results of a randomized, controlled clinical trial in two Chinese provinces show that providing sexually transmitted infection training and education for physicians resulted in significantly reduced ... read more

Dec. 22, 2015 — Using innovative technology, scientists have filmed in vivo the process by which an AIDS vaccine candidate triggers the immune response. This previously unseen footage clearly shows how the vaccine ... read more

HIV Identified as Leading Risk Factor for Stroke in Young African Adults

Dec. 19, 2015 — HIV infection is the leading risk factor for stroke in young African adults, a new study has found. The incidence of stroke is on the increase across most of sub-Saharan Africa. In countries like ... read more

Herpes Zoster Is Linked to Increased Rates of Both Stroke and Myocardial Infarction

Dec. 15, 2015 — Herpes zoster (also called 'shingles') is linked to a transient increased risk of stroke and myocardial infarction in the months following initial zoster diagnosis, according to a new ... read more

Dec. 15, 2015 — Scientists have tracked how a family of HIV-fighting antibodies develops over time. The research shows how a future vaccine might trigger the immune system to produce these antibodies more ... read more

AIDS Treatment Benefits Health, Economics of People Without HIV, Study Shows

Dec. 11, 2015 — AIDS treatment can help HIV-negative people by quelling fear of the virus and boosting mental health and productivity, a new study ... read more

Dec. 11, 2015 — A new way of growing fallopian tube cells in culture is expected to give a boost to our understanding and prevention of female genital diseases, such as infertility, inflammatory disease, and ovarian ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — When we get cold sores, the reason is likely related to stress. For the first time, researchers discovered a cellular mechanism that allows the herpes simplex virus to reactivate. They also found how ... read more

Have Sex Workers Revealed a Connection Between Semen Exposure and HIV Resistance?

Dec. 9, 2015 — In a new study, scientists have found that continued semen exposure in sex workers sustains changes in the cervical and vaginal microenvironment in a way that may actually increase HIV-1 resistance. ... read more

Increase in Alcohol Tax Appears to Have Decreased Gonorrhea Rates in Maryland

Dec. 9, 2015 — Increasing state alcohol taxes could help prevent sexually transmitted infections, such as gonorrhea, according to US researchers, who found that gonorrhea rates decreased by 24 percent in Maryland ... read more

Risky Sexual Behavior by Young Men With HIV Who Have Sex With Men

Dec. 7, 2015 — Young men who have sex with men and have detectable levels of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) were more likely to report condomless anal sex, including with a partner not infected with HIV, ... read more

Dec. 3, 2015 — Chronic HIV infection results in exhaustion of the immune system. Exhausted T cells display inhibitory proteins on their surface, and scientists hope to be able to restore immune function by ... read more

Dec. 2, 2015 — Despite the focus in recent decades on fighting the HIV/AIDS epidemic in Sub-Saharan Africa, a new study reveals that little is known about one of the area's most vulnerable populations: ... read more

Window Into Women's Sexuality

Dec. 2, 2015 — Heterosexual women have more diverse patterns of sexual response than previously reported, new research shows. Among women, say the authors, there is significant diversity among women in their sexual ... read more

Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015