Joint Pain News
May 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:53am EDT

More Joint Pain News
May 26, 2015

Combining Arthritis Meds to Better Alleviate Pain

Apr. 21, 2015 — A mixture of over-the-counter medicine and experimental drugs could be just what the doctor ordered to provide more effective pain relief for arthritis sufferers, experts ... read more

Intestinal Bacteria Can Be Used to Classify Effects of Different Diseases

Mar. 31, 2015 — It is possible to quantify and classify the effects of different diseases on the activity of intestinal bacteria, new research demonstrates for the first time. Human intestinal flora, known as ... read more

Diabetes, Previous Joint Pain and Overall Physical Health Predicts Arthritis Pain

Mar. 24, 2015 — Diabetes and previous joint pain, along with a patient's overall physical health status, may predicts arthritis pain with nearly 100 percent ... read more

First Blood Test for Osteoarthritis Could Soon Be Available

Mar. 20, 2015 — The first blood test for osteoarthritis could soon be developed, thanks to new research. The research findings could potentially lead to patients being tested for osteoarthritis and diagnosed several ... read more

Teenager With Stroke Symptoms Actually Had Lyme Disease

Mar. 2, 2015 — A Swiss teenager, recently returned home from a discotheque, came to the emergency department with classic sudden symptoms of stroke, only to be diagnosed with Lyme disease, clinicians ... read more

Feb. 25, 2015 — Birds are more important than previously recognized as hosts for Lyme disease-causing bacteria in California. Small mammals have been identified in previous studies as wildlife hosts of the Lyme ... read more

Signaling Pathway Helps Protect Healthy Tissue from Overly Active Immune Responses

Feb. 5, 2015 — The messenger protein IL-6, which is rapidly produced at high levels during an acute inflammatory form of kidney disease, potently dampens activation of tissue-destructive immune cells called ... read more

Female Patients With Primary Sjögren’s Syndrome More Likely to Experience Sexual Dysfunction

Feb. 4, 2015 — Sexual dysfunction should not be ignored in patients with primary Sjögren’s syndrome, researchers state after finding that women with the condition experience significantly more sexual dysfunction ... read more

New Mechanism That Controls Immune Responses Discovered

Feb. 12, 2015 — Researchers have identified a common signaling mechanism to produce interferon -- one of the main proteins used to signal the immune system when the body needs to defend itself against a virus, ... read more

Recent Gut and Urinary Tract Infections May Curb Risk of Rheumatoid Arthritis

Feb. 4, 2015 — Recent gut and urinary tract infections may curb the risk of developing rheumatoid arthritis, suggests new ... read more

Lyme Disease Costs Up to $1. 3 Billion Per Year to Treat, Study Finds

Feb. 5, 2015 — New research suggests that a prolonged illness associated with Lyme disease is more widespread and serious in some patients than previously ... read more

Researchers Find Gene That Confirms Existence of Psoriatic Arthritis

Feb. 5, 2015 — Researchers have identified genetic variants that are associated with psoriatic arthritis (PsA) but not with psoriasis, in the largest study of PsA ever ... read more

Jan. 30, 2015 — A mosquito-borne virus that has spread to the Caribbean and Central and South America and has caused isolated infections in Florida often causes joint pain and swelling similar to that seen in ... read more

Early Knee Arthritis Symptoms First Felt When Using Stairs

Jan. 19, 2015 — People who suffer from knee pain when using the stairs may be experiencing the early symptoms of osteoarthritis, according to a new study. "Knowing this will help us intervene earlier, perhaps ... read more

Gut Microbes Trigger Autoimmune Disease Later in Life in Mice

Jan. 19, 2015 — The colonization of the gut of young mice by certain types of bacteria can lead to immune responses later in life that are linked to disease, researchers report. Increases in the levels of segmented ... read more

Lower Mortality Rates Among Asian, Hispanic Lupus Patients

Jan. 15, 2015 — Asian and Hispanic patients with systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) have lower mortality rates compared to Black, White, or Native Americans with the disease, scientists have found. Findings indicate ... read more

Dec. 29, 2014 — Mice that are already infected with the pathogen that causes Lyme disease appear to facilitate the spread of a lesser-known but emerging disease, babesiosis, into new areas. The finding provides a ... read more

Herpes Zoster Vaccine May Benefit Younger People With Rheumatoid Arthritis, Lupus, Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Nov. 16, 2014 — People age 30 or over with autoimmune, inflammatory diseases like rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus and inflammatory bowel disease, may benefit from vaccinations for the viral ... read more

Blood Test Could Prevent Medication Trial and Error for Rheumatoid Arthritis Patients

Nov. 16, 2014 — A molecule in the blood shows promise as a marker to predict whether individual rheumatoid arthritis patients are likely to benefit from biologic medications or other drugs should be tried, a study ... read more

Rheumatoid Arthritis Patients' BMI Linked to Ability to Stay in Remission

Nov. 17, 2014 — Rheumatoid arthritis (RA) patients who were significantly underweight or overweight were the least likely to remain in remission in a recent study. This study presents evidence that BMI is among the ... read more

Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Sunday, November 16, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Friday, September 12, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Friday, June 20, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Friday, May 16, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Monday, April 14, 2014
Thursday, April 10, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Thursday, March 13, 2014
Tuesday, March 11, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Friday, March 7, 2014
Monday, March 3, 2014
Thursday, February 13, 2014
Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Tuesday, January 21, 2014
Friday, January 17, 2014
Monday, January 13, 2014
Thursday, January 9, 2014
Tuesday, January 7, 2014
Thursday, December 26, 2013
Thursday, December 19, 2013
Monday, December 16, 2013
Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Tuesday, November 19, 2013
Tuesday, November 12, 2013
Monday, November 11, 2013
Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Tuesday, November 5, 2013
Wednesday, October 30, 2013
Monday, October 28, 2013
Sunday, October 27, 2013