Gastrointestinal Problems News
July 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:52am EDT

More Gastrointestinal Problems News
July 30, 2015

Red Grape Chemical May Help Prevent Bowel Cancer but Less Is More

July 29, 2015 — Resveratrol, a chemical found in red grapes, is more effective in smaller doses at preventing bowel cancer in mice than high doses, according to new research. Previous research looked at high doses ... read more

New Treatment May Help Neonatal Liver Disease Associated With Parenteral Nutrition

July 28, 2015 — Exogenous glucagon-like peptide 2 (GLP-2) treatment may help fight neonatal parenteral nutrition associated liver disease (PNALD), a new study ... read more

Inflammatory Bowel Disease Genetically Similar in Europeans, Non-Europeans

July 20, 2015 — The first genetic study of inflammatory bowel disease across diverse populations has shown that the regions of the genome underlying the disease are consistent around the world. It suggests that the ... read more

Lower-Cost Procedure for Children With Digestive Tract Problems

July 15, 2015 — Physicians have published research that suggests a safe and lower-cost way to diagnose and treat problems in the upper gastrointestinal tract of children. The researchers assessed the effectiveness ... read more

Elective Surgery Is Associated With Lower Risk of Death Than Drugs for Ulcerative Colitis Treatment

July 13, 2015 — Patients over 50 with ulcerative colitis (UC), a chronic disease of the colon, who undergo surgery to treat their condition live longer than those who are treated with medications, according to a new ... read more

Cancers Caught During Screening Colonoscopy Are More Survivable

July 13, 2015 — Patients whose colorectal cancer is detected during a screening colonoscopy are likely to survive longer than those who wait until they have symptoms before having the ... read more

'Biosimilars' for Children With IBD Need More Research

July 13, 2015 — Children with inflammatory bowel disease who are doing well on specific biological medications should not be switched to recently approved 'biosimilar' products, concludes an expert ... read more

Uric Acid May Lessen Women's Disability After Stroke

July 9, 2015 — Forty-two percent of women treated with uric acid had less disability three months after a stroke compared with women given a placebo, report researchers who say that women benefit from uric acid ... read more

Researchers Identify New Spectrum Disorder Called ALPIM Syndrome

July 9, 2015 — A high rate of association between panic disorder and four domains of physical illness has been documented by researchers. Their new study could alter how physicians and psychiatrists view the ... read more

July 9, 2015 — A key set of immune cells that protect the body from infection would be lost without directions provided by vitamin A, according to a recent study. A team of researchers found retinoic acid is ... read more

3-D Views Reveal Intricacies in Intestines That Could Lead to Discoveries for IBD

July 8, 2015 — A technology whose roots date to the 1800s has the potential to offer an extraordinary new advantage to modern-day medicine. Scientists detail how stereomicroscopy can provide physicians an ... read more

The Next Anti-Tuberculosis Drug May Already Be in Your Local Pharmacy

July 7, 2015 — Testing thousands of approved drugs, scientists have identified an unlikely anti-tuberculosis drug: the over-the-counter antacid lansoprazole (Prevacid). Tuberculosis continues to be a global ... read more

July 6, 2015 — Scientists have discovered a relationship between Asian gastric cancers and the fusion of two ... read more

Researchers Test Fecal Transplantation to Treat Ulcerative Colitis

July 2, 2015 — A research team recruited 75 patients with a flare up of their ulcerative colitis and randomized them to fecal transplant therapy given as an enema derived from stool donated by an anonymous healthy ... read more

Digesting Bread and Pasta Can Release Biologically Active Molecules

July 2, 2015 — Biologically active molecules released by digesting bread and pasta can survive digestion and potentially pass through the gut lining, suggests new research. The study reveals the molecules released ... read more

Anxiety Increases Risk of Gastrointestinal Infection, Long-Term Complications

July 2, 2015 — A team of researchers has made significant progress in uncovering the connection between psychological factors and the immune system. Their findings are based on an investigation of a massive ... read more

The Importance of Placebo Effects to Medical Care

July 1, 2015 — The "placebo effect" is often described as events that occur when patients show improvement from treatments that contain no active ingredients. A new article proposes that placebo effects ... read more

Promising New NSAID-Derivative May Be Well-Tolerated by Chronic Pain Sufferers

July 1, 2015 — Long-term use of naproxen (ALEVE), a type of nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID), is often prescribed for chronic pain conditions such as osteoarthritis. However, because of NSAID-related ... read more

To Shed Weight, Go Vegan

June 30, 2015 — People on a vegetarian diet, and especially those following a vegan one that includes no animal products, see better results than dieters on other weight-reducing plans. In fact, they can lose around ... read more

Sialic Acid: Key to Unlocking Brain Disorders

June 30, 2015 — A common molecule found in higher animals, including humans, affects brain structure, researchers report. They found that mice that had altered sialic acid attachment had significant neurological ... read more

Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Saturday, June 6, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015