Viruses News
November 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:00am EST

More Viruses News
November 26, 2015

Closing the Loop on an HIV Escape Mechanism

Nov. 25, 2015 — The motion of a specific protein in a human cell regulates whether HIV will infect other cells, a collaborative six-university research team has found. The finding may lead to promising new ways to ... read more

Common Cause for Complications After Kidney Transplantation Identified

Nov. 23, 2015 — The BK polyomavirus often causes complications after kidney transplantation. A research group has now been able to show, that the immunosuppressive drug Tacrolimus directly activates the replication ... read more

Evolution of Severely Immunosuppressed HIV Patients Depends on the Immunologic and Virologic Response

Nov. 23, 2015 — Health authorities recommend HIV-infected patients starting treatment as soon as possible after diagnosis, regardless of the level of immunosuppression and viral load. Even in the worst scenario, if ... read more

Independent Panel of Global Experts Calls for Critical Reforms to Prevent Future Pandemics

Nov. 23, 2015 — A hard-hitting analysis of the global response to the 2014-15 Ebola outbreak in West Africa has been issued by an independent group of 20 experts from around the ... read more

European Hospitals Overlook Every Other Person With HIV

Nov. 20, 2015 — Many European hospitals fail to routinely test people who may be at risk of an HIV-infection, a new study reveals. If tests were more widely used in healthcare, fewer HIV-patients would go unnoticed, ... read more

Prevalence of Lifetime Drug Use Disorders Nearly 10 Percent in US

Nov. 18, 2015 — Nearly 10 percent of Americans, or more than 23.3 million people, have lifetime drug use disorder diagnoses arising from drug use in the past year or prior to that and many of these individuals were ... read more

New Options for Treating Autism

Nov. 18, 2015 — The operating mechanism of oxytocin, the molecule involved in social behavior, has been researched by a team of European scientists. The results obtained in the research suggest that one of the ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — A new virus has been discovered that is carried by one of the Australia's most common pest mosquitoes. The new virus -- known as Parramatta River virus -- infects only mosquitoes and ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — Low levels of vitamin D may limit the effectiveness of HIV treatment in adults, a researcher has found. An 18-month longitudinal study was conducted in which the immune status of 398 HIV-positive ... read more

Scientists Find Surprising Trait in Anti-HIV Antibodies

Nov. 17, 2015 — Scientists have new weapons in the fight against HIV. Their new study describes four prototype antibodies that target a specific weak spot on the ... read more

Study Sheds Light on Why Parasite Makes TB Infections Worse

Nov. 16, 2015 — Scientists have shown how a parasitic worm infection common in the developing world increases susceptibility to tuberculosis. The study raises the possibility of using inexpensive and widely ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — Researchers have found that a simple drug regimen delivered over 12 weeks achieved sustained eradication of several genotypes of the hepatitis C virus (HCV) in 99 per cent of the trial's ... read more

Gene Therapy: Promising Candidate for Cystic Fibrosis Treatment

Nov. 16, 2015 — An improved gene therapy treatment can cure mice with cystic fibrosis (CF). Cell cultures from CF patients, too, respond well to the treatment, suggest new encouraging ... read more

One-Step Test for Hepatitis C Virus Infection Developed

Nov. 14, 2015 — A cost-effective one-step test that screens, detects and confirms hepatitis C virus (HCV) infections has been developed by researchers. Current blood-based HCV testing requires two steps and can be ... read more

Breakthrough in the Treatment of HIV by Successfully Developing a Prototype Vaccine Vector

Nov. 13, 2015 — Scientists have developed a prototype HIV vaccine vector using a similar approach to that used for a vaccination for Ebola and ... read more

Large Study Sums Up Health Issues for New Child Refugees to U.S.

Nov. 13, 2015 — For refugee children newly arrived in the US, hepatitis B, tuberculosis, parasitic worms, high blood lead levels and anemia are among the top public health concerns covered by screening programs. In ... read more

Nov. 13, 2015 — New research now allows researchers to manipulate nature's biosynthetic machinery to produce more effective antibiotics and cancer-fighting ... read more

Nov. 11, 2015 — Scientists have shown that a new way to deliver replacement genes may be effective at slowing the development of childhood Batten disease, a rare and fatal neurological disorder. The key may be to ... read more

Protein-RNA Structure Hints at How Viruses Commandeer Human Proteins

Nov. 11, 2015 — Researchers have produced the first image of an important human protein as it binds with ribonucleic acid (RNA), a discovery that could offer clues to how some viruses, including HIV, control ... read more

Molecular Immunity from Microbes

Nov. 11, 2015 — A new molecular biology tool derived from a bacterial defense system has been used for the first time to demonstrate a novel way to protect plants against viral ... read more

Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Saturday, November 14, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Saturday, October 10, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015