Viruses News
February 9, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:01am EST

More Viruses News
February 9, 2016

Gut Environment Could Reduce Severity of Malaria

Feb. 8, 2016 — Microorganisms in the gut could play a role in reducing the severity of malaria, according to a new study. Malaria is a mosquito-borne disease, and those with the illness often experience fever, ... read more

Feb. 8, 2016 — Children with asthma tend to have the worst symptoms at the same times each year -- when school starts in the fall and after extended breaks such as Spring Break. Researchers previously speculated ... read more

Feb. 8, 2016 — The dengue virus affects 390 million people globally every year, and fears are that early 2016 will see an epidemic, particularly in South-East Asia, due to the predicted extreme intensity of El ... read more

New Analysis Method May Reduce Need for Invasive Biopsies

Feb. 5, 2016 — Scientists have identified a quantitative method to measure changes in biomarkers, which may reduce or eliminate the need for invasive ... read more

Exceptionally Hot and Dry Winter in Northeast Brazil May Be Linked to Outbreak of the Zika Virus

Feb. 4, 2016 — A preliminary study has found a linkage between the exceptionally hot and dry winter and spring recently experienced in northeast Brazil and the outbreak of the zika ... read more

For Pregnant Women With Flu, the Earlier the Better for Antiviral Treatment

Feb. 4, 2016 — Pregnant women are at higher risk for serious illness and complications, including death, from influenza. For expectant mothers hospitalized with flu, early treatment with the influenza antiviral ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Scientists have captured atomic images of the virus that causes cold sores in action. Structural details reveal that the virus inserts itself into another protein, jamming an important immune system ... read more

Feb. 3, 2016 — A new way to use the empty shell of a hepatitis E virus has been developed to carry vaccines or drugs into the body. The technique has been tested in rodents as a way to target breast cancer, and is ... read more

Sstudy Identifies Mechanism for Drug Target to Help Block HIV's Ability to Spread

Feb. 2, 2016 — A new study identifies how RNA-based drug 5-aza-C blocks HIV's ability to spread by converting to DNA before infiltrating the virus. Because RNA drugs are more cost-effective, the findings could ... read more

Using Mathematics to Improve Human Health

Feb. 2, 2016 — Scientists have used mathematics as a tool to provide precise details of the structure of protein nanoparticles, potentially making them more useful in vaccine ... read more

Adenosine Deaminase May Help the Immune System Fight HIV on Its Own

Feb. 2, 2016 — A new therapeutic strategy for HIV may already be available by repurposing an existing prescription drug, new research shows. The drug, an enzyme called adenosine deaminase, or ADA, ultimately may be ... read more

Effects on HIV and Ebola

Feb. 2, 2016 — Extracts of the medicinal plant Cistus incanus (Ci) prevent human immunodeficiency viruses from infecting cells, new research shows. Active antiviral ingredients in the extracts inhibit docking of ... read more

Cell Culture Experiments Reveal Potent Antiviral Activity of Cistus Incanus Extracts Against HIV and Ebola

Feb. 2, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that extracts of the medicinal plant Cistus incanus (Ci) prevent human immunodeficiency viruses from infecting cells. Active antiviral ingredients in the extracts inhibit ... read more

Super Bowl Celebrations Spread Flu, According to Researchers

Feb. 1, 2016 — Cities with teams in the Super Bowl see a rise in flu deaths, new research shows. The effects are greater when the Super Bowl occurs close to the peak of flu season or when the dominant influenza ... read more

Experts Cite Multiple Contacts for Hepatitis C Virus Exposure in Ghana

Feb. 1, 2016 — West African residents have frequent opportunities for exposure to the hepatitis C virus, according to a new comprehensive ... read more

Researcher Warns US Could See Substantial Impact of Zika Virus

Feb. 1, 2016 — Zika virus could spread quickly to and potentially within the US, an expert warns. The mosquito-borne virus, which is believed to cause microcephaly in infants who are exposed in utero, causes rash ... read more

Infectious Diseases Cause Significant Emergency Visits, Hospitalizations for Older Adults

Feb. 1, 2016 — In a first-of-its-kind study, researchers calculated that infectious diseases account for 13.5 percent of emergency room (ER) visits involving older adults -- a higher percentage than ER visits for ... read more

CRISPR/Cas9 Therapeutic for Tyrosinemai Type I Delivered to Mice

Feb. 1, 2016 — A more efficient delivery of a CRISPR/Cas9 therapeutic to adult mice with the metabolic disease Tyrosinemia type I developed may also prove to be safer for use in humans. A study shows that the ... read more

Targeting Upper Motor Neurons to Treat ALS

Feb. 1, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated for the first time that it is possible to specifically modify gene expression in diseased upper motor neurons, brain cells that break down in ALS. The study provides ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — Biologists have modified a harmless virus in such a way that it can successfully enter the adult mouse brain through the bloodstream and deliver genes to cells of the nervous system. The virus could ... read more

Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Saturday, December 12, 2015