Viruses News
October 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:29am EDT

More Viruses News
October 7, 2015

Virus-Drug Combination Shows Improved Effectiveness Against Brain Tumor Cells

Oct. 6, 2015 — A rabbit virus currently being developed for cancer therapy can be paired with one of several existing drugs to deliver a more potent punch to a deadly type of brain tumor cell, researchers have ... read more

New Test Detects All Viruses That Infect People, Animals

Sep. 29, 2015 — A new test detects virtually any virus that infects people and animals, according to new research. The new test could be used to detect outbreaks of deadly viruses such as Ebola, Marburg and severe ... read more

Portable, Rapid DNA Test Can Detect Ebola, Other Pathogens

Sep. 29, 2015 — Scientists completed a proof-of-principle study on a real-time blood test based on DNA sequencing that can be used to rapidly diagnose Ebola and other acute ... read more

HIV Patients Should Be Included in Early Clinical Trials of Anti-TB Drugs

Sep. 29, 2015 — Tuberculosis is the number one cause of death in HIV-infected patients in Africa and a leading cause of death in this population worldwide, yet the majority of these patients are excluded from the ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — A unique molecule is able to bind HIV-infected cells to the immune system’s killer T cells. It could become a key part of a shock-and-kill strategy being developed in the hope of one day clearing ... read more

Flu Infection Reveals Many Paths to Immune Response

Sep. 28, 2015 — A new study of influenza infection in an animal model broadens understanding of how the immune system responds to flu virus, showing that the process is more dynamic than usually described, engaging ... read more

Infections in Childhood Could Provide Clues to Disease Development in Later Life

Sep. 27, 2015 — The interaction between infections and the microbiota during infancy in the lungs could help provide clues to disease development later in life, according to the findings of a new ... read more

Researchers Discover a New Mechanism of Proteins to Block HIV

Sep. 28, 2015 — There is little doubt that the Human Immunodeficiency Virus, or HIV, is devastating. More than 1.2 million people in the United States are living with HIV and more than 47,000 people are diagnosed ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — Chip-based technology has been enhanced to provide reliable detection of Ebola virus and other viral pathogens. The system uses direct optical detection of viral molecules and can be integrated into ... read more

When Paired With Coinfection, Social Isolation Might Fuel Rather Than Foil Epidemics

Sep. 25, 2015 — When social isolation and coinfection occur together, diseases can spread faster and further than with either effect alone, new research shows. At the heart of the new study are two effects that have ... read more

Rapidly Assessing the Next Influenza Pandemic

Sep. 24, 2015 — Influenza pandemics are potentially the most serious natural catastrophes that affect the human population. New findings suggest that with both timely and accurate data and sophisticated numerical ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — Viral persistence and chronic inflammation are two key features of HIV-positive patients on antiretroviral therapy. A new study reports results from macaques and humans that suggest an important role ... read more

'Immune Camouflage' May Explain H7N9 Influenza Vaccine Failure

Sep. 24, 2015 — The avian influenza A (H7N9) virus has been a major concern since the first outbreak in China in 2013. Due to its high rate of lethality and pandemic potential, H7N9 vaccine development has become a ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — Diagnosis of celiac disease requires a tissue sample from the small intestine, which can be extremely unpleasant. Researchers have now developed a blood test which provides a rapid, painless ... read more

This Year's Flu Vaccine Expected to Be a 'Good Match'

Sep. 24, 2015 — Every year at this time, we hear it's time to get the flu shot. After last year's vaccine missed the mark, how does the Center for Disease Control regain the public's confidence that ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — A new article discusses how DNA molecules can be assembled into tailored and complex nanostructures, and further, how these structures can find uses in therapeutics and bionanotechnological ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — Researchers reveal possible new treatment methods for a rare, usually fatal brain disease. Thanks to their discovery that specific antibodies play a key role in combating the viral infection, a ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — A novel mechanism for one 1918 flu virus protein has been discovered that may help explain the virulence of that unusually deadly pandemic. That outbreak killed 50 million to 100 million ... read more

New Clues on the History of the Smallpox Vaccine Virus

Sep. 22, 2015 — Given the fear that the variola virus could be reintroduced to humans in weaponized form, new generations of smallpox vaccines are highly needed. A new study provides fresh insights on the ... read more

Diagnostics Breakthrough Brings Viral Sequencing to Doctors' Toolkit

Sep. 22, 2015 — A breakthrough genetic testing method promises to give clinicians a powerful new tool to detect and sequence viruses. The Virome-Capture-Sequencing platform for Vertebrate viruses is as sensitive as ... read more

Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015