Viruses News
July 31, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:28am EDT

More Viruses News
July 31, 2015

July 31, 2015 — Tests of the experimental Ebola vaccine VSV-ZEBOV in over 7500 participants in Guinea suggest that the vaccine provides high protection against the disease as early as ten days after vaccination, in ... read more

Flexible Future of Point-of-Care Disease Diagnostic

July 28, 2015 — The world-wide deployment of biomedical devices for health monitoring, point-of-care diagnostics and environmental sensing is hampered by their high cost that is not readily affordable for developing ... read more

Researchers Create Promising New Mouse Model for Lung Injury Repair

July 28, 2015 — Researchers have created a dynamic functional mouse model for lung injury repair, a tool that will help scientists explain the origins of lung disease and provide a system by which new therapies can ... read more

Rapid Ebola Test Could Play Key Role in Efforts to End Lingering Outbreak

July 27, 2015 — New research has expanded on the studies that led to a fingerprick Ebola test becoming the first and only rapid diagnostic for this disease to receive approval from the World Health Organization ... read more

Why West Nile Virus Is More Dangerous in the Elderly

July 23, 2015 — West Nile virus (WNV) is particularly dangerous in older people, who account for a large number of severe cases and deaths caused by the virus. WNV infection turns serious when the virus crosses the ... read more

Researchers Urge Transplantation of Hepatitis C-Infected Kidneys in Some Non-Infected Patients

July 22, 2015 — The average wait time for a kidney transplant is five years and there are more than 100,000 people on the waiting list. However, there are thousands of viable hepatitis C-positive kidneys that are ... read more

Antiviral Compound Protects Nonhuman Primates Against Marburg Virus

July 22, 2015 — An experimental drug that protected monkeys from the deadly Marburg virus appears to have potential for treating people who have been exposed to the virus, according to a study. Marburg virus is ... read more

HIV Susceptibility Linked to Little-Understood Immune Cell Class

July 22, 2015 — High diversity among certain cells that help fight viruses and tumors is strongly associated with the likelihood of subsequent infection by HIV, researchers have ... read more

Diagnostic Test Developed for Enterovirus D68

July 22, 2015 — A diagnostic test to quickly detect enterovirus D68, a respiratory virus that caused unusually severe illness in children last year, has been developed by researchers. The outbreak caused infections ... read more

July 22, 2015 — A study of the West Nile virus risk associated with 'dry' water-detention basins in Central Illinois took an unexpected turn when land managers started mowing the basins. The mowing of ... read more

Screening in Pregnancy Key to Eliminating Mother-to-Child HIV Transmission

July 22, 2015 — Canada has almost eliminated mother-to-child HIV transmission, known as vertical transmission, in recent years by ensuring that all women have the opportunity to be screened for HIV in pregnancy and ... read more

Researchers to Map Impact of Infectious Diseases Against Research Spending

July 22, 2015 — Scientists are set to analyze research investments into infectious disease research, particularly pneumonia and maternal and neonatal infections. By studying how research funding is allocated ... read more

New Drug Combination Treats Hepatitis C Patients Also Infected With HIV

July 21, 2015 — A new combination of drugs that effectively treats hepatitis C (HCV) patients co-infected with human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV) has been discovered by researchers who report that the novel ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Researchers are studying a antibiotic-resistant pathogen to learn how to better fight it. They have identified several mechanisms bacteria use to share genes and expand their antibiotic ... read more

Adjuvants Improve Immune Response to H7N9 Flu Vaccine

July 21, 2015 — In a phase 2 trial that included nearly 1,000 adults, the AS03 and MF59 adjuvants (a component that improves immune response of inactivated influenza vaccines) increased the immune responses to two ... read more

Lack of Knowledge on Animal Disease Leaves Humans at Risk

July 20, 2015 — Researchers have painted the most detailed picture to date of major infectious diseases shared between wildlife and livestock, and found a huge gap in knowledge about diseases which could spread to ... read more

HIV Control Through Treatment Durably Prevents Heterosexual Transmission of Virus

July 20, 2015 — Antiretroviral treatment that consistently suppresses HIV is highly effective at preventing sexual transmission of the virus in heterosexual couples where one person is HIV-infected and the other is ... read more

Sustained Benefit of Early Antiretroviral Therapy

July 20, 2015 — Antiretroviral therapy for HIV infection provides lasting protection against the sexual transmission of the virus from infected men and women to their HIV-uninfected sexual partners, investigators ... read more

Engineering Potential Treatment for All Four Dengue Serotypes

July 19, 2015 — A multinational research team comprising scientists, engineers and drug developers have joined forces to develop a viable dengue therapeutic that targets all dengue ... read more

Cholesterol Metabolism in Immune Cells Linked to HIV Progression

July 17, 2015 — Lower levels of cholesterol in certain immune cells -- a result of enhanced cholesterol metabolism within those cells -- may help explain why some HIV-infected people are able to naturally control ... read more

Friday, July 31, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Sunday, July 19, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Saturday, July 11, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015