Dentistry News
February 10, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:32pm EST

More Dentistry News
February 10, 2016

Bite-Mark Analysis Can Lead to False Convictions, Landmark Research Shows

Jan. 8, 2016 — Forensic science is a vital crime-fighting tool in today’s criminal justice system. But it can also lead to false convictions, according to an expert, whose study proves that bite-mark analysis is ... read more

Jan. 6, 2016 — The first American clinical practice guidelines for caring for patients with teeth restorations such as crowns, bridges, veneers and implants has been ... read more

New Patent on Synthetic Molecules Brings Researchers Closer to Therapeutic Approach for Gum Disease

Dec. 15, 2015 — Researchers recently received a patent on a synthetic biochemical compound and its variants, moving science closer to a treatment for gum ... read more

Graphene Oxide Could Make Stronger Dental Fillings

Dec. 3, 2015 — Graphene oxide could be used to make super strong dental fillings that don't corrode, according to a new study. Research suggests we chew around 800 times in an average meal; that's almost ... read more

Microbiome Technology May Help Combat Certain Infections

Nov. 19, 2015 — Two patent applications were filed for nutrient based compositions utilizing an innovative microbiome technology that may help combat certain ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — Biofilms frequently coat the surfaces of catheters, and of various medical implants and prostheses, where they can cause life-threatening infections. New research shows that coating implants with a ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — An abundance of sweets during the holidays increases the threat of cavities and tooth sensitivity. Researchers have found a way to regrow enamel to protect teeth. Perhaps one day their gel could be ... read more

'You Can Always Look Better:' On Norms and Ideals in Dental Care

Nov. 13, 2015 — The dental care industry spends a lot of time on supporting young people as they get through their often long and difficult orthodontic treatment. A new study has looked at the importance of norms ... read more

3-D Printed Objects That Kill Microbes

Nov. 13, 2015 — Material scientists and orthodontists have made a 3D printing substrate which kills bacteria on contact. The first applications will be in dentistry, but other implants may ... read more

Receptors on Bone Cells Connected to Inflammatory Bone Loss, Bone Formation

Nov. 12, 2015 — Receptors on bone cells activate bone loss in contact with bacteria that cause inflammation in patients resulting in loosening of the teeth, loosening dental and orthopaedic implants or arthritis. ... read more

Cellular Mechanism for Transporting Calcium in the Formation of Dental Enamel Cells

Nov. 9, 2015 — The team found that the main calcium influx pathway involved in the mineralization of enamel [called the CRAC (Ca2+ release-activated Ca2+) channel -- the main type of SOCE (Store-operated Ca2+ ... read more

Watching Cement Dry Could Help Dental Fillings Last Longer

Nov. 9, 2015 — Scientists have revealed 'sweet points' for dental fillings, where cement used to fill cracks regain elasticity before hardening indefinitely. This could have implications for creating more ... read more

Dental Implants Frequently Lead to Complications

Nov. 5, 2015 — Almost 8 percent of patients experience loss of at least one implant within ten years. Even more develop peri-implantitis. Patients with periodontitis run a greater risk of both implant loss and ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — Millions of dental implants are inserted every year, and often they need to be replaced due to issues such as tissue infections caused by bacteria. In the future, these infections will be prevented ... read more

New Technique Could Prevent Biofilms on Catheters and Medical Implants

Oct. 30, 2015 — Biofilms -- mats of bacteria similar to the plaque that grows on teeth -- frequently coat the surfaces of catheters, and of various medical implants and prostheses, where they can threaten lives or ... read more

Exposure to Secondhand Smoke Linked to Increased Risk of Tooth Decay in Young Children

Oct. 21, 2015 — Exposure to secondhand smoke at four months of age is associated with an increased risk of tooth decay at age 3 years, concludes a study from ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — Gold, silver and porcelain are among the many materials dentists can use to fix damaged teeth. Soon diamonds -- at least tiny, microscopic ones -- could be added to that list. Scientists have ... read more

Oct. 19, 2015 — When a Lake Malawi cichlid loses a tooth, a new one drops neatly into place as a replacement. Why can't humans similarly regrow teeth lost to injury or ... read more

Oct. 19, 2015 — Have a cavity? Ask your dentist about filling it with a mixture of nanoparticles including silica and zirconia. These white fillings resemble teeth better than their metal alternatives and are less ... read more

Oct. 17, 2015 — Nanodiamonds may help patients that have had the dreaded root canal. Dental researchers have developed a nanodiamond-reinforced version of gutta percha, the compound that is used to fill void spaces ... read more

Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Saturday, March 14, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014