Dentistry News
May 23, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:29am EDT

More Dentistry News
May 23, 2015

Researchers Hope to Improve Dental Health by Changing Caregiver's Behavior

May 4, 2015 — Studies have long associated low-income areas with poor oral health. But dental researchers have sensed that other factors related to income may be at work -- in particular, education level. So they ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Baby teeth from children who died during the 1845-52 Irish famine could help us predict the future health of children born today, according to new research. Investigators found that the biochemical ... read more

How Gum Disease Treatment Can Prevent Heart Disease

Apr. 14, 2015 — A new study is helping to shed more light on the important connection between the mouth and heart. According to research, scientists have demonstrated that using an oral topical remedy to reduce ... read more

Apr. 1, 2015 — Therapeutic agents intended to reduce dental plaque and prevent tooth decay are often removed by saliva and the act of swallowing before they can take effect. But a team of researchers has developed ... read more

Oral Pain Specialists Treat Complex Health Issues, According to New Survey

Apr. 1, 2015 — Dental researchers conducted a survey to better understand the work done by oral pain specialists. Answers revealed that patients on average visit 2.2 doctors over 17 months before visiting the pain ... read more

Treating a Common Gum Condition Could Reduce Risk of Heart Attacks in Kidney Disease Patients

Apr. 1, 2015 — Treating a common gum condition in chronic kidney disease (CKD) patients could significantly reduce their risk of potentially fatal heart disease, researchers say. Over 10% of the adult population ... read more

Effect of Natural Sweetener Xylitol in Preventing Tooth Decay Still Unproven

Mar. 25, 2015 — New research concludes that there is limited evidence to show that xylitol is effective in preventing dental cavities in children and ... read more

Tackling Poor Oral Health in Children Around the Globe

Mar. 19, 2015 — A new research project has established an effective model for the fight against the escalating burden of tooth decay among children in Asia. The model is an important tool in breaking the social ... read more

Link Between Hair Disorders and Susceptibility to Dental Caries

Mar. 14, 2015 — Hair and teeth are ectodermal appendages that share common developmental mechanisms. However, the major structural components making up hair and teeth are very distinct. The hair shaft is essentially ... read more

Environmental Tobacco Smoke Is Associated With Periodontitis in US Non-Smokers

Mar. 13, 2015 — Periodontitis affects approximately 47% of adults in the United States and the U.S. Surgeon General has concluded that cigarette smoking is one of its causes. Despite numerous adverse health effects ... read more

Distinct Brain Mechanisms Related to Dental Pain Relief

Mar. 12, 2015 — Local anesthesia has made life more comfortable for dental patients since 1884. However, little is known about brain mechanisms related to dental pain relief. In this study, the researchers aimed to ... read more

Inflammation in Mouth, Joints in Rheumatoid Arthritis

Mar. 12, 2015 — Periodontitis shares pathogenic mechanisms with rheumatoid arthritis (RA) and may trigger its onset, scientists say. In a new study, researchers performed joint and dental examinations, determined ... read more

Graphene: A New Tool for Fighting Cavities and Gum Disease?

Mar. 11, 2015 — Dental diseases, which are caused by the overgrowth of certain bacteria in the mouth, are among the most common health problems in the world. Now scientists have discovered that a material called ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — A newly discovered cache of industry documents reveals that the sugar industry worked closely with the National Institutes of Health in the 1960s and '70s to develop a federal research program ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — Tooth decay is a serious health problem and it is often necessary to repair cavities. Dentists often use a composite filling material made of acrylate compounds, as it resembles the color of the ... read more

BPA Harms Dental Enamel in Young Animals, Mimicking Human Tooth Defect

Mar. 6, 2015 — A tooth enamel abnormality in children, molar incisor hypomineralization, may result from exposure to the industrial chemical bisphenol A, authors of a new study conclude after finding similar damage ... read more

Study Successfully Screens for Diabetes at Dental Visits Using Oral Blood

Feb. 26, 2015 — Using gingival crevicular blood (GCB) for hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c) testing produced values that were nearly identical to those obtained using finger stick blood (FSB), with a correlation of .991 ... read more

Amelotin Molecule Plays Critical Role in Tooth Enamel Maturation

Feb. 24, 2015 — An innovative developmental biology study relates amelotin with tooth enamel defects and enamel formation. "This is a significant study because it is the first report of a basement membrane ... read more

Water Fluoridation in England Linked to Higher Rates of Underactive Thyroid

Feb. 24, 2015 — Water fluoridation above a certain level is linked to 30 percent higher than expected rates of underactive thyroid (hypothyroidism) in England, suggests research. Researchers point out that their ... read more

Wisdom Teeth Stem Cells Can Transform Into Cells That Could Treat Corneal Scarring

Feb. 23, 2015 — Stem cells from the dental pulp of wisdom teeth can be coaxed to become cells of the eye's cornea and could one day be used to repair corneal scarring due to infection or injury, according to ... read more

Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Saturday, March 14, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Saturday, August 16, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Sunday, May 18, 2014
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Sunday, May 11, 2014
Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Monday, May 5, 2014
Thursday, May 1, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Monday, April 14, 2014
Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Monday, April 14, 2014
Wednesday, April 9, 2014
Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Monday, March 24, 2014
Thursday, March 27, 2014
Thursday, March 20, 2014
Friday, March 21, 2014