Dentistry News
August 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:00pm EDT

More Dentistry News
August 28, 2015

Dentists Tapped for New Role: Drug Screenings

Aug. 13, 2015 — A visit to the dentist has the potential to be more than a checkup of our teeth as patients are increasingly screened for medical conditions like heart disease and diabetes. A new study focuses on ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Dentures, known as false teeth, are prosthetics constructed to replace missing teeth. Fitting removable dentures is a long and painful process in which a patient has to visit the clinic multiple ... read more

Exploreing 3-D Printing for Oral, Dental Tissue Engineering

June 29, 2015 — A case report has been released on the first application of a 3-D printed scaffold for periodontal tissue engineering in a human patient, along with a review of 3-D printing for oral and craniofacial ... read more

Families of Orofacial Clefting Not at Higher Risk for Dental Anomalies

June 16, 2015 — Children with oral clefts show a wide range of dental anomalies, adding complexity to understanding the phenotypic spectrum of orofacial clefting. The evidence is mixed however on whether the ... read more

Major Health Consequences for Individuals With Severe Dental Anxiety

June 12, 2015 — Adults who suffer from severe dental anxiety (DA) are often dissatisfied with their appearance. The dissatisfaction may be associated with poorer oral health, depression and anxiety. Cognitive ... read more

Dental Implants Result in Better Quality of Life for Osteoporotic Women

June 11, 2015 — With age, postmenopausal women with osteoporosis are at greater risk of losing their teeth. But what treatment for tooth loss provides women with the highest degree of satisfaction in their work and ... read more

June 10, 2015 — Human teeth have to serve for a lifetime, despite being subjected to huge forces. But the high failure resistance of dentin in teeth is not fully understood. An interdisciplinary team of scientists ... read more

Missing Teeth Predict Cardiovascular Events

June 5, 2015 — Advanced tooth loss often indicates that a person has a history of inflammatory oral diseases. In an extensive cohort study, it was shown that tooth loss associate with future cardiovascular events, ... read more

What Are Medicare Costs for Patients With Oral Cavity, Pharyngeal Cancers?

June 4, 2015 — Medicare costs for older patients with oral cavity and pharyngeal cancers increased based on demographics, co-existing illnesses and treatment selection, according to a ... read more

Oral Bacterium Possibly Associated With Systemic Disease Found in Alabama Schoolchildren

June 2, 2015 — Prevalence of a recently discovered serotype of oral bacterium, with a possible link to a number of systemic diseases, was found for the first time in a small cohort of African-American ... read more

Toothbrush Contamination in Communal Bathrooms

June 2, 2015 — Data confirms that there is transmission of fecal coliforms in communal bathrooms at a university, and that toothbrushes can serve as a vector for transmission of potentially pathogenic ... read more

Ending Medicaid Dental Benefit Is Costly, Experts Say

May 27, 2015 — A study finds states gain little when dropping adult dental coverage. Researchers say adults in California made 1,800 more hospital visits annually for dental care after losing the benefit. ... read more

Ozone Antiseptic Shows Potential for Treating Severe Gum Infections

May 26, 2015 — A powerful new antiseptic agent, called ozone nanobubble water, holds promise for the treatment of periodontitis, or severe gum infections, according to new ... read more

Revolutionary Therapeutic Dental Adhesives With the Aptitude to Remineralize the Resin-Dentine Bonding Interface Through Biomimetic Processes

May 25, 2015 — Dental health researchers report that clinical minimally invasive treatments require the elimination of dental caries-infected tissues in order to stop the progression of bacteria to the pulpal ... read more

Dental Researchers Find Some Immune Cells Change to Prolong Inflammation

May 21, 2015 — One of the mysteries of how a small group of immune cells work has been unraveled by researchers: some inflammation-fighting immune cells may actually convert into cells that trigger ... read more

Natural Plant Chemicals Could Help Fight Tooth Decay, Study Shows

May 20, 2015 — Oral-care products containing a natural chemical that stops bacteria harming teeth could help prevent decay, a study suggests. The plant natural product acts against harmful mouth bacteria and could ... read more

For Children With Autism, Trips to the Dentist Just Got Easier

May 11, 2015 — Adjusting the environment of a dentist's office can make routine cleanings less stressful for children with autism, research shows. Children with autism spectrum disorders -- as well as some ... read more

Naturally Occurring Amino Acid Could Improve Oral Health

May 7, 2015 — Arginine, a common amino acid found naturally in foods, breaks down dental plaque, which could help millions of people avoid cavities and gum disease, researchers have ... read more

Nail Biters, Beware: Teeth Grinding Is Next

May 5, 2015 — Anxiety disorders affect approximately one in six adult Americans. The most well-known of these include panic disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and social ... read more

Treating Gum Disease Reduces Prostate Symptoms, Researchers Find

May 5, 2015 — Treating gum disease reduced symptoms of prostate inflammation, called prostatitis, report researchers. Previous studies have found a link between gum disease and prostatitis, a disease that inflames ... read more

Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Saturday, March 14, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Saturday, August 16, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014