Dentistry News
July 8, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:30am EDT

More Dentistry News
July 8, 2015

Exploreing 3-D Printing for Oral, Dental Tissue Engineering

June 29, 2015 — A case report has been released on the first application of a 3-D printed scaffold for periodontal tissue engineering in a human patient, along with a review of 3-D printing for oral and craniofacial ... read more

Major Health Consequences for Individuals With Severe Dental Anxiety

June 12, 2015 — Adults who suffer from severe dental anxiety (DA) are often dissatisfied with their appearance. The dissatisfaction may be associated with poorer oral health, depression and anxiety. Cognitive ... read more

What Are Medicare Costs for Patients With Oral Cavity, Pharyngeal Cancers?

June 4, 2015 — Medicare costs for older patients with oral cavity and pharyngeal cancers increased based on demographics, co-existing illnesses and treatment selection, according to a ... read more

Ending Medicaid Dental Benefit Is Costly, Experts Say

May 27, 2015 — A study finds states gain little when dropping adult dental coverage. Researchers say adults in California made 1,800 more hospital visits annually for dental care after losing the benefit. ... read more

Ozone Antiseptic Shows Potential for Treating Severe Gum Infections

May 26, 2015 — A powerful new antiseptic agent, called ozone nanobubble water, holds promise for the treatment of periodontitis, or severe gum infections, according to new ... read more

Revolutionary Therapeutic Dental Adhesives With the Aptitude to Remineralize the Resin-Dentine Bonding Interface Through Biomimetic Processes

May 25, 2015 — Dental health researchers report that clinical minimally invasive treatments require the elimination of dental caries-infected tissues in order to stop the progression of bacteria to the pulpal ... read more

Naturally Occurring Amino Acid Could Improve Oral Health

May 7, 2015 — Arginine, a common amino acid found naturally in foods, breaks down dental plaque, which could help millions of people avoid cavities and gum disease, researchers have ... read more

Nail Biters, Beware: Teeth Grinding Is Next

May 5, 2015 — Anxiety disorders affect approximately one in six adult Americans. The most well-known of these include panic disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and social ... read more

Treating Gum Disease Reduces Prostate Symptoms, Researchers Find

May 5, 2015 — Treating gum disease reduced symptoms of prostate inflammation, called prostatitis, report researchers. Previous studies have found a link between gum disease and prostatitis, a disease that inflames ... read more

Researchers Hope to Improve Dental Health by Changing Caregiver's Behavior

May 4, 2015 — Studies have long associated low-income areas with poor oral health. But dental researchers have sensed that other factors related to income may be at work -- in particular, education level. So they ... read more

High Costs of Dental Care Leave Many With Too Little Money for Basic Necessities

Apr. 29, 2015 — Having to pay for dental health care can put a considerable strain on household finances in many countries, according to an international study. The assessed the extent of household ... read more

Protein Adseverin Identified as Key Factor Driving Bone Loss in Osteoinflammatory Disease

Apr. 22, 2015 — More common than arthritis, gum disease (periodontitis), an osteoimmune disease, affects millions of North Americans each year, and leads to bone loss. Researchers have identified Adseverin, a ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Researchers have taken an important step in research on stem cells and dental repair by isolating dental stem cell lines and describing the natural mechanism by which they repair lesions in the ... read more

Connection Between Mouth Bacteria, Inflammation in Heart Disease

Apr. 16, 2015 — Oral infections are the most common diseases of humankind and are also a key risk factor for heart disease, which is the leading cause of death worldwide. In a review article, researchers summarize ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Baby teeth from children who died during the 1845-52 Irish famine could help us predict the future health of children born today, according to new research. Investigators found that the biochemical ... read more

How Gum Disease Treatment Can Prevent Heart Disease

Apr. 14, 2015 — A new study is helping to shed more light on the important connection between the mouth and heart. According to research, scientists have demonstrated that using an oral topical remedy to reduce ... read more

Apr. 1, 2015 — Therapeutic agents intended to reduce dental plaque and prevent tooth decay are often removed by saliva and the act of swallowing before they can take effect. But a team of researchers has developed ... read more

Oral Pain Specialists Treat Complex Health Issues, According to New Survey

Apr. 1, 2015 — Dental researchers conducted a survey to better understand the work done by oral pain specialists. Answers revealed that patients on average visit 2.2 doctors over 17 months before visiting the pain ... read more

Treating a Common Gum Condition Could Reduce Risk of Heart Attacks in Kidney Disease Patients

Apr. 1, 2015 — Treating a common gum condition in chronic kidney disease (CKD) patients could significantly reduce their risk of potentially fatal heart disease, researchers say. Over 10% of the adult population ... read more

Effect of Natural Sweetener Xylitol in Preventing Tooth Decay Still Unproven

Mar. 25, 2015 — New research concludes that there is limited evidence to show that xylitol is effective in preventing dental cavities in children and ... read more

Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Saturday, March 14, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Saturday, August 16, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Sunday, May 18, 2014
Sunday, May 11, 2014
Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Monday, May 5, 2014
Thursday, May 1, 2014