Gene Therapy News
February 7, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:02am EST

More Gene Therapy News
February 7, 2016

In Lung Cancer, Not All HER2 Alterations Are Created Equal

Jan. 28, 2016 — Study shows two distinct causes of HER2 activation in lung cancer: mutation of the gene and amplification of the gene. In patient samples of lung adenocarcinoma, 3 percent were found to have HER2 ... read more

Dec. 12, 2015 — Results from a long-term clinical trial conducted by cancer researchers show that combining radiation treatment with 'suicide gene therapy' provides a safe and effective one-two punch ... read more

Characteristics That May Increase a Breast Cancer Survivor's Risk of Developing Leukemia Following Treatment Identified

Dec. 7, 2015 — A new analysis indicates that certain characteristics may increase a breast cancer survivor's risk of developing leukemia after undergoing chemotherapy and/or radiation. The findings are a first ... read more

Early Gene Therapy Results in Wiskott-Aldrich Syndrome Promising

Dec. 6, 2015 — Researchers reported promising preliminary outcomes for the first four children enrolled in a US gene therapy trial for Wiskott-Aldrich syndrome (WAS), a life-threatening genetic blood and immune ... read more

MECP2 Duplication Syndrome Is Reversible, Study Suggests

Nov. 25, 2015 — The MECP2 Duplication Syndrome is reversible, say researchers. Importantly their study paves the way for treating duplication patients with an antisense oligonucleotide ... read more

Link Found Between Genetic Mutations, Proliferation, Immune Surveillance in Lung Cancer

Nov. 11, 2015 — There are four gene mutations (KRAS, TP53, STK11, and EGFR) that most commonly occur in lung cancer; however, there are limited effective therapies to target these mutations. With this in mind, ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — Genome editing techniques for blood stem cells just got better, thanks to a team of researchers. In a new article, they describe a new, more efficient way to edit genes in blood-forming or ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Eye drops have been used to deliver the gene for a growth factor called granulocyte colony stimulating factor (G-CSF) in a mouse model of brain ischemia. The treatment led to a significant reduction ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — Delivering the hormone leptin directly to the brain through gene therapy aids weight loss without the significant side effect of bone loss, according to new ... read more

New Study Explains Why You Bulk Up With Resistance Training, Not Endurance Training

Oct. 20, 2015 — Resistance and endurance exercises activate the same gene, PGC-1?, but the processes stimulated for the muscles to adapt depend on the exercise type. A new study offers insight into why the physical ... read more

Researchers Identify Gene That Increases Risk of Sudden Death in Patients With Mild Epilepsy

Oct. 15, 2015 — A gene mutation that increases the risk of sudden unexpected death in epilepsy (SUDEP) in patients with mild forms of the disease has been discovered by a group of ... read more

Oct. 8, 2015 — Compared with direct gene injection, cell-mediated GDNF gene delivery led to considerably more pronounced preservation of myelinated fibers in the remote segments of the spinal cord (5 vs 3 mm from ... read more

'Alarm Clock' of a Leukemia-Causing Oncogene Identified

Oct. 8, 2015 — Mutations in DNMT3A gene cause MEIS1 activacion, triggering leukemia, a research team ... read more

Oct. 5, 2015 — A novel mouse model for the vision disorder Leber hereditary optic neuropathy (LHON) has been developed by researchers who have found that they can use gene therapy to improve visual function in the ... read more

Genetic Polymorphism Associated With Lung Cancer Progression

Oct. 5, 2015 — Genetic polymorphisms associated with cancer progression lead to variations in gene expression and may serve as prognostic markers for lung cancer, researchers show. They found that in patients with ... read more

New Hope for Lou: Unexplored Therapeutic Targets for ALS

Sep. 3, 2015 — No cures exist for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), and the only approved therapy slows the progression by only a few months. A new study identifies a promising unexplored avenue of treatment for ... read more

Largest Study to Date Shows No Benefit to Gene Transfer Therapy in Heart Failure

Sep. 1, 2015 — Gene transfer therapy aimed at correcting an enzyme abnormality involved in myocardial contraction and relaxation did not improve outcomes in heart failure patients with reduced ejection fraction, ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Heteroduplex oligonucleotide is a brand new oligonucleotide drug. It is found to be significantly potent at reducing expression of the target RNA, and also improves the phenotype in disease models ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — A new test allows physicians to measure the effects of gene silencing therapy in Huntington's disease and will support the first human clinical trial of a drug that targets the genetic cause of ... read more

Researchers Resurrect Ancient Viruses in Hopes of Improving Gene Therapy

July 30, 2015 — Researchers have reconstructed an ancient virus that is highly effective at delivering gene therapies to the liver, muscle, and retina. This discovery could potentially be used to design gene ... read more

Thursday, January 28, 2016
Saturday, December 12, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Saturday, July 11, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Sunday, May 31, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Sunday, May 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Monday, December 15, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Friday, August 29, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Sunday, June 29, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014