Dietary Supplements and Minerals News
October 8, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:58pm EDT

More Dietary Supplements and Minerals News
October 8, 2015

Oct. 8, 2015 — Antioxidants can double the rate of melanoma metastasis in mice, new research shows. The results reinforce previous findings that antioxidants hasten the progression of lung cancer. People with ... read more

Cell Growth: Protein Reactions Identified With Subatomic Resolution

Oct. 6, 2015 — Using subatomic resolution, researchers have gained insights into the dynamic modus operandi of two switch proteins which are responsible for the import of compounds into the nucleus and for cell ... read more

People With Genetic Variant Increasing Vitamin D Metabolism Improve Blood Sugar Control With High Protein Weight Loss Diet

Sep. 29, 2015 — People carrying a certain genetic variant relating to vitamin D metabolism are more likely to benefit from a high-protein weight loss diet than those without it, research ... read more

Not All Trans Fatty Acids Are Bad for You, New Research Suggests

Sep. 22, 2015 — New evidence suggests that low levels of trans fatty acids may not be as harmful to human health as previously thought, even if industrially produced, and may even be beneficial if they occur ... read more

High Dietary Sodium, Potassium May Worsen Chronic Kidney Disease

Sep. 18, 2015 — High dietary intake of sodium and potassium may speed the progression of kidney disease, according to a new study. Researchers found that high urinary excretion levels of both sodium and potassium ... read more

Banning Trans Fats in England Could Prevent 7,000 Heart Deaths Over Next 5 Years

Sep. 15, 2015 — A total ban on trans fatty acids (trans fats) in processed foods in England could potentially prevent or postpone about 7,200 deaths from coronary heart disease over the next five years, suggest ... read more

Diet, Exercise, Smoking Habits and Genes Interact to Affect AMD Risk

Sep. 15, 2015 — People with a genetic predisposition for age-related macular degeneration significantly increased their odds of developing the blinding eye disorder if they had a history of heavy smoking and ... read more

Sep. 15, 2015 — Some research has suggested that omega-3 fatty acids, abundant in fish oils, can relieve inflammation in the digestive tracts of people with Crohn's disease. But a new study hints that we should ... read more

New Guideline Aims to Reduce Fractures in Seniors in Long-Term Care Facilities

Sep. 14, 2015 — A new guideline that aims to prevent fractures in residents of long-term care facilities is targeted at frail seniors and their families as well as health care workers. The guideline was developed ... read more

Low Vitamin D Among Elderly Associated With Decline in Cognition, Dementia

Sep. 14, 2015 — Vitamin D insufficiency among the elderly is highly correlated with accelerated cognitive decline and impaired performance, particularly in domains such as memory loss that are associated with ... read more

Nutritional Deficiencies Common Before Weight Loss Surgery

Sep. 14, 2015 — Malnutrition is a known complication of weight loss surgery, but findings from a small study show many obese people may be malnourished before they undergo the ... read more

Eating a Lot of Fish May Help Curb Depression Risk -- At Least in Europe

Sep. 10, 2015 — Eating a lot of fish may help curb the risk of depression -- at least in Europe -- suggests a pooled analysis of the available evidence. Depression affects an estimated 350 million people worldwide, ... read more

Sep. 10, 2015 — Rickets has been identified in a Neolithic skeleton from the Scottish island of Tiree, making it the earliest case of the disease in the United Kingdom. The nature of the grave itself - a simple ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — While babies are born with very little vitamin K, and the only way to sufficiently supplement it is through an injection soon after birth, some parents are shying away from the shots, a new study ... read more

Tree Resin May Provide Medicine Against Epilepsy

Sep. 8, 2015 — Sticky resin from conifers contains substances that could relieve or cure epilepsy. Researchers have synthesized and tested 71 substances known as resin acids, of which twelve are prime candidates ... read more

'Clever Adaptation' Allows Yeast Infection Fungus to Evade Immune System Attack

Sep. 7, 2015 — Researchers say they have discovered a new way that the most prevalent disease-causing fungus can thwart immune system attacks, adding that the fungus responsible for vaginal yeast infections and the ... read more

Enzymes from Dangerous Bacteria Become Important Tools for Protein Chemistry

Sep. 7, 2015 — Two enzymes have been identified from the pathogenic Legionella bacteria that are very useful in chemically modifying proteins to be used in medical drugs, scientists report in a new ... read more

Vitamin C: The Exercise Replacement?

Sep. 4, 2015 — Exercise improves health in overweight and obese adults but can be hard to incorporate into a daily routine. New findings show that taking vitamin C supplements daily instead can have similar ... read more

Sep. 2, 2015 — Sarcopenia is a natural part of aging, but it’s also a growing public health concern for older adults. That’s why a researcher is testing a combination of supplements and resistance training to ... read more

Vitamin A Implicated in Development of Alcoholic Liver Disease

Sep. 1, 2015 — With a name like 'Alcoholic Liver Disease,' you may not think about vitamin A as being part of the problem. That's exactly what scientists have shown, however, in a new research ... read more

Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Sunday, August 9, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015