Dietary Supplements and Minerals News
February 7, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:00am EST

More Dietary Supplements and Minerals News
February 7, 2016

A New Alternative to Sodium: Fish Sauce

Feb. 2, 2016 — Vietnamese fish sauce added to chicken broth, tomato sauce and coconut curry reduced the amount of sodium chloride by by 10-25 percent while still maintaining the perceived deliciousness, saltiness ... read more

Effects on HIV and Ebola

Feb. 2, 2016 — Extracts of the medicinal plant Cistus incanus (Ci) prevent human immunodeficiency viruses from infecting cells, new research shows. Active antiviral ingredients in the extracts inhibit docking of ... read more

Cell Culture Experiments Reveal Potent Antiviral Activity of Cistus Incanus Extracts Against HIV and Ebola

Feb. 2, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that extracts of the medicinal plant Cistus incanus (Ci) prevent human immunodeficiency viruses from infecting cells. Active antiviral ingredients in the extracts inhibit ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — Researchers have begun to explore in earnest the concept of "mixed vascular dementia," but until recently there was no reliable animal model. When one expert discovered that a special diet ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — The supplement aged garlic extract can lower the risk of heart disease by reducing the accumulation of certain types of plaque in the arteries, a new study ... read more

B12 Deficiency a Concern for Long-Term Care

Jan. 19, 2016 — A high proportion of older adults entering long-term care homes in Ontario are B12 deficient, with more developing deficiencies over the course of their first year in residence, according to ... read more

Cranberry Extract Confirmed to Help Fighting Urinary Tract Infections in Breastfed Babies Under Age One

Jan. 18, 2016 — Cranberry extract helps fighting urinary tract infections (UTIs) in breastfed babies under one year of age, new research confirms. This work has proven that this compound prevents the prescription of ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Researchers have identified a previously unrecognized small protein in cells of the human heart that plays a key role in heart muscle contraction. The protein is made from an RNA that was previously ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Chemists have devised a new and widely applicable technique for building potential drug molecules and other organic ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — An explanation for the correlation between eating fish during pregnancy, and the health of the baby's brain, has been uncovered by a group of researchers. Dietary lipid contains fatty acids such ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — High levels of vitamin D are linked to improved fertility and reproductive success, a study of wild sheep has found. Experts hope that further studies will help to determine the relevance of the ... read more

Anemic, Underweight Pregnant Women at Greater Risk for Deadly Hepatitis E, Study Suggests

Jan. 12, 2016 — A link between pre-existing nutritional deficits and immune dysfunction and the risk of hepatitis E infection during pregnancy has been identified by a team of ... read more

Too Much Sugar? There's an Enzyme for That

Jan. 11, 2016 — Guilt-free sugary treats may be on the horizon. Scientists have discovered an enzyme that can stop the toxic effects of sugar in various organs of the body. This enzyme, named glycerol 3-phosphate ... read more

Most Top-Selling, Over-the-Counter Sexual Treatments Unproven, Some Could Be Harmful, Review Shows

Jan. 11, 2016 — From horny goat weed to ginseng and maca, over-the-counter dietary supplements sold to improve male sexual health contain a wide variety of “natural” ingredients. A review of the scientific ... read more

Too Much Sugar? There's an Enzyme for That

Jan. 11, 2016 — The recent discovery of a glucose detoxification enzyme provides novel therapeutics for obesity and diabetes, say scientists. This enzyme, named glycerol 3-phosphate phosphatase (G3PP), plays a ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — Insect oil is a possible new source of the healthy omega-3 fatty acid. Insects make fatty acids by nature and can live on organic waste. A team of researchers examines which insects can best be used ... read more

Researchers Closer to Better Treatment for Leading Cause of Hospital-Acquired Diarrhea

Jan. 11, 2016 — Researchers have obtained the crystal structure of a toxin from the bacterium Clostridium difficile ('C. diff') -- the leading cause of hospital-acquired diarrhea in the United States. They ... read more

The 'Eyes' Have It: Astronaut Vision and Ophthalmologic Problems Explained

Jan. 11, 2016 — Just when you think you've seen it all, our eyes look to be victims of a low-gravity environments, too. According to new research two significant genetic differences in enzymes that direct the ... read more

High Folic Acid Intake in Aged Mice Causes a Lowered Immune Response

Jan. 11, 2016 — A study in aged mice shows that excess folic acid intake causes lowered immune function because important immune cells, called natural killer cells, are less effective. These results build upon the ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — Chromium is partially converted into a carcinogenic form when it enters cells, with increased risk associated with taking the nutritional supplement in high doses or in the long term, researchers ... read more

Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Sunday, October 25, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015