Dietary Supplements and Minerals News
September 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:28am EDT

More Dietary Supplements and Minerals News
September 4, 2015

Aug. 13, 2015 — Many 'medical foods' are designed to help manage patients with rare inborn errors of metabolism, and can help prevent serious and life-threatening complications. Unfortunately such special ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Heteroduplex oligonucleotide is a brand new oligonucleotide drug. It is found to be significantly potent at reducing expression of the target RNA, and also improves the phenotype in disease models ... read more

New Simple Proteins Play Active Role in Cellular Function

Aug. 11, 2015 — Scientists have developed simple new proteins almost devoid of chemical diversity that still play a surprisingly active and specific role in cellular function, causing cells to act like cancer ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — Researchers unveil new details about how cells in a living being process stimuli. The study focuses on so-called G-proteins, which help transmit external stimuli that reach a cell into its interior. ... read more

Universal Iodine Supplementation During Pregnancy Could Offer Huge Cost Savings

Aug. 9, 2015 — Giving all pregnant women iodine supplements, even in mildly iodine deficient countries like the UK, could result in huge cost savings for health care systems and society, according to new modelling ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — Using palm oil and Rutaceae herb, researchers have developed cooking oil that can be used 80 times. This cooking oil was scientifically defined using the main ingredients which are not only capable ... read more

Controlling Inflammation to Reduce Chronic Disease Risk

Aug. 7, 2015 — An unresolved inflammatory response is likely to be involved from the early stages of disease development, scientists say. Controlling inflammation is crucial to human health and a key future ... read more

New Vitamin B3 Pathway Identified

Aug. 6, 2015 — A new vitamin B3 pathway that regulates liver metabolism has been identified by scientists. The discovery provides an opportunity to pursue the development of novel drug therapies for the treatment ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — Scientists have shown how aging cripples the production of new immune cells, decreasing the immune system's response to vaccines and putting the elderly at risk of ... read more

Sunlight and Vitamin D: Necessary for Public Health

Aug. 6, 2015 — A new paper presents information to illustrate that UV exposure not only provides the benefits of vitamin D production, but also many additional health benefits not related to vitamin D. The current ... read more

High-Dose Vitamin D Supplementation Not Associated With Benefits for Postmenopausal Women

Aug. 3, 2015 — High-dose vitamin D supplementation in postmenopausal women was not associated with beneficial effects on bone mineral density, muscle function, muscle mass or falls, according to the results of a ... read more

Effects of Spinach Extract on Satiety: Feel Full, Curb Cravings

July 31, 2015 — A new study examines how consuming the concentrated extract of thylakoids found in spinach can reduce hunger and cravings. Thylakoids encourage the release of satiety hormones, which is very ... read more

Study Questions Presence in Blood of Heart-Healthy Molecules from Fish Oil Supplements

July 30, 2015 — The importance of a diet rich in fish oils -- now a billion dollar food-supplement industry -- has been debated for over half a century. A new study questions the relevance of fish oil-derived ... read more

July 30, 2015 — Evaluating drug-induced liver injury is a critical part of pharmaceutical drug discovery and must be carried out on human liver cells. Now, scientists report that they produced large amounts of ... read more

Fatty Acid Increases Performance of Cellular Powerhouse

July 28, 2015 — An entirely new control mechanism that regulates the function of mitochondria, the powerhouses of the cell, has been discovered by researchers. Surprisingly, a fatty acid is playing a key role in ... read more

New Treatment May Help Neonatal Liver Disease Associated With Parenteral Nutrition

July 28, 2015 — Exogenous glucagon-like peptide 2 (GLP-2) treatment may help fight neonatal parenteral nutrition associated liver disease (PNALD), a new study ... read more

Omega-3 Fatty Acids May Help Improve Treatment, Quality of Life in Cancer Patients

July 28, 2015 — Adding omega-3 fatty acids to anti-tumor medications may improve treatment response and quality of life for cancer patients according to a new study. The study examined 50 patients with advanced ... read more

Protein-Rich Nutrition Key to Helping Patients Recover from Severe Burns

July 23, 2015 — For someone recovering from severe burns, eating is often the last thing they want to do. However, burn specialists say nutrition is so vital to their patients’ recovery that they make it a quality ... read more

Research With Dolphins Provides Hope for Prevention of Diabetes in Humans

July 22, 2015 — Can butter help prevent diabetes? By comparing 55 fatty acids in blood levels of dolphins and their diets, scientists have discovered a specific dietary saturated fat, called heptadecanoic acid, that ... read more

Molecular Mechanisms Contributing to Addiction Resistance Uncovered

July 22, 2015 — A genetic variant leading to a single change in the amino acid sequence of a cell surface protein, the mu-opioid receptor, is associated with lower susceptibility to a variety of addictive behaviors ... read more

Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Sunday, August 9, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Sunday, April 26, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015