Dietary Supplements and Minerals News
November 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:00am EST

More Dietary Supplements and Minerals News
November 28, 2015

The Myth About L-Trypophan in Turkey

Nov. 24, 2015 — Turkey itself doesn’t make you sleepy after a Thanksgiving meal. What makes you sleepy is eating very large quantities of turkey, stuffing, potatoes and pie. Turkey does contain tryptophan, but so ... read more

Vitamin D Does Not Reduce Colds in Asthma Patients

Nov. 23, 2015 — Vitamin D supplements do not reduce the number or severity of colds in asthma patients, according to a new study. The findings surprised the researchers who had previously published research showing ... read more

Blood Phosphorus Levels Can Help Predict Kidney Failure Risk in African Americans

Nov. 17, 2015 — An increase in serum phosphorus levels in African Americans with chronic kidney disease (CKD) is associated with faster progression to kidney failure, known as end-stage renal disease (ESRD). The ... read more

Wrist Fractures Could Predict Susceptibility to Serious Fractures in Postmenopausal Women

Nov. 10, 2015 — Postmenopausal women younger than age 65 who experienced a wrist fracture could be at increased risk for bone fractures in other parts of their bodies later in life, new research ... read more

Specific Vitamin D Levels Linked to Heart Problems

Nov. 9, 2015 — A lack of vitamin D can result in weak bones. Recent studies also show that vitamin D deficiency is linked to more serious health risks such as coronary artery disease, heart attacks, and ... read more

Nov. 6, 2015 — Scientists have uncovered new clues to how a molecular machine inside the cell acts as a gatekeeper, allowing some molecules to enter and exit the nucleus while keeping other molecules ... read more

Nov. 6, 2015 — Gut microbiota regulates the glutathione and amino acid metabolism of the host, a recently published study shows. Glutathione is a key antioxidant, found in every cell in our body. Deficiency of ... read more

Iron Supplementation: When Less Is Really More

Nov. 6, 2015 — Therapeutic iron supplements may be less effective when given in brief intervals: A peptide molecule blocks iron absorption in the intestine even 24 hours after the iron administation, say ... read more

Duration of Lactation Associated With Bone Density

Nov. 5, 2015 — Maternal bone density decreases after childbirth, but only among women who lactate for at least four months. The lactation period is unrelated to vitamin D ... read more

Reducing Cholesterol With Food Made from Soybeans, Amaranth

Nov. 5, 2015 — Scientists developed a supplement to maintain optimal health that contributes to the growth and development of children and adolescents. It also prevents osteoporosis and certain cancers such as ... read more

Enzyme Potential Target for Fight Against Obesity and Diabetes

Nov. 2, 2015 — Removing an enzyme that controls bile acid and hormone levels significantly protects female mice from weight gain, according to a new study. The finding offers a new a therapeutic target in the fight ... read more

Obese People Need More Vitamin E, but Actually Get Less

Nov. 2, 2015 — Obese people with metabolic syndrome face an unexpected quandary when it comes to vitamin E -- they need more than normal levels of the vitamin because their weight and other problems are causing ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Scientific history has been made by determining the first three-dimensional image of a protein linked to the spread of cancer. The 3-D image shows the architecture and intimate atomic-level detail of ... read more

Increasing Vitamin D Supplementation in Elderly Women

Nov. 2, 2015 — Elderly women should take in more vitamin D than previously recommended during the winter months, suggests a team of researchers in a new ... read more

Find Way to Focus on Dietary Supplement Safety, Experts Say

Nov. 2, 2015 — A former principal deputy commissioner of the US Food and Drug Administration is proposing a solution to the current gridlock over the regulation of dietary supplements: focus less on whether these ... read more

Vitamin D Pill a Day May Improve Exercise Performance and Lower Risk of Heart Disease

Nov. 1, 2015 — Taking vitamin D supplements can improve exercise performance and lower the risk of heart disease, according to the findings of a preliminary ... read more

Diet Lacking Soluble Fiber Promotes Weight Gain, Mouse Study Suggests

Oct. 30, 2015 — A new study highlights the importance of the gut microbiome in maintaining intestinal and metabolic health and suggests that eating more foods high in soluble fiber may help prevent metabolic disease ... read more

Oct. 30, 2015 — A new discovery may allow physicians to warn patients years before the onset of diabetes, therefore allowing them to change their lifestyle patterns potentially avoiding the diagnosis of a chronic ... read more

Gut Bacteria Could Be Blamed for Obesity, Diabetes

Oct. 29, 2015 — An excess of bacteria in the gut can change the way the liver processes fat and could lead to the development of metabolic syndrome, according to health researchers. Metabolic syndrome is a group of ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — Researchers have identified a link between cellular metabolism and gene expression, one they say has potentially far-reaching implications for cancer risk prediction and ... read more

Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Sunday, October 25, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Sunday, August 9, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015