Disability News
April 25, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:23pm EDT

More Disability News
April 25, 2015

How to Stop a Stroke in Its Tracks

Apr. 23, 2015 — New minimally invasive surgical devices called stentrievers are enabling brain surgeons to stop strokes in their ... read more

Discovery Could Impact Study of Chronic Pain Conditions

Apr. 22, 2015 — Researchers have uncovered the critical role in pain processing of a gene associated with a rare disease. Their breakthrough paves the way for a better understanding of chronic pain conditions, they ... read more

Girls With Disabilities Are Vulnerable to Abuse by Carers and Partners Because of Their Isolation and Incapacity, Research Says

Apr. 14, 2015 — In some cases the abuse took place in special education institutions, the British Sociological Association’s annual conference in Glasgow was told today [Wednesday 15 April ... read more

UK Research Cash for Dementia, Stroke Still Way Too Low, Experts Say

Apr. 13, 2015 — The amount of government money pumped into dementia and stroke research in the UK has risen significantly in recent years, but it is still way too low when compared with the economic and personal ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — A new collaborative study describes a way that lung tissue can regenerate after injury. The team found that lung tissue has more dexterity in repairing tissue than once ... read more

Muscles Matter in Baseball

Apr. 8, 2015 — A new approach to analyzing baseball-pitching biomechanics may one day give players more personalized feedback and help prevent elbow injuries. In a computer simulation study of baseball pitching, ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — The field of neuroprosthetics has grown significantly over the past two decades thanks to advancements in technology. A biomedical engineer working at the leading edge of the field contends that ... read more

Apr. 6, 2015 — Researchers have clarified that an interaction between capsaicin receptor TRPV1 and chloride channel anoctamin 1 causes enhancement of the capsaicin-evoked pain sensation in ... read more

New Advancements in 3-D Designs for Neural Tissue Engineering

Apr. 6, 2015 — Several new designs for 3-D neural tissue constructs are described using stem cells grown on nanofiber scaffolding within a supportive ... read more

Apr. 6, 2015 — A new study by a linguistics professor sheds light on a well-known linguistic characteristic of autistic children — their reluctance to use pronouns — paving the way for more accurate ... read more

Predicting Chronic Pain in Whiplash Injuries

Apr. 1, 2015 — While most people recover from whiplash injuries within a few months, about 25 percent have long-term pain and disability for many months or years. Using special MRI imaging, scientists identified, ... read more

3-D Neural Structure Guided With Biocompatible Nanofiber Scaffolds and Hydrogels

Apr. 1, 2015 — Neural tissue may be reconstructed with biocompatible nanofiber scaffolding and 3-D hydrogels, holding much promise for repairing damaged neural ... read more

Soldiers Cite 'Medic!' as a Top Hearing Priority

Apr. 1, 2015 — ‘Medic!’, ‘Hold fire!’ and grid references are amongst the highest priorities for soldiers to be able to hear while on duty, according to new research. Researchers have asked serving ... read more

Researchers Question Use of Paracetamol for Lower Back Pain and Osteoarthritis

Mar. 31, 2015 — New research shows that paracetamol is ineffective in reducing pain, disability or improving quality of life for patients who suffer from low back pain or osteoarthritis of the hip or knee, and its ... read more

Mar. 31, 2015 — Medical researchers have created an algorithm that allowed a man to grasp a bottle and other objects with a prosthetic hand, powered only by his ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — Neuroscientists are taking inspiration from natural motor control to design new prosthetic devices that can better replace limb function. Researchers have tested a range of brain-controlled devices ... read more

Is Painful Knee and Hand Osteoarthritis in Women Associated With Excess Mortality?

Mar. 27, 2015 — Researchers present a study that compares mortality rates of women with painful knee and hand osteoarthritis with the mortality of unaffected women from the same community; demonstrates higher risk ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — An obstacle course was used by researchers to evaluate a wearable collision warning device they developed for patients with peripheral vision loss. They found the device may help patients with a wide ... read more

Mexican Americans Confront High Disability Rates in Later Life

Mar. 26, 2015 — Life expectancy for Hispanics in the US currently outpaces other ethnic groups, yet a new study finds that Mexican Americans -- especially women who were born in Mexico -- are spending a high ... read more

How the Brain 'Remembers' Pain

Mar. 26, 2015 — A mechanism that is responsible for the chronification of pain in the brain has been discovered by researchers, possibly pointing to new strategies for the medical treatment of chronic pain, the ... read more

Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Saturday, January 31, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Friday, December 26, 2014
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014