Disability News
February 10, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:32pm EST

More Disability News
February 10, 2016

Treatments That Reduce Knee Buckling May Help Prevent Falls in Older Adults

Feb. 8, 2016 — Symptoms of knee instability in older adults may indicate an increased risk of falling and of experiencing the various physical and psychological effects that can result from falling, according to a ... read more

Ultrasound-Based Therapy for Cardiac Stem Cells Recovery

Jan. 29, 2016 — When cardiac stem cells undergo low-intensity pulsed ultrasound treatment, these cells can perform continuing modifications, tissue remodeling and regeneration of damaged cardiac tissue after a heart ... read more

Chronic Pain Changes Our Immune Systems

Jan. 28, 2016 — Chronic pain may reprogram the way genes work in the immune system, according to a new study. The findings could open new avenues to diagnosing and treating chronic pain in humans, the researchers ... read more

New Findings Point to Central Nervous System Role in Painful Diabetic Peripheral Nerve Disease

Jan. 27, 2016 — The central nervous system is a key contributor to the problem of painful peripheral nerve disease in people with diabetes, emerging evidence suggests. Diabetic peripheral neuropathy (DPN) occurs in ... read more

Epilepsy Drug Could Protect Nerves from Damage in MS

Jan. 26, 2016 — An epilepsy drug could lead to a new treatment that protects nerve damage in MS patients, according to research. Scientists have found that the anti-convulsant drug phenytoin protected neural tissue ... read more

Patients Who Are Not Prescribed Opioids Find More Improvements in Physical Function

Jan. 22, 2016 — Opioids may help some patients suffering neuropathic pain, but do not help with mobility and function, according to ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — Researchers have developed the A-Gear: a robotic arm that can support the daily activities of people suffering the muscular disease Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. They recently put the final touches to ... read more

Remote Care for Cochlear Implant Users

Jan. 22, 2016 — Audiologists are investigating how a new patient-centered approach can help cochlear implant users manage their own care program. A cochlear implant is a surgically implanted electronic device that ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — Spinal cord injuries cause severe functional disabilities in those who sustain them, including paraplegia or tetraplegia, depending on the scale of the injury. This is due to the degeneration of the ... read more

60 Genetic Disorders Affect Skin, Nervous System

Jan. 22, 2016 — At least 60 genetic diseases called neurocutaneous disorders involve the skin, central nervous system, and/or peripheral nervous system, neurologists ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — Electrical stimulation of human heart muscle cells engineered from human stem cells aids their development and function, researchers have demonstrated for the first time. They used electrical ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Research suggests the possibility of restoring at least some visual function in people blinded by optic nerve damage from glaucoma, estimated to affect more than 4 million Americans, or from ... read more

Ultrasound Guidance Lowers Risks of Thoracic Nerve Block Technique for Mastectomy

Jan. 14, 2016 — A regional anesthesia technique called thoracic paravertebral nerve block (TPVB) is highly effective in controlling pain after breast cancer surgery, but concern about potential complications may ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — The view of the role of motor neurons could be changing, thanks to new research. Motor neurons, which extend from the spinal cord to muscles and other organs, have always been considered passive ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — A pioneering surgical technique has allowed an amputee to attach a Modular Prosthetic Limb directly to his residual limb, enabling a greater range of motion and comfort than previously ... read more

Brain's Immune Cells Key to Maintaining Blood-Brain Barrier

Jan. 11, 2016 — New research shows that the cells responsible for protecting the brain from infection and inflammation are also responsible for repairing the system of defenses that separates the brain from the rest ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — Patients who have lost their hand functions due to injuries or nerve-related conditions, such as stroke and muscular dystrophy, now have a chance of restoring their hand movements by using a new ... read more

'Window of Recovery' Can Reopen After Stroke

Jan. 7, 2016 — Using mice whose front paws were still partly disabled after an initial induced stroke, researchers report that inducing a second stroke nearby in their brains let them 'rehab' the animals ... read more

'Dry Eye' Linked to Chronic Pain Syndromes

Jan. 6, 2016 — A link between 'dry eye' and chronic pain syndromes has been found by researchers, a finding that suggests that a new paradigm is needed for diagnosis and treatment to improve patient ... read more

Jan. 5, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated in lab animals the regenerative dynamics of a specific signaling protein, C-C class chemokine 2 (CCL2). CCL2 sends inflammatory immune cells (macrophages) to peripheral ... read more

Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015