Disability News
May 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:24am EDT

More Disability News
May 7, 2015

'Leg Bank' Hope for Changing Amputees' Lives

May 6, 2015 — A ‘leg bank’ – providing life-changing prostheses to low-income people who have lost limbs – is being developed by a team of researchers. The team aims to help people who struggle to find ... read more

Redesigned Systems May Increase Access to MRI for Patients With Implanted Medical Devices

May 5, 2015 — New technology may extend the benefits of magnetic resonance imaging to many patients whose access to MRI is currently limited. A redesign of the wire at the core of the leads that carry signals ... read more

Identifying Speech, Hearing Problems Early May Prevent Future Losses

May 1, 2015 — Experts share tips and tools that identify and prevent speech, voice, and hearing impairments. Such impairments affect 43 million Americans, they say, noting how important it is to diagnose these ... read more

How to Stop a Stroke in Its Tracks

Apr. 23, 2015 — New minimally invasive surgical devices called stentrievers are enabling brain surgeons to stop strokes in their ... read more

Stem Cells That Prevent Birth Defect Also Repair Facial Injury

Apr. 22, 2015 — While scientists were investigating the cause of a brain-stifling birth defect, they found a potentially new and better way to heal disfiguring craniofacial injuries in patients of all ages. The ... read more

Discovery Could Impact Study of Chronic Pain Conditions

Apr. 22, 2015 — Researchers have uncovered the critical role in pain processing of a gene associated with a rare disease. Their breakthrough paves the way for a better understanding of chronic pain conditions, they ... read more

Insects Inspire Next Generation of Hearing Aids

Apr. 20, 2015 — An insect-inspired microphone that can tackle the problem of locating sounds and eliminate background noise is set to revolutionize modern-day hearing aid systems, scientists say. Despite remarkable ... read more

Adenosine Receptor Can Activate 'Off Signals' for Pain

Apr. 16, 2015 — Pain is the most common reason that people seek medical attention, but the available treatments are not always successful at relieving pain in patients with chronic pain. Now researchers found that ... read more

Genetic Predisposition Found for Noise-Induced Hearing Loss

Apr. 16, 2015 — In a new genome-wide association study, an international team of neuroscientists has found evidence that some people may be more genetically susceptible to noise-induced hearing loss than ... read more

Osteoporosis Diagnosis Contributes to Hearing Loss Risk

Apr. 16, 2015 — People who have osteoporosis face a 1.76-fold higher risk of developing sudden deafness than those who do not have the bone disease, according to a new study. Osteoporosis is a progressive condition ... read more

Increasing Evidence Points to Inflammation as Source of Nervous System Manifestations of Lyme Disease

Apr. 16, 2015 — About 15 percent of patients with Lyme disease develop peripheral and central nervous system involvement, often accompanied by debilitating and painful symptoms. New research indicates that ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — When a patient receives a new hip, it is usually adjusted only approximately to leg length. Greater accuracy requires a more precise measuring process as well as adjustable implants. Now, a new type ... read more

Girls With Disabilities Are Vulnerable to Abuse by Carers and Partners Because of Their Isolation and Incapacity, Research Says

Apr. 14, 2015 — In some cases the abuse took place in special education institutions, the British Sociological Association’s annual conference in Glasgow was told today [Wednesday 15 April ... read more

No Long-Term Survival Difference Found Between Types of Mitral Valve Replacements

Apr. 14, 2015 — In a comparison of mechanical prosthetic vs bioprosthetic mitral valves among patients 50 to 69 years of age undergoing mitral valve replacement, there was no significant difference in survival at 15 ... read more

UK Research Cash for Dementia, Stroke Still Way Too Low, Experts Say

Apr. 13, 2015 — The amount of government money pumped into dementia and stroke research in the UK has risen significantly in recent years, but it is still way too low when compared with the economic and personal ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — A new collaborative study describes a way that lung tissue can regenerate after injury. The team found that lung tissue has more dexterity in repairing tissue than once ... read more

Muscles Matter in Baseball

Apr. 8, 2015 — A new approach to analyzing baseball-pitching biomechanics may one day give players more personalized feedback and help prevent elbow injuries. In a computer simulation study of baseball pitching, ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — The field of neuroprosthetics has grown significantly over the past two decades thanks to advancements in technology. A biomedical engineer working at the leading edge of the field contends that ... read more

Apr. 6, 2015 — Researchers have clarified that an interaction between capsaicin receptor TRPV1 and chloride channel anoctamin 1 causes enhancement of the capsaicin-evoked pain sensation in ... read more

New Advancements in 3-D Designs for Neural Tissue Engineering

Apr. 6, 2015 — Several new designs for 3-D neural tissue constructs are described using stem cells grown on nanofiber scaffolding within a supportive ... read more

Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Saturday, January 31, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Friday, December 26, 2014
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014