Disability News
October 10, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:00pm EDT

More Disability News
October 10, 2015

Oct. 8, 2015 — Upper limb amputees, who typically struggle to learn how to use a new prosthesis, would be more successful if fellow amputees taught them, new research suggests. Most usually learn by watching a ... read more

From Nuclear Research to Surgery Technology

Oct. 2, 2015 — A JRC invention initially stemming from its research in the nuclear sector will soon be used by hospitals for minimally-invasive robotic surgery. TELELAP ALF-X is an advanced multi-port robotic ... read more

Responses to Treatment, Outcomes of Autoimmune Cerebellar Ataxia

Sep. 28, 2015 — While autoimmune cerebellar ataxia (a loss of muscle coordination) can lead to severe disability with some patients becoming wheelchair-bound, there are factors that may help to predict better ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — Neuroscientists have found a novel connection between the size of the choroid plexus in the brain and complex regional pain syndrome (CRPS), an unexpected finding, they ... read more

From Vulcan Salute to Papal Blessing: Ulnar Nerve Damage Caused Original Benediction Sign

Sep. 17, 2015 — A study of anatomy, art, religion, and culture overturns the popular explanation for the papal hand of benediction posture. An anatomy professor says an ulnar nerve injury suffered by St. Peter, not ... read more

Sep. 15, 2015 — Stroke injures the brain, but a new study indicates an abdominal organ that plays a vital role in immune function, the spleen, may be a target for treating stroke-induced chronic inflammation leading ... read more

Scan May Identify Best Candidates for Fetal Spina Bifida Surgery

Sep. 15, 2015 — Fetuses with enlarged ventricles -- the fluid-filled cavities inside the brain -- may be less likely than their counterparts to benefit from surgery in the womb to treat spina bifida, according to a ... read more

Researchers to Develop Robotic Device to Help Visually Impaired

Sep. 11, 2015 — A project to build a wearable robotic device could help millions of visually impaired ... read more

New Technologies Can Help Short Circuit Chronic Pain

Sep. 10, 2015 — As part of a comprehensive treatment plan, a variety of technologies offer new hope to people living with chronic pain. This article reviews a few of these, in an effort to give hope to those who ... read more

Patients Prefer Relief from Lower Back Pain Over Improved Mobility

Sep. 9, 2015 — A new study examines the question of quality of life for individuals with a common form of lower back pain called lumbar spinal stenosis. The findings show that, when asked to choose between ... read more

Brain Plasticity in Leprosy

Sep. 9, 2015 — A new study shows that nerve damage caused by leprosy is associated to changes in the brain of ... read more

Older Kids Less Likely to Have Car Seats Checked for Safety Than Infants

Sep. 9, 2015 — Booster seat-aged children are twice as likely to suffer serious injury or death in a car crash than younger children but a new study shows they may be less likely to have car seats inspected for ... read more

Sep. 4, 2015 — Researchers have shown how signals from the spinal cord adjust the sensitivity of hair cells in the inner ear to accommodate shifts in head position associated with active locomotion -- thus ensuring ... read more

Sep. 2, 2015 — A new research approach shows how cells in the spinal cord synchronize many neurons at once to allow complex movements, which could have implications for treating spinal cord injuries and ... read more

Sep. 1, 2015 — A 39-year-old man who had had been completely paralyzed for four years was able to voluntarily control his leg muscles and take thousands of steps in a robotic device during five days of training ... read more

Aug. 31, 2015 — A controversial treatment of spinal manipulation works for some people, but has no effect in others, a study confirms. Spinal manipulation--applying force to move joints to treat pain, a technique ... read more

Disabilities: Playing Adaptive Sports Linked to Higher Employment, Economic Impact

Aug. 25, 2015 — A new study finds playing an adaptive sport can have dramatic results on the athlete and the ... read more

How Exposure to Brief Trauma and Sudden Sounds Form Lasting Memories

Aug. 24, 2015 — Researchers have found how even brief exposure to sudden sounds or mild trauma can form permanent, long-term brain connections, or memories, in a specific region of the ... read more

How Newts Can Help Osteoarthritis Patients

Aug. 20, 2015 — Osteoarthritis is the most common form of joint disease worldwide. Now, scientists have taken a leaf out of nature’s book in an attempt to develop effective stem cell treatment for osteoarthritis, ... read more

Regenerating Nerve Tissue in Spinal Cord Injuries

Aug. 13, 2015 — Researchers are exploring a new therapy using stem cells to treat spinal cord injuries within the first 14 to 30 days of injury. The therapy uses a population of cells derived from human embryonic ... read more

Thursday, October 8, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Sunday, August 9, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Sunday, May 31, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015