Disability News
February 7, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:01am EST

More Disability News
February 7, 2016

Ultrasound-Based Therapy for Cardiac Stem Cells Recovery

Jan. 29, 2016 — When cardiac stem cells undergo low-intensity pulsed ultrasound treatment, these cells can perform continuing modifications, tissue remodeling and regeneration of damaged cardiac tissue after a heart ... read more

Patients Who Are Not Prescribed Opioids Find More Improvements in Physical Function

Jan. 22, 2016 — Opioids may help some patients suffering neuropathic pain, but do not help with mobility and function, according to ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — Researchers have developed the A-Gear: a robotic arm that can support the daily activities of people suffering the muscular disease Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. They recently put the final touches to ... read more

Remote Care for Cochlear Implant Users

Jan. 22, 2016 — Audiologists are investigating how a new patient-centered approach can help cochlear implant users manage their own care program. A cochlear implant is a surgically implanted electronic device that ... read more

60 Genetic Disorders Affect Skin, Nervous System

Jan. 22, 2016 — At least 60 genetic diseases called neurocutaneous disorders involve the skin, central nervous system, and/or peripheral nervous system, neurologists ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — Electrical stimulation of human heart muscle cells engineered from human stem cells aids their development and function, researchers have demonstrated for the first time. They used electrical ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Research suggests the possibility of restoring at least some visual function in people blinded by optic nerve damage from glaucoma, estimated to affect more than 4 million Americans, or from ... read more

Ultrasound Guidance Lowers Risks of Thoracic Nerve Block Technique for Mastectomy

Jan. 14, 2016 — A regional anesthesia technique called thoracic paravertebral nerve block (TPVB) is highly effective in controlling pain after breast cancer surgery, but concern about potential complications may ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — The view of the role of motor neurons could be changing, thanks to new research. Motor neurons, which extend from the spinal cord to muscles and other organs, have always been considered passive ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — A pioneering surgical technique has allowed an amputee to attach a Modular Prosthetic Limb directly to his residual limb, enabling a greater range of motion and comfort than previously ... read more

Brain's Immune Cells Key to Maintaining Blood-Brain Barrier

Jan. 11, 2016 — New research shows that the cells responsible for protecting the brain from infection and inflammation are also responsible for repairing the system of defenses that separates the brain from the rest ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — Patients who have lost their hand functions due to injuries or nerve-related conditions, such as stroke and muscular dystrophy, now have a chance of restoring their hand movements by using a new ... read more

'Window of Recovery' Can Reopen After Stroke

Jan. 7, 2016 — Using mice whose front paws were still partly disabled after an initial induced stroke, researchers report that inducing a second stroke nearby in their brains let them 'rehab' the animals ... read more

'Dry Eye' Linked to Chronic Pain Syndromes

Jan. 6, 2016 — A link between 'dry eye' and chronic pain syndromes has been found by researchers, a finding that suggests that a new paradigm is needed for diagnosis and treatment to improve patient ... read more

Jan. 5, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated in lab animals the regenerative dynamics of a specific signaling protein, C-C class chemokine 2 (CCL2). CCL2 sends inflammatory immune cells (macrophages) to peripheral ... read more

Toxic Secretions from Intracranial Tumor Damage the Inner Ear

Dec. 22, 2015 — In some cases of vestibular schwannoma, a sometimes-lethal tumor often associated with neurofibromatosis 2 (NF2), secretions from the tumor contain toxic molecules that damage the inner ear. The ... read more

Dec. 21, 2015 — Chronic inflammation can cause regenerating cells to grow into new, aberrant types; this is called metaplasia, and is a disorder linked to prolonged inflammation. A new study highlights a new concept ... read more

Ending Chronic Pain With New Drug Therapy

Dec. 21, 2015 — A brain region controlling whether we feel happy or sad, as well as addiction, is remodeled by chronic pain, reports a new study. And in a significant breakthrough, scientists have developed a new ... read more

Dec. 21, 2015 — New mathematical models shed light on the complex interactions of stem cell function and molecular diffusion in neural tissue, which may help explain many phenomena from stem cell differentiation to ... read more

Dec. 17, 2015 — Halting production of new neurons in the brain following traumatic brain injury can help reduce resulting epileptic seizures, cognitive decline, and impaired memory, researchers ... read more

Friday, January 29, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015