Disability News
November 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:01pm EST

More Disability News
November 28, 2015

Adding Antiangiogenesis Increases Effectiveness of Radiation Against NF2-Associated Tumors

Nov. 10, 2015 — Treatment with antiangiogenesis drugs may improve the effectiveness of radiation treatment of nervous system tumors that interfere with the hearing of patients with the genetic disorder ... read more

Chronic Arsenic Exposure Can Impair Ability of Muscle to Heal After Injury

Nov. 10, 2015 — Chronic exposure to arsenic can lead to stem cell dysfunction that impairs muscle healing and regeneration. More than 140 million people worldwide and 4 million Americans chronically ingest arsenic ... read more

Nov. 6, 2015 — The movement of protein within hair cells of the inner ear shows signs of a repair and renewal mechanism, new research ... read more

Genetic Modification Shows Promise for Preventing Hereditary Hearing Loss

Nov. 6, 2015 — A mitochondrial defect is responsible for a type of human hereditary deafness that worsens over time and can lead to profound hearing loss. Using a genetically modified mice model with a ... read more

Nov. 5, 2015 — The function of pejvakin, a molecule that plays a vital role in the hearing system, has been recently discovered by researcherse. The absence of this molecule appears to be responsible for ... read more

Brain Imaging Reveals Possible Depression Signature in Traumatic Brain Injury

Nov. 5, 2015 — Individuals with depression in addition to traumatic brain injury (TBI) are prone to poorer recovery, reductions in cognitive performance, greater functional disability, increased suicide attempts ... read more

Nov. 5, 2015 — When peripheral nerves are damaged and their vital synaptic paths are disrupted, they have the ability to regenerate and reestablish lost connections. Using zebrafish, which are transparent at larval ... read more

Brain's Immune System Could Be Harnessed to Fight Alzheimer's

Nov. 5, 2015 — The brain's immune system could potentially be harnessed to help clear the amyloid plaques that are a hallmark of Alzheimer's disease, new research suggests. The findings are the ... read more

Most Patients Still Have Improved Mobility, Less Joint Pain Three Years After Weight-Loss Surgery

Nov. 4, 2015 — After weight-loss surgery, 57 percent of patients with significant mobility issues before surgery no longer had them and about 70 percent of those with severe knee and hip pain or disability, ... read more

Study Identifies Patients Most Likely to Have Joint Pain Reduction After Bariatric Surgery

Nov. 4, 2015 — In the three years following bariatric surgery, the majority of patients experience an improvement in pain and walking ability. A new study went on to identify key patient characteristics that can ... read more

Chemotherapy-Induced Hearing Loss Affects Neurocognition in Pediatric Brain Tumor Survivors

Nov. 4, 2015 — Platinum-based chemotherapy may not only impact hearing, but that the hearing loss may then contribute to long-term neurocognitive deficits, report neuroscientists in a new ... read more

Country-to-Country Aid for Health Varies Dramatically

Nov. 4, 2015 — An analysis of country-to-country aid for health over a 20-year period suggests wide variations among donor countries’ giving that do not always reflect recipient countries’ health ... read more

Achilles Tendon Ruptures Missed in One of Four Cases, but Surgery Not Needed for Most

Oct. 29, 2015 — Achilles tendon disorders are common and often misdiagnosed, with about 25 percent of ruptures missed during initial examination, but the prognosis is favorable for the vast majority of patients, ... read more

Oct. 27, 2015 — A first-of-its-kind study discovered that many hard-of-hearing children who receive optimal, early services are able to 'catch up or significantly close the gaps with their hearing peers,' ... read more

Oct. 27, 2015 — Intrinsic neural connections -- called crossmodal mappings -- can be used by assistive devices to help the blind detect their environment without requiring intense concentration or hundreds of hours ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — These genes, or others in the same pathway, could be promising targets for efforts to treat hearing loss or balance problems by regenerating hair cells, the researchers ... read more

New Modular Partial Wrist Implant May Help More People With Painful Wrist Arthritis

Oct. 23, 2015 — Studies are underway to determine if a new modular partial wrist replacement will allow for better movement and last longer than traditional implants for people seeking relief from painful wrist ... read more

Implant Procedure Helps Patients With Sacroiliac Joint Pain

Oct. 22, 2015 — A minimally invasive implant procedure is highly effective in reducing pain and disability for patients with sacroiliac joint dysfunction, reports a new clinical ... read more

Zebrafish Study Offers Insights Into Nerve Cell Repair Mechanisms

Oct. 22, 2015 — A hormone called serotonin -- better known for its role as a mood booster -- can help zebrafish to recover from a spinal cord injury, scientists have found. The findings could aid research into motor ... read more

Common Shoulder Dislocation Can Heal Just as Well Without Surgery

Oct. 22, 2015 — Acromio-clavicular joint dislocation is one of the most common shoulder injuries orthopedic surgeons treat. Severe dislocations are often treated with surgery, but patients who opt for non-surgical ... read more

Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Sunday, August 9, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015