Accident and Trauma News
April 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:23am EDT

More Accident and Trauma News
April 26, 2015

Serious Violence in England and Wales Drops 10% in 2014

Apr. 22, 2015 — Serious violence is down in England and Wales, new research shows. The number of people injured in serious violence dropped by 10% in 2014 compared to 2013, and violence against children and ... read more

Providing Universal Donor Plasma to Massively Bleeding Trauma Patients

Apr. 20, 2015 — A recent randomized trial that looked at the feasibility of 2013 guidelines issued by the American College of Surgeons Trauma Quality Improvement Project for trauma resuscitation found that ... read more

Mental Rehearsal Helps ER Clinicians Best Prepare for Trauma Patients

Apr. 13, 2015 — Trauma resuscitation teams should map out mental blueprints and communicate their strategy to all team members involved in caring for patients, a new study ... read more

Dealing With Death in Deployment

Apr. 9, 2015 — A new study is the first to provide clear insight into contributors to suicide risk among military personnel and veterans who have deployed. The study found that exposure to killing and death while ... read more

Under-Reported Suicides: Hiding or Compounding the Tragedy

Apr. 7, 2015 — Suicide figures may not be as accurate as they are reported, with key Western countries having a higher suicide rate than that reported in official figures, a new study concludes. "The tragedy ... read more

Emergency Rooms See Rising Rate of Patients With Chronic Conditions, Lower Rate of Injuries

Apr. 6, 2015 — The rate of emergency department visits in California for non-injuries has risen while the rate of visits for injuries has dropped, according to a new study that documents the increasing amount of ... read more

Apr. 6, 2015 — A new study takes another step toward the early understanding of a degenerative brain condition called chronic traumatic encephalopathy, or CTE, which affects athletes in contact sports who are ... read more

Young Guns: High Rate of Firearm Violence Found in High-Risk Youth After Assault Injury

Apr. 6, 2015 — Two young men sit in an inner-city ER. One is getting care for injuries he suffered in a fight, the other, for a sore throat. After getting care, both head back out to an environment of violence and ... read more

Apr. 2, 2015 — An innovative therapy that applies red and near-infrared light to the brain is now being tested for Gulf War Illness, traumatic brain injury, and ... read more

Predicting Chronic Pain in Whiplash Injuries

Apr. 1, 2015 — While most people recover from whiplash injuries within a few months, about 25 percent have long-term pain and disability for many months or years. Using special MRI imaging, scientists identified, ... read more

Antioxidant Therapy May Have Promising Potential in Concussion Treatment

Apr. 1, 2015 — Antioxidants may play a key role in reducing the long-term effects of concussions and could potentially offer a unique new approach for treatment, a new study suggests. Common among athletes and ... read more

Suicide Not Associated With Deployment Among US Military Personnel

Apr. 1, 2015 — Deployment to Operation Enduring Freedom or Operation Iraqi Freedom was not associated with suicide in a study of more than 3.9 million US military personnel in the Air Force, Army, Marine Corps and ... read more

Impact of Domestic Violence on Women's Mental Health

Mar. 31, 2015 — In addition to their physical injuries, women who are victims of domestic violence are also at a greater risk of mental health problems such as depression and psychotic symptoms. "We studied the ... read more

New Concept: Can Resuscitation Be Delayed?

Mar. 31, 2015 — A team of researchers has laid the foundation for new resuscitation guidelines for severely hypothermic patients in cardiac arrest. The general rule for treatment of patients in cardiac arrest is ... read more

Neurological Diseases Share Common Blood-Brain Barrier Defects

Mar. 30, 2015 — Although stroke, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and traumatic brain injury each affect the central nervous system differently, a new study finds that they share ... read more

Oxygen Therapy in COPD Patients Associated With Burn Injury

Mar. 30, 2015 — Patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease receiving home oxygen have a higher risk of burn injury, a study shows. Physicians prescribing oxygen to patients with COPD struggle to balance the ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — The five-star ratings of hockey helmets, judging their abilities to help prevent concussions, have been released by experts. The findings so far: Only one of 32 tested hockey helmets earned three ... read more

Emergency Medicine Physicians Urge Colleagues to Help Prevent Gun Violence

Mar. 25, 2015 — Two practicing emergency medicine physicians -- both thought leaders at the forefront of finding solutions to the public health crisis of gun violence -- urge their colleagues to take direct action ... read more

Suicide Risk: Variety of Dialectical Behavior Therapy Interventions With Therapists Effective

Mar. 25, 2015 — A variety of dialectical behavior therapy interventions helped to reduce suicide attempts and nonsuicidal self-injury acts in a randomized clinical trial of women with borderline personality disorder ... read more

Promising New Biomarkers for Concussion Identified

Mar. 25, 2015 — A panel of four readily detectable blood proteins can accurately indicate concussion, even helping distinguishing it from other injuries, according to a new study. Researchers found the panel by ... read more

Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Monday, December 29, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Friday, December 12, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Sunday, December 7, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Sunday, November 16, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014