Birth Defects News
February 10, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:21pm EST

More Birth Defects News
February 10, 2016

Protein That Limits the Severity of Genetic Kidney Disease Found

Feb. 9, 2016 — Researchers have identified a protein that limits the severity of Alport syndrome, a type of genetic kidney disease. The finding can provide clues that point toward new therapeutic approaches for ... read more

Feb. 3, 2016 — A powerful, three-way mechanism by which a mutation drives the growth of childhood brain cancers, was discovered by scientists. The team hopes the discovery will lead to better methods for diagnosing ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — A faulty signaling pathway has been identified that, when corrected, in mice ameliorates the symptoms of Rett syndrome, a devastating neurological condition. The findings could lead to the discovery ... read more

Cell Insight Offers Clues on Biological Processes Linked to Fertility

Feb. 2, 2016 — Congenital disorders such as Down's syndrome could be better understood, following new insights into how healthy cells are formed. Scientists have identified a set of proteins that play a key ... read more

Inflammation Attacks Brain's Reward Center

Feb. 2, 2016 — A brain reward center, the striatum, may be directly affected by inflammation and that striatal change is related to the emergence of illness behaviors, scientists ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — Abnormalities in embryonic brain development in mice, including transient embryonic brain enlargement during neuron formation, are responsible for abnormal adult brain structures and behavioral ... read more

Study May Offer Answers for Treating Depression in Alcoholics

Feb. 2, 2016 — A new study is offering a glimmer of hope to alcoholics who find it hard to remain sober because their abstinence is hounded by stubborn, difficult-to-treat ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — When the process of epigenetic reprogramming is defective in mouse development, the consequences in adulthood can include abnormal repetitive behaviors, scientists have ... read more

Study Develops New Equation for Estimating Gestational Age

Feb. 1, 2016 — Researchers are developing a new formula for estimating gestational age from ultrasound fetal ... read more

Study Validates Two-Protein Test for Spontaneous Preterm Birth Prediction

Feb. 1, 2016 — Researchers have presented findings from the Proteomic Assessment of Preterm Risk study with the title Clinical validation of a two-protein test for spontaneous preterm birth prediction in a large ... read more

Researchers Work to Unravel the Complex Genetic Disease Neurofibromatosis Type 1

Feb. 1, 2016 — From a collection of more than 7,800 unrelated neurofibromatosis type 1 mutations, researchers have aimed at two goals: correlate a particular mutation with the symptoms that will develop as the ... read more

Targeting Upper Motor Neurons to Treat ALS

Feb. 1, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated for the first time that it is possible to specifically modify gene expression in diseased upper motor neurons, brain cells that break down in ALS. The study provides ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — Understanding how the brain folds could help unlock the inner workings of the brain but the process has long remained a mystery. Now, by replicating a folding human brain in 3D, researchers have ... read more

Genetic Cause Identified in Rare Pediatric Brain Tumor

Feb. 1, 2016 — Researchers found a way of differentiating angiocentric gliomas from other low-grade pediatric brain tumors and developed a pathological test that will help children avoid unnecessary and potentially ... read more

Study Strengthens Evidence Linking Autism to Maternal Obesity-Diabetes

Feb. 1, 2016 — Scientists show they can use electronic medical records and birth information to verify and strengthen an already suspected link between autistic children and pregnant mothers with obesity and ... read more

Obesity, Diabetes in Mom Increases Risk of Autism in Child

Jan. 29, 2016 — Children born to obese women with diabetes are more than four times as likely to be diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder than children of healthy weight mothers without diabetes, new research ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — Research has revealed subtle brain differences in adult males with autism spectrum disorder, which may go some way towards explaining why symptoms persist into adulthood in some people with the ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — A new study analyzes the regions of DNA that switch on gene expression in the notochord, called notochord cis-regulatory modules. The paper presents a systematic analysis of CRMs that share the ... read more

Estrogens Alleviate Hyperactivity in Zebrafish With Autism Gene

Jan. 28, 2016 — The hormone estrogen alleviates the sleep disruption experienced by zebrafish genetically designed to help understand the biology of autism spectrum disorder, scientists ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Reproduction is highly dependent on diet and the ability to use nutrients to grow and generate energy. New work dissects the links between metabolism and the development of eggs and may provide a new ... read more

Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015