Birth Defects News
April 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:50pm EDT

More Birth Defects News
April 27, 2015

Detection of Critical Heart Disease Before Birth Lags Among Poor

Apr. 27, 2015 — While prenatal ultrasounds are doing a good job of identifying critical congenital heart disease, those living in poor or rural communities are less likely to find out their baby has heart disease ... read more

Some Children Lose Autism Diagnosis but Still Struggle

Apr. 26, 2015 — About one in 14 toddlers diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder no longer met the diagnostic criteria in elementary school, but most continued to have emotional/behavior symptoms and required ... read more

Long Lasting Anti-Hemophilia Factor Safe in Kids, Experts Say

Apr. 24, 2015 — Children with hemophilia A require three to four infusions each week to prevent bleeding episodes, chronic pain and joint damage. A new, extended therapy combines recombinant factor VIII with a ... read more

Maternal Stress Increases Development of Fetal Neuroblastoma in Animal Model

Apr. 21, 2015 — While genetics play a substantial role in development of neuroblastoma, scientists say that something else is in play that elevates the risk: stress. Researchers have shown in mice genetically ... read more

Antidepressant Use in Pregnancy Associated With Anxiety Symptoms in 3-Year-Olds

Apr. 21, 2015 — Three-year-old siblings exposed to antidepressants in pregnancy show increased anxiety symptoms compared to their unexposed siblings, researchers report. The study shows the importance of considering ... read more

Middle-Aged Congenital Heart Disease Survivors May Need Special Care

Apr. 20, 2015 — For the first time, the American Heart Association has made recommendations for treating people older than 40 with congenital heart disease. "People born with congenital heart disease are living ... read more

In Utero Exposure to Extreme Morning Sickness May Cause Developmental Deficits in Children

Apr. 20, 2015 — Women who experience extreme morning sickness during pregnancy are three times more likely to have children with developmental issues, including attention disorders and language and speech delays, ... read more

Study Re-Examines Sports Restrictions for Children With Heart Rhythm Disorder

Apr. 20, 2015 — Sports participation may be safer than previously thought for children with the heart rhythm disorder long QT syndrome, and authors of a new study say restrictions should be eased to allow ... read more

Autism-Epilepsy Connection Explored in Four Studies

Apr. 20, 2015 — Epilepsy affects nearly 30 percent of all people with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), a neurobehavioral condition marked by impaired social and language development. Conversely, many patients with ... read more

Tumor Genome Sequencing Shows the Most Frequently Altered Gene in Bladder Cancer: Telomerase Reverse Transcriptase

Apr. 20, 2015 — Researchers have reported that the telomerase reverse transcriptase gene promoter was altered in 69 percent of 54 cases of bladder cancer. Telomerase reverse transcriptase alterations frequently ... read more

Major Vascular Anomalies Found in Brains of People With Huntington's Disease

Apr. 16, 2015 — Significant vascular changes in the brains of people with Huntington's disease have been identified by researchers. This breakthrough will have significant implications for our understanding of ... read more

Increasing Evidence Points to Inflammation as Source of Nervous System Manifestations of Lyme Disease

Apr. 16, 2015 — About 15 percent of patients with Lyme disease develop peripheral and central nervous system involvement, often accompanied by debilitating and painful symptoms. New research indicates that ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — While recent reports question whether fish oil supplements support heart health, scientists have found that the fatty acids they contain are vitally important to the developing brain. Neurobiologists ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — In a small study, researchers found that DNA from the sperm of men whose children had early signs of autism shows distinct patterns of regulatory tags that could contribute to the condition. Autism ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — Among a group of more than 320,000 children, intrauterine exposure to gestational diabetes mellitus diagnosed by 26 weeks' gestation was associated with risk of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs), ... read more

Medical Marijuana Liquid Extract May Bring Hope for Children With Severe Epilepsy

Apr. 13, 2015 — A medicinal liquid form of marijuana may show promise as a treatment for children with severe epilepsy that is not responding to other treatments, according to a new ... read more

Mystery of Rett Timing Explained in MeCP2 Binding

Apr. 13, 2015 — Scientists have puzzled over the fact that infants with the postnatal neurodevelopmental disorder Rett syndrome show symptoms of the disorder from one to two years after birth. Now they unravel the ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — Researchers reveal how a protein linked to Meckel syndrome (MKS) and other human diseases regulates the membrane composition of cilia, finger-like projections on the surface of cells that communicate ... read more

Is the Length of Work Careers Determined in Utero?

Apr. 13, 2015 — Low weight at birth increased the risk of disability pension among men, reveals a new study. Around 20% of the cohort members born in 1934–44 retired on a disability pension between 1971 and ... read more

Children With Neurological Disorders Need Flu Vaccine but Don't Always Get It

Apr. 9, 2015 — Children with neurologic or neurodevelopmental disorders (NNDDs) are at increased risk of complications from influenza. Although experts have recognized NNDDs as high-risk conditions for influenza ... read more

Monday, April 27, 2015
Sunday, April 26, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015