Birth Defects News
September 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:51am EDT

More Birth Defects News
September 3, 2015

New Strategy Improves Detection of Genetic Mutations in Hereditary Colorectal Cancer

Aug. 27, 2015 — Enhanced accuracy and reduced turnaround time of testing can provide vital information for patients suspected of having lynch syndrome and their family members, according to a new ... read more

Smoking Ban Linked to Drop in Stillbirths, Newborn Deaths

Aug. 13, 2015 — Stillbirths have dropped by almost 8 percent in England since the smoking ban was introduced, research shows. The number of babies dying shortly after birth has also dropped by almost eight per cent, ... read more

Fetal ECG During Labor Offers No Advantage Over Conventional Fetal Heart Rate Monitoring

Aug. 12, 2015 — Fetal electrocardiogram ST segment analysis, or STAN, which is largely used in Europe to measure fetal heart activity, does not improve outcomes during labor and delivery or decrease cesarean ... read more

Adult IQ of Very Premature Babies Can Be Predicted by the Age of Two

Aug. 12, 2015 — The IQ of adults born very premature or of very low birth weight can be predicted when they are just a toddler, new research suggests. Previous studies have linked very premature birth and very low ... read more

Pulmonary Hypertension: Growing Problem in US Children

Aug. 12, 2015 — A review of 15 years' worth of data in a national pediatric medical database has documented a substantial increase in the rate of hospitalizations for children with a form of high blood pressure ... read more

Aug. 11, 2015 — Mice lacking a set of receptors in one type of neuron in the brain developed compulsive, anti-social behaviors, scientists have found. The importance of the receptor, called mGluR5, in other areas of ... read more

Single Interrupted Pregnancy May Impact Later Deliveries, New Research Finds

Aug. 11, 2015 — Even a single incident of abortion or miscarriage can have repercussions for subsequent pregnancies, researchers say. The study suggests that women who have experienced a single pregnancy loss are ... read more

First Gene That Causes Mitral Valve Prolapse Identified

Aug. 10, 2015 — The first gene in which mutations cause the common form of mitral valve prolapse, a heart valve disorder that affects almost 2.5 percent of the population, has been identified by an international ... read more

Promising Drug for Parkinson's Disease: Study Supports Fast Track to Clinical Trials

Aug. 9, 2015 — A drug which has already been in use for decades to treat liver disease could be an effective treatment to slow down progression of Parkinson's disease, scientists have ... read more

Scientists Adopt New Strategy to Find Huntington's Disease Therapies

Aug. 7, 2015 — Scientists searched the chromosomes of more than 4,000 Huntington's disease patients and found that DNA repair genes may determine when the neurological symptoms begin. The results may provide a ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — A new test allows physicians to measure the effects of gene silencing therapy in Huntington's disease and will support the first human clinical trial of a drug that targets the genetic cause of ... read more

Some Radiation Okay for Expectant Mother and Fetus, Study Suggests

Aug. 6, 2015 — During pregnancy, approximately 5 to 8 percent of women sustain traumatic injuries, including fractures and muscle tears. To help evaluate and manage these injuries, orthopaedic surgeons often ... read more

How a Single Genetic Mutation Causes Autism

Aug. 6, 2015 — Researchers have identified more than 1,000 gene mutations in individuals with autism, but how these mutations increased risk for autism was unclear. Now, a team is the first to show how one of these ... read more

Reserach Team Gets the Beat, Develops Method of Quantifying Ciliary Movement

Aug. 5, 2015 — Researchers have figured out how to objectively quantify the beating action of cilia, the tiny, hair-like projections on cells that line nasal passages, the lungs and almost every other body tissue, ... read more

Trouble Spot in Brain Linked to Learning Difficulties in Down Syndrome Identified

Aug. 3, 2015 — New brain research has mapped a key trouble spot likely to contribute to intellectual disability in Down syndrome. Scientists suggest the findings could be used to inform future therapies which ... read more

Drinking at Conception Boosts Diabetes Risk for Baby, Study Shows

July 31, 2015 — Babies conceived by women who drink alcohol around the time of conception face dramatically increased risks of type 2 diabetes and obesity in early middle age, a study has ... read more

Blood Test Predicts Prognosis for Traumatic Brain Injuries

July 30, 2015 — A new blood test could help emergency room doctors quickly diagnose traumatic brain injury and determine its severity. The findings could help identify patients who might benefit from extra therapy ... read more

Targeted Therapy Shows Effectiveness Against a Subtype of the Brain Tumor Medulloblastoma

July 29, 2015 — A subset of medulloblastoma tumors briefly stopped growing or disappeared entirely during treatment with vismodegib, researchers report after a trial with both adults and ... read more

Probiotics Improve Behavioral Symptoms of Chronic Inflammatory Diseases in Mice

July 28, 2015 — Probiotics may improve the behavioral symptoms of chronic inflammatory diseases by altering communication between the immune system and the brain, according to an animal ... read more

Hair Samples May Offer New Insights Into the Relationship Between Asthma, Cortisol, and Complications in Pregnancy

July 28, 2015 — Hair samples can be used to measure the effects of asthma on the cortisol levels of women during pregnancy, according to new research. This research also shows that levels of cortisol, a ... read more

Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Sunday, August 9, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Sunday, June 14, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Saturday, June 6, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Saturday, May 23, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015