Stroke Prevention News
May 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:24am EDT

More Stroke Prevention News
May 30, 2015

Testing How Well Kidneys Are Functioning: ACR Outperforms eGFR, Study Suggests

May 29, 2015 — The usefulness of estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR, a test used to check how well the kidneys are filtering blood) and albuminuria (excess protein levels in the urine, which can be a sign ... read more

Low Stent Thrombosis Rates With Primary PCI, Regardless of Antithrombotic Choice

May 21, 2015 — Stent thrombosis following urgent angioplasty for acute heart attack occurred in less than 1 percent of patients in a large, 'real-world' registry, regardless of whether the antithrombotic ... read more

Analysis Compares Stent Expansion Achieved With Guidance from OCT Versus IVUS

May 20, 2015 — Data from the ILUMIEN II trial found that guidance from optimal coherence tomography was associated with comparable stent expansion as guidance from intravascular ultrasound in patients undergoing ... read more

Copd Is Independent Risk Factor for Cardiovascular Death, but Not Risk of Stroke

May 20, 2015 — Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, or COPD, is associated with increased risk of dying from a cardiovascular disease such as heart failure or a heart attack, as well as diseases not associated ... read more

Significant Differences in Achieving Risk Factor Targets Between Women and Men

May 19, 2015 — There is a striking and statistically significant difference in how women and men are treated following a heart attack. These gender differences are reflected in the rate of risk factor control, ... read more

Readmissions in Severe Sepsis Are as Common as Those in Heart Failure and Pneumonia

May 18, 2015 — Severe sepsis is a significant cause of rehospitalization along the lines of nationally recognized outcome measures and more commonly discussed conditions such as heart failure (HF) and pneumonia ... read more

Sleep Apnea Common Among Patients Undergoing Heart Procedure

May 18, 2015 — Patients undergoing percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI), a coronary artery widening procedureused to treat heart disease, are at high risk for obstructive sleep ... read more

Study Finds Wide Variation in Carotid Artery Stenting Outcomes

May 18, 2015 — Hospitals performing carotid artery stenting vary considerably in rates of in-hospital stroke or death -- from 0 to 18 percent overall and from 1.2 to 4.7 percent when accounting for variation in ... read more

Regular Aspirin Use May Slow Progression of Early Emphysema

May 17, 2015 — Regular use of aspirin may help slow the progression of early emphysema, according to new ... read more

Saving Critical Time Diagnosing Stroke Patients With MRI by Borrowing 'Lean' Principles

May 13, 2015 — Few hospitals routinely use MRI first-line for acute stroke diagnosis because of treatment delay concerns. The first study of its kind reports that, by applying "lean" process ... read more

Diabetes Drug May Reduce Heart Attack Risk in HIV Patients

May 15, 2015 — A diabetes drug may have benefits beyond lower blood sugar in patients with HIV. New research suggests the drug may prevent cardiovascular problems because it works to reduce inflammation that is ... read more

Computer Intelligence System Developed for Acute Stroke Detection

May 14, 2015 — A novel computer-aided detection system has been developed for acute stroke using computer intelligence technology. The detection accuracy is 90 percent, which is as high as that conducted by ... read more

A SMARTer Approach to Stroke Care

May 13, 2015 — Time is critical when it comes to stroke, and early treatment is associated with better outcomes. According to the Screening with MRI for Accurate and Rapid stroke Treatment (SMART) study, small ... read more

May 13, 2015 — Long-term depression may double the risk of stroke for middle-aged adults, research suggests. The scientists add that reducing symptoms of depression may not immediately reduce the elevated stroke ... read more

Testing Hand-Grip Strength Could Be a Simple, Low-Cost Way to Predict Heart Attack and Stroke Risk

May 13, 2015 — Weak grip strength is linked with shorter survival and a greater risk of having a heart attack or stroke, according to an international study involving almost 140,000 adults from 17 culturally and ... read more

Increased Cardiorespiratory Fitness May Delay Onset of High Cholesterol Study Shows

May 11, 2015 — Men who have higher levels of cardiorespiratory fitness may delay by up to 15 years increases in blood cholesterol levels that commonly occur with aging, according to new research. Cardiorespiratory ... read more

Institutional Factors Play Role in Cardiac Rehab Referral Rates After Angioplasty

May 11, 2015 — Hospitals in the Midwest United States were more likely than others to refer patients for guideline-recommended cardiac rehabilitation following angioplasty, possibly because more rehab programs are ... read more

Older Patients Receive Less Evidence-Based Cardiac Care Than Younger Patients

May 13, 2015 — People in their 80s and 90s are more likely to develop acute coronary syndrome than their younger counterparts. Despite this, they receive less therapy and diagnostic procedures, a Swedish expert ... read more

Smoking and Angioplasty: Not a Good Combination

May 12, 2015 — Quitting smoking when you have angioplasty is associated with better quality of life and less chest pain. People who continued to smoke after angioplasty had much worse chest pain and quality of life ... read more

Novel Computer Intelligence System for Acute Stroke Detection

May 12, 2015 — Medical researchers have developed a novel computer-aided detection system for acute stroke using computer intelligence technology. The detection accuracy is 90%, which is as high as that conducted ... read more

Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Sunday, May 3, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015