Stroke Prevention News
November 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:25am EST

More Stroke Prevention News
November 30, 2015

Molecular Mechanism at Root of Familial Amyloidosis and Other Diseases

Nov. 12, 2015 — A team of local researchers has proposed a molecular mechanism that may be responsible for the development of life-threatening diseases called amyloidoses. The best known of such diseases is ... read more

Angina Is Linked With Abnormal Heart Blood Flow in Patients With Female-Pattern Heart Disease

Nov. 11, 2015 — Chest pain in female-pattern heart disease is linked with abnormal heart blood flow, demonstrated with a drug commonly used to alleviate chest pain patients with coronary artery disease, which was ... read more

Improving Safety, Decreasing Risks of New Blood Thinners

Nov. 11, 2015 — By reversing the effects of the blood thinners apixaban and rivaroxaban within minutes, this new antidote may help to save the lives of patients taking blood thinners that experience major bleeding ... read more

New Research Finds Hospitals Administer Wrong Dose of Drugs to Stroke Patients in Emergency Departments by Failing to Weigh Them

Nov. 10, 2015 — Stroke patients receiving emergency clot busting drugs, the correct dose of which depends on the patient’s weight, may be receiving the wrong dose because the UK (and much of Europe) does not weigh ... read more

PCI Reduces Need for Additional Drug Even When Blockages Remain

Nov. 10, 2015 — Heart patients who had undergone an angioplasty procedure that opened only some blocked arteries tended to have a resolution of their chest pain, making it unnecessary to add another medication to ... read more

Genes May Determine the Side Effects of Menopausal Hormone Therapy, Study Suggests

Nov. 10, 2015 — Cardiovascular disease risk in women increases after menopause and is associated with the drop in estrogen levels. Menopausal hormone therapy could slow the progression, but oral formulations also ... read more

Use of Testosterone Replacement Therapy in Healthy Men Does Not Increase Risk of Heart Attack or Stroke, New Study Finds

Nov. 9, 2015 — A new study of generally healthy men who used testosterone replacement therapy to normalize testosterone levels has found that taking supplemental testosterone does not increase their risk of ... read more

Specific Vitamin D Levels Linked to Heart Problems

Nov. 9, 2015 — A lack of vitamin D can result in weak bones. Recent studies also show that vitamin D deficiency is linked to more serious health risks such as coronary artery disease, heart attacks, and ... read more

The Art of Appropriate Patient Selection for Heart Procedures

Nov. 9, 2015 — A decline in the number of heart patients undergoing unnecessary PCI (angioplasty) procedures reflects improvements in clinical decision-making and documentation to determine which patients benefit ... read more

Strangled Cells Condense Their DNA

Nov. 9, 2015 — Scientists have been able to see, for the first time, the dramatic changes that occur in the DNA of cells that are starved of oxygen and nutrients. This starved state is typical in some of ... read more

Genetic Risk Information for Coronary Heart Disease Leads to Lower Bad Cholesterol

Nov. 9, 2015 — Medical researchers have discovered that disclosing genetic risk for coronary heart disease, also known as bad ... read more

White Coat and Masked Hypertension Associated With Higher Rates of Heart and Vascular Disease

Nov. 9, 2015 — Patients whose blood pressures spikes in the doctor's office but not at home, and patients whose blood pressure spikes at home but not in the doctor's office, suffer more heart attacks, ... read more

Coronary Angioplasties Classified as Inappropriate Reduced Since Guidelines Published

Nov. 9, 2015 — Researchers examined trends in percutaneous coronary intervention use, patient selection, and procedural appropriateness following the introduction of Appropriate Use ... read more

Revascularization Before Exercise Program Improves Walking for Patients With PAD

Nov. 8, 2015 — Among patients with peripheral artery disease and intermittent claudication (cramping pain in the legs due to poor circulation in the arteries, aggravated by walking), a combination therapy of ... read more

Prevalence of 'Silent' Heart Attacks in Population

Nov. 8, 2015 — In a multiethnic, middle-aged and older study population, the prevalence of myocardial scars (evidence of a heart attack) was nearly 8 percent, of which nearly 80 percent were unrecognized by ... read more

Poor Air Quality Increases Patients' Risk of Heart Attack

Nov. 8, 2015 — People with heart disease face an increased risk of a serious heart attack during poor air quality days, according to a major new ... read more

The No. 1 Killer Is Invisible to Most Women

Nov. 8, 2015 — Even though heart disease and stroke are the No. 1 killer of US women, few women say they feel a personal connection to cardiovascular disease, according to a nationally representative survey. ... read more

MRI-Based Screening Improves Assignment of Stroke Patients to Endovascular Treatment

Nov. 6, 2015 — A new system for determining which patients with severe strokes are most likely to benefit from catheter-based systems for blood clot removal led to a greater percentage of screened patients ... read more

Investigational Treatment May Restore Kidney Function in Patients With Renovascular Disease

Nov. 6, 2015 — A treatment consisting of vascular endothelial growth factor fused to a bioengineered carrier promotes the recovery of kidney function in pigs with a disease frequently observed in patients in which ... read more

Endovascular Intervention Compared to Standard Treatment for Stroke

Nov. 3, 2015 — In a meta-analysis of randomized clinical trials for the treatment of acute ischemic stroke, an endovascular intervention (such as use of a very small catheter to remove a blood clot) compared to ... read more

Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015