Bone and Spine News
July 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:30am EDT

More Bone and Spine News
July 7, 2015

July 2, 2015 — Researchers report that the deletion of the PTEN gene would enhance compensatory sprouting of uninjured CST axons. Furthermore, the deletion up-regulated the activity of another gene, the mammalian ... read more

Osteoporosis Linked With Heart Disease in Older People

June 29, 2015 — Scientists have discovered a link between coronary heart disease and osteoporosis, suggesting both conditions could have similar causes. In one of the first studies of its kind to use a special ... read more

SSRI Antidepressants Taken for Menopausal Symptoms May Boost Bone Fracture Risk

June 26, 2015 — The class of antidepressants known as SSRIs (selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors), taken to curb menopausal symptoms, may boost bone fracture risk, suggests new ... read more

June 25, 2015 — Researchers have developed an innovative, experimental gene transfer-based treatment for children with giant axonal neuropathy (GAN). This extremely rare genetic disorder causes children to gradually ... read more

Computer Simulation Predicts Development, Progress of Pressure Sores

June 25, 2015 — A computational model that could enhance understanding, diagnosis and treatment of pressure ulcers related to spinal cord injury has been devised by investigators. The team also described results of ... read more

Nanowire Implants Offer Remote-Controlled Drug Delivery

June 23, 2015 — A new implantable drug-delivery system has been developed using nanowires that can be wirelessly controlled. The nanowires respond to an electromagnetic field generated by a separate device, which ... read more

Trial Could Impact Older Myelodysplastic Syndrome Population's Access to Bone Marrow Transplants

June 23, 2015 — An America-wide clinical trial analyzes outcomes after two common treatments: bone marrow transplant and chemotherapy. The results could lead to wider access to transplants, researchers ... read more

Best Practice Framework Is Good Benchmarking Tool for Fracture Liaison Services Worldwide

June 22, 2015 — The success of the Capture the Fracture Best Practice Framework has been confirmed as a single set of quality standards which can be used effectively to benchmark Fracture Liaison Services within a ... read more

Single Enzyme's Far-Reaching Influence in Human Biology, Disease

June 18, 2015 — Every cell in the body uses phosphorylation, the process of adding a chemical tag to control a protein's function and fate, such as when it moves from one part of a cell to another or binds to ... read more

Better Clinical Management Improves Quality of Life for Neurofibromatosis Patients

June 17, 2015 — A genetic disorder called neurofibromatosis causes benign tumors to grow on the brain, spinal cord, and other parts of the nervous system. There are no effective drugs to prevent or reverse NF. But ... read more

New Taxonomy Classifies Rare Genetic Bone Disorders by Metabolic Pathogenesis

June 17, 2015 — Medical researchers have developed a new classification system for rare genetic metabolic bone disorders, classifying them according to their metabolic pathogenesis. Knowledge of the metabolic ... read more

June 15, 2015 — While weaker bones are clearly not a good thing, scientists suspect that, based on a recent mouse study, somewhere in the conversation between the genetically engineered mouse's skeleton and the ... read more

Mechanism Regulating Gene Expression Linked to Bone and Joint Damage in Ankylosing Spondylitis

June 12, 2015 — A new study reveals that DNA methylation -- a mechanism that regulates gene expression -- could influence the progression of structural damage to the joints and spine in ankylosing spondylitis. Study ... read more

Recurrent Major Depressive Disorder and Use of Antidepressants Associated With Lower Bone Density

June 12, 2015 — A recent study shows that recurrent major depressive disorder (MDD) in men is associated with lower bone density. The use of antidepressants was also associated with lower bone mineral density (BMD), ... read more

Potential New Treatment for Osteoporosis

June 12, 2015 — Scientists have identified a new therapeutic approach that, while still preliminary, could promote the development of new bone-forming cells in patients suffering from bone ... read more

Physical Trauma Associated With Onset of Psoriatic Arthritis Among Psoriasis Patients

June 11, 2015 — The results of a large population study showed an increased risk of developing Psoriatic Arthritis among psoriasis patients exposed to physical trauma, particularly when the trauma involved bone ... read more

Weekend Screen Time Linked to Poorer Bone Health in Teen Boys

June 10, 2015 — Weekend screen time is linked to poorer teen bone health -- but only in boys, reveals new research. The apparent lack of impact of leisure screen time on teen girls' bone health may be explained ... read more

New Obesity Treatment Prevents Bone Loss During Weight Loss

June 10, 2015 — Using the intestinal hormone GLP-1 in obesity treatment prevents the loss of bone mass otherwise frequently associated with major weight loss. According to the researchers behind the study, the ... read more

Spinal Cord Stimulation for Chronic Pain Effective, Study Suggests

June 10, 2015 — A study supports findings that costs of spinal cord stimulation implants are recouped due to decreased demands for medical treatment in chronic pain ... read more

Stem Cell Discovery Paves Way for Targeted Treatment for Osteoarthritis

June 9, 2015 — Scientists have made a significant advance that could make cell-based treatments for arthritis less of a lottery. Researchers have identified individual stem cells that can regenerate tissue, ... read more

Thursday, July 2, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Sunday, May 10, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015