Insomnia Research News
July 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:23pm EDT

More Insomnia Research News
July 27, 2015

Causal Pathway May Link Job Stress, Sleep Disturbances

June 30, 2015 — There may be a reciprocal, causal pathway between job strain and disturbed sleep, implying that interventions to treat sleep problems may improve work satisfaction, researchers have ... read more

For Women With Bipolar Disorder, Sleep Quality Affects Mood

June 30, 2015 — Poor sleep is associated with negative mood in women with bipolar disorder, according to researchers. Bipolar disorder is a brain disorder that causes unusual shifts in mood, energy, activity levels ... read more

June 27, 2015 — A specific calcium channel plays a crucial role in deep, slow-wave sleep, scientists have discovered. This is a key step toward understanding both normal and abnormal waking brain ... read more

June 19, 2015 — New research comparing traditional hunter-gatherer living conditions to a more modern setting shows that access to artificial light and electricity has shortened the amount of sleep humans get each ... read more

Sleep Disturbances Are Common, Influenced by Race and Ethnicity

June 19, 2015 — Sleep disturbances and undiagnosed sleep apnea are common among middle-aged and older adults in the US, and these sleep problems occur more frequently among racial/ethnic minorities, a new study ... read more

New Sleep Genes Found

June 18, 2015 — A protein called Taranis could hold the key to a good night's sleep, researchers have found. The researchers examined thousands of mutant fly lines and found a mutant, called taranis, that slept ... read more

Longer Breaks Between Shifts Promote Nurses' Recovery from Work

June 17, 2015 — Reducing short breaks between shifts helps nurses recover from work, according to a new study from Finland. The study analyzed the effects of longer rest and recovery periods between shifts on heart ... read more

Hormone Fluctuations Disrupt Sleep of Perimenopausal Women

June 16, 2015 — Women in the early phases of menopause are more likely to have trouble sleeping during certain points in the menstrual cycle, according to a new study. During perimenopause -- the earliest stage of ... read more

Night Driving Restriction Reduces Young Driver Crashes

June 16, 2015 — Restricting teenagers from driving unsupervised at night, and introducing strict penalties and other licensing requirements, could reduce crashes significantly, according to research. The study shows ... read more

Lack of Sleep Affects Long-Term Health

June 16, 2015 — Maintaining a good night's sleep is important for our future health, partly because of how it affects lifestyle factors. Previous population based studies have not provided sufficient ... read more

Poor Sleep Associated With Increased Risk of Heart Attack, Stroke

June 15, 2015 — Poor sleep is associated with increased risk of heart attack and stroke, according to results from a recent study. The study included a representative sample of 657 men aged 25 to 64 years with no ... read more

Bright Light After Night Shift May Enhance Alertness and Cognitive Performance

June 11, 2015 — Bright light at the end of a night shift may have potential as a countermeasure to improve driving performance, particularly for low light work environments and commutes that occur before dawn, a new ... read more

Twitter Data May Help Shed Light on Sleep Disorders

June 11, 2015 — Researchers have built the beginnings of 'digital phenotype' of insomnia and other sleep disorders based on data from ... read more

More Frequent Overnight Hot Flashes Linked With Brain Scan Changes

June 10, 2015 — Women who had more hot flashes during sleep had a greater number of brain scan changes. More than 70 percent of women have hot flashes -- a sudden feeling of intense warmth and sweatiness -- while ... read more

Sleep Duration, Quality May Impact Cancer Survival Rate

June 10, 2015 — Pre-diagnostic short sleep duration and frequent snoring were associated with significantly poorer cancer-specific survival, particularly among women with breast cancer, new research ... read more

Partial Sleep Deprivation Linked to Biological Aging in Older Adults

June 10, 2015 — One night of partial sleep deprivation promotes biological aging in older adults, a new study suggests. One night of partial sleep deprivation activates gene expression patterns in peripheral blood ... read more

Mean Light Timing May Influence Body Mass Index, Body Fat

June 9, 2015 — The timing of exposure to moderate levels of light may influence body mass index and body fat, a new study suggests. Results show that people with more exposure to moderate or higher intensity light ... read more

Insomnia Leads to Decreased Empathy in Health Care Workers

June 9, 2015 — Insomnia decreases empathy in health care workers and may lead to adverse clinical outcomes and medical errors, a new study suggests. Results show that subjects with an Insomnia Severity Index ISI of ... read more

Poor Sleep Quality Linked to Reduced Resilience Among Veterans

June 8, 2015 — Poor sleep quality is associated with reduced resilience among veterans and returning military personnel, a new study suggests. Findings suggest that appraisal of sleep quality may contribute to ... read more

People at Risk of Hoarding Disorder May Have Serious Complaints About Sleep

June 8, 2015 — A new study suggests that those at risk of hoarding disorder may have serious complaints about sleep. Results show that participants at risk of hoarding disorder scored significantly higher on the ... read more

Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Saturday, April 25, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015