Insomnia Research News
September 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:53am EDT

More Insomnia Research News
September 2, 2015

Central Sleep Apnea Device Increases Mortality in Heart Failure

Sep. 1, 2015 — Adaptive servo-ventilation (ASV) therapy increases mortality and should not be used to treat central sleep apnea in heart failure patients with reduced ejection fraction, the SERVE-HF trial ... read more

Circadian Genes Go to Sleep Every Day at the Periphery of the Nucleus

Aug. 27, 2015 — Mobility between different physical environments in the cell nucleus regulates the daily oscillations in the activity of genes that are controlled by the internal biological clock, according to a new ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Bacteria do not cease to amaze us with their survival strategies. A research has now discovered how bacteria enter a sleep mode using a so-called FIC toxin. In a new article, the scientists describe ... read more

New Biomarkers Show Exercise Helps Reduce Daytime Sleep Disorder

Aug. 11, 2015 — Aerobic exercise can help alleviate excessive daytime sleepiness among depressed individuals, researchers have found. Researchers looking at blood samples identified two biological markers for the ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — Sleeping in the side position, as compared to on one’s back or stomach, may more effectively remove brain waste and prove to be an important practice to help reduce the chances of developing ... read more

Trachoma Risk Tied to Sleeping Near Cooking Fires, Lack of Ventilation

Aug. 4, 2015 — Children who sleep in unventilated rooms with cooking fires are at greater risk for severe trachoma, a leading cause of preventable blindness in developing countries, according to the findings of a ... read more

Aug. 3, 2015 — The roughly nine million Americans who rely on prescription sleeping pills to treat chronic insomnia may be able to get relief from as little as half of the drugs, and may even be helped by taking ... read more

Study Finds Brain Chemicals That Keep Wakefulness in Check

July 29, 2015 — Mice that have a particular brain chemical switched off become hyperactive and sleep for just 65 per cent of their normal time, a new study shows. This discovery could help researchers to develop new ... read more

Adolescents With Sleep Problems More Likely to Self-Harm

July 29, 2015 — There is a strong relationship between sleep problems such as insomnia, and self-harm, according to findings in a new Norwegian study. The researchers say that depressive symptoms accounted for some, ... read more

Sleepy Fruitflies Get Mellow

July 28, 2015 — Whether you're a human, a mouse, or even a fruitfly, losing sleep is a bad thing, leading to physiological effects and behavioral changes. Researchers used fruitflies to probe deeper into the ... read more

Many New Mothers Report No Physician Advice on Infant Sleep Position, Breastfeeding

July 27, 2015 — Many new mothers do not receive potentially life saving advice from physicians on aspects of infant care such as sleep position, breastfeeding, immunization and pacifier use, according to a new ... read more

July 26, 2015 — Sleeping not only protects memories from being forgotten, it also makes them easier to access, according to new research. A new study tracked memories for novel, made-up words learnt either prior to ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Genes that control the biological clocks in cells throughout the body are altered after losing a single night of sleep, researchers report. For the study the researchers studied 15 healthy ... read more

Mouse Model Tests Health Risks of Circadian Disturbances

July 20, 2015 — People who work outside of the normal 9-5 schedule or experience frequent jet lag have been found to be at an increased risk for everything from weight gain to cancer, but there are too many ... read more

Body Temperature May Trigger Sudden Cardiac Death

July 16, 2015 — When studying the proteins that underlie electrical signaling in the heart, and subjecting those proteins to conditions that are similar to the stress of exercise, researchers have found that in some ... read more

Clinical Pathway Uncovers Obstructive Sleep Apnea in Hospitalized Patients

July 15, 2015 — A multi-disciplinary group of researchers and physicians has created a clinical pathway to identify obstructive sleep apnea in higher-risk, hospitalized ... read more

July 6, 2015 — Researchers have now revealed brainwave changes in patients receiving nitrous oxide, or "laughing gas." Nitrous oxide, commonly known as "laughing gas," has been used in ... read more

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Insomnia With Psychiatric, Medical Conditions

July 6, 2015 — Cognitive behavioral therapy is a widely used nonpharmacologic treatment for insomnia disorders and an analysis of the medical literature suggests it also can work for patients whose insomnia is ... read more

REM Sleep Critical for Young Brain Development; Medication Interferes

July 3, 2015 — Rapid eye movement or REM sleep actively converts waking experiences into lasting memories and abilities in young brains, reports a new study. The finding broadens the understanding of ... read more

Immune Response to a Flu Protein Yields New Insights Into Narcolepsy

July 1, 2015 — Some of the first solid evidence that narcolepsy may be a so-called 'hit-and-run' autoimmune disease has been uncovered by an international team of researchers. Autoimmune diseases, such as ... read more

Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Sunday, July 26, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Saturday, April 25, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015