Brain Tumor News
May 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:52am EDT

More Brain Tumor News
May 29, 2015

Protein FGL2 May Have Potential as Therapy Target for Brain Cancer

May 13, 2015 — Blocking FGL2, a protein known to promote cancer, may offer a new strategy for treating brain cancer, according to a ... read more

Scientists Dramatically Improve Method for Finding Common Genetic Alterations in Tumors

May 4, 2015 — Scientists have developed a significantly better computer tool for finding genetic alterations that play an important role in many cancers but were difficult to identify with whole-genome sequencing. ... read more

Comprehensive Look at Brain Cancer Treatments

May 1, 2015 — A comprehensive genetic review of treatment strategies for glioblastoma brain tumors covers how these highly invasive and almost-always-deadly brain cancers may be treated, reviews the continuing ... read more

Brain Tumor Patients Should Be Screened for Depression

Apr. 29, 2015 — Because depression in brain cancer patients is a common but often overlooked condition, oncologists should regularly screen tumor patients for depression, according to a new article. The authors also ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — Investigators have developed an imageable mouse model of brain-metastatic breast cancer and shown the potential of a stem-cell-based therapy to eliminate metastatic cells from the brain and prolong ... read more

Scientists Discover Key Factor in Brain Cancer Resistance

Apr. 20, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a key factor that may explain drug resistance in glioblastoma (GBM), the most common and deadliest form of brain cancer. GBM accounts for 17% of all brain tumors, and over ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Patients who are obese, diabetic or both have the highest incidence of brain tumors, and they offer a clue that insulin is a factor for some glioblastoma patients. But a new study suggests drugs ... read more

Research Finds No Correlation Between Regulatory T Cells and Survival in Glioblastoma

Apr. 16, 2015 — Using a novel methodology of epigenetic quantitative analysis, investigators found no correlation between regulatory T cells and survival in the tumor microenvironment or blood, even when adjusting ... read more

New Genomics Tool Could Help Predict Tumor Aggressiveness, Treatment Outcomes

Apr. 16, 2015 — A new method for measuring genetic variability within a tumor might one day help doctors identify patients with aggressive cancers that are more likely to resist therapy, according to a study. ... read more

Anti-Cancer Therapy Delivering Drug to an Entire Tumor Developed

Apr. 13, 2015 — To treat inoperable tumors, anti-cancer medicine is commonly used. However, efficient drug delivery to tumor cells is often difficult, treating an entire tumor with drugs even more so. A new highly ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — A neuro-oncology research team recently identified the transcription factor Id4 as a suppressor of tumor cell invasion in glioblastoma. "This finding suggests a novel therapeutic target to ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — A new discovery could offer more effective drugs to combat brain tumors, scientists report. The study found that a subset of glioblastoma tumor cells is dependent on a particular enzyme that breaks ... read more

Too Much of a Bad Thing Can Be Good in Brain Tumors

Apr. 7, 2015 — DNA mutations can cause cancer but in some cases, more mutations may mean a better prognosis for patients. A comprehensive genomic analysis of more than 700 brain tumors has revealed one such subtype ... read more

Apr. 3, 2015 — Scientists have identified a small RNA molecule that can suppress cancer-causing genes in mice with glioblastoma mulitforme, a deadly and incurable type of brain tumor. While standard chemotherapy ... read more

'Firefly' Mechanism Makes Cancer Studies More Efficient, Less Expensive

Apr. 1, 2015 — The mechanism that makes fireflies glow through a process called bioluminescence can be used to study tumor response to therapy as well, researchers have found. Bioluminescence has a major role in ... read more

Neurological Diseases Share Common Blood-Brain Barrier Defects

Mar. 30, 2015 — Although stroke, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and traumatic brain injury each affect the central nervous system differently, a new study finds that they share ... read more

New Therapeutic Target May Improve Treatment for Brain Cancer

Mar. 29, 2015 — New data indicate that TG2 is a possible chemotherapeutic target for Glioblastoma Multiforme (GBM) ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — An experimental drug that attacks brain tumor tissue by crippling the cells' energy source called the mitochondria has passed early tests in animal models and human tissue cultures, say ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Tumors that produce more stress granules are more likely to metastasize, according to researchers. The results suggest that drugs to inhibit the formation of these structures might rein in cancer ... read more

Mar. 19, 2015 — An RNA molecule called Pnky has been discovered by researchers. The molecule can be manipulated to increase the production of neurons from neural stem ... read more

Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Sunday, December 7, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Friday, August 15, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Friday, August 1, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Friday, July 25, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Thursday, July 17, 2014
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014