Brain Tumor News
May 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:21am EDT

More Brain Tumor News
May 7, 2015

Scientists Dramatically Improve Method for Finding Common Genetic Alterations in Tumors

May 4, 2015 — Scientists have developed a significantly better computer tool for finding genetic alterations that play an important role in many cancers but were difficult to identify with whole-genome sequencing. ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — Investigators have developed an imageable mouse model of brain-metastatic breast cancer and shown the potential of a stem-cell-based therapy to eliminate metastatic cells from the brain and prolong ... read more

Research Finds No Correlation Between Regulatory T Cells and Survival in Glioblastoma

Apr. 16, 2015 — Using a novel methodology of epigenetic quantitative analysis, investigators found no correlation between regulatory T cells and survival in the tumor microenvironment or blood, even when adjusting ... read more

Too Much of a Bad Thing Can Be Good in Brain Tumors

Apr. 7, 2015 — DNA mutations can cause cancer but in some cases, more mutations may mean a better prognosis for patients. A comprehensive genomic analysis of more than 700 brain tumors has revealed one such subtype ... read more

Apr. 3, 2015 — Scientists have identified a small RNA molecule that can suppress cancer-causing genes in mice with glioblastoma mulitforme, a deadly and incurable type of brain tumor. While standard chemotherapy ... read more

'Firefly' Mechanism Makes Cancer Studies More Efficient, Less Expensive

Apr. 1, 2015 — The mechanism that makes fireflies glow through a process called bioluminescence can be used to study tumor response to therapy as well, researchers have found. Bioluminescence has a major role in ... read more

Neurological Diseases Share Common Blood-Brain Barrier Defects

Mar. 30, 2015 — Although stroke, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and traumatic brain injury each affect the central nervous system differently, a new study finds that they share ... read more

New Therapeutic Target May Improve Treatment for Brain Cancer

Mar. 29, 2015 — New data indicate that TG2 is a possible chemotherapeutic target for Glioblastoma Multiforme (GBM) ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — An experimental drug that attacks brain tumor tissue by crippling the cells' energy source called the mitochondria has passed early tests in animal models and human tissue cultures, say ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Tumors that produce more stress granules are more likely to metastasize, according to researchers. The results suggest that drugs to inhibit the formation of these structures might rein in cancer ... read more

Mar. 19, 2015 — An RNA molecule called Pnky has been discovered by researchers. The molecule can be manipulated to increase the production of neurons from neural stem ... read more

Mar. 19, 2015 — When cancer strikes, it may be possible for patients to fight back with their own defenses, using a strategy known as immunotherapy. According to a new study, researchers have found a way to enhance ... read more

Mar. 12, 2015 — Scientists are eager to make use of stem cells' extraordinary power to transform into nearly any kind of cell, but that ability also is cause for concern in cancer treatment. A new study shows ... read more

Tetanus Shot Improves Patient Survival With Brain Tumor Immunotherapy

Mar. 11, 2015 — An innovative approach using a tetanus booster to prime the immune system enhances the effect of a vaccine therapy for lethal brain tumors, dramatically improving patient survival, according to a ... read more

Deadly to Cancer Cells Only: Molecular Cause for Selective Effectiveness of Parvovirus Therapy Discovered

Mar. 11, 2015 — Parvoviruses can destroy cancer cells and are currently being tested in a preliminary clinical trial to treat malignant brain cancer. For their replication, the viruses need a particular enzyme in ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy is the best treatment for people with a low-grade form of brain cancer, mew clinical-trial findings suggest, providing further evidence to support this ... read more

Novel Drug Mechanism That Fights Brain Cancer Described by Researchers

Mar. 4, 2015 — Researchers have developed and characterized a molecule that interferes with the internal regulation of cancer cells, causing them to self-destruct. The investigators performed a series of studies ... read more

Why Some Brain Cancers Resist Treatment

Mar. 2, 2015 — Scientists may have discovered why some brain cancer patients develop resistance to standard treatments including radiation and the chemotherapy agent ... read more

Protein Pathway Involved in Brain Tumor Stem Cell Growth Identified

Feb. 26, 2015 — Glioblastomas are a highly aggressive type of brain tumor, with few effective treatment options. Researchers are one step closer to understanding glioblastoma development following the identification ... read more

Together, Nanotechnology, Genetic Interference May Tackle 'Untreatable/ Brain Tumors

Feb. 24, 2015 — There are no effective available treatments for sufferers of Glioblastoma multiforme, the most aggressive and devastating form of brain tumor. Now a study may offer hope to the tens of thousands ... read more

Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Sunday, December 7, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Friday, August 15, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Friday, August 1, 2014
Friday, July 25, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Thursday, July 17, 2014
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014