Brain Tumor News
August 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:22pm EDT

More Brain Tumor News
August 28, 2015

Predicting Which Glioblastoma Patients May Benefit from Drug Treatment

June 29, 2015 — Clinicians testing the drug dasatinib, approved for several blood cancers, had hoped it would slow the aggressive growth of the deadly brain cancer glioblastoma; however, clinical trials to date have ... read more

June 27, 2015 — A new class of drug developed targets the Warburg effect to cut off cancer's energy supply, and researchers say that it has the potential to stop most kinds of cancer in its ... read more

Low-Grade Brain Tumor Diagnosis Redefined

June 24, 2015 — A group of patients have made important contributions to an American cancer study that proposes a change in how some brain tumors are classified and ultimately treated. The study reveals that a ... read more

June 17, 2015 — Brain surgery is famously difficult for good reason: When removing a tumor, for example, neurosurgeons walk a tightrope as they try to take out as much of the cancer as possible while keeping crucial ... read more

June 11, 2015 — Brain tumor stem cells can resist treatment and regrow tumors, but scientists have identified a vulnerability in these cells that could lead to a new approach in battling deadly brain ... read more

Molecular Classification May Improve Method Physicians Use to Diagnose, Treat Gliomas

June 10, 2015 — The molecular makeup of brain tumors can be used to sort patients with gliomas into five categories, each with different clinical features and outcomes, researchers have shown. The finding could ... read more

Study Supports IDH Gene as Prognostic Marker in Anaplastic Astrocytoma

June 3, 2015 — The mutation status of a gene called IDH1 might have prognostic value for anaplastic astrocytomas, and that it may be worth exploring further whether IDH1 status can predict the best chemotherapy for ... read more

Poliovirus Study Finds That Less Is More

June 1, 2015 — A modified poliovirus therapy that is showing promising results for patients with glioblastoma brain tumors works best at a low dosage, according to the research team where the investigational ... read more

Gene Therapy, Surgery Could Mean Eight More Months for Sickest Brain Cancer Patients

May 31, 2015 — As the most malignant of primary brain cancers, glioblastomas are frustratingly difficult to treat. Surgery is often risky and cannot remove all of the tumor, and chemotherapy eventually becomes ... read more

Nanotechnology Identifies Brain Tumor Types Through MRI 'Virtual Biopsy' in Animal Studies

May 26, 2015 — A tiny drug-delivery system has been invented that can identify cancer cell types in the brain through 'virtual biopsies' and then attack the molecular structure of the disease. The results ... read more

Nano-Capsules Designed for Diagnosing Malignant Tumors

May 25, 2015 — Researchers have developed adaptable nano-capsules that can help in the diagnosis of glioblastoma cells -- a highly invasive form of brain ... read more

May 21, 2015 — A method known as navigated transcranial magnetic stimulation (nTMS) has been gaining importance in neurosurgery for some time now. Among other applications, it is used to map brain tumors before an ... read more

Livers Donated After Cardiac Death Are Safe to Use in Liver Cancer Patients on a Transplant List

May 19, 2015 — Patients with liver cancer can be cured with a liver transplant. But because of the shortage of donated organs, these patients often die waiting for a liver. That’s because most transplant centers ... read more

Blood Thinner Safe for Cancer Patients With Brain Metastases

May 18, 2015 — Cancer patients with brain metastases who develop blood clots may safely receive blood thinners without increased risk of dangerous bleeding, according to a study. Cancer increases a patient's ... read more

New Release of Glioblastoma Atlas Sheds Light on Deadly Disease

May 14, 2015 — Robust new data added to the Ivy Glioblastoma Atlas Project changes the scope and impact of this publicly available resource for researchers and clinicians searching for treatments for this most ... read more

Protein FGL2 May Have Potential as Therapy Target for Brain Cancer

May 13, 2015 — Blocking FGL2, a protein known to promote cancer, may offer a new strategy for treating brain cancer, according to a ... read more

First Cancer-Promoting Oncogenes Discovered in Rare Brain Tumor of Children and Adults

May 11, 2015 — Researchers have identified three genes that play a pivotal role in the brain tumor choroid plexus carcinoma, a discovery that lays the groundwork for more effective treatment of this rare, often ... read more

May 8, 2015 — Therapies that specifically target mutations in a person's cancer have been much-heralded in recent years, yet cancer cells often find a way around them. To address this, researchers identified ... read more

Scientists Dramatically Improve Method for Finding Common Genetic Alterations in Tumors

May 4, 2015 — Scientists have developed a significantly better computer tool for finding genetic alterations that play an important role in many cancers but were difficult to identify with whole-genome sequencing. ... read more

Comprehensive Look at Brain Cancer Treatments

May 1, 2015 — A comprehensive genetic review of treatment strategies for glioblastoma brain tumors covers how these highly invasive and almost-always-deadly brain cancers may be treated, reviews the continuing ... read more

Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Sunday, May 31, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Sunday, December 7, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014