Infectious Diseases News
October 13, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:21pm EDT

More Infectious Diseases News
October 13, 2015

Antiviral Favipiravir Successfully Treats Lassa Virus in Guinea Pigs

Oct. 13, 2015 — Favipiravir, an investigational antiviral drug currently being tested in West Africa as a treatment for Ebola virus disease, effectively treated Lassa virus infection in guinea pigs, according to a ... read more

Affordable Care Act Helps Virginia Improve HIV Outcomes

Oct. 8, 2015 — Low-income HIV patients enrolled in Affordable Care Act health-care plans achieved better outcomes and the resulting cost savings allowed the state of Virginia to support care for more patients, ... read more

Vaginal Microbes Influence Whether Mucus Can Trap HIV

Oct. 6, 2015 — HIV particles are effectively trapped by the cervicovaginal mucus from women who harbor a particular vaginal bacteria species, Lactobacillus crispatus. The findings could lead to new ways to reduce ... read more

FMT Now Available in Capsule Form: Could This Be the End of Antibiotics in C. Difficile?

Oct. 6, 2015 — A new capsule form of fecal microbiota transplantation (FMT) has raised hopes that this effective treatment for Clostridium difficile (C. difficile) infection and other bowel conditions might soon ... read more

Scientists Identify How Normally Protective Immune Responses Kill Neurons

Oct. 6, 2015 — Scientists have discovered why certain immune responses, which typically help cells recognize and fight viral and bacterial infections, can sometimes be harmful to the brain. Many brain disorders ... read more

Flu Shot Reduces Risk of Stroke, Study Suggests

Oct. 6, 2015 — The risk of suffering a stroke is significantly reduced for up to two months after receiving a flu vaccine, a major new study has ... read more

Severe Liver Damage in Mid/late-Adulthood Among People Who Inject Drugs With Chronic Hepatitis C

Oct. 5, 2015 — The Hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection is a chronic blood-borne viral infection that affects an estimated 160 million people worldwide. Alarmingly, chronic HCV infection accounts for one-quarter of ... read more

Oct. 5, 2015 — A few years ago, a researcher assembled a team of scientists in Lima, Peru. The result of their work is the first study in that country to report human papillomavirus (HPV) infection in men who have ... read more

Oct. 5, 2015 — Six research centers in the U.S. have been chosen to help develop a comprehensive new strategy to control Ebola and other emerging infectious diseases in health ... read more

Patients With Flu-Associated Pneumonia Less Likely to Have Received Flu Vaccine

Oct. 5, 2015 — Among children and adults hospitalized with community-acquired pneumonia, those with influenza-associated pneumonia, compared with those with pneumonia not associated with influenza, had lower odds ... read more

Latest Technology Could Help Curb Repeat Ebola Crisis, Experts Say

Oct. 1, 2015 — Recent developments in surveillance technology could enable a swifter, more effective response to potentially deadly outbreaks of disease, and technology could help improve the response, a study has ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — Scientists have discovered that reactivation of ancient viral genes embedded in the human genome may cause the destruction of neurons in some forms of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The results ... read more

The Flaws of HIV

Oct. 1, 2015 — Though research carried out over the past 30 years has helped to understand most of HIV virus biology, its infectious process still contains grey areas. One of these has to do with the exact role ... read more

DNA-Based Vaccine Clears Nearly Half of Precancerous Cervical Lesions in Clinical Trial

Sep. 30, 2015 — Using a novel synthetic platform for creating vaccines a team of researchers has successfully eradicated precancerous cervical lesions in nearly half of the women who received an investigational ... read more

New Test Detects All Viruses That Infect People, Animals

Sep. 29, 2015 — A new test detects virtually any virus that infects people and animals, according to new research. The new test could be used to detect outbreaks of deadly viruses such as Ebola, Marburg and severe ... read more

Primary Care-Based Addiction Treatment Lowers Substance Dependence in People With HIV

Sep. 29, 2015 — A program that integrates addiction treatment into primary care for patients with or at risk for HIV, has been shown to lower patients' substance dependence and encourage their engagement in ... read more

Alternative Therapies to Prevent Malaria in Pregnancy

Sep. 29, 2015 — A new drug may be more effective at preventing malaria in pregnant woman, especially where there is resistance to the current treatments, scientists report. Malaria infection during pregnancy is a ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — Scientists are using transparent fish to watch in real time as Cryptococcal meningitis takes over the brain. The resulting images are worthy of a sci-fi movie teaser, but could be valuable in ... read more

HIV Patients Should Be Included in Early Clinical Trials of Anti-TB Drugs

Sep. 29, 2015 — Tuberculosis is the number one cause of death in HIV-infected patients in Africa and a leading cause of death in this population worldwide, yet the majority of these patients are excluded from the ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — A unique molecule is able to bind HIV-infected cells to the immune system’s killer T cells. It could become a key part of a shock-and-kill strategy being developed in the hope of one day clearing ... read more

Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Saturday, September 19, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015