Infectious Diseases News
July 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:51am EDT

More Infectious Diseases News
July 7, 2015

How Dengue Virus Adapts as It Travels, Increasing Chances for Outbreaks

July 6, 2015 — A research group is the first to explain the mechanisms that the Dengue virus has developed to optimize its ability to cause outbreaks as it travels across the globe to new places and revisits old ... read more

Latent Virus and Life Expectancy

July 2, 2015 — Molecular, cellular and clinical changes that arise from an infection with a latent virus can result in a decrease in ... read more

Hepatitis C: Life-Threatening Barriers in Access to Breakthrough Drugs in US

June 29, 2015 — Most states violate federal Medicaid law because they deny coverage for sofosbuvir, a new and highly effective treatment to cure hepatitis C. According to a team of researchers who examined Medicaid ... read more

Vaccine to Protect Global Communities from Malaria Under Development

June 29, 2015 — A professor studying malaria mosquito interaction has discovered a new mosquito protein for the development of a vaccine that is expected to stop the spread of the disease in areas where it is ... read more

Increasing Secondary Education Protects Against HIV Infection

June 28, 2015 — Longer secondary schooling substantially reduces the risk of contracting HIV, particularly for girls, according to new research from Botswana. The researchers estimate that pupils who stayed in ... read more

New Antibody Weapons Against Marburg Virus

June 27, 2015 — New immune molecules that protect against deadly Marburg virus, a relative of Ebola virus, have been identified by researchers. The research provides ingredients needed to develop treatments for ... read more

June 25, 2015 — A key part of the Ebola virus life cycle has been revealed at a higher resolution than ever before. The research sheds light on how Ebola virus assembles--and how researchers might stop the ... read more

Scientists Pinpoint Mutations Responsible for Ineffectiveness of 2014-2015 Flu Vaccine

June 25, 2015 — Viruses like influenza have the ability to mutate over time, and given that the flu vaccines administered during the 2014-2015 season were largely ineffective at preventing the spread of the flu, it ... read more

Updated Guidance on Use of Hepatitis C Drugs

June 25, 2015 — The online Recommendations for Testing, Managing, and Treating Hepatitis C has been updated to aid practitioners treating patients infected with hepatitis C virus (HCV). HCV is a blood-borne virus ... read more

Pilot Program in Pediatric Long-Term Care Facility Halves Topical Antibiotic Use

June 25, 2015 — A pilot antibiotic stewardship program at a pediatric long-term care facility brought about a 59 percent decrease in use of a topical antibiotic and an 83 percent decrease in orders for antibiotics ... read more

June 25, 2015 — An important new approach has been developed to diagnose infections in critically ill patients rapidly and accurately. Researchers have discovered that chemically analysing breath specimens from ... read more

World Must Drastically Accelerate AIDS Efforts or Face More HIV Infections, Deaths Than Five Years Ago

June 24, 2015 — Countries most affected by HIV must focus on stopping new HIV infections and expanding access to antiretroviral treatment or risk the epidemic rebounding, urges a major new ... read more

Needle Exchanges Can Prevent More HIV Outbreaks Like One in Indiana

June 24, 2015 — Congress needs to immediately lift the ban on federal funding for needle exchange programs to counter the threat of HIV outbreaks among injection drug users like the one that has seen an alarming ... read more

In ERs, UTIs and STIs in Women Misdiagnosed, Even Mixed Up Nearly Half the Time

June 24, 2015 — Urinary tract and sexually transmitted infections in women are misdiagnosed by emergency departments nearly half the time, according to research. These misdiagnoses result in overuse of antibiotics, ... read more

Reenergizing Antibiotics in the War Against Infections

June 24, 2015 — In principle, antibiotics suppress infections either by killing the bacteria, which is called a bactericidal effect or by merely inhibiting their growth, by what is called a bacteriostatic effect. ... read more

June 24, 2015 — The dramatic resurgence of whooping cough is due, in large part, to vaccinated people who are infectious but who do not display the symptoms, suggests a new ... read more

Multidrug-Resistant TB Appears Less Transmissible in Households Than Drug-Susceptible TB

June 23, 2015 — Some strains of multidrug-resistant tuberculosis (MDRTB) may have a lower fitness (be less capable of spreading) than drug-susceptible tuberculosis bacteria, according to a new study. The study ... read more

Generic Heart Disease Medications Offer Promise for Ebola Treatment

June 23, 2015 — Generic medications used frequently in the management of heart disease patients also have the potential to bolster the immune systems of patients with Ebola virus and some other life-threatening ... read more

New Family of Bioinspired Antibiotic Compounds Developed

June 23, 2015 — The first results of a study of a new antibacterial compound based on natural peptides capable of selectively killing resistant pathogens have been released by scientists. The study has proved that ... read more

Antibiotic Choice for Treating Childhood Pneumonia

June 22, 2015 — Hospitals are doing a better job of using antibiotics less commonly associated with antibiotic resistance to treat children hospitalized with community-acquired pneumonia (CAP), new research ... read more

Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Sunday, June 28, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015