Infectious Diseases News
July 31, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:21am EDT

More Infectious Diseases News
July 31, 2015

Flexible Future of Point-of-Care Disease Diagnostic

July 28, 2015 — The world-wide deployment of biomedical devices for health monitoring, point-of-care diagnostics and environmental sensing is hampered by their high cost that is not readily affordable for developing ... read more

Improved Survival of HIV Patients Facilitates Heart Disease Research

July 27, 2015 — The improved survival rate of HIV patients in sub-Saharan Africa due to effective treatment programs is increasing the ability of researchers in Africa to study the impacts of cardiovascular disease ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Like a collection of ragtag villagers fighting off an invading army, the mix of bacteria that live in our guts may band together to keep dangerous infections from taking hold, new research suggests. ... read more

Retail Meat Is a Potential Vehicle for Disease-Causing Klebsiella

July 23, 2015 — Chicken, turkey and pork sold in grocery stores harbors disease-causing bacteria known as Klebsiella pneumoniae, according to a new study. The research shows that contaminated meat may be an ... read more

Antiviral Compound Protects Nonhuman Primates Against Marburg Virus

July 22, 2015 — An experimental drug that protected monkeys from the deadly Marburg virus appears to have potential for treating people who have been exposed to the virus, according to a study. Marburg virus is ... read more

HIV Susceptibility Linked to Little-Understood Immune Cell Class

July 22, 2015 — High diversity among certain cells that help fight viruses and tumors is strongly associated with the likelihood of subsequent infection by HIV, researchers have ... read more

Diagnostic Test Developed for Enterovirus D68

July 22, 2015 — A diagnostic test to quickly detect enterovirus D68, a respiratory virus that caused unusually severe illness in children last year, has been developed by researchers. The outbreak caused infections ... read more

July 22, 2015 — A study of the West Nile virus risk associated with 'dry' water-detention basins in Central Illinois took an unexpected turn when land managers started mowing the basins. The mowing of ... read more

Screening in Pregnancy Key to Eliminating Mother-to-Child HIV Transmission

July 22, 2015 — Canada has almost eliminated mother-to-child HIV transmission, known as vertical transmission, in recent years by ensuring that all women have the opportunity to be screened for HIV in pregnancy and ... read more

Researchers to Map Impact of Infectious Diseases Against Research Spending

July 22, 2015 — Scientists are set to analyze research investments into infectious disease research, particularly pneumonia and maternal and neonatal infections. By studying how research funding is allocated ... read more

HIV Treatment Has Social, Socioeconomic Benefits, as Well as Improved Health

July 21, 2015 — HIV treatment for illicit drug users improves their social and socioeconomic well-being as well as their health, new research shows. While the health benefits of antiretroviral therapy (ART) for HIV ... read more

New Drug Combination Treats Hepatitis C Patients Also Infected With HIV

July 21, 2015 — A new combination of drugs that effectively treats hepatitis C (HCV) patients co-infected with human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV) has been discovered by researchers who report that the novel ... read more

Early Antiretroviral Therapy Prevents Non-AIDS Outcomes in HIV-Infected People, Study Concludes

July 21, 2015 — Starting antiretroviral therapy early not only prevents serious AIDS-related diseases, but also prevents the onset of cancer, cardiovascular disease, and other non-AIDS-related diseases in ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Researchers are studying a antibiotic-resistant pathogen to learn how to better fight it. They have identified several mechanisms bacteria use to share genes and expand their antibiotic ... read more

Comprehensive Global Prevention Can End HIV/AIDS Pandemic, Experts Say

July 21, 2015 — Although much progress has been made in combating the global HIV/AIDS pandemic, to halt new infections and end the pandemic, a combination of non-vaccine and vaccine prevention modalities will be ... read more

Adjuvants Improve Immune Response to H7N9 Flu Vaccine

July 21, 2015 — In a phase 2 trial that included nearly 1,000 adults, the AS03 and MF59 adjuvants (a component that improves immune response of inactivated influenza vaccines) increased the immune responses to two ... read more

Lack of Knowledge on Animal Disease Leaves Humans at Risk

July 20, 2015 — Researchers have painted the most detailed picture to date of major infectious diseases shared between wildlife and livestock, and found a huge gap in knowledge about diseases which could spread to ... read more

HIV Control Through Treatment Durably Prevents Heterosexual Transmission of Virus

July 20, 2015 — Antiretroviral treatment that consistently suppresses HIV is highly effective at preventing sexual transmission of the virus in heterosexual couples where one person is HIV-infected and the other is ... read more

Sustained Benefit of Early Antiretroviral Therapy

July 20, 2015 — Antiretroviral therapy for HIV infection provides lasting protection against the sexual transmission of the virus from infected men and women to their HIV-uninfected sexual partners, investigators ... read more

Cholesterol Metabolism in Immune Cells Linked to HIV Progression

July 17, 2015 — Lower levels of cholesterol in certain immune cells -- a result of enhanced cholesterol metabolism within those cells -- may help explain why some HIV-infected people are able to naturally control ... read more

Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Sunday, June 28, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015